Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting barred from a pub.

• 27-05-2008 10:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭

What does "Getting barred from a pub" mean?
    Is it an official document issued by someone? Does it have any legal standing?
    or can any barman bar someone from a pub or does it have to be the owner?
    By the way I have'nt been barred from anywhere or do I know anyone who has....it is just the whole concept is vague and unclear to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I'm guessing here:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=633

Would be better for you.

It means u got drunk, puked all over the 15 year old lounge girl, pulled down your pants and danced on the bar then tried to fight the bar man only to end up hitting yourself and falling unconscious for 15 minutes with your willy hangin out while everybody laughed at you. If u have any dignity at all you wont go back anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭marbar

go down swinging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Don't see why anyone would want to go to a place where they weren't wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭moralproduction

if that was only the case,people who are barred tend to try to come back quite often instead of realising they are not wanted and just staying away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Echelle wrote: »

It generally means you can't come in until the said Barman has cooled off, or maybe ever again, if you really rattled his cage. I understand that legally the only person who can take a drink from you, if you end up too drunk, is the Barman that served it to you, but that could just be bollox...
    By the way I have'nt been barred from anywhere or do I know anyone who has....it is just the whole concept is vague and unclear to me.

Cmon ! Tell us what you did ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Well someone's got some sour grapes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭marbar

i went through a stage of telling bouncers they were going to hell about 8 years ago
    that wasn't smart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

I remember barring an aul fella from a pub after he got drunk, fell asleep on the bar, then fell off his stool. I only barred him for a week, but he came back everyday after I barred him asking to be let back in.

He only used to drink in the pub on a Friday night, but I think the idea of being barred from the pub made him want to be in the pub more. I let it go for four nights and let him back. Soft hearted me.

Oh and OP, if a barman/manager bars you then thats that. Its a private premises so they don't need to give a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

A mate got barred from Neachtains a few years back. He hadn't been there ages when we decided to test it. He got a drink and after maybe 15 mins the owner came up to us and said to him "After this drink you're out". Memory like elephants those barmen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

biko wrote: »
    A mate got barred from Neachtains a few years back. He hadn't been there ages when we decided to test it. He got a drink and after maybe 15 mins the owner came up to us and said to him "After this drink you're out". Memory like elephants those barmen.

What do you have to do to get barred from Neachtains? :confused:

I got barred from the Kings Head in Dublin once for taking a dump in the jacks. Might have been something to do with the fact I was drinking in the Dame Tavern at the time and just nipped across the road for a dump. Well, they had no bog roll in the Dame......!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

If you have a problem then PM the bouncer.
    Otherwise look for the door with a "FEEDBACK" sign.
    If that doesn't work then write to a Cbouncer or Sbouncer.
    It's unlikely the bar will be overturned though - unless you have yore ma with you to back you up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

stevec wrote: »
    If you have a problem then PM the bouncer.
    Otherwise look for the door with a "FEEDBACK" sign.
    If that doesn't work then write to a Cbouncer or Sbouncer.
    It's unlikely the bar will be overturned though - unless you have yore ma with you to back you up.

You missed the part where someone throws kittens at him. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

simple answer to this dont get fueled with too much aclohol ye likely to get barred simple as!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Joe Robot wrote: »
    You missed the part where someone throws kittens at him. :pac:

And the bit where if he argues with the bouncer at the door he'll get townbanned:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Look for the sign "Management reserves the right to refuse admission", usually behind the bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I've been banned from 2 clubs when I was a student.

Luckily the barstaff are too variable/busy to notice if you come back, and the bouncers ain't the brightest. So, in both cases I just walked straight in the following week with no bother.

I wouldn't worry about it. Just go back. Chances are no-one will notice.

As far as I know, a group of my friends are barred permanently from roddy bolands, and they were all in there last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Club bans are generally a load of sh1te! Hardly ever remember you te next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

tallaght01 wrote: »
    I've been banned from 2 clubs when I was a student.
    How'd you manage that? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Zzippy wrote: »
    I got barred from the Kings Head in Dublin once for taking a dump in the jacks. Might have been something to do with the fact I was drinking in the Dame Tavern at the time and just nipped across the road for a dump. Well, they had no bog roll in the Dame......!
    I thought that public licensed businesses had to allow use of their toilet facilities to anyone who wanted them...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

marbar wrote: »
    go down swinging

I knew a guy who tried to live by this advice only usually it was one swing, miss due to drunkness and be tossed out very quickly by large bouncers!!!

I thought that public licensed businesses had to allow use of their toilet facilities to anyone who wanted them...?
    not neccesary for anyone who wants them,as i know what ye saying.
    The bouncers may have seen him from the other pub and it would be strange for him to go the other bar for some reason for example- moving drugs around,looking for trouble,etc.
    pubs are not really public toilets imo.
    like put it this way you were bursting and ye ask the doorman or barman they more likely to tell you fukc off mate!
    i know its stupid as i had to put up with the publc on the doors and Management reserves the right to refuse admission is the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Ruu wrote: »
    Don't see why anyone would want to go to a place where they weren't wanted.

