Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adding in the aul cardio

• 12-05-2008 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭

I have to go away over the summer (End of june to be precise) for three weeks in a job which will involve me needing stamina (being able to run for longer etc)
    When I started at the gym I had a fitness test, instructor had me run on a treadmill for a while to see how I was doing and told me I was "pretty fit", since then I've only really been doing lifting, trying to gain a bit of weight etc etc, so unsure as to how I'm doing now.

Now I'm just wondering if 6 weeks is enough to get in good enough cardio shape, I'm grand with putting the weight gain on the backburner for the time being, is it worth keeping in the weights when I'm hoping to have better stamina? Amn't really bothered as to lowering body fat or cutting calories. Simply being in better cardiovascular shape would be grand for me.

Finally, I've a bit of pain when my feet hit the ground at the shins (impact damage from skipping I think) so was wondering if a cross trainer/elliptical trainer is a sound alternative to a treadmill.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Now I'm just wondering if 6 weeks is enough to get in good enough cardio shape,

What exactly will you have to do? How far will you be running? Carrying weight?

6 weeks should give you a pretty reasonable level of aerobic fitness if you commit yourself well...
    I'm grand with putting the weight gain on the backburner for the time being, is it worth keeping in the weights when I'm hoping to have better stamina?

No problem keeping them in as long as you have the time. Even just keeping them at the same level as now without looking for major strength gains will help to prevent any loss in muscle mass.
    Finally, I've a bit of pain when my feet hit the ground at the shins (impact damage from skipping I think) so was wondering if a cross trainer/elliptical trainer is a sound alternative to a treadmill.

The first thing you should do is get fitted for a correct pair of runners for your running style. For most people this is the source of the problem. Working on your running form - not slapping your feet on the ground - will also help. Finally, if the problem persists see a physio.

The cross trainer is good, but if you specifically need running then that should be the primary part of your training imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

xebec wrote: »
    The first thing you should do is get fitted for a correct pair of runners for your running style. For most people this is the source of the problem. Working on your running form - not slapping your feet on the ground - will also help. Finally, if the problem persists see a physio.
    I bought some Asics which I saw mentioned around here as good running shoes.
    xebec wrote: »
    The cross trainer is good, but if you specifically need running then that should be the primary part of your training imo.

Not really too worried about getting running too great at the moment, I'm more concerned about letting my shins recover as they've been acting up for a while seeing as I didn't give them a chance to recover.

Would a cross trainer be allright until the shins are ok again, then hitting the treadmill?