Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eating Live Octopuss, would ya ?

• 15-05-2008 5:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭

Hey lads,

In Korea at the moment and had some of the local cuisine last weekend. I had silkworm larvae and then I had some live octopuss.

None of the other foreigners here I know will try it so I'm just asking, would ya ? What you think of it ?

p.s > Heres a vid

Damn you youtube!

Can a mod please embed this properly ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

Watching too many movies?

:D grats, I wouldn't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I'd probably give it a blast.

I love whole baby squid so i'd reckon that might taste similar.

Bit cruel I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

KingLoser wrote: »
    Watching too many movies?

:D grats, I wouldn't do it.

Believe it or not you can actually eat an octopuss like that here. Haven't tried it yet :P

Am I just unusual in that I in no way think its disgusting ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

monosharp wrote: »
    Believe it or not you can actually eat an octopuss like that here. Haven't tried it yet :P

Am I just unusual in that I in no way think its disgusting ?

A little bit.

But this is THE INTERNET.

I'd say the movie made a tourist buzz and only foreigners eat live ones. If it doesn't sick ya out, I say go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Hmm..I dunno..

Worst I've tried was sheep brains :/

KingLoser wrote: »
    A little bit.

But this is THE INTERNET.

I'd say the movie made a tourist buzz and only foreigners eat live ones. If it doesn't sick ya out, I say go for it.

Nah man, its actually the opposite way round.

Feck all foreigners eat it here, I've been here 7 months and only know 1 other who has tried it.

Koreans eat it all the time, well a lot of them do. I know a girl and its her favourite food, she always wants to have it.

Its like the dog (also had that), some people like it and some don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

I would, I always give a try to local delicacies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Hell yeah, I'm eating a live octopuss sandwich right now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭wyk

I dated a Korean girl...that was sort of like eating live octopus...

WYK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I think i'd pass out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

dude thats gross, not a hope in hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭2-ShortDa5foot5

Cruel as fcuk. Poor creature! As for the dogs.... Those eastern cultures are fcuked up. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Octopi are very intelligent. I wouldn't eat one alive or dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Octopus, yay.
    Dog, nay.

Cruel as fcuk. Poor creature! As for the dogs.... Those eastern cultures are fcuked up. :mad:

Eating a live animal is cruel yes.

As for the dogs if they are bred in human conditions for this purpose and killed in as humane a way as possible what the problem ? (they may not be in general but you get the piont i'm making here)

We in the western world see these animals as pets, others dont - I fail to see the issue.

Look at it this way - Hindi Culture recognizes the cow as sacred, yet we eat tonnes of them in various formats, is it fair for those people to call our culture ****ed up as a result ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

OP, would you give a second thought to biting into a sheep while it was munching on some grass? :D

I don't like octopuss, so wouldn't eat it dead or alive, but I think the eating it alive is kind of sick.

humanji wrote: »
    OP, would you give a second thought to biting into a sheep while it was munching on some grass? :D

Difficult to do but apart from that probably not.
    I don't like octopuss, so wouldn't eat it dead or alive, but I think the eating it alive is kind of sick.

Well in fairness hes been chopped up into 20 pieces. Even though hes still alive no doctor on earth is going to save him so its not me eating him thats killing him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

anyone see the clip of the Japanese girl sticking a live octopuss up her ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Looks disgusting, wouldn't touch it.

c - 13 wrote: »
    Eating a live animal is cruel yes.

As for the dogs if they are bred in human conditions for this purpose and killed in as humane a way as possible what the problem ? (they may not be in general but you get the piont i'm making here)

We in the western world see these animals as pets, others dont - I fail to see the issue.

Look at it this way - Hindi Culture recognizes the cow as sacred, yet we eat tonnes of them in various formats, is it fair for those people to call our culture ****ed up as a result ?

I see where you're comin from.

My opinion is based on the way I was brought up. We've always had dogs as pets and it hurts me to think there's so much cruelty. Same goes for cows, I was brought up to see them as a source of food and not a pet.

At the same time, I think (And I'm not alone) that dogs are closer to humans than cows. I think they are capable of establishing relationships and have more feelings, which cows do not appear to have.

This is a whole other debate though which I'm not about to get into.

Back to the original point, eating animals live is horribly cruel, I can't think of one benefit of it! Especially Octopi which are said to be very intelligent creatures.

Sure why not drag Fungi out of Dingle bay and lash him up on a plate live? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

baby squid!!lovely!!

but octopus?no...i guess...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Who me?

No way , just thinking about it turns my stomach.

Back to the original point, eating animals live is horribly cruel, I can't think of one benefit of it! Especially Octopi which are said to be very intelligent creatures.

Sure why not drag Fungi out of Dingle bay and lash him up on a plate live? :mad:

Heres an interesting perspective for you. Most koreans cannot stand lamb. They think we're gone in the head for eating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

monosharp wrote: »
    Difficult to do but apart from that probably not.