Thats silly talk I only go to places im not wanted they are they classier establishments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Alan Ford wrote: »
    simple answer to this dont get fueled with too much aclohol ye likely to get barred simple as!

this is yet more silly talk you only know you had a good night if you get barred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

This reminds me of when i used to go to Fibbers. I was explaining to a friend who'd never been ,why it was such good craic and that you cannot get barred cause everyone goes so wild. When i got to the door i was informed i was barred. Something about spilling buckfast and shouting at a "fat" girl and trying to mount her like a pony. The good times.

Im allowed in again though. But those days are behind me now.

briantwin wrote: »
    This reminds me of when i used to go to Fibbers. I was explaining to a friend who'd never been ,why it was such good craic and that you cannot get barred cause everyone goes so wild. When i got to the door i was informed i was barred. Something about spilling buckfast and shouting at a "fat" girl and trying to mount her like a pony. The good times.
    there ye are that what happens like i said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

kmart6 wrote: »
    Club bans are generally a load of sh1te! Hardly ever remember you te next week!

Yeah i mean with so many people going there, you could also slightly change your appearance...like a goatee and top hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

biko wrote: »
    Look for the sign "Management reserves the right to refuse admission", usually behind the bar.

In which case it means nothing as you've already been admitted! (ie not stopped on your way in)

Not being smart but that's why doormen are on the door!

Of course there's any number of reasons why they can refuse to serve you such as known trouble maker etc but if they're intent on ejecting you they'd better be damn sure they have a good enough reason to fight either a defamation suit or a discrimination suit. (In case there's any millionaires out there with more money than sense, gagging to take a case over being refused a drink or assaulted by bouncers.)

They're not really supposed to stop you just wandering in and using the toilet. Leaves them open to all sorts of discrimination claims. It's a condition of their licence that patrons have access to toilets however when you 'become' a patron is a grey area. Perhaps you want to use the toilet before you go to the bar?

Most of the "refuse admission" and "customer toilets" signs are nothing more than a bluff though and can be treated accordingly.

there ye are that what happens like i said
    [/I]

With an attitude like that Fibbers wouldn't suit a person like your good self.
    There might be room for you and your high horse in the local I.C.A hall though.....you and the blue rinse army, kickin back with some extreme sewing and some lovely cups of tea.

Having said that you may get barred from their for being the driest pussy in the room :p

Originally Posted by Alan Ford

There might be room for you and your high horse in the local I.C.A hall though.....you and the blue rinse army, kickin back with some extreme sewing and some lovely cups of tea.

Having said that you may get barred from their for being drier than any of the other pussies in the room
    escuse me i didnt post that quote.it was by briantwin.

=briantwin;56073755
    Having said that you may get barred from their for being drier than any of the other pussies in the room :p

sorry are ye talking to me?

I was indeed.
    Just a bit of an ould joke thrown at ya.

I was indeed.
    Just a bit of an ould joke thrown at ya.
    are ye sure?as celticwe doesnt think so?
    With an attitude like that Fibbers wouldn't suit a person like your good self
    meaning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dashticle

are ye sure?as celticwe doesnt think so?

meaning?

He's saying you don't get drunk enough. That you're dry. It's pretty easy.

Simple enough. Just a bit of joking around, if you cant do it here where can ya?

Dashticle wrote: »
    He's saying you don't get drunk enough. That you're dry. It's pretty easy.
    i dont drink and in weekends i deal with the public going into bars,get my meaning.

So is that a roundabout way of saying you're a barman/bouncer/garda then?

Roma gypsie selling roses maybe???

Dashticle wrote: »
    So is that a roundabout way of saying you're a barman/bouncer/garda then?
    just a happy bouncer,finnished with the london metro 21 years ago,barman no way moneys not that great.

Roma gypsie selling roses maybe???

Hey man don't knock the roses, sometimes they glow :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

i got thrown out of a nightclub through the emergency exit for standing on the stairs,i was told to move by the bouncer i just thought he was takin the piss and he grapped me and threw me out!to which i responded by walking round to the main entrance and walked back in,no problem :D

scruff321 wrote: »
    i got thrown out of a nightclub through the emergency exit for standing on the stairs,i was told to move by the bouncer i just thought he was takin the piss and he grapped me and threw me out!to which i responded by walking round to the main entrance and walked back in,no problem :D
    he threw you out because you were standing on the stairs?you must of said something to him that made him pick on you?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Only reason security needs these days is boredom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chuci

never been barred yet was thrown out of a few places though for being a bit tipsy but had no probs getting back in after.