Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Ye"

• 22-05-2008 11:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭OctoberFall

I was on a course in Galway last year, when I suddenly realised that people were saying "ye", instead of "you".
    The first time I thought I misheard. The second time I thought it was a mistake. The 200th time, I wanted to punch the people saying it.

Is this just a Galway-Cork thing? Why the hell can't people just say "you"?

"Ye can all go home for the weekend and"?
    "Pardon"?

Seriously though, same single syllable, why try to be "cool" about it?

<boards.ie>
    Ye're Ma!
    I think ye're talking crap!
    </boards.ie>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Ye're Ma!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I was on a course in Galway last year, when I suddenly realised that people were saying "ye", instead of "you".
    The first time I thought I misheard. The second time I thought it was a mistake. The 200th time, I wanted to punch the people saying it.

"Pardon"?

<boards.ie>
    Ye're Ma!
    </boards.ie>

Um....

Wouldn't be down to accent would it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Another thing about Galway people is they don't say 'Yer man' they say 'Yer manno'.

I say 'ye'. I got slagged about it in work, then I said 'YE CAN ALL GO **** OFF' and I got slagged again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Must be a country thing.

It is quite annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Special K

What, as opposed to "yous" in the East/Dub??? Plus I think it's a pretty general Irish thing. "What ye/yi [as it could be pronounced] flows quicker off the tongue, so it's for ease of speech I would say. Similar to some other words.

I'd rather "ye" than "yis" or "yous". Although either of those are better than using "you" as it's difficult sometimes to distinguish between the singular and plural :)

Personally they should have made up a different word for you plural, perhaps whem? [A combination of we and them?] :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Meh I say it too when referring to a group of people. There's nothing cool about it, it's just a word that some people have used all their life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

It's usually used when talking to a group of people...."what are ye on about?"
    It's sort of short for "you all".

Plus I'd rather this didn't turn into ye batin the heads off Galway people. [As I am a Galweigian myself!] So ye can all go take a hike :D [I must say I do use "yer manno" sometimes!!!!]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭OctoberFall

SDooM wrote: »
    Um....
    Wouldn't be down to accent would it?
    No. I'm from the north - our accent is bad enough, but I've come to be able to understand pretty much all Irish accents (even the extremities of Cork, God help me).
    This is definietly a "cool" thing. They even type it.

Also, 'm a teacher. If I walk into the room roaring "WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!" the wee children may think that I'm only roaring at one of them and get confused. It is essential that they all jump a mile out of their skin and realise I am referring to all of them!!! :) Hence "WHAT ARE YE DOING?!" - See, no confusion :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

It's not a cool thing at all. It's used in everyday conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

I think you'll find people who use have a more varied and thus better understanding of the English language, LINKY See:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Special K wrote: »
    [I must say I do use "yer manno" sometimes!!!!]

Don't forget about yer wan!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

No. I'm from the north - our accent is bad enough, but I've come to be able to understand pretty much all Irish accents (even the extremities of Cork, God help me).

Having boned a Galweigan lass (bless her cotton panties) I can definitely tell ye they use it all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

actually had my v old english grammar book out a few weels ago, and ye is in there. Perhaps because we have a different word in Irish as well for you plural(i just know that spelling is wrong)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I use it as a plural for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Having boned a Galweigan lass (bless her cotton panties) I can definitely tell ye they use it all the time.

"Ye better not be filming me"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Its a word. Get over it.

ye1 Audio Help /yi/ Pronunciation Key - Show Spelled Pronunciation[yee] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation,
    –pronoun
    1. Archaic (except in some elevated or ecclesiastical prose), Literary, or British Dialect.
    a. (used nominatively as the plural of thou, esp. in rhetorical, didactic, or poetic contexts, in addressing a group of persons or things): O ye of little faith; ye brooks and hills.
    b. (used nominatively for the second person singular, esp. in polite address): Do ye not know me?
    c. (used objectively in the second person singular or plural): I have something to tell ye. Arise, the enemy is upon ye!
    2. (used with mock seriousness in an invocation, mild oath, or the like): Ye gods and little fishes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Ain't 'ye' correct grammer?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Took me years to get used to aye as in

Q - did you enjoy the show last night ?

A - 'oh aye '

Had to remind myself i was in north west England and not Scotland /NI ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I, you, he, she, we, ye and they is what we were thought in school. :) I use ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

I like it, but don't say it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

The 200th time, I wanted to punch the people saying it.
    Get over it.

Next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Ruu wrote: »
    I, you, he, she, we, ye and they is what we were thought in school. :) I use ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

What age are you OP? I'm presuming you are an adult - its a bit weird that you never heard it before..
    Ye - a cool thing to say? Rock and Roll!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

It's a real word, colloquially used in many parts of Ireland. You are the one trying to be cool by saying 'you' when referring to more than 1 person. So irritating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

It's been used for generations all over Ireland to distinguish from the singular "you". It improves the language. People use workarounds like this so they have a clearer distinction between singular second-person and plural second-person. In the southern states of the US "y'all" is common, in Dublin I often hear "yous". There's nothing wrong with it, it eases communication.

