Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have any religions tried to recruit you lately?

• 26-05-2008 9:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Had two polite, well-dressed lads on my doorstep this evening.
    Their nametags showed they were from the 7th day Aventist church.
    The two guys couldn't have friendlier and I sent them on their way with a handshake and a "sorry, not interested"

I'd never heard of them before, it seems they are some branch of Protestant.
    I can imagine telling the parents I'd converted to Protestism :eek:
    God bless them,they like many people still make comments at "mixed" (Catholic/Protestant) weddings. Just old-fashioned I suppose

I've had people from Jehovah witnesses giving me some free magazine but that was over a year ago and I've not seen them since.

Noone from Scientology has ever come near me :(
    Don't realy know any other religions...

This is not a religion bashing thread, have you had anyone try to give you info and recruit you lately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Mormans still trying to get in my door .Think after 40 years they would give up ? no they keep coming back ...........swines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I keep having atheists trying to make me lose my faith in God.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The tricks in the name badge: if it says "Elder" then they're mormons.

You always think you;re going to take the piss and tell them you're a gothic satanist or something, but when they show up, you just haven't the heart...!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Jehovah witnesses call to our door at times. Nobody in my family answers the door to them, but I do if I happen to be there. I ask them their view on things/how they differ to Catholic view/blood transfusions etc..As a teacher I like to know about all different faiths as I could have a child(ren) in my class of that faith.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

I keep having atheists trying to make me lose my faith in God.

But you're wrong, you can't be wrong on the internet! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Eh?

The last Mormon stuck his foot in the door when i politely refused his doorstep chat.

That i didn't like and i replied' sir if i did that in amercia i might get shot ''

although i did give him and associate a glass of water as requested before they left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

A local "church" over here has decided to concentrate on converting chinese students (holding "parties" for them, printing religious stuff into chinese for them), they call to our appartment a few times a year. We don't even bother opening the door to them.

Some other group would also come around once a year to the rest of us (non-finnish students) and try to have a chat with us. It always throws them off when they ask "Have you read the bible?" and I reply "Yes", then I try to let them gently know I am not interested and that the magazine they are producing telling me about creationisim was full of holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Eh?

http://xkcd.com/386/

Ah nevermind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

whatever you do, don't tell the people at the door your agnostic/atheist -- makes em more determined.

so determined they made my tea go cold.... *narrows eyes* I hate cold tea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

micmclo wrote: »
    Had two polite, well-dressed lads on my doorstep this evening.
    Their nametags showed they were from the 7th day Aventist church.
    The two guys couldn't have friendlier and I sent them on their way with a handshake and a "sorry, not interested"

I'd never heard of them before, it seems they are some branch of Protestant.
    I can imagine telling the parents I'd converted to Protestism :eek:
    God bless them,they like many people still make comments at "mixed" (Catholic/Protestant) weddings. Just old-fashioned I suppose

I've had people from Jehovah witnesses giving me some free magazine but that was over a year ago and I've not seen them since.

Noone from Scientology has ever come near me :(
    Don't realy know any other religions...

This is not a religion bashing thread, have you had anyone try to give you info and recruit you lately?

Sorry, your not our type. Please try again later.

Just tell them your full of the flu and you have a touch of MRSA (hospital bug ) while inviting them in for a cup of tea .

If they accept your request, just put whisky or rum in the tea :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I had the Scientologists stop me on the street in Birmingham last month. They asked if I would like to take "a free personality test". Of course I ran away screaming.

Not lately but in 2004 I was in San Diego. Decided to visit a Mormon temple (outside, you have to be a certified Mormon to go inside - yes, certified). I had been approached by one kindly old woman who asked to take my photo, informed me about thier religion and tried to convert me. I made my goodbyes when I was approached by another around the corner. Said no and then continued walking where another came up to me. In the space of five minutes, 4 people tried to convert me.

Horrible experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

The local church collection always knock around, my ma always gives them money, I'm a bit of a heretic when it comes to Religion. So i would tell them theres no change lying around, i could need that change for a bus or something!

If a Mormon knocked at the door, i would whinde him up! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Not lately but in 2004 I was in San Diego. Decided to visit a Mormon temple (outside, you have to be a certified Mormon to go inside - yes, certified). I had been approached by one kindly old woman who asked to take my photo, informed me about thier religion and tried to convert me. I made my goodbyes when I was approached by another around the corner. Said no and then continued walking where another came up to me. In the space of five minutes, 4 people tried to convert me.

Horrible experience.

You know we are always here for you my son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

There are some of them crews that are gangsters. Someone in my family is part of a church that is constantly looking for money.

