Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ballymun Garda checkpoint

• 11-05-2008 5:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭

Great to see the Gardai seizing untaxed, un-vrted and uninsured cars yesterday just off the M50 at the Ballymun exit. Both sides of the dual carraigeway blocked off with a lot of gardai present. They had the car transporters there loaded up with numerous seized foreign and Irish reg cars ready to take away. Hopefully a sign of things to come.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭dunkindonuts

furtzy wrote: »
    Great to see the Gardai seizing untaxed, un-vrted and uninsured cars yesterday just off the M50 at the Ballymun exit. Both sides of the dual carraigeway blocked off with a lot of gardai present. They had the car transporters there loaded up with numerous seized foreign and Irish reg cars ready to take away. Hopefully a sign of things to come.:)

Great to see that, But they should do it in other places as well. For example on N11 etc as there are many uk and Eu cars around there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

wish they'd do it down my way.... the amount of young fellas driving with english plates sickens me.can't all holiday makers.:mad: 1 lad surely has his more than a year, would love to see it impounded!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Looked like a very well rehearsed operation so i wouldn't be surprised if its repeated elsewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭scholes19

fuppin backstards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

didnt think they could sieze untaxed cars...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

i think so, if it's 3 or more months outta date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Good to see them taking a bit of innitiative in clamping down on illegal cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

didnt think they could sieze untaxed cars...

Coursethey can. Untaxed cars are illegally on he road so they take them off it.
    staker wrote: »
    i think so, if it's 3 or more months outta date!

Generally it's 2 monhs but they can do i anyime after the tax expires if he mood takes them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 daisychain

I was under the impression that un-VRTed cars was the remit of Customs & Excise, and not the Gardai :confused:

Obviously if a car is brought in from the UK it cannot be taxed until it is registered here. A friend of mine brought in a diesel Audi from the UK last February. He doesn't intend to VRT it until July, when the rates for most diesels will go down, but he's driving around every day, even parking on public roads. The gardai stopped him one day and just warned him "Don't let customs catch you" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

the gardai are people too ya know.... i know one gardai that has been going around with a uk plate BMW for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

Looked like a very well rehearsed operation so i wouldn't be surprised if its repeated elsewhere

I've seen them there before, transporter fully loaded and a bunch of lads with worried looks talking on mobiles :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

scholes19 wrote: »
    fuppin backstards!

Great first contribution in motors :rolleyes:

Consider yourself warned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,136 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I've seen one of these on the N7->Nangor northbound bit of the ORR, made sure I came back a different route as I didn't have my licence on me! Everything else legit obviously.

Hope they increase the frequency of these a bit, might be a nice source of revenue to fill the black hole in the economy this year, Honest Revenue's Used Car Sales...

MYOB wrote: »
    Hope they increase the frequency of these a bit, might be a nice source of revenue to fill the black hole in the economy this year, Honest Revenue's Used Car Sales...

Hopefully so....they're €800m down on revenue already this year so expect them to be looking down every avenue to claw some back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

daisychain wrote: »
    I was under the impression that un-VRTed cars was the remit of Customs & Excise, and not the Gardai :confused:

I'd almost gurantee there were customs officers there.
    They probably got the gardai to set up the checkpoint and stop the cars while the customs officers stand aside and make the judgement calls on calls on whether to impound a certain car or not.
    Co-operation at its finest!
    staker wrote: »
    wish they'd do it down my way.... the amount of young fellas driving with english plates sickens me.can't all holiday makers.:mad: 1 lad surely has his more than a year, would love to see it impounded!!!

Help them do their job, make a phonecall.
    Minister Lenihan needs all the cash he can get

Who *do* you contact to snitch in a VRO dodge? I know of a car thats been here well over a year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

I don't understand the reasoning behind this - I mean maybe if it's some neighbour that's been annoