Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DOE test

• 14-05-2008 11:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Going for my first doe test in my '99 l200 ,that i brought down from the north, in a couple of days..its in genearly good nick all round..heard its not as bad as nct but just wondering what to expect..i.e do they go through it with a fine tooth comb or just a genearl inspection:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

really depends on where you get it done, heard of some places that will pass you as long as the engine is running when it comes through the door.
    I get mine DOE'd in a Nissan garage and they seem to be anal when it comes to the list but said nothing about the fact that I had no reversing lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Slig wrote: »
    really depends on where you get it done, heard of some places that will pass you as long as the engine is running when it comes through the door.
    I get mine DOE'd in a Nissan garage and they seem to be anal when it comes to the list but said nothing about the fact that I had no reversing lights.
    I work in a DOE test station and reversing lights are not part of the test, neither are fog lights...
    If i get a vehicle in and someone has made an effort, gave it a quick clean underneath, made sure the light are working, given it a service it will stand to ya.
    Had a landrover in on Thursday. v8 petrol with LPG conversion.
    No headlight/dip on one side, gas leaking under the bonnet, tryes hittin the suspension on full lock and that was before i even got in the door.
    Should have ran her on the spot for the leaking gas but curousity got the better of me...
    Needless to say my first immpressions were right and it was a heap. Dont think i will see her back..
    At OP, if you have just imported the vehicle and it is its first test you will prob need to get it weighed. You will also need the reciept from the vrt so the test can be done. This is accepted instead of the log book.

Ps welcome to Boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 UnderWater

got the test done friday..IT FAILED !!! not impressed.. got it done in ballina, mayo. yer man gave me a list of stuff to get done..went down on 'brushes' or 'bushels' in front right wheel and brake cables hanging down or something..5 things in total (mostly v minor)..gonna leave it in to another garage to get fixed up, MORE MONEY! no re-test fee though and u have 21 days to get it sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

Happens me every year

1) Leave it into a garage to get checked for DOE
    2) Get DOE test done
    3) Fail on 2-3 minor points
    4) Bring back to garage, who inform me that they didnt think it would fail (but still charge me for the minor things they missed)
    5) Organise a retest in 2 weeks time
    6)day before retest get stopped by guards asking why tax is out of date:D
    7)retest and pass

Or you end up waiting for some part to come in and when it does you come back and are told your 21 days are up!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 guju121

Slidey wrote: »
    I work in a DOE test station and reversing lights are not part of the test, neither are fog lights...
    If i get a vehicle in and someone has made an effort, gave it a quick clean underneath, made sure the light are working, given it a service it will stand to ya.
    Had a landrover in on Thursday. v8 petrol with LPG conversion.
    No headlight/dip on one side, gas leaking under the bonnet, tryes hittin the suspension on full lock and that was before i even got in the door.
    Should have ran her on the spot for the leaking gas but curousity got the better of me...
    Needless to say my first immpressions were right and it was a heap. Dont think i will see her back..
    At OP, if you have just imported the vehicle and it is its first test you will prob need to get it weighed. You will also need the reciept from the vrt so the test can be done. This is accepted instead of the log book.

Ps welcome to Boards

Do you know if a cracked windscreen will fail the test, it's on drivers side but low down, a couple of feet long ...

Any crack over 100mm in length in supposed to be a fail...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

reversing lights are not tested in a DOE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 michael carroll

hi i have a 93 pajero its got rust on bar over springs on chassis. the rust has gone through bar was wondering can any one tell me will this fail d.o.e

What do you mean by bar?

If it is part of the main chassis then yes it will fail, you will have to get it welded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Or you end up waiting for some part to come in and when it does you come back and are told your 21 days are up!!!

or get it done on the 22nd of december, fail on 1 minor thing and have your 21 days expire before the f*ckin center reopens

also recommend everyone get it done outside dublin , they tend to be easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

Happens me every year

1) Leave it into a garage to get checked for DOE
    2) Get DOE test done
    3) Fail on 2-3 minor points
    4) Bring back to garage, who inform me that they didnt think it would fail (but still charge me for the minor things they missed)
    5) Organise a retest in 2 weeks time
    6)day before retest get stopped by guards asking why tax is out of date:D
    7)retest and pass

Waste of time/money bringing it into a garage before hand.
    Bring it straight to the test and fix what they find.

I would say not. Trust me on this, if you bring in a yoke and it is hanging you will get no mercy at all. It doesn't take much effort to make sure your lights are workin etc

whats the story on an engine that may be casually leaking oil a bit , would i be best adivsed just cleaning up the leak stains with a steam cleaner and then running it through, or leaving it ?

The rule that I was told when training for the DoE testing was it had to drip on the floor during the test to fail.

