Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score on your last round?

• 13-05-2008 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭

This thread was a good read last season... hopefully we can get it going again this year.

Post all your latest scores up here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

85 off 13 in the intermediate SC at my local club last Sunday including a 10 at the par 4 13th. I'm fairly pleased with how I played bar the 13th obviously, as I finished strongly been just 1 over for the last five and hitting all five greens in regulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Was actually gonna suggest a sticky to this effect to encourage people to keep track of how they're going during the busy golfing season...

Me, played Carton House (O'Meara) last night and played very poor. 27 stapleford points off 15. Have been playing half decent of late too so was doubly disappointing.

Ironically, I hit three of the best drives of my life in the round but in general my driving was haphazard to say the least and I lost about five golf balls in the round.

Ah well, there's always next time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

shot a 79 in Clontarf yesterday afternoon.
    course in great condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

Shot 83 around Mt Wolseley playing off 12, with two 7's and a couple of 3 stabs.
    Happy though, have the hadicap going the right direction, down to 11 again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Might be good to include par details too lads (and also SSS if it's a comp!)

That's good news about Clontarf being in good nick... i'm playing there next weekend in the open singles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭BlueMonke

I shot the round of my life 80 on Saturday an 8 over par and was the best score I ever shot. I didn`t get any birdies and it was my consitancy that paid of in the end. The course in Newbridge is not extremly difficult and the greens are faily flat and my putting on the day was great sinking everthing from within 5 feet. Got 45 points playing of 20 but thats an unoffiacial handicap. My mates now dropped me to 18 :)

Long may it continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

76 in City West Championship course on Sat.

Was my 1st handicap card and made a hames of the front and shot 1 under on the back to salvage the round.

Played 14 last night with 3 birdies and a eagle and 2 bogeys but got too dark to finish up :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,028 ✭✭✭Trampas

shot a 79 in Clontarf yesterday afternoon.
    course in great condition.

Played there once in a fourball and came 4th.

Remember the 1st hole and teeing off under trees and its a hard tee shot because of this.

Is it still like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Saturday in the Medal at South County off the very back tees.

11 over gross (83) which was 74 net with my h'cap of 9- bang on the Standard Scratch.

Drove the ball really well but really didn't hit irons and wedges well. Just had a strange day- 4 over for the par 5s! Hit 9 fairways and 9 greens. Putting blew hot and cold.

Trampas wrote: »
    Played there once in a fourball and came 4th.

Remember the 1st hole and teeing off under trees and its a hard tee shot because of this.

Is it still like that?

Indeed it is.
    7iorn off the tee - PW to the green - bob's your uncle :)

Indeed it is.
    7iorn off the tee - PW to the green - bob's your uncle :)

It's funny, i played with a member there last year who assured me the way to play the hole is to just nail the driver down the opposite fairway to the left (9th???).

I went with an iron off the tee and then a 6-iron or so whereas he just had a flick left.

Was planning on doing it his way next time!

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    It's funny, i played with a member there last year who assured me the way to play the hole is to just nail the driver down the opposite fairway to the left (9th???).

I went with an iron off the tee and then a 6-iron or so whereas he just had a flick left.

Was planning on doing it his way next time!

Could be done I suppose, you'd need to be long and high though.
    Bit dangerous though for those playing the 9th !!

Lovely course, very quirky, I hadn't played it since I was a kid.
    It's like playing in a big back garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Matamoros

I am playing with a couple of mates every other week for about a year now. We play mostly Deer Park and recently Sillogue. On Saturday afternoon, I went to the range to hit a few and literally couldn't hit the ball out of the bay, I seriously contemplated telling the lads that I wouldn't make it the next day as I might be a danger to the other players on the course. I went up anyway and scored 90 including a couple of birdies and a near hole in one, considering my normal score is around 100, needless to say I went home happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

78 off 6. Par 72, home course. Monthly medal, strokeplay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭arg

Had 36 points in hollystown playing off 15 - 2 birdies in there. Greens were the fastest I had come across. very windy day , so it was a good score. Took a 2-iron off the tee when ever into the wind ( getting a bit of sense at last). Had some really crappy irons but my short game was spot on and saved the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

80 on Black Bush course A+B playing in one of the local societies fora bit of craic yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

Might be good to include par details too lads (and also SSS if it's a comp!)

That's good news about Clontarf being in good nick... i'm playing there next weekend in the open singles.

Have you seen the course guide Graeme? It's a .ppt linked off the bottom of this page - Course guide

What it lacks in length it certainly makes up for in tightness it seems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Always has amazing greens.

