Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Students and Staff only?

• 16-05-2008 9:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭

Whats going on this evening... students and staff only being let on campus? Was there trouble down the pav this evening does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Rorate Caeli

Random people not admitted to the public park that is Trinity College? What an injustice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Moorsy

Yeh t'was strange. I was leaving the library at 9ish and the Naussa st entrance was closed and the security were standing at the front entrance talking to people. Didn't take notice because Daft Punk were breaking my ear drums and I was tired.

The Pav was crowded, I imagined they weren't TCD Students seeing as exams start on Monday for a wide base of people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Pearse street entrance was locked as well, no swipe access. which was great, cus I nearly missed my bus thanks to it. hrmph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Tricked

Front arch weren't letting people in at 10 too, I heard one of the security guards mentioning the pav :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

UCD finished up their exams today, maybe they were afraid there would be an influx of them. Though I did see a security guard look for some students to show him ID along the rugby pitch... no messing about when it comes to TCDPD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ilovemybrick

It hapened twice yesterday evening that I saw. When I was coming back on campus at 6.30 security refused entry to people who were obviously pav bound (ie cans in hand) without id and then when i left the library and was walking bast lincoln gate there was a congregation of about 25 people who were being refused on the same basis. It was dealt with efficiently and politely. Anyone who had id was let in with a quick flash of the card.

I was really impressed that they were stopping people entering at lincoln gate.
    If the problems at the pav, be it litter or loutish behaviour, continue at least there will no longer be people blaming non-TCD pav attendees for those problems. Hopefully those problems will stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

So are they just stopping people who look like they're Pav-ward bound? Just bring a camera and say you're a tourist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I dunno, the Pav looks awfully closed from here... (Ussher)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭manicmonoliths

What happened today in the Arts Block? People were being kicked out at around 1.30, is this normal? (I'm not usually here on a Saturday:o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

OMG college lockdownz!!!one!11!

Seriously though, what the eff is going on?

Arts block always closes at 1.30 on saturday.
    unless there is a conference/lecture series going on.

As for the lockdown people were still being id-ed on the way through lincoln gate this evening.

I, for one, like it.

I like it - however if there's a switch in policy relating to letting people on campus they probably should inform all staff and students, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭AlexD

That's great news, college should be closed to the public most of the time, the Pavilion is a private member's bar. The atomosphere of college is ruined by strangers and cars running all over the place

I'm not a fan of this new security arrangement, front arch closed early today... leaving college these days you don't know what gates are open. Hope it doesn't last next year, i'd like to be able to come in and sit on the grass even though i won't be a student anymore.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

j1smithy wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of this new security arrangement, front arch closed early today... leaving college these days you don't know what gates are open. Hope it doesn't last next year, i'd like to be able to come in and sit on the grass even though i won't be a student anymore.

Front Arch always closes early on a Saturday does it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Front Arch always closes early on a Saturday does it not?

Yep, closes at 1800 on Saturday and Sunday...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭barnesd

They can't be possibly closing the campus to the public. That would be ridiculous, and there'd be uproar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭wesclark

Liberal democracy is a pain in the arse. The Pav needs mechanisms to keep bona fide knackers out, but these measures will probably only succeed in keeping UCD friends/recent grads etc. (groups who cause little trouble) out because knackers all basically have PhDs in circumventing rules.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

AlexD wrote: »
    That's great news, college should be closed to the public most of the time, the Pavilion is a private member's bar. The atomosphere of college is ruined by strangers and cars running all over the place

Private memebers bar in that its for DUCAC members only isnt it?

And the only cars allowed on campus are permit holders isnt it?

What about graduates? Should they be banned as well?

One thing that should be banned is tourists

crash_000 wrote: »
    I like it - however if there's a switch in policy relating to letting people on campus they probably should inform all staff and students, really.

Its not really a switch in policy, its a just an actual enforcement of the rules that have always been there.

Nope. it closed at 6. like always on a saturday.

True, I agree with you. However, its a move aimed to stop issues at the pav, most likely, fair enough. Coming up to exam time, with people studying late and running for buses at the last minute, its fair enough for folks to assume that the path they normally use out of college will be open as usual, OR they will be informed.

I could care less about issues at the pav at the moment to be honest, i'm just annoyed that I nearly missed my last bus thanks to security locking a normally open gate for no apparent (in that I had no idea what was going on) reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

kearnsr wrote: »
    What about graduates? Should they be banned as well?
    Actually where do graduates stand in the official rules? Surely they are allowed in? I mean they keep asking me for money by mail, but how do I prove I'm a graduate? Can I get a TCD Graduate ID card?(other than that stupid credit card they try to sell us)?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Irish Halo wrote: »
    Actually where do graduates stand in the official rules? Surely they are allowed in? I mean they keep asking me for money by mail, but how do I prove I'm a graduate? Can I get a TCD Graduate ID card?(other than that stupid credit card they try to sell us)?