There is, however, something very wrong with wanting to physically harm people who speak differently from you, especially since in your case you are the "outsider" and really should try to respect the culture of your area and realise that you might have a thing or two to learn. Maybe you should seek some sort of therapy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭zuchum

haha..tht made me laugh quite a lot..i dunno why..

It seems to me like at least a west of Ireland thing if not a "culchie" thing. Never heard it while I lived in Dublin but hear it constantly out here in the sticks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Exactly, I'm amazed the word "ye" isn't known throughout Ireland! I always assumed everyone learned the same way us culchie types did!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

Are we talking about ye (as in ye) or ye (as in yee)? Because both are used in Waterford...

Seriously, if you wanted to punch people because of the way they talk... you have problems.

Major ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭JæKæ

It annoys me too, I prefer yous and yis.
    But it doesn't annoy me as much as nordies, who say yooy and say ny instead of now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

KingLoser wrote: »
    Are we talking about ye (as in ye) or ye (as in yee)? Because both are used in Waterford...
    What's the difference between "ye" and "yee"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

"Pardon"?

<boards.ie>
    Ye're Ma!
    </boards.ie>

I'm from Dublin, and I say ye. I have absolutely no idea what you're on about when you say "why try to be cool about it?". I have yet to meet anyone who thinks saying ye instead of you is cool. And, furthermore, I have yet to meet anyone who has given it any consideration to be honest, so cop on OP. Should we all use your uncool diction?

I use ye most of the time because I find it rolls into the words which follow it easier. Simple as. No 'coolness' involved.

This thread = FAIL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

What's the difference between "ye" and "yee"?

Ye is singular. Yee is plural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

My mother's family is from Tipp and she uses 'yee' even though she lived all her life in Dublin. I guess she got it from her parents. I'm not too sure what I use but I don't say 'yee'. I always thought it was a Dublin / rest of country divide.

I also didn't think 'yee' was correct to use. I was taught in school that 'you' was correct for both singular and plural.

Were ye taught "thought" vs "taught"? :D

On topic, nothing wrong with "ye"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Wait a minute ... Robots dont say ye !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

the dee wrote: »
    ......I also didn't think 'yee' was correct to use. I was taught in school that 'you' was correct for both singular and plural.

Same here. I'm not from Ireland, and I've yet to visit the west, but I think regional accents and idosyncracies can be charming, I work with a guy from Cork, and while he doesn't say Ye, he does have this soothing sing-song manner of speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

I've had this discussion time and time again with friends...

I HATE "yous", not for the word but for how people pronounce it "you-es" its the most stupid word I have ever come across and it sounds complete knacker talk (not in anyway disrespectful to the itinerants there mind you)...

The plural of you... is ye...

As in a group of people... "Where are ye going?" or "I will meet up with ye later"

Ye

Much as the OP wanted to punch people saying ye.. well id love to leather the cr@p outta people on the east coast who constantly use "you-es"...

:mad:

PS>

Yes i know different locals teach different...

We were taught... I, You, He, She, We, Ye, They :P

So thats the way i like it.. uh huh uh huh... thats the way uh huh uh huh... i like it... *you get the idea*

PS - Tipp South here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

Were several people co-boning this alleged Galwegian, or was she so drunk she was seeing double? Or is your leabability so mighty that she referred to you in the plural out of respect?

We need to be told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

Yes, "Yous" and "yis" are dublin knacker talk. Ye is a real word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

axer wrote: »
    Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Sometimes the thanks button could be put to good use in here. that = sense.

I use 'ye' also. Largely due to the fact that I'm a hip, cool and all round crazy kind of guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

ignore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

Same here. I'm not from Ireland, and I've yet to visit the west, but I think regional accents and idosyncracies can be charming, I work with a guy from Cork, and while he doesn't say Ye, he does have this soothing sing-song manner of speech.

I type as i speak and i say "ya" for you. As in, are ya ready? Are ya comin for a pint? are ya ok?

I'd look like a queer eejit going around saying are you comin for a pint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

sorry did not mean to quote ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

Stop lying. Ye is not a real word. Check the dictionary. Check any English grammar book. If you were taught (or even "thought"!!) that at school, then you were taught wrong).

Singular:
    I
    You
    He/She

Plural:
    We
    You
    They

Anything else is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

Beerlao wrote: »
    Stop lying. Ye is not a real word. Check the dictionary. Check any English grammar book. If you were taught (or even "thought"!!) that at school, then you were taught wrong).

Singular:
    I
    You
    He/She

Plural:
    We
    You
    They

Anything else is wrong.

Non-sense hahaha...Dont try to disprove something unless you made sure it doesnt exist.. ANYWHERE...

Incase you missed my link... Here... Ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

It grinds my gears when people use ye on the internet, seeing as they're usually 15 year old anarchy kids who go to gael scoils and complain about middle class children.