A select few who never work ,have extensions done and move houses. Scumbags the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

The Jehovah Witnesses seem to have a special ability to catch me at home, I'll answer the door thinking it's the postman or metre reader, and get sucked into a conversation about how marriage is like driving a car, and only one person can be in the driving seat, and that one person has to be the husband. :confused:

At least they accept the "thanks, but no thanks" graciously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

sueme wrote: »
    Sorry, your not our type. Please try again later.

I thought everyone was yoru type?!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Nope, never.

Though I would like them too, would be a great laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Nightwish wrote: »
    I had the Scientologists stop me on the street in Birmingham last month. They asked if I would like to take "a free personality test". Of course I ran away screaming.

Feck them, the Church of Science is rampant on the internet these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

I always wanted to answer the door to any religious people naked and I always chicken out, I throw some short on and answer half naked...it still throws them off but full nudity...penis flowing in the wind...now THAT would get a reaction I'd want...

There's a church of scientology office here in Perth and I walk past it the odd time and they've often offered me free stress/personality tests and each time I say "no thanks, I'm not interested in scientology" and they seem shocked that we know their "stress/personality tests" are a way in which they try recruit people

I don't understand why religions try recruit people, why not just let people do their own thing. My friends sister went to cardiff a few years ago and "found god", she somehow was put in the same dorm as a WHOLE bunch of christians and they converted her. Her sister is very upset by this, she's a hippy through and through, her mother lives in New Mexico and she goes there and meditates with crystals in the desert and stuff and now her sister is a stinkin christian. Its upsetting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

no ones tried to convert me in ages....:(

maybe if i just keep hanging in the christianity forum they might :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I've never had anyone call to the door since I moved out.

At home, a family up the road from us used to house mormon kids on their missions. They used to play football with us as kids and stuff, real nice guys, never tried the religion stuff when we were out with them. Over the years they called to our house a few times, different guys but were never forceful, very polite and would often have chats with my parents about the difference in their beliefs etc.

The last encounter I had with a religion was when I was out shopping with the girlfriend one weekend. Was out having a smoke minding my own business when I was approached by an elderly man and woman. I can't remember which sect/order they were from exactly but it was some ultra strict Catholic division. They asked me about my views on religion/God etc. told them I believed fully in evolution/science etc and that I was a non-practising Protestant and they literally laughed at me, asked me what I'd do when I was at the gates of Heaven etc.

They started off quite polite and ended up being rude and condescending. I've found that to be a trait of strict Catholics actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Cant say I have.

Last time was prolly back in college I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

I was asked the "What do you do when you're at the gates of heaven" question and my reply was I'd say "Holy bejokey...I was wrong...forgive me? I AM human after all."

BAM...get into heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

When I get hit with the question ,I usually just say ,"All the religions in the world can't be wrong ,Who am I to judge:p"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

kaimera wrote: »
    Cant say I have.

Last time was prolly back in college I'd say
    Ditto. We must be moving in the wrong circles. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Sherifu wrote: »
    Ditto. We must be moving in the wrong circles. :p
    I tend to go anti.clockwise.

you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

kaimera wrote: »
    I tend to go anti.clockwise.

you?
    More of a centripetal man.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Two lads from LDS knocked on my door not too many days ago dressed alike in white shirts, ties, and dark slacks. But they left in a hurry when they found out that the roof of the last church I visited caved in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

They were going around my estate yesterday evening while i was on my way out. 2 fellas and a girl. One of the fellas tried approaching me while getting into the car and i told him i was rushing to the gym before the crowds. He then said vanity is a curse and that my dedication to the gym was being misused and that i should focus it on religion instead. I thought that was a bit cheeky considering he doesn't know a thing about me. I actually do go to Church every week and was raised in a devout Catholic family. And i go the gym for my own well being.

The well dressed-well groomed act is to make them seem non-threatening and lure you in. There was a mormon in my college class in the states and i asked him if he goes around knocking on doors. He said no because he wasn't good looking enough. And your man had the check to mention vanity to me when that seems to be a tactic of theirs for recruiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

One morning after a big session the night before, I was just after getting out of the shower when the doorbell rang. All my housemates had gone to get breakfast rolls before I got into the shower, so I assumed they had forgotten/didn't bother to bring keys. So I went downstairs, towel around my waist, and opened the front door rather angrily. There were two white-shirted, black tied guys standing there with their shoulder bags and magazines, looking at me in a shocked state. They nervously asked "Um, hi. Is the owner of the house here?". I told them we were just students renting; "Sorry for wasting your time", and just ran off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Not sure what religion they were, but I had a whole family try to convert me once. A woman called to the door one week and tried the polite approach, I politely said no thanks.
    A week later I answer the door to find her, hubby and two very well-dressed kids, and in unison they chorused "Hi, we're here to save your soul!".