I'm a member of the gym so that helps (I'm also doing a part time msc so thats a bit more) but other than that i dont know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Irish Halo wrote: »

This is why I don't like reactionary "The Pav is a private members' club, no non-Trinity students should be allowed in!" comments, does anyone really have a problem with recent alumni dropping in for a drink with a group of friends still enrolled in courses? or if someone brings their girlfriend along for a drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

wesclark wrote: »
    Liberal democracy is a pain in the arse. The Pav needs mechanisms to keep bona fide knackers out, but these measures will probably only succeed in keeping UCD friends/recent grads etc. (groups who cause little trouble) out because knackers all basically have PhDs in circumventing rules.

UCD students deserve to use TCD facilities no more than any other random person off the street. Plenty of students, including resident ones, are bona fide knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Rorate Caeli

This is why I don't like reactionary "The Pav is a private members' club, no non-Trinity students should be allowed in!" comments, does anyone really have a problem with recent alumni dropping in for a drink with a group of friends still enrolled in courses? or if someone brings their girlfriend along for a drink?

Graduates can join the Club (DUCAC) and members can bring guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭estariol

truth is the real problem is the people bringing cans in with them and therefore not buying their cans from the Pav. Anyone else notice people with non-pav branded cans getting hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭M450

It was dealt with efficiently and politely. Anyone who had id was let in with a quick flash of the card.
    I was headin in through lincoln gate on fri evening, have to say the security guard was far from polite about 'asking' to see ID... grumpy bastard!! We were baffled with the interrogation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

This entire situation in general may make my life a little more difficult.

Ah well, where there's a will, there's a way. Always managed to make my way in before.

I've never been asked for ID in 8 years going to the pav (not so much these days)

Update.

Security at Front Gate, Naussau and Lincoln Gate have instructions to check ids on anyone they don't recognise.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

boo 5 years drinking there,
    went last friday, nassau street, two mates (non ucd were there), i asked 'why ya standing outside' they reply 'they wont let us in', i said fair nuff, stuck my head phones in and walked in not making eye contact, i get to maybe 5 metres of pav, security guard hops on me screaming at me to get out, i take out my headphones and ask whats the issue , he drags me outand on the way my two other friends and maybe 15 others ran in while chasing me, i giggle and say 'i was the decoy', he REALLY man handles me

tis understandable finals time and all, pav is mental this time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Update.

Security at Front Gate, Naussau and Lincoln Gate have instructions to check ids on anyone they don't recognise.

Was wondering why we were ignored.

Does anyone know the reason for the increase in security tho? its not as if the junkies in the arts block are a new phenomenon...

This policy, being implemented without the warning for students, or at the very least the acknowledgement, is scary. Why whould they act in such a way and not tell anybody. What if I forget my student ID tomorrow and they don't let me?

Are they stopping tourists, or just young people? Is it just past 8 o'clock or all day round? Somebody needs to let people know whats going on and why!

Also just came to me know.....may go some way, partially, to explaining the increase in security......

Lucy O'Connell <lucy@csc.tcd.ie>:

This is to let you know that we have had an unprecedented number of
    break ins to society rooms in the last few weeks - 3 in the Atrium
    since last Friday. It is IMPERATIVE that you leave NOTHING of value
    in your rooms - if you have cash you should lodge it to your bank
    account. If for some reason you can't lodge it, you can leave it into
    the CSC office for safekeeping. Please make sure that all your
    keyholders are aware of this situation and warn them not to leave
    personal belongings in society rooms - they are not safe there. If
    something is stolen, there is nothing we can do.
    Be warned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

Moorsy wrote: »

Are they stopping tourists, or just young people? Is it just past 8 o'clock or all day round? Somebody needs to let people know whats going on and why!

Yeah, saw a couple of tourists being stopped in the arts block at about 6pm today. Tackleberry was there stopping everyone. Ignored me though, so he obviously remembers me from our last encounter.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

Moorsy wrote: »
    Also just came to me know.....may go some way, partially, to explaining the increase in security......

Lucy O'Connell <lucy@csc.tcd.ie>:

This is to let you know that we have had an unprecedented number of
    break ins to society rooms in the last few weeks - 3 in the Atrium
    since last Friday. It is IMPERATIVE that you leave NOTHING of value
    in your rooms - if you have cash you should lodge it to your bank
    account. If for some reason you can't lodge it, you can leave it into
    the CSC office for safekeeping. Please make sure that all your
    keyholders are aware of this situation and warn them not to leave
    personal belongings in society rooms - they are not safe there. If
    something is stolen, there is nothing we can do.
    Be warned!

Oh and that's fcukin awful btw. Ye can have nothing these days. Heard about that guys laptop being taken from the gmb a while ago and security catching him in front square. thieves are scum.