During Junior Cup there I used driver twice, 3/4 iron on most of the par fours is plenty.

It's an easy course to score on if you're on your game. If the short game is lacking you'll be found out very quickly though.

madds wrote: »
    Have you seen the course guide Graeme? It's a .ppt linked off the bottom of this page - Course guide

What it lacks in length it certainly makes up for in tightness it seems!

Yeah, cheers madds. I played it a few times last season and really enjoyed it. But it is very tight. Keep it on the fairway and it's a very scoreable (is that a real word??) course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Played in the Wed nine hole this morning and shot 21pts! Thrilled to bits as it has been a while since I played (disaster in Luttrellstown). Didnt play all that well funnilly enough and had 2 3 putts but was keeping the ball on the fairway and got a good few greens in reg.

playing a 12 hole comp in Dun Laoighaire later on

80 on Black Bush course A+B playing in one of the local societies fora bit of craic yesterday.

What did you make of Black Bush? Playing it for the first time soon. Anybody else played it??

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

Hit a 48 after 9 in Hollystown, my best round yet. (Yes I'm a complete beginner). I was very happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

What did you make of Black Bush? Playing it for the first time soon. Anybody else played it??

I'm a member there Graeme. It's 27 holes parklands. I have to say, and yes I'm bias, it has the best greens in the area, very smooth and very through. Not the shortest of courses off the back stakes, but where the holes are short, they have water features and trees very well positioned. The 18th hole, is a great finishing hole. 530+ yards off the whites (560 off the blue) with the wind into you. A tough drive and a green protected by water and bunkers on most sides.

A+B course are the members preference, but the C course is pretty good also.

Cheers Hobart! I'm playing with a couple of mates in the wednesday singles. Sounds good.

None of us have played it so could be some high scoring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Shot a 79 yesterday off scratch, my best round yet,
    i normally play off 15 with the scociety, cant see that lasting, last three rounds were under 83:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

33 points at Victoria in Portugal last October....not played a full round this year yet....

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

21 points in the wednesday 9-hole last night.
    Hit 8 out of 9 greens
    4-putted from inside 20 feet on #2 for a double :eek:
    3 under for the next 7
    Had 2 birdie 2's and a birdie 4
    No bogey.

Had a nett 83 on sunday so nice to turn something around so quickly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭stooge

Played leopardstown last night and was all over the shop.

3 pars, 3 bogeys, 4 double bogeys, 4 triple bogeys, 2 holes not worth talking about :o and 2 holes not completed because it got dark :(

Driving off the tee was terrible, short irons were magnificent, putting was so-so. A lot of improvement to be made. Driving range will be the next port of call to get rid of this slice!

played trim today. Poor enough front nine (14 points, off 15), mainly due to bad decicision making/not taking my punishment. Good back nine (20 points). Becoming a feature of my game to start badly and finish well.
    Positives:
    Hitting my irons better than I had been. Putting was solid (except for a daft 3 putt)

Negatives:
    Very poor decision making.
    Driving wasn't as consistent as it had been - although had a great drive on the par four 10th - ended up in a bunker to right of green, but set me up for my one and only birdie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

I had played it a few times before but this is the best condition I have seen it in in a good while. Course played well and all the greens were beautiful putted very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Played Corrstown(River & Meadow 9s) over the weekend. Shot a gross 86(front nine 46 back nine 40). Best round of the year for me so happy overall. Hit 9 greens in regulation which is about my best effort. V happy with my driving in particular. Pitching and chipping improving a little. 40 putts though :(.

First time playing Corrstown and really liked it. Quite short with some nice holes. The greens were nice - quite soft and slowish but true. Really need to work on my short putts for next time out.

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    Played Corrstown(River & Meadow 9s) over the weekend. Shot a gross 86(front nine 46 back nine 40). Best round of the year for me so happy overall. Hit 9 greens in regulation which is about my best effort. V happy with my driving in particular. Pitching and chipping improving a little. 40 putts though :(.

First time playing Corrstown and really liked it. Quite short with some nice holes. The greens were nice - quite soft and slowish but true. Really need to work on my short putts for next time out.

Nine GIR is very good Mate, must've been hitting the ball very well. What you playing off?

Cheers! Playing off 15. (I know what's coming!!!!) It's the first time I boke 90 this year though. I feel I am better than 15 but putting has always been a big problem for me - I had six 3-putts in Corrstown. The round should have been low 80s if not better but I'm not complaining. Felt really in control tee to green and hope I can carry that feeling forward.