The exception to this is power steering, any leak on that is considered a fail IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Sorry to hijack the thread, can anyone tell me how much it costs to DOE an LGV? (VW Caddy)
    Is it a standardised price in all centre's or does it vary?
    I know I shouldve asked in the centre when I booked, only remembered after :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭cormywormy

Getting my dads caddy done on sat and it is 83 euro incl vat

Thanks Cormywormy, I had it in my head it was €100 last time though that was for a jeep.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

I would say not. Trust me on this, if you bring in a yoke and it is hanging you will get no mercy at all. It doesn't take much effort to make sure your lights are workin etc

I know an aul fella who brought his yoke in rag order, hoping that the tester would pinpoint every little rattle and squeak out of it. The tester passed him cos he felt sorry for him!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

cormywormy wrote: »
    Getting my dads caddy done on sat and it is 83 euro incl vat

Where are you getting it done for 83 euro ??

The tester passed him cos he felt sorry for him!!!!!
    Top testing there :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭DirtyDiesels

anyone know where Noones Test centre is in maynooth?

come off the n4 and as your heading into maynooth the first set of traffic lights with lidl at them , go down towards lidl, keep going straight down past it and at the end theres a walled road in through steel gates, follow that round and your there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Jonty wrote: »
    reversing lights are not tested in a DOE

You have to be kidding me???:eek:

DOE doesnt test for reversing lights?

So a big van or lorry suddenly decides to reverse,it has no reverse lights working,and thats fine?

How the hell is anyone to visually know that its about to reverse then??

I will be putting my L200 crew cab in for its DOE next week,and if its true about no test for reverse lights,then Im completely shocked and quite appauled by this,as I think that reversing lights would be of major importance.

I think it would be even better if a reversing beeper was compulsory.

Reversing lights are definitely not part of the test

I think it would be even better if a reversing beeper was compulsory.

Reversing lights are definitely not part of the test

Thats shocking.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Whatever you do dont go to lyons and burton, they do the test by the book..

brought the defender in there for a test and they just failed it for a slightly wobbly door. There was nothing else wrong with it.

Went home and shoved half a washer in the hinge and that stopped it :pac:

landyman wrote: »
    brought the defender in there for a test and they just failed it for a slightly wobbly door.

That's not a fault, that's part of their character :D

When I had the '90 I thought it mightn't go through but it flew through, I found they were a bit more lenient on the DOE than on the NCT.

Have they changed the pricing now that its €70 + vat then €30 + vat for a retest? when I tested last it was €100 for the test, but retests under 21 days were free

It is 85 incl VAT for a test and the re-test fee is half that.

Not everyone is charging the re-test fee and you have 21 days to come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Exactly what i was thinking when they failed it. Its a defender ffs, refinement isn't high on the list :D

well the center i went to noticed the oil leaking from the peugot, so i changed it... absolute muck id say it hasnt been changed in a long long time , whats the best way to get oil off the engine ? powerhose might be a bit dodgy with the electrics but if i was careful they could be avoided

There is stuff called Jizer.

If you get some of that and brush it into the oil it will come off fairly hand. There shouldn't be an issue powerhosing an engine so long as you use a bit if sense. Don't blast it at it, keep a bit of distance and don't direct it straight at any electrics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 DubShooter

No need to be too fussy with the preperation.
    Some of the doe garages are a joke! I bought a van which was doe'd a week beforehand and it had a broken spring and torn cv boot.I used to work in a doe garage an theres no way I would have let it pass like that!
    Just make sure your lights are workin and you'll be grand;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

DubShooter wrote: »
    No need to be too fussy with the preperation.
    Some of the doe garages are a joke! I bought a van which was doe'd a week beforehand and it had a broken spring and torn cv boot.I used to work in a doe garage an theres no way I would have let it pass like that!
    Just make sure your lights are workin and you'll be grand;)
    Hope you got a good deal on it then why else would you have bought it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 DubShooter

O.A.P wrote: »
    Hope you got a good deal on it then why else would you have bought it?

Got her cheap enough alrite,cheap to fix if your doin it yourself:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

85 euro for a doe, and 40 something for re-test!!!

what a joke, daylight robbery something should be done about this!!

typical irish sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 FrankSidebottom

There is stuff called Jizer.

If you get some of that and brush it into the oil it will come off fairly hand. There shouldn't be an issue powerhosing an engine so long as you use a bit if sense. Don't blast it at it, keep a bit of distance and don't direct it straight at any electrics
    Hey Slidey

Can you tell me if hazards not working will cause a failure in a jeep? I'm told it's probably just a switch, but I can't afford it right now.

Also, I'm experiencing an intermittent problem where by the power sometimes goes, causing revs not being able to go passed 2,600rpm. It normally only ever happens if I've been on a motor way and then I slow down to come off the motor way.....thats when it happens. I wouldn't really expect it to happen during the test. I've changed the air flow metre, but that hasn't fixed it. I've no idea what it is to be honest. Will the test catch that problem do you think?

Frank

Welcome to boards Frank!

Hazards are not part of the test.