Couple of laptops stolen down around the lloyd over the last while iirc, as well as a mates being stolen from house 6.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Oh dear...

Last week I heard a tourist walking out the main gate moaning that college didn't seem very open as if he should have the right to walk through at all times. I'm guessing this was before these new security measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Security probably recognise me (for good and bad reasons) so I reckon I'm ok for getting past them.

But does this mean that they'll be stopping former students and graduates from drinking in the Pav or even walking through campus?

I haven't been in to college in about a week and a half, but I usually pop in once or twice a week and I'd hate to be turned away at the gate.

Security probably recognise me (for good and bad reasons) so I reckon I'm ok for getting past them.

After the year that was spent with at least 80% of your life within the walls and the amount of contact that was had with security I reckon you'll survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Randomness

What would be wrong with introducing a dedicated tourist entrance, either Front Arch or Nassau?

Security could "monitor" those coming through at that point.

Tourists would look touristy.
    Randomers would look random.
    Junkies would look junkie-esqe.

With regards other visitors, it would simply be up to the individual discretion of security. I know this could be abused but at least there would be a "presence" to cut down on robberies etc.

Then graduates could apply for a "graduate i.d card", which I think is a nice idea. If they are not bothered or only popping in for the first time in 10 years they would probably make it in the tourist entrance.

Then whichever entrance is not for visitors should have I.D entry for undergrads, post-grads,graduates,staff etc. Or both entrances could have this.

Then there is the problem of the millions of other entrances.....but I suppose Front Arch and Nassau would be a start.

I'm sure there are many negatives to this which I haven't thought of.....:D

Randomness wrote: »
    Then graduates could apply for a "graduate i.d card", which I think is a nice idea. If they are not bothered or only popping in for the first time in 10 years they would probably make it in the tourist entrance.

Don't go telling the Trinity Alumni that or else they'll love it and send me out crap.

Edit: I wasn't stopped there when I was in Trinity, entering from Lincoln, exiting through 'Millenium' and then re-entering through Front Arch and exiting through Lincoln.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Don't we fairly rake it in off the tourists? Between tours and the Book of Kells (which always has a huge line outside it in the summer) and the various gift shops/SU shops with Trinity merchandise? Combining that and the graduate students and friends of current students (both of whom add to the college atmosphere), you've got some relatively compelling reasons to keep college open to the public. Plus, good for our image and all that (elitism ftl etc).

I get that theft is bad and all that, but (a) there's every chance that the person who took those laptops is a TCD student (if they're in the Lloyd don't they need a student card anyway?) and (b) not to get all "blame the victim", but maybe leaving your laptop unattended isn't the best of ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Randomness

shay_562 wrote: »
    Don't we fairly rake it in off the tourists? Between tours and the Book of Kells (which always has a huge line outside it in the summer) and the various gift shops/SU shops with Trinity merchandise? Combining that and the graduate students and friends of current students (both of whom add to the college atmosphere), you've got some relatively compelling reasons to keep college open to the public. Plus, good for our image and all that (elitism ftl etc).

Yeah I take your point about having extra people around does add to the atmosphere, but what I was really just suggesting was some sort of a structure that everyone would have to pass through to kinda regulate it a bit and make it easier for security to spot potential trouble-makers. Not charging people for entry or anything!

I suppose they'll just have to strike the balance between great city centre location and all the people that go with that.

Also I think the tourists should be better accomodated in terms of a dedicated tourist info type building with facilities / a cafe for them to make money off etc, because in fairness they are forced to walk through the arts block to get to all the fancy things they want to see and that ain't no oil painting / they block the stairs and add the to queue for the loo.

Having said that, seen as the college is seriously in the red I don't expect anything like this to actually happen in the next say....10 years!

Also the most highly regarded / world reknowned university in France turns anyone without an I.D card away at the door.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Not sure what time the Nassau St entrance closed today but I only noticed it at around 5:45. Saw some guy with a 6 pack turn away from the front gate as soon as he saw security were keeping an eye on things.

They were IDing everybody in the Pav (Trinity IDs) and people were not allowed on any grass covered area which made it quite clostrophobic IMO (other people thought the squash created more atmosphere)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I went for a walk last night so asked the security guard at the door when I was coming in about it. He said it's because of all the people coming in with alcohol and basically abusing the College. He said that the Board were sick and tired of it and it was getting to the point where they were considering closing the College off to the public entirely.

So say if I was a random punter who takes the DART to Pearse and then walks through college to get to my office.......... last week I wasn't able to do that because security were IDing people?
    It's a pretty seismic shift in Trinity policy if that's the case and it's permanent (although I'd say it's temporary for the end of exams period and they are only IDing people who are of an age that they would possibly be bringing in a load of beers)