Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

W200 Start time(s)

• 26-05-2008 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭

Just noticed the start time detail within
    http://www.wicklow200.ie/2008/startdetails.shtml
    'Start Time: 7.00am for all riders.'

A question for those that have done the event before - is the intention to hold the entire field til 7am (or all early registers) ? Based on a list of times from last years event (and obvious safety reasons) Id assumed that once registered, people were free to head off.

Any clarification appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

interested wrote: »
    Just noticed the start time detail within
    http://www.wicklow200.ie/2008/startdetails.shtml
    'Start Time: 7.00am for all riders.'

A question for those that have done the event before - is the intention to hold the entire field til 7am (or all early registers) ? Based on a list of times from last years event (and obvious safety reasons) Id assumed that once registered, people were free to head off.

Any clarification appreciated.

I started at 6 last year. Plenty of people started well before that. You start as soon as you get your card scanned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Jeebus that's some early starting. Is that so you're well into it before the sun gets hot?

Edit: Just wondering has anybody received number/info yet?

dub_skav wrote: »
    Jeebus that's some early starting. Is that so you're well into it before the sun gets hot?

Yeah it was well early, but it was nothing to do with the weather. I wasn't sure how long it would take me, so I started early so that I wasn't going to be out too late.
    I think I'll start a bit later this year...maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

The early start is the bit that scares me mostest! Body no function well so early in the morning....

kenmc wrote: »
    The early start is the bit that scares me mostest! Body no function well so early in the morning....

ah you boys! Some day I'll convert you to the early start.

there's a very real danger of me doing it in my slippers and pjs given the early start. in fact don't be surprised if i show up on the girlfs' bike! I'm like a newborn baby in the early mornings - totally helpless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭RtD

Maybe if I start early I'll get a few hours cycling out of the body before the mind wakes up and realises what is going on and starts to give out :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

RtD wrote: »
    Maybe if I start early I'll get a few hours cycling out of the body before the mind wakes up and realises what is going on and starts to give out :o

That's the plan I'm going for too -I want to be ahve way up Sally Gap before my body realises what I've done to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

That sounds like a plan !!!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm aiming to be out of the blocks before seven as well. The early start means that as faster bunches pass, you can jump on the back for a bit. Way better than doing the whole thing on your own.

el tonto wrote: »
    I'm aiming to be out of the blocks before seven as well. The early start means that as faster bunches pass, you can jump on the back for a bit. Way better than doing the whole thing on your own.

That's probably the best reason for an early start, do as much hanging on to the back of other people as possible.

Once you hit the hills, it's really going to spread out. There is a good flat section after the Wicklow Gap, so it would be nice to be part of a group there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Raam wrote: »
    I started at 6 last year. Plenty of people started well before that. You start as soon as you get your card scanned.
    I'm planning on a very early start too (I think it was closer to 6:45 last year).
    A few reasons - so I can get home earlier, to avoid being in a group (I don't feel comfortable in a group) and to get some miles in before it gets too hot.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

daymobrew wrote: »
    ...to avoid being in a group...

Masochist.

on the flip side; if you start last, you KNOW you won't be overtaken.... that's a psycological win right there!

Actually, here's something different.
    What sort of kit are ye all planning to wear/bring? Obviously it's weather dependent, but hoping against hope for decent weather, even on the sunniest of days at 7am it's pretty chilly - when cycling to work I'm in shorts, but am still wearing a base layer these days under a short-sleeve'd top. I'd guess that during the 200 that'd be overkill once it warms up a bit, but I need the pockets for food, not carting extra kit home.... any suggestions? Also I don't have a small rain jacket, I'm guessing that's worth getting in the meantime?

I don't feel the cold tt much so I'm just planning on shorts and a short-sleeved jersey with one of these in the back pocket:
    Light jacket (Just bought recently with the 200 in mind)

Jacket is in case of light showers and for descents. If it stays warm I won't use the jacket, if it buckets rain I'll be miserable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭zorkmundsson

that's a good point, was wondering what to wear. currently rocking the short-sleeved base-layer under the jersey, reckon the base-layer is small-enough to scrunch up into jersey pocket if i get too hot around noon.

also, what's the position on i-pods? i find it great when i'm out on my own and start getting the old "what the phukk am i doing with my time?! i'm getting off and walking home" feeling a few hours out. would it be frowned upon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

Are any of the boards.ie cycling group planning to meet at the start in UCD or is everyone doing their own thing ?

I might getthis so.... any comments on it- anyone got one? was looking a the montanes but there was some complaints here last week about one of them I think...?

As long as there isn't a dramatic change in the weather, I'll be wearing a short sleeve jersey and shorts. If the morning's a bit chilly I might bring some arm warmers, but I'd rather not as its just one more thing to have in the pockets for the day.

