Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most fatal crashes on normal roads - study

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

I second that, came into my school.

Very informative, needless to say i took it handy coming home from school that day

One story struck me the most was the one he told us about a rta he delt with where a young girl died. How her parents didnt restrain her etc

It made me think, why do stupid things like that and put the grief on someone elses door step. No doubt everytime he closes his eyes he pictures that little girl. And for what?

Fatal rta's are not a pretty sight, been there done that.

I think the RSA ad that struck me the most was the one about making others make decisions, like the medics deciding to cease cpr, guards on how to break the news etc.

So if you want to go out and be an idiot driver, think of the position your putting others in. Be it the emergency services at scene or your family placing you into a grave, YOUR CHOICE NOT THEIRS!

Don't make others suffer for your decisions is what im trying to say here i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭albertw

Resources seem to the biggest issue. I see on Sky 1 the UK cops using those in car cameras and they seem effective. Guess you just need extra patrols and new technology. Static cameras are fine in certain areas but you can't have them down every boreen in the place.
    Proper signage and road markings on country roads wouldn't go astray either. On that matter I can't ever understand how on wet days and especially nights our road markings are practically invisible. This in the wettest country in the world!! Possibly some penny pinching on behalf of our local authorities me thinks:mad:.

All good points. I was pulled over once in the US for speeding. Squad car was driving the other way and had an in car system that was able to factor in his speed and calculate mine. This was just a normal patrol car based at a station in a small enough town, not highway patrol. If Garda cars here could be fitted with such a system it would reduce the risk of standing on a bend in some boreen. In car systems would leave no excuse for not having better coverage on roads where dangerous speeding occurs rather than catching someone doing 55 coming into a town. It also would mean that every existing patrol car fitted with the technology would effectively be able to check for speeding as they drive about on their regular duty and reduce the time spent standing at a roadside.

I'd much rather have the traffic corps equipped with this technology driving about on the motorways and catching the people doing 160+ than the speed cameras causing everyone to break suddenly! I think it would be much more effective at reducing dangerous driving too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

TheNog wrote: »
    The Traffic Corps lads in Dublin Castle do a brilliant presentation showing collision scenes and interviews with injured parties and those who have lost loved ones. They travel nationwide to schools and businesses which I think should be implemented in every division and given by members within that division.
    Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    I second that, came into my school.

Very informative, needless to say i took it handy coming home from school that day

One story struck me the most was the one he told us about a rta he delt with where a young girl died. How her parents didnt restrain her etc

True.He told us that story too, was nearly in tears. One of the saddest stories i've ever heard. Its had a profound effect on his life not a mind the childs parents life.

EVERYONE should hear it.