The look on their faces when I cracked up laughing was priceless :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

One morning after a big session the night before, I was just after getting out of the shower when the doorbell rang. All my housemates had gone to get breakfast rolls before I got into the shower, so I assumed they had forgotten/didn't bother to bring keys. So I went downstairs, towel around my waist, and opened the front door rather angrily. There were two white-shirted, black tied guys standing there with their shoulder bags and magazines, looking at me in a shocked state. They nervously asked "Um, hi. Is the owner of the house here?". I told them we were just students renting; "Sorry for wasting your time", and just ran off.

Should have flashed them for the laugh

No I haven't been approached by any religions in years. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Zzippy wrote: »
    A week later I answer the door to find her, hubby and two very well-dressed kids, and in unison they chorused "Hi, we're here to save your soul!".
    The look on their faces when I cracked up laughing was priceless :D
    I'd have probably wet myself laughing, the pure, almost surrealism, of it all opening a door and then "Hi, we're here to save your soul!" I'd probably think it was a prank.

I was approached when I was in 5th year (a while ago now) by christians in Chester, one or two run ins on Wicklow St years ago too with people expounding Transcendental Meditation, then on a bus in Geneva (which was weird), a tiny bit of attention when I went past CoS headquarters on Tottenham Court Road once.

I try not to engage with them, never been doorstepped, I have a friend who loves it and was actually in the end used as a training session by the local Christians for new recruits i.e. if you can keep your faith after this guy's arguments you're sorted.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I find Atheists to be the most oppressive cult, especially on boards.ie! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

faceman wrote: »
    I find Atheists to be the most oppressive cult, especially on boards.ie! :eek:
    Shut up you're just annoyed there is no god, muppet :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

My approach to these door to door bible pushers has work a treat (all be it to my other half's embarrassment)

First pair called to the door about six weeks ago.

And got this response :

Door open ....." NOT INTERESTED F**K OFF ".......Door closes

Second pair about 3/4 weeks ago .

Got this response :

Door opens......" F**k OFF ".........Door closes

Third pair last week .

Walked past my house and when into next door neighbours...

RESULT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

The only time I've been doorstepped was by a pair of Jehova's witnesses who would not piss off until i accepted their poxy pamphlets. That was a couple of years ago now. I usually cross the street to avoid scientology 'stress tests' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Scientologists tried to enlist my little sister before but my dad threatened to arrest them all unless they left his property (he's a garda :D)

There was a guy on grafton street who used to have a megaphone and shout "JESUS WILL BE YOUR LAWYER IN THE COURT IN HEAVEN!!!" Had a great chat with him about it. I find the worst apart with dealing these religious types is trying not to laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Ran into 2 Mormons guys on my way home a couple of weeks ago. They were nice enough, when I said I was in a rush and left me alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

HA! I wonder if this is the same guy?
    there was an old guy from the north on Grafton st on Saturday,it was a lovely sunny summers day,the last thing you want to be hearing is about fire and brimstone bible bashing stuff :mad:

he was ranting about his wayward youth "I'd be out drinking,and breakin into houses,and filthy,dirty talkin" :D

it was great seeing a group of scobes gather to "listen" to the old git!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

punchdrunk wrote: »
    HA! I wonder if this is the same guy?
    there was an old guy from the north on Grafton st on Saturday,it was a lovely sunny summers day,the last thing you want to be hearing is about fire and brimstone bible bashing stuff :mad:

he was ranting about his wayward youth "I'd be out drinking,and breakin into houses,and filthy,dirty talkin" :D

it was great seeing a group of scobes gather to "listen" to the old git!

Interesting observation there. I have only ever seen scobes gather around to 'listen' to any of these guys. Is it because they are meek god fearing types?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Irish Halo wrote: »
    Shut up you're just annoyed there is no god, muppet :p

Despite what the Bible says, us Christian types have feelings you know! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

punchdrunk wrote: »
    filthy,dirty talkin

lol

I'd go and listen to that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

wes wrote: »
    Ran into 2 Mormons guys on my way home a couple of weeks ago. They were nice enough, when I said I was in a rush and left me alone.

They cannot be killed by conventional weapons. Better to run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

On the doormat of a house I haven't even moved into yet was a demand for 'dues' from the local RC church. Why they feel anything is due to them from someone who's name they don't even know, and who is a lifelong Atheist is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Got a note in the door yesterday saying someone from Church of the Latter Day Saints will be calling today between 5.30pm and 7.30pm.

Am undecided whether or not to not answer or to answer and tell them Im an atheist? My OH says if I answer telling them Im atheist that next thing i know there will be a gang of them on the doorstep singing Cum-bay-ah to me - which has entertainment value in itself...........