Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do with all your small change?

• 17-05-2008 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭

It seems most people eventually end up with bulging pocketfuls of little bronze coins these days, and at the end of the day, most people just fling it in a pile somewhere til it comes in handy. What do you actually do with yours?

I hate handling money, particularly coins and once I have a big enough (ie heavy enough) bag, I bring it to one of those machines which sorts it and then takes a big chunk for the company that owns the machine (12.5% now, getting steep, should reconsider this option really). Although I know its a rip, I do love going to a petrol station, getting fuel and lunch, then cashing your coins and walking out with more money that you went in with. (some people prefer illusion to reality!!)
    My dad sorts out his bags of change into properly measured bank bags and cashes it in the bank, while a friend of mine just pours little bags of coins into the collection tins for various charities. Some people just build up vast quantities of coins in their homes til they have no room left for furniture.

What do you do with all your small coinage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

I spend it, rarely get left with much change that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Hudson 4 ever

I throw out small change with reciepts, its better than having tonnes of change or giving it to some homeless punk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Store it up and when I feel theres enough I offer my little sister a percentage to count it out for me and bag it. I get a better rate than those machines :D

Not a whole lot better mind you, she's getting quite good at haggling for a better percentage and on a couple of occasions has refused to count it unless for a set price. Clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

i fill one of those big empty vodka bottles with it, or pay parking fines with it. although those folks are gettin a bit upitty (uppity? uppitty?) about the number of coins they'll accept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭siobhan.murphy

put in jars,each with there own type,1 cent 2 cent ect..,when full:D
    bag them and if they are all the same the can weigh them in the post office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

When I'm queuing in shops I usually count it up and hand it over.
    No, I don't hold anyone up as I count out small change, I have the exact amount ready and hand it over.

Some cashiers hate it, some cashiers love it as it's the exact amount. I don't care either way

I hate people who queue for ages and they hold up the queue by fumbling around their purse/wallet.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I throw all my coin change into a pot i have in the bed room. Then every year after ive booked and paid for my holidays i break it open and count it. This year my spending money bonus id 879.00 euro.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

I count out 25c each day in 1c and 2c's and buy a freddo bar after lunch. The girl see's me coming and laughs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Goes in a bucket and pays either NTL, Gas or ESB bill. Or buys lunch if I'm smashed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Give it to my husband to spend as I am too embarassed to use it (he gives me notes of the same amount in return).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

What is it with people being embarrased to use change?

My dad won't even pay for the bus with change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Use it as busfare. Little coppers along with a few 50's + 20's make it look like you've got loads of money and it makes it hard to count so I save money when I take the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

Small change goes into my sons money box - every 6 months or so it get counted and lodged into his credit union account.

Any money I have left over from a night out/day I keep in another money box..the one ongoing at the moment is spending money for Disney when we go in sept.

You actually dont notice it gone and it really adds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

I have an old three liter vodka bottle that I put all my change in, last time I emptied it I got 880 out of it, was only putting change in it for about eight months at the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

The brown stuff goes into the boxes on the shop counter.
    I throw the 5,10, 20, 50 cent and 1 and 2 Euro coins into a big plastic bottle, those water cooler bottles, at home.

I emptied it out a couple of months ago and had over 600 Euro in the thing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Throw it at ducks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jam jar it then bag it and cash it in. Feels like free money :)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I used to have it in a Cartman piggie bank thingy, then my Da took it and got it changed up, there was over €100 in it!

I've got a load of change now in a lunchbox, probably around €50 in that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Save it, then cash it and then spend it..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Ive a 5ltr Vodka bottle in the room. Everything under a 50c goes into it but i think ill start putting 50's in aswell. Its half full at the minute so prob about €250-300 in there

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Buy cheap junk food on Taco Tuesday at Del Taco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

small change gets fecked onto a plate in my room, when the plate fills up, I sort the money out into little tubs for each denomination lower than 50 cent.
    (makes it easier when I eventually get around to bagging the change)

Wash, rinse, repeat.

Last time I banked all my change i had, was about €70 worth.

Other than that the odd bus fare when I don't have a bus ticket or spend it in the vending machine at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I made a piggy bank out of an old jar - it's great to here the clink of the small change going in. It's mostly used for bus fares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I throw all change into a small bucket.

I usually cash it in every six months or so.

One time my brother got a grand and a half from his jar :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I put it in my wallet and will endeavour to spend it when I'm next handing over money.

Loads of people blindly hand over notes when they could probably make up the amount from the change they have.