Well in fairness hes been chopped up into 20 pieces. Even though hes still alive no doctor on earth is going to save him so its not me eating him thats killing him.
    You seem to underestimate the advances in modern medicine!!! I've nothing wrong with the killing of it, it's just that hacking up something while it's alive just seems distastful. I know I certainly wouldn't enjoy it, so I'm basing it all on how I'd feel. :D

humanji wrote: »
    You seem to underestimate the advances in modern medicine!!! I've nothing wrong with the killing of it, it's just that hacking up something while it's alive just seems distastful. I know I certainly wouldn't enjoy it, so I'm basing it all on how I'd feel. :D

Yeah but its yummy.

If it makes people feel better, a few koreans die everyyear from eating it because the octopuss ends up fighting back and choking the people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

WindSock wrote: »
    Octopi are very intelligent. I wouldn't eat one alive or dead.

Just make sure you finish the job..otherwise they'll come looking for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Not really relevant to this post, but a couple of years ago I was in Italy on business and went out to lunch with the people I was meeting. One of them was a huge guy that the average brick s******e would have felt cowed by. He ordered a complete octopus for his lunch (I assume it was cooked although it didn't look like it). He devoured the thing and then ordered another one. I have suffered from indigestion from sea food ever since.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

raw sea urchin, tasted like fishy semolina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,585 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Saw someone boil a cat alive in a market a few years back (not here!).
    Made me pickier about what I eat when I'm abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Wouldn't go near it.

Had snails and frog's legs in Paris so that's about my limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I'm very unadventurous when it comes to food.
    I wouldn't touch dead octopus, not to mind a live one!
    I wouldn't eat an animal that was still alive, that seems very cruel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

i might eat it if it was all cooked and dead and what not...prefrebly in batter but if my food can watch me eat it then its a HUGE no no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

tried battered squid while in corfu a couple of years back, it was cut like battered onion rings, twas absolutely tasteless and
    felt like i was chewing on rubber bands after the batter had gone down.

so eventually i tried swallowing. unfortunately i had cut the ring with my teeth and it got caught in my throat halfway up and halfway down.
    much to my dismay and my OH's embarrassment, the gag reflex kicked in and while turning blue between coughing and choking i made a rather quick
    exit from the outdoor restaurant around the side to get sick.

by this time the manager (a man of rather signifigant girth!) had seen what was happening and through teary eyes my first thought upon seeing him coming was
    "oh christ dont let him near me" thinking heimlich manoeveur! :eek:

fortunately for me i recovered in time and he was really nice about the whole thing.

to this day my OH still slags me about it whenever we go foreign... :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,541 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Not dead or alive! Been to Seoul a couple of times, and it's a grand place, but no octopus thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Were at the top of the food chain, an Octopus would eat ya if he could! I think its good to be adventurous when eating food, so you can say "I ate that before" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

that octopus wasnt alive, it was just the nerves twitching in the hacked pieces. ive often been out fishing/camping and slapped a perch or trout onto the pan while its nerves are still twitching.
    a bit like this eel preparation....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭KBarry

Not dead or alive! Been to Seoul a couple of times, and it's a grand place, but no octopus thank you!

I've seen them eating the live ones in Japan. Cruel tbh, and octopus tastes like a bit of rubber anyway.

I would have liked to try dog in Seoul but my Korean friends seemed a bit embarassed about the dog eating thing.

KBarry wrote: »
    I've seen them eating the live ones in Japan. Cruel tbh, and octopus tastes like a bit of rubber anyway.

I would have liked to try dog in Seoul but my Korean friends seemed a bit embarassed about the dog eating thing.

Dogs delicious man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

Send the clip to Anthony Bourdaine - he'll probably adopt you

flanum wrote: »
    that octopus wasnt alive, it was just the nerves twitching in the hacked pieces. ive often been out fishing/camping and slapped a perch or trout onto the pan while its nerves are still twitching.
    a bit like this eel preparation....

U can get sannukji (live octopuss) where they don't chop it up. Basically you wrap him up with chopsticks and bite chunks out of him or if its small, swallow him whole.

That's horrible, who does this?! So cruel!

I found to my cost that if you attempt to eat a live monkey it will bite you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

That's horrible, who does this?! So cruel!

We eat and survive at the cost of something else, get over it!

DEmeant0r wrote: »
    We eat and survive at the cost of something else, get over it!

U can eat and survive without being unnecessary cruel.

Ah but being cruel is FUN!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

The **** is wrong with you op!?

Ya, seriously, someone lock this thread please.

So someone should lock the thread because people disagree with the OP ? OMFG peoplez haz difrnt opinionz ? OH NOES !!ONE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I dont particularly want to try octopus or squid, definitly not while its wriggling.

I would be interested in trying human meat though. Is that weird?