Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is Michael Lynn?

• 23-05-2008 12:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭

Where is this guy now, can the Irish government track where this guys passport has been used?

It amazes me that this guy who owes €80m to various financial institutions is allowed skip the country and no international arrest warrants are issued. Then in the same month you see women being sent to prison for non payment of TV license fines :confused:

"The High Court has ordered that missing solicitor Michael Lynn be struck off the roll of solicitors and pay a total of €2m in fines to the Law Society.

There was no appearance by Mr Lynn at today's brief hearing before the President of the High Court, Mr Justice Richard Johnson, of the proceedings brought against him by the Society.

Mr Lynn, who has estimated liabilities of more than €80m to various financial institutions and others, has failed to turn up since late last year for multiple court appearances related to those liabilities and his conduct..."

http://www.rte.ie/business/2008/0523/solicitor.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Is he not in Spain or Portugal,or wherever he's building the apartments?! He doesn't have to appear in court,just his solicitors. There's a big difference between him screwing over banks and a women not paying money to the Goverment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

I presume with 80 million, he paid someone to pay someone to get him a false passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

The last place you look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

DonJose wrote: »
    It amazes me that this guy who owes €80m to various financial institutions is allowed skip the country and no international arrest warrants are issued. Then in the same month you see women being sent to prison for non payment of TV license fines :confused:

Theres no arrest warrant because it can't legally be issued until there is a specific charge against him. At the moment they are trawling through his financial details to see if there is a criminal case to answer and if so what are the exact charges etc.
    According to the SundayTimes he was stopped at a USA airport recently as there is a 'flag' against his passport, but was correctly allowed to travel on his way.
    He is not on a false passport as if he was caught with one then obviously he could be held.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Theres no arrest warrant because it can't legally be issued until there is a specific charge against him. At the moment they are trawling through his financial details to see if there is a criminal case to answer and if so what are the exact charges etc.

Qft. A number of files have been handed to the DPP for review, but he hasn't formally been charged with anything. I presume it'll be another while before charges are brought, but all the administratorial work is being done around him though i.e. being struck off, fined for malpractice, thrown out of the bar etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

In the Fritzl maze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭CrazyNoob

He is not in the place he should be

PRISON!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

CrazyNoob wrote: »

PRISON!!!
    Thank you, Captain Obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭partholon

hiding in the filing cabinet with all of bertie aherns tax returns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

He is so obviously with YORE MA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Then in the same month you see women being sent to prison for non payment of TV license fines :confused:

Not paying your TV licence is serious business!!!!!

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

Following Press Release was emailed to all solicitors today.
    News Release - Law Society Condemns Actions of Former Solicitor Michael Lynn Who "disgraced himself and brought disrepute on his profession"

The name of Michael Lynn was struck-off the Roll of Solicitors by order of the President of the High Court, Mr Justice Johnson, this morning.

Reacting to this, the President of the Law Society, Mr James MacGuill, said that the Society, on behalf of its members, utterly condemned the actions of former solicitor, Michael Lynn. "Mr Lynn has brought deep disgrace upon himself and disrepute on his profession through systematic abuse of the trust placed in him as a solicitor. He has shown he is not fit to be a solicitor and the profession will very much welcome his expulsion today," Mr MacGuill said.

The Society is pleased that the action taken by it to have Mr Lynn struck off the Roll has been endorsed by the independent body, the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal, and ultimately by the President of the High Court in his judgment delivered today. The Society believes the unprecedented e2 million fine imposed is commensurate with the level of fraud perpetrated by Mr Lynn. The Society also thought it very appropriate that the President of the High Court ordered papers to be sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Mr MacGuill went on to say that when concerns about the nature of Mr Lynn's activities first came to the attention of the Law Society, in September 2007, the Society had moved quickly. In accordance with its statutory powers and obligations to protect the interests of clients, the Society applied successfully to the High Court to have the bank accounts of Mr Lynn's solicitor's practice 'frozen' and took control of over 4,000 client files. The Society wrote to Mr Lynn's clients inviting them to transfer their files to other solicitors.

Where clients of Mr Lynn have sustained loss in consequence of his dishonesty then, subject to the relevant provisions of the Solicitors Acts, they have been entitled to make application for grants out of the Society's Compensation Fund. The fund currently has assets of over e30 million and insurance of an additional e30 million. The full extent of the claims that may validly be made on the Society's Compensation Fund in the Lynn case will not be known for some time.

In addition, in October 2007, the Society retained the services of forensic accountants to investigate the financial affairs of Mr Lynn's practice and analysed, in depth, numerous individual transactions. It reported the progress of its investigations on an almost weekly basis to the President of the High Court and, in December 2007, was prepared to examine Mr Lynn in court, in relation to the contents of his affidavit, when Mr Lynn failed to appear. Mr Lynn's current whereabouts are unknown to the Society.