If you throw your change into a jar every day then surely you're constantly breaking notes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Have a large coke bottle money bank for it (3 ft tall or so). It'll be a while until its full. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

nearly the same as yourself, Ruu.. A giant bottle which fills :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

http://www.independentshopping.ie/icart/viewprod.asp?ID=1950
    &
    http://www.readeroffers.ie/rcart/viewprod.asp?ID=1950&roID=1

Should make life easy when I go to clean the car. The amount of change under my seats is unreal. Have some tins around the house aswell with coppers in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

I generally put it all in a jar, and when my sisters come home with those Trocaire boxes they give kids in school, I give give them the change to put in the box. It usually fills over a box too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

Thrill wrote: »
    The brown stuff goes into the boxes on the shop counter.
    I throw the 5,10, 20, 50 cent and 1 and 2 Euro coins into a big plastic bottle, those water cooler bottles, at home.

I emptied it out a couple of months ago and had over 600 Euro in the thing. :)

I think ya might get in trouble for that.

Childish humour ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

caoibhin wrote: »
    I throw all my coin change into a pot i have in the bed room. Then every year after ive booked and paid for my holidays i break it open and count it. This year my spending money bonus id 879.00 euro.:D

pretty much the same.. i have a 3litre vodka bottle (empty) and fill it with 1c 2c 5c 10c 20c and 50c(anything else isnt small), then i raid it every now and again, put it into money bags, last time i got 76.00, the time before i got 179:00, i reckon i have about 80:00 in there now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭yawnstretch

I've this Britta water filter jug thing that I stopped using during the water contamination phase here in Galway. I raid it for the 1 and 2 euro coins now and then but mostly I grab a large handful on Sundays for the church basket :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

i throw anything up to 20cent coins at people (not homeless people or beggers tho....grrrr). ill keep anything from 50 cent upwards...it usually comes in handy.

although, i did once give a begger loads of coins before...(was just back from the states and had pocket loads of cents, dimes, and quaters....big handfull of them right into mrs beggers cup... (JUSTICE :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Fringe wrote: »
    Use it as busfare. Little coppers along with a few 50's + 20's make it look like you've got loads of money and it makes it hard to count so I save money when I take the bus.

Shouldn't that be "I steal money when I take the bus"?

I just spend all my coins.

I don't understand how and why people have a problem doing that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

If you use one of those paul masson wine bottles (the ones that look like one of those hospital bed pissing things) and just put 1,2 and 5's into it, its roughly 40 euros at the top of the front label (less than half full)! handy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭wandering_star

I throw out small change with reciepts, its better than having tonnes of change or giving it to some homeless punk
    Not to sound like the cliche poor broke student here, but you throw away money?!?! I'm stunned, really.

There are people struggling to make ends meet... I can see where you're coming from, ie it's annoying to carry around- but those 1 or 2c add up.

Jaysus, stick in a tin, let it pile up, swap it for notes at the local bank and go on a mad one.
    Or buy the essentials like, bread, milk, and 12 year old Bushmills malt. :)

Hmmm.

(Me I stick mine in a Bushmills tin, keeps me motivated :D, what can I say, I'm a fiend for the whiskey :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I fúck my spare copper at homeless people for the laugh.

Seriously though it just collects dust in a jar.

Some supermarkets in the states i noticed on my last tour back had set up coin sorting machines: you dump little change in, and it gives big change out. Superb!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Overheal wrote: »
    I fúck my spare copper at homeless people for the laugh.

Seriously though it just collects dust in a jar.

Some supermarkets in the states i noticed on my last tour back had set up coin sorting machines: you dump little change in, and it gives big change out. Superb!

yes they have them in ireland too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Put it into money bags. When I have €200 I have it changed to four €50 notes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

flanum wrote: »
    yes they have (change machines) in ireland too.

Where, flanum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

luckat wrote: »
    Where, flanum?
    There's one in Supervalu on Fr Griffin Rd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I drive around town late at night throwing it at the sleeping homeless people just to see their reaction when they're woken up.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

biko wrote: »
    There's one in Supervalu on Fr Griffin Rd

Yep, but those machines take a hefty percentage of it. I think the ones that overheal was talking about are commission free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

I lose it typically

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Bag it up and bring down to the bank. Got €280 last time.

If you can read this, you're too close!

Damnit. This thread now has made me want to find out how much money I have in my change jar.

/goes and counts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

flanum wrote: »
    yes they have them in ireland too.

there is one in the Centra on Doughiska Road in Galway......but its like 10% fee or some crazy shi1t like that!

I throw all my coins into a big savings box thingy.....last time i did it I had about €300 just before i moved!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Damnit. This thread now has made me want to find out how much money I have in my change jar.

/goes and counts

Well??? Are you a copper millionaire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

I have a jar in work and at home. Every so often I get wifey to change it for some proper money.