Are any of the boards.ie cycling group planning to meet at the start in UCD or is everyone doing their own thing ?

I had thought that we might, but I guess it depends on how early people want to start. We should be easy enough to spot, as the boards jerseys are being sent out this week!

As for me, I'll wear a short sleeve base layer, jersey and will have arm warmers -apart from that, if I get cold I'll pedal harder!

Oh yeah, and apart from el_tonto, who here has ordered kit, but is in a club so won't be wearing the boards jersey?

Got to keep the sponsors happy!

As for meeting up, I had been planning on doing it with my mate Paul, but he's had to drop out, so I'm easy. Perhaps meet up early and all roll out together (and it would look cool with most people in the kit). I can see it getting split up though as the day goes on.

Got to keep the sponsors happy!

As for meeting up, I had been planning on doing it with my mate Paul, but he's had to drop out, so I'm easy. Perhaps meet up early and all roll out together (and it would look cool with most people in the kit). I can see it getting split up though as the day goes on.

That sounds like a plan. You can be sure that the group will split soon enough what with chancers like me hanging out with real cyclists.

Another thing. Has anyone figured out the road you're supposed to take between Donard and Kiltegan? W200 site is a bit vague and Google Maps just shows a maze of back roads. Will have to take a good look at a proper map beforehand to figure it out. Hopefully road marks will be up to scratch. Wouldn't fancy getting lost down that neck of the woods.

I'll wear the kit if it fits. What time do people propose to start at? I'll be starting with my bro' and probably RogerB anyways.

Another thing. Has anyone figured out the road you're supposed to take between Donard and Kiltegan? W200 site is a bit vague and Google Maps just shows a maze of back roads. Will have to take a good look at a proper map beforehand to figure it out. Hopefully road marks will be up to scratch. Wouldn't fancy getting lost down that neck of the woods.

Probably the same as last years. I think I posted up the route a while back in some other Wicklow 200 post. I'll stick it up again later this eve, unless someone does it first.

It's different from last year. Apparently the coppers asked them to bypass Baltinglass.

Aye, but it was bypassed lat year also, unless I was totally spaced out after the Wicklow Gap ;)

That sounds like a plan. You can be sure that the group will split soon enough what with chancers like me hanging out with real cyclists.

Ah now, you were going pretty strong the day you were out with us.
    I'll wear the kit if it fits. What time do people propose to start at? I'll be starting with my bro' and probably RogerB anyways.

After reading about his exploits at the Sorrento 200, I think 'Fast' Roger should be banned from pace setting duties.

Dare I suggest meeting at 6.30 in UCD then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I don't feel the cold tt much so I'm just planning on shorts and a short-sleeved jersey with one of these in the back pocket:
    Light jacket (Just bought recently with the 200 in mind)

Jacket is in case of light showers and for descents. If it stays warm I won't use the jacket, if it buckets rain I'll be miserable.
    I'm going with this, wouldn't even bother putting the jacket on for descents, just for the rain. I went with shorts+short-sleeve top (and sandals) on the Mick Byrne 200 and was fine. Did get a bit cold up over Sally Gap but still fine as long as I kept moving.

I think 'Fast' Roger should be banned from pace setting duties.

I don't like that implication :(

Now that you mention it, there should be a way of distinguishing between the Rogers. 'Fast' Roger and 'Buck(fast)' Roger???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

As long as there isn't a dramatic change in the weather, I'll be wearing a short sleeve jersey and shorts. If the morning's a bit chilly I might bring some arm warmers, but I'd rather not as its just one more thing to have in the pockets for the day.
    I had full zip jersey, gilet and arm warmers. My gilet has been the most useful bit of kit I've bought. Very thin but the front is windproof.

Last year the arm warmers was taken off quite quickly. The gilet came off at Sally Gap. The jersey zip was well opened on the climbs.

Ah now, you were going pretty strong the day you were out with us.
    I feel pretty strong and think I'll be okay, but seeing the ease some of you lads cycle with and seeing other lads out on the roads I know it's a different league, that's years of experience I suppose.

Still though I'll hang on to the pace as long as I can. I'll still "enjoy" myself no matter what happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

I feel pretty strong and think I'll be okay, but seeing the ease some of you lads cycle with and seeing other lads out on the roads I know it's a different league, that's years of experience I suppose.

Still though I'll hang on to the pace as long as I can. I'll still "enjoy" myself no matter what happens

Don't hurt yourself holding the pace early, you might pay for it at the bottom of Sliabh Maan. You will find a group at a pace that will suit. Above all, enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Dare I suggest meeting at 6.30 in UCD then?

I'm fine with that. I have a friend doing it also so he'll probably come along then too.

Not sure what to wear myself. As long as the boards.ie kit arrives it'll be that with a short sleeve base layer and fingerless gloves (or should i go fullfinger - i have both). i have a water/wind proof jacket but its a bit bulky so weather dependent ill make that decision come Thursday or Friday next week.