Had a nett 74 (85 gross) in a medal in Mt Wolseley on Saturday.

Didnt hit it great, and had shot my hadicap by the 12th, so happy enough to keep it to a 74 and save the 0.1.

Had no birdies, which is really annoying. Esp as I missed the par 5 10th long with an 8 iron, ended up in the trees at the back, so did well to make par.

Had 10 5's and one 4 on the card for the first 11 holes!

Had 35 putts (39 if you include the ones from the fringe...:D)

The 3 doubles killed me, and they were all on par 3's, was 7 over for the 4 par 3's, so its eady to see where the round went wrong.

Finshed strong so that it something to be pleased about.

Wont get a singles in now for 2 weeks.

Had 29 points in a very poor effort on Friday evening at the O'Meara in Carton. To be honest, I don't know how I managed to amass 29 points considering how badly I drove the ball!

Old habits (poor rhythm and bad mental errors) coming back to haunt me after a month or so of hitting the ball well. Time for a break for a week or so methinks - usually does the trick for me.

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Old habits (poor rhythm and bad mental errors) coming back to haunt me after a month or so of hitting the ball well. .

Have you read Rotella's "Golf Is Not A Game of Perfect"? It's been mentioned hear a lot and it definitely helps imo. I read it last summer and found it pretty positive on my game overall. I'd also recommend Ray Floyd's "The Elements Of Scoring". A lot of the ideas are similar to Rotella but I don't think Floyd would call it sports psychology. I'm going to try Putting Out Of Your Mind next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭fearruanua

i scored 42 pts off 15. won the competition. got disqualified because i played under the wrong handicap but still got cut and now i am playing off 11.6. talk about a bad day at the office. three shots less and nothing to show for it.

fearruanua wrote: »
    i scored 42 pts off 15. won the competition. got disqualified because i played under the wrong handicap but still got cut and now i am playing off 11.6. talk about a bad day at the office. three shots less and nothing to show for it.

Prizes are always a bonus, at least you got cut which is the main thing in my opinion.

Out of interest, how did you play off the wrong handicap, surly the computer is up to date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭KOJAK_1

41pts in club competition - third overall. All three on 41pts lost out on the countback whis is annoying as i didn't score on the last. Any happy with the game and have achieved my target of dropping three shots for the year - just need to hold it together now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭JMB88

77 in the medal, playing off 3. The greens are woefull in my course at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

PGA Tankard, singles strokes

H'cap 7 (7.4)

76 gross, nett 69. beaten on back 9 for class prize :(

cut to 6.8 now

shot 87 (+15) yesterday.
    bit sloppy and have some work to do on the putting green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

17 over. 8 worse than h'cap on what was a very easy day.

Had a lesson on Wednesday and my "good shots" have since become an unpredictable mix of draws and fades which meant I was all over the place most of the way round.

Will continue to work on the bits and pieces I was given in the lesson and should get it together for next weekend.

well steel.

i played an open singles a few weeks back and scored 35 pts. handed in my card and thought more of it. not thinking i'd get anywhere with that. 37 won and SS was 32 so i got cut 0.9. my handicap only got updated the day before i played in singles that i got 42 pts in so i didn't know until later that evening. too late then the damage was done. it didn't show up on the system when i swiped. i know there's an option to change your handicap but i just didn't know. could have possibly gotten away with it. but youd have no luck for that. rang the club in question first thing the following morning and explained the situation and fair play to them they gave me two free green fees after they disqualified me. i am delighted my handicap is coming down but i'd love to win something in the process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭JMB88

CSS 32 points?! That's insane, what course was that on?.

sorry i was wrong. i scored 36. 37 won it and CSS was 33. still extremely low. castletroy gc in limerick city is the culprit

81 gross (+9) today - very satisfied with that.

Had an absolute howler today! Black Bush - 25 points. My worst stableford total ever.

Was really windy, but no excuses, some crap golf played! Definitely one to forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

Played in Killeen GC on Tuesday last in the Semi-Open and had 29 pts. Seem to be just throwing shots away at the moment. This round along with a few other bad performances recently has finally pushed the handicap up to 13. Not happy at all :mad:...

Had 33 points in howth off 15. First time I played it and was fairly impressed with the course; its a bit short but got its fair share of interesting holes that reqiure a bit of thought. Great views in all directions.

Played great from tee to green; 9 greens in reg! - a PB.
    Putting was a disaster - five 3 putts AND a four putt. Couldn't get used to the pace - much faster than I'm used to and most of the greens undulate a fair bit.