Throughout this period, the Society has given every assistance it can to the Garda Fraud Investigation Unit, which is also investigating Mr Lynn. The Society will make no further comment on this to avoid any risk of prejudicing a trial in any criminal prosecution which may be brought in the future.

On 5th March 2008, representatives of the Law Society and of the Irish Bankers' Federation answered questions for an hour-and-a-half to reassure the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Justice, Equality, Defence and Women's Rights that the certificate of title system, and the role that solicitors' undertakings play in it, greatly reduces cost and delay in the interests of house purchasers. As the Chief Executive of AIB, Eugene Sheehy, said in October 2007, "The system works without any problems in 99.99% of cases."

The Society has had numerous meetings with the Irish Bankers' Federation to ensure that all possible lessons are learned from the Lynn case and, insofar as possible, that what happened in this case cannot happen again. Since the Lynn case has come to light, lending institutions have tightened their procedures considerably on registration of securities in commercial lending cases. In addition, in residential lending cases, lending institutions have been much less prepared to accept the undertakings of solicitors who are borrowing on their own behalf (not on behalf of clients) and the Society is at an advanced stage in preparations for a regulation to prohibit solicitors giving undertakings to financial institutions where the solicitor himself or herself is the borrower.

"Given human nature, we can't say that fraud can be prevented from ever happening again. However, we have taken steps, in cooperation with the Irish Bankers' Federation, to close the gaps that were abused in this case," said Mr MacGuill.

"Ultimately, the introduction of e-conveyancing, which we enthusiastically support, will remove a lot of these potential areas of abuse. But systems are not enough in themselves. By our actions and deeds, we must reassure consumers that the profession remains one that is trustworthy, independent and valued in our society," Mr MacGuill concluded.

ENDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Maximilian wrote: »
    Following Press Release was emailed to all solicitors today.
    It's a good start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭CrazyNoob

Rb wrote: »
    Thank you, Captain Obvious.

That's General Obvious !

and in the words of Bishop Brennan of father ted "address me by my proper title you little B*ll*x" :D:D:D when he was refering to Fr Dougal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

CrazyNoob wrote: »

PRISON!!!

wtf?
    he is a hero - stealing from the banks like that

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Not paying your TV licence is serious business!!!!!

it sure is - that women should have been horsewhipped for stealing from the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

According to his wife, "she last saw her husband last Monday week in Bulgaria and that he went to Portugal after that".

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0527/lynnm.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Where is this guy now, can the Irish government track where this guys passport has been used?

Is this him, with these Nigerian and Polish Fraudsters in South America ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

marcsignal wrote: »
    Is this him in South America ??

LOL thats class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

I don't understand how the wife's ability to travel hasn't been limited in some way, I also find it amazing she's trying to press ahead and get some of the money from the sale of the Howth house.

It just seems odd she isn't under more scrutiny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He's had a sex-change operation and is in front of the auto-cue on the 6.01 news. Goes by the name of Doyle.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0830/471190-michael-lynn-brazil/
    Maybe it was him in the mardi gras photo in the post above.

But he'll be back soon hopefully!!!!:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0830/471190-michael-lynn-brazil/
    Maybe it was him in the mardi gras photo in the post above.

But he'll be back soon hopefully!!!!:pac::pac::pac:

He'll probably be brought back and rewarded with a nice pension and a retirement home :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

My guess is "It's Example Time" and this guy is for the full treatment. I'll be disgusted if he doesn't do (substantial) time for fraud.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Fair balls to the chap........he kinda has his a55 covered.

Made sure to have his child born in Brazil,thus entitling him to a Brazilian passport.

He can now delay the fcuk out of the extradition warrant,fcuk up things and further fcuk people around some more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

When are his counterparts here going to be arrested.?
    Ahern,Harney,McCreevey,Lowry,Fingleton and the other cronies that wrecked this economy...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

They'll be sending the doctor from Fair City back any time now - the one who helped Floyd end his life.

washman3 wrote: »
    When are his counterparts here going to be arrested.?
    Ahern,Harney,McCreevey,Lowry,Fingleton and the other cronies that wrecked this economy...:mad:

What crimes did Mary Harney commit again? IT seems to have slipped my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

A big fat crime

Crimes against humanity

Being extra large as Minister for Health

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 ceruleanblue

Nice thread bump - over 5 years!

I hope they don't go too hard on him. "we can't be scaring away investment", remember! {{profound sarcasm}}

vicwatson wrote: »
    A big fat crime

Crimes against humanity

Being extra large as Minister for Health

And now back in the real world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Nice thread bump - over 5 years!

