Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GP Play-Offs.

• 18-05-2008 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭

Big day in the Guinness Premiership today. Wasps V Bath and Gloucester V Leics. Predicting a Wasps/Gloucester final with Wasps to win the comp in yet another lazarus style resurrection.

Wasps/Bath last encounter, game of the GP season thus far...here's hoping for more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

hope they are good games...

cipriani looks like he's ****ed.

really nasty leg injury

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Oh christ! Cipriani's ankle gone, foot was definitely pointing the wrong way there...poor lad, hope isn't as bad as it looked,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

The screams of him was shocking! Going to be interesting to see what Engalnd will do for the NZ tour now!

Bloody sky+ ! Wish I hadn't rewound that, that'll teach me for being a ghoulish voyeur I spose... very,very nasty injury...he'll be out for the forseeable with that...poor divil

toomevara wrote: »
    Bloody sky+ ! Wish I hadn't rewound that, that'll teach me for being a ghoulish voyeur I spose... very,very nasty injury...he'll be out for the forseeable with that...poor divil

ditto.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Too lazy to go downstairs to see it,lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Oh christ! Cipriani's ankle gone, foot was definitely pointing the wrong way there...poor lad, hope isn't as bad as it looked,
    that was nasty looking!! made me look at me own foot just to make sure it was still pointing where it should!

aaargh!!! uncontested scrums! the horror....

Superb, typically bloody minded display from Wasps...cost 'em dear though...still back 'em to win the thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Ah feck that means Cips wont be going to New Zealand for sure... pity as i thought that him vs Carter would have been a great contest oh well.

Gloucester vs Leicester. Now usually id support Leicester but by god do they not deserve to be this far so i hope the Cherry and White's get revenge

Stev_o wrote: »

Gloucester vs Leicester. Now usually id support Leicester but by god do they not deserve to be this far so i hope the Cherry and White's get revenge

Agreed, plus a Wasps/Gloucester final would be mouth watering, definitely the two form english teams at the minute....

As is Leicester this year they'v had arguably the shakiest 2 minutes iv ever seen from them ever!

i dont really care who wins as long as tuilangi and vainakoli have a couple of high speed head on collisions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

taidghbaby wrote: »
    i dont really care who wins as long as tuilangi and vainakoli have a couple of high speed head on collisions!

agreed :)

Goode having one of those days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Goode is having one of those seasons

varndell: 0-60 in 2.5 secs..........who needs a ferrari

Murphy's playing well beside having a chunk on the back of his head missing. Some good catches and a nice break

Lucky not to be a 2nd yellow card there*

*I spoke too soon

Typical Leicester "We dont care if you get binned as long as they dont score 7 points "

Really cynical, negative stuff from the tigers...should have had three in the bin..a shame, and awful to watch.

but thats how they win.

Now thats sheer power breaks through 5 players. Try Leicester

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

So dissappointing, it wasn't exactly the big bang :( Went straight through the Volcano :pac:

What a try by JSP. Man Qera certainly the player of the year in the GP beautifully set up. Game has come into life now

RuggieBear wrote: »
    but thats how they win.

Absolutely,but I don't bloody well like it! Still they're starting to play a bit of rugby now...How good is Ungaro in the loose? Just the kind of no.7 we need in Ireland....Murphy having a cracker,which is nice to see...

What a break!

marco_polo wrote: »
    So dissappointing, it wasn't exactly the big bang :( Went straight through the Volcano :pac:
    was in the toilet so missed that.......but didnt miss much by the way you're talking

In fairness he did break through about 5 players!

LOL what a freak of a try that was

This is what the ML is missing. Brilliant drama to this game

This is a f*cking great 2nd half!

What a classic game of rugby. Brilliant advertisement for the GP, play-off rugby and leaving the current laws in place and un-feckin'-molested. Hope someone sends the IRB a copy of this game....

I'd assumed that the winner of the GP this year would come from the Wasps/Bath game.but having seen that who knows...great stuff, had it all.

Absolutely,but I don't bloody well like it!
    I don't like it either but look at the teams that tend to win things...they don't tend to play "attractive" running rugby till after the've mugged the oppo up front.:(

What a classic game of rugby. Brilliant advertisement for the GP, play-off rugby and leaving the current laws in place and un-feckin'-molested. Hope someone sends the IRB a copy of this game....

I'd assumed that the winner of the GP this year would come from the Wasps/Bath game.but having seen that who knows...great stuff, had it all.

Think of the final now and the history im sure Neil Back will be telling them all week about how Wasps robbed him and Johnno's grand farewell and how now Leicester have the opportunity to do the same to Dallaglio

geordan murphy is the one leicester player with a bit of skill & class!

without him the tigers would look lke a monkey tryin to hammer a square peg into a round hole!!

but you have to hand it to them though, they're an effective bunch!!

If this is anything to go by the final should be great, fair play to Leicester once they actually started playing they turned it into a brilliant game, that and the fact that 2 weeks ago they were looking at nothing. Feel bad for Gloucester but such is the way the cookie crumbles. Magners League can only benefit from a playoff setup.

RuggieBear wrote: »
    I don't like it either but look at the teams that tend to win things...they don't tend to play "attractive" running rugby till after the've mugged the oppo up front.:(

Totally agree, my in-built aversion to that style of play must be the last vestige of the amateur era hiding in a long forgotten corner of my soul making itself felt...And in the end, you're absolutely right, their negativity in the first set 'em up for the second half victory. 'Tis true that the Gods of rugby are a jealous, harsh and unfair lot....

Oh and for the people who didnt see what happened to Cips well here's the video

WARNING IF YOU ARE IN ANY WAY LIGHT STOMACHED DONT WATCH AS THE CLIP SHOWS THE ANKLE BENT 90 DEGREE'S WITH VIOLENT SCREAMS

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Gq71TjIEYhk

Looks worse the Czekaj leg break

Should come with a health warning for those of a less than robust constitution...still not over it me-self...i've said it before and I'll say it again...poor divil...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

WARNING IF YOU ARE IN ANY WAY LIGHT STOMACHED DONT WATCH AS THE CLIP SHOWS THE ANKLE BENT 90 DEGREE'S WITH VIOLENT SCREAMS

Not loading for me! Im just home and sick as a dog that I missed this, will have to have a look and see if its on later.

Should load im not having any problems with it try it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Could I just echo this warning. I shall find it difficult to sleep tonight.

That didn't look nice at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

sky wouldn't even reply it it was that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Watched a good bit of the second half Gloucester - Tigers. Was the first half bad? Thought the second half was a great advertisment for the game! Brilliant rugby!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Fantastic second half.Well done the Tigers and their never say die attitude.They will simply do anything to try and get the win as we in Munster know only too well but you have to admire a team that can win against the odds.
    Terrible for Cipriani.I was glad Sky did not repeat it as I didn't really see what happened and don't want to.It's a shame when something like this happens to any player and worse for the game in general when that player is an exciting talent.Too many times broken legs have stopped players achieving their full potential(Including Geordan Murphy who played very well today but overall in his career he was never as good as looked likely before he broke his leg)

Re: the Cipriani incident, did anyone see the picture on the front of the sports section of the UK Guardian today? Totally gratuitous and unnecessary, imo....did any of the Irish dailys carry it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I can't look at it. Luckily I was out of the room when it happend and have rufused to watch it. Had a horrofic leg injury myself. I think if it's happend to you, you can't see it happen to someone else as you relive painfull memorys in your own mind. :(