Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupid laws

• 13-05-2008 1:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭

What stupid laws have you come across?

1) I believe it is illegal to kill yourself in this country

2) In Denver you can't give your hoover on loan to a neighbour

3) In New York public flirting carries a $25 fine

I don't know any of the good ones. Add to the list

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I think it's illegal to give a child under 5 an alcoholic drink. The law itself isn't stupid but imagine how bad it was they had to make that a law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I think it's illegal to give a child under 5 an alcoholic drink. The law itself isn't stupid but imagine how bad it was they had to make that a law.

Is that one here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Not laws but codes, there are a huge amount of them with regard to the American flag (e.g how it is to be displayed indoors, outdoors, etc). A bit over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Gettin gee-eyed at age 6 ftw!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Gettin gee-eyed at age 6 ftw!

It's kids under 5. Piss up for your 5th birthday.
    kowloon wrote: »
    Is that one here?

Yep. I don't know where I seen it though.

It's all that gripe water, used to be about 40 proof, no wonder the babies slept well! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

Isn't it illegal to give someone under 18 a drink?
    I bet a pub full of drunk 5 year olds would be pretty funny.

http://www.nehb.ie/youthhealthne/drugs%20list%20alcohol.htm

Apparently it's only illegal to sell alcohol to someone under 18.

Only if it's in a public place, I believe that you can give alcohol to under 18's in your own home. (using common sense of course)

edit; thanks am
    • It is an offence to give alcohol to a child under five years old. Children under 15 years are allowed into a bar during permitted hours but only if a parent or guardian accompanies them. It is an offence to sell alcohol to a person under 18 either on or off the premises by either a license holder or any individual.

must give the kids a few jars when I get home! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

2) In Denver you can't give your hoover on loan to a neighbour

I don't know any of the good ones. Add to the list

Not any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

wtf ?? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

In Texas, dildos are illegal, except for educational purposes. Only licensed sellers can sell dildos as 'educational models'. If you are not a licensed 'educational model' distributor and are found in possession of 5 or more dildos, you can be charged with intent to distribute. However, the anus is not considered a sexual orifice under the state of Texas, so anybody can buy a butt plug.

Saw in a youtube video ages ago. Can't find link, so details are sketchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I think Texas did a comprehensive revision, with the only bugbear being sodomy, one guy objected and nobody was will to oppose him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Its Illegal for women to drive..

oh.. wait.. sorry.. just a dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

What a great dream I'd say that was.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Kicking a can along the ground more than 5 times constitutes illegally transporting waste, or so I've heard

snyper wrote: »
    Its Illegal for women to drive.....
    ... in Saudi Arabia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Apparently it is illegal to grow certain plants (at least one of which is indigenous to this country) in your own home, thats a pretty stupid one.

It's also illegal for a 17 year old boy to have sex with a sixteen year old girl.

I'm sure others will come to me.

Aren't the gouvernment doing a big clean up of the statute books in the next couple of weeks to remove certain laws that are still in place, such as the one prohibiting catholics from holding certain positions of employment?

Victor wrote: »
    ... in Saudi Arabia.
    except within an Embassy compound :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Ruu wrote: »
    Not laws but codes, there are a huge amount of them with regard to the American flag (e.g how it is to be displayed indoors, outdoors, etc). A bit over the top.

You realise there's a flag code for the Irish flag as well? It's about twelve pages long, comes in a small yellow booklet. Contains many of the same rules as the US flag code, such as "Must always be the left-most when looking from the front" or "May not be draped on a vehicle", and even has some which the US didn't think of, such as "At sporting events, never [Their bold] write slogans or otherwise deface the flag"

PDF Version available from Dept of the Taoseach. Looks like they've updated it a bit since the book I saw was printed.
    http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/attached_files/Pdf%20files/The%20National%20Flag.pdf

Incidently, the US Flag Code is now law, as of about 2005. Of course, much of it is unenforceable under Free Speech rights.

NTM

You realise there's a flag code for the Irish flag as well? It's about twelve pages long, comes in a small yellow booklet. Contains many of the same rules as the US flag code, such as "Must always be the left-most when looking from the front."

PDF Version available from Dept of the Taoseach.
    http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/attached_files/Pdf%20files/The%20National%20Flag.pdf

Incidently, the US Flag Code is now law, as of about 2005. Of course, much of it is unenforceable under Free Speech rights.

NTM
    Fair to say that flag hanging rules are not that stupid as they seem at first glance,as you could end up with the Ivory coast flag.

Put the Union flag upside down it's a symbol of distress!
    Even British government departments get that wrong sometimes!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I think Texas did a comprehensive revision, with the only bugbear being sodomy, one guy objected and nobody was will to oppose him.
    Well since the US Supreme Court have held, overruling a previous decision, that privacy laws (the same area that allows abortion) do in fact mean that a state can't criminalise sodomy between consenting adults. It was actually a challenge to Texas law that did this in Lawrence v Texas (2003)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

There are some good ones along the lines of being able to shoot a Scotsman with a bow and arrow on certain days of the year in somewhere like York I think. Might even be a requirement rather than just allowed actually but cannot remember right now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Put the Union flag upside down it's a symbol of distress!
    Even British government departments get that wrong sometimes!! :rolleyes:
    Think thats a standard one about flying any national flag upside down being a sign of distress, just nobody can actually tell all that easliy which way up the UK flag is anyway.

robinph wrote: »
    Think thats a standard one about flying any national flag upside down being a sign of distress, just nobody can actually tell all that easliy which way up the UK flag is anyway.
    It's simple, the red diaginal cross is lower relative to the white background on the end attached to the pole.

As for stupid laws, In old italy traffic used to drive on the left in the country and on the right in towns - would love to have seen the chaos caused when there was a dispute where the town ended and the country started..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

You think the UK flag is hard, try telling when the Irish one is upside down.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

There are some good ones along the lines of being able to shoot a Scotsman with a bow and arrow on certain days of the year in somewhere like York I think. Might even be a requirement rather than just allowed actually but cannot remember right now.

It's any day, it's either within the city walls or from the city walls.

There's also a lane there where it's still technically legal to whip your wife for certain things, it might be adultery though I've a vague idea there was something pretty innocuous too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

everytime a new law is brought in an old one should go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

There's one Irish Law that dosen't get used enough...

If you need to go to the toilet and there's none around a passing garda has to take off his hat and let you have a leak or a poop in it which ever you need....

as far as i know that's a fact, most gardai will disagree but that's the law and they have to live buy it.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

kizzyr wrote: »
    Not any more

Apparently they had some trouble enforcing the law. People not turning up for court dates and things like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Apparently they had some trouble enforcing the law. People not turning up for court dates and things like that.

he he.....I know we'll bring in death by fat bird penalty for suicide that should stop them....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

MOH wrote: »
    It's any day, it's either within the city walls or from the city walls.

There's also a lane there where it's still technically legal to whip your wife for certain things, it might be adultery though I've a vague idea there was something pretty innocuous too.

After a quick google, it's actually called "WHIP-MA-WHOP-MA-GATE", they used to flog adulterers there but can't find any reference to still being allowed flog your wife.

There seem to be various versions of the Scotman one: after dark, after midnight, on Sunday, any day except Sunday, with a bow and arrow, if he's carrying a bow and arrow.
    Here's a link to one, with some other odd laws (in the UK):

- illegal to die in the houses of parliament (I heard that before, I think it's because you're then technically entitled to a state funeral, though that could be nonsense)
    - women in Liverpool can go topless, but only if they work in a tropical fish shop :confused: (second source says it's not true)
    - it's illegal "for a commoner's pet to have carnal knowledge of an animal belonging to the monarch"
    - illegal to eat a mince pie on Christmas day (thanks to Cromwell)
    - it's treason to put a stamp bearing the monarch's head on upside down.

Also, from here:

The policeman one:
    In the UK, a pregnant woman can legally relieve herself anywhere she wants, including in a policeman's helmet.
    Also, in Scotland, if someone knocks on your door and requires the use of your toilet, you must let them enter.

There's a few more in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I think its illegal to play sports in the streets in Ireland.Its not enforced anymore though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I did read somewhere that going topless is no longer indecent exposure in Canada, some woman appealled it on grounds that it was sexist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

jimbo78 wrote: »
    Kicking a can along the ground more than 5 times constitutes illegally transporting waste, or so I've heard

only in springfield usa ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

snyper wrote: »
    Its Illegal for women to drive..

oh.. wait.. sorry.. just a dream.

Not in Saudi Arabia I believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

As far as I know you cant get arrested by the Gardai on the grounds of Trinity College.
    And theres a 400 year old rule knocking about the statute books that goes something along the lines of:-
    One is permitted to drink porter during ones final exams provided one is wearing ones sword and scabbard !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

RATM wrote: »
    And theres a 400 year old rule knocking about the statute books that goes something along the lines of:-
    One is permitted to drink porter during ones final exams provided one is wearing ones sword and scabbard !

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=305552

EDIT...
    Also this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭funkycat83

RATM wrote: »

yep! my lecturer told me about that one! i think its illegal to dress up as a witch aswell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Apparently jaywalking carriers 3 months imprisonment on conviction, can't remember where I heard it but I'm almost certain.

Fair to say that flag hanging rules are not that stupid as they seem at first glance,as you could end up with the Ivory coast flag.
    Are you sure about that?

Irish flag https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/flags/ei-flag.gif

Irish flag upside down https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/flags/ei-flag.gif

Cote d'Ivoire flag https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/flags/iv-flag.gif

No, not upside down but back to front! as when mounted on a wall. or incorrectly "stringed up"