I hope they don't go too hard on him. "we can't be scaring away investment", remember! {{profound sarcasm}}

I think its a good bump as he's only been arrested now after this length of time, way too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

We should get that private bounty hunter guy from american tv - you know the sophisticated guy with excellent style and classy dress sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

How can he be extradited if there is no treaty between Ireland and Brazil? I recall a case where a rapist fled there to avoid prosecution here also.

Only f you've been living in a cave for the last 6 years..
    Just look around you bud...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Only f you've been living in a cave for the last 6 years..
    Just look around you bud...;)

I repeat, what crimes did she commit? And don't bother posting some looney tunes clap trap if you don't have a legitimate answer. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Montroseee wrote: »
    How can he be extradited if there is no treaty between Ireland and Brazil? I recall a case where a rapist fled there to avoid prosecution here also.

There is now a bi-lateral agreement between Ireland and Brazil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

Word has it that there bringing him back to help out at NamA.I think a small wage of 200k was being offered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

I think the banks who loaned him money are just as culpable in the fraud he committed. His fraud was almost child like in its simplicity. He got multiple mortgages on the same properties and pocketed the cash. Banks threw money at him only because he appeared to be successful.

Banks who loaned money without carrying out due diligence just to collect the bonus on the loan should be brought to task too.

Obviously Lynn should be brought home to face the music too though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭browne_rob5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

Anyone know when Michael is due back?

jetsonx wrote: »
    Anyone know when Michael is due back?

I would imagine he will be back to vote for his buddies in the General Election.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I would imagine he will be back to vote for his buddies in the General Election.!

Which ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

down the local telling his neighbours that property is still a good investment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Is he up his hole picking daisies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Jupiter Mulligan

He's now trying to sponge Disability Allowance from the Irish taxpayer.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/former-solicitor-michael-lynn-challenges-refusal-to-give-him-disability-benefit-over-brazil-prison-experience-38270088.html

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/michael-lynn-challenges-refusal-of-disability-benefit-1.3943115

(Note that, contrary to the cretinous headlines in both The Irish Times and Irish Independent, there's no such thing as "Disability Benefit"! I hope his lawyers know that! )

He's now trying to sponge Disability Allowance from the Irish taxpayer.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/former-solicitor-michael-lynn-challenges-refusal-to-give-him-disability-benefit-over-brazil-prison-experience-38270088.html

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/michael-lynn-challenges-refusal-of-disability-benefit-1.3943115

(Note that, contrary to the cretinous headlines in both The Irish Times and Irish Independent, there's no such thing as "Disability Benefit"! I hope his lawyers know that! )
    I'm not in any way invested in this story, and have minimal sympathy for Michael Lynn, but it says a lot for this country that it takes someone like him to make some reasonable objections to the social welfare system.

For example, one of his complaints (quite reasonable) is that the same person whose decision he appealed, also reviewed the appeal.

That's a nonsense.

His medical assessment (for disability allowance, or whatever it's called) was conducted by a person who didn't examine him, whose medical expertise are unknown.

That's a nonsense.

Again, I have no sympathy for Lynn. He is accused of being a thief of jaw-dropping amounts of money.

Nevertheless, it is ridiculous that the Department of Social Welfare are engaging in such practices, which sound ridiculous if they are happening as reported in that article by The Irish Times.

Those are definitely not Fair Procedures, which we are guaranteed under the Constitution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Jupiter Mulligan

I'm not in any way invested in this story, and have minimal sympathy for Michael Lynn, but it says a lot for this country that it takes someone like him to make some reasonable objections to the social welfare system.

For example, one of his complaints (quite reasonable) is that the same person whose decision he appealed, also reviewed the appeal.

That's a nonsense.

His medical assessment (for disability allowance, or whatever it's called) was conducted by a person who didn't examine him, whose medical expertise are unknown.

That's a nonsense.

Again, I have no sympathy for Lynn. He is accused of being a thief of jaw-dropping amounts of money.

Nevertheless, it is ridiculous that the Department of Social Welfare are engaging in such practices, which sound ridiculous if they are happening as reported in that article by The Irish Times.

He was ruled out on the Habitual Residence Condition (HRC), so there wasn't any need to consider the medical situation.

It's a pretty simple thing - either he meets the HRC or he doesn't. If he doesn't then his application isn't considered.

This ex parte application is just more nonsense from greedy lawyers.

He was ruled out on the Habitual Residence Condition (HRC), so there wasn't any need to consider the medical situation.

But it was considered. His appeal was examined by the original civil servant who refused it.

The medical examination did take place, without his presence.

That's the stupidity.

That's the point.