One question what tyres do ye ride on in this? I need to get new ones as the standard ones that came with the bike have a nice big hole at this stage. Do ye go for the racing kind or the protection kind for this?

I am going to get Continental Ultra Gator Duraskin Tyre and some racing tyre. The racing one i'll use for the triathlons/duathlons i do and the gator for training but im undecided for this one seeing as its 200km. Also My bike (trek 1.5) has 700 x 25's as standard. Should i stay at 700x25's or should i drop to 700x23's? Would they fit ok? Perhaps the racing ones should be 23's and the gators 25's? Sorry new to cycling so i don't know the difference handling and performance wise but presumably the 23's wouldn't have as much grip but would be faster etc?

Then racing wise it seems its either going to be the Vittoria Evo Corsa CX or Continental GT 4000 from reading topics here but they only come as 23's?

How the hell are we supposed to get a decent carb brekkie in before that start time? i usually get a big bowl of oats in around an 90 mins before I head out for the saturday spins, so get up around 8:30 or so. meeting at 6:30 for the W200 means getting up before 5 to get brekkie in.... my digestive system is still asleep at that time.... suggestions on a postcard please?

Bambaata- if you are getting different sizes for racing/training then yes, I would go for the 23s for racing and the 25s for training. TBH though I think I would just go for 23s for both. 23s will grip just as well and be no worse puncture-wise. The only reason to go for 25 over 23 is improved comfort over poor road surfaces, so if you don't need this go 23.

I had a Gatorskin (700x23) on the back on the Mick Byrne 200 that punctured. I got around Wicklow fine last year on Bontrager Race Lites (also 700x23). It's the luck of the draw and I wouldn't worry about using racing tyres for the 200km, I certainly plan to (Schwalbe Ultremos if I get my new wheels in time.)

In terms of what to wear, we are all different in that regard but I would just wear what you would normally wear for a Sunday spin. I wouldn't worry about extra layers for the early morning as you will warm up quickly. Wiggle have a Descente Velom Jacket for £27 in their weekly special at the moment that looks like it would fold up really small, might be worth it.

thanks blorg. yeah comfort isnt an issue for me. ill go with 23's for both so. in a few months ill be getting new wheels so then i will have race wheels witht he race tyres and training wheels with the gators. for now i'll chop and change before each race

Ken- for this one, I have a slightly larger than normal pasta dinner the night before and then have a slightly larger than normal breakfast immediately before setting out. Nothing crazy with either. Eat my first energy bar just before the Liam Horner memorial in Glencree which pushes me over the Gap. Works for me!

Might see if I can get an IV drip with sausage, Eggs and porridge in it. Get that to kick in at about 4:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

thanks for the responses lads
    My intention is to start early. With regard to getting food in for an early start Id second the advice of eating a slightly larger carbo-based meal the night before and also add that getting more than usual amounts of water in to you the day before can help. Stick to tried and trusted approaches for food etc the morning of if possible.

Good luck to all and lets hope the recent blustery conditions arent going to return

ive decided ill go with the Continental Grand Prix 4000. one thing theres a Continental Grand Prix 4000s tyre which seems newer? Wiggle have the 4000 at £44.54 for a set with tubes whereas the 4000s is 21.59 each (43.18 a set without tubes). anybody used the two or even just the 4000s type?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭bunnygreen

Hey Blorg,didnt realise that was you in the sandals at the Mick Byrne on Sunday,you are an ironman,my gilet comes off to you and my arm warmers.

I had a pair of GP 4000 S on my bike, front one lasted about two hours of cycling before I destroyed the sidewall, completely my own fault*, as a few here will recall. Still though, back one is serving me well and I'm probably going to get one for the front again soon. I've never used the standard GP 4000 so can't really compare.

*well, whoever left the lump of concrete there takes partial fault

Sorry to hear that!? u go over at all? also as a noob i dont know the difference between a wire and folding tyre?

Bambaata wrote: »
    ive decided ill go with the Continental Grand Prix 4000. one thing theres a Continental Grand Prix 4000s tyre which seems newer? Wiggle have the 4000 at £44.54 for a set with tubes whereas the 4000s is 21.59 each (43.18 a set without tubes). anybody used the two or even just the 4000s type?

Contintental don't make it easy to figure it out. First of all, there is the original GP 4000, which came in a variety of colours. Then last year they launched the GP 4000S, which uses a new compound called 'Black Chilli', which is apparently much better than the old one. Now they are using the new compound on the regular GP 4000, which makes things a bit confusing. Basically you have to check if its the new GP 4000 or the old.

I use the GP 4000S and i've found them to be a great tyre. Very fast, hold the road well and don't get too many punctures.