The power loss should only be a problem if it happens during the smoke test. What make of vehicle is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 FrankSidebottom

Welcome to boards Frank!

Hazards are not part of the test.

The power loss should only be a problem if it happens during the smoke test. What make of vehicle is it?

Thanks a million for the quick response Slidey.

Good news on the hazards.....although I'll be needing to get them done asap anyway.

It's a 2002 Suzuki Grand Vitara, 2.0l turbo diesel. Have you ever come across that problem? It's baffled me.....and my mechanic. To be honest, I don't think he believes me that it happens, but I can assure you that it does!

I bought it off a guy who imported it from the UK and converted it to a van, although the back windows aren't blacked out. There are no seats or anything in the back. Will there be any issue with the windows not being blacked out?

I was going to go to lyons and burton for the DOE because they're the closest, but now I'm having second thoughts after landyman's comment on the previous page......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Hi Frank and welcome.

If you do a search on this forum for Grand Vitara I posted a load of links to specialist Suzuki forums for another poster about a month ago, may help you get your answer. There's plenty on here who know their diesels as well.

Whatever you do dont go to lyons and burton, they do the test by the book

Whats wrong with the test being done by the book ?? that's why the book is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

I was going to go to lyons and burton for the DOE because they're the closest, but now I'm having second thoughts after landyman's comment on the previous page......
    I bring all our vans there to be tested, and while he is strict and by the book, I find him straight and easy to deal with. He has often popped in a bulb without even being asked if that was all that was wrong with a van, and once sorted a wonky wheel bearing there and then and only casually mentioned it at the end of the test. He's no messer and the yoke needs to be right, but I prefer it that way. If I didn't, I would go to one of the €100 in the glovebox merchants and just get a dodgy DOE - but I'd rather know exactly what was right and wrong with a vehicle than be driving round with a big sly smile and a track-rod-end hanging off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

Whats wrong with the test being done by the book ?? that's why the book is there.

i think failing it based on the door was the problem...

Whatever you do dont go to lyons and burton, they do the test by the book..

brought the defender in there for a test and they just failed it for a slightly wobbly door. There was nothing else wrong with it.

Went home and shoved half a washer in the hinge and that stopped it :pac:
    Exactly what i was thinking when they failed it. Its a defender ffs, refinement isn't high on the list :D
    _Conrad_ wrote: »
    i think failing it based on the door was the problem...

It's not "part of their character" the door hinge is worn, its not supposed to be worn therefore its a fail, Refinemnent not being high on the list isnt a reason to let items slide on a test.

As for reversing lights not being a fail, there's a new manual coming out in the new year with a number of changes brought in to bring it more in line with the NCT manual, these changes will include, reverse lights, foglights front and rear, hazard lights, window tints, exhaust noise levels as well as other items that have'nt been clarified yet.

By the way, for all the offroaders on here, external roll cages will be an automatic fail when the new manual is brought il.

Mmm, should be interesting, Tombraider and NAS spec Defenders came with factory fitted external cages and they are still a listed optional part, how will they stand (must be one or two here)?

I can understand bringing the two tests in to line for similar base vehicles but where is your information coming from as to what's extra in the revised manual? Can see bull bars being a fail fitted to vehicles newer than their banning but roll cages, wtf has that got to do with a test for roadworthiness!

Will put the mockers on several events where vehicles have to be road legal and have full roll cages.

101sean wrote: »
    Mmm, should be interesting, Tombraider and NAS spec Defenders came with factory fitted external cages and they are still a listed optional part, how will they stand (must be one or two here)?

I can understand bringing the two tests in to line for similar base vehicles but where is your information coming from as to what's extra in the revised manual? Can see bull bars being a fail fitted to vehicles newer than their banning but roll cages, wtf has that got to do with a test for roadworthiness!

Will put the mockers on several events where vehicles have to be road legal and have full roll cages.

Information is coming from the RSA and it specifically mentions external roll cages in the new manual which we got a preview of on the authorised testers refresher course's which I had to attend last week, if they are a factory fitted option then I imagine they would be a type approved cage, the problem will arise with home made cages and non type approved "motorsport use only" type cages.

May not be a problem with Defenders where the external part is above the waistline, rest is internal. Can see a poorly designed external cage or with wing bars etc outside the vehicle outline being a bit of pedestrian injury threat. We'll have to wait and see what the wording is I suppose.

This has kicked up a bit of a storm amongst off roaders on several forums. Mate with a challenge truck is currently waiting for a reply from the head honcho at the RSA seeking clarification.

101sean wrote: »
    This has kicked up a bit of a storm amongst off roaders on several forums. Mate with a challenge truck is currently waiting for a reply from the head honcho at the RSA seeking clarification.

Good, it was a poorly thought out decision which as far as I can see came from the "Idontlikethelookofthat" school of thought. It was to be failed under the "inessential projections" category but if the owner is using the vehicle for logging etc. then it is very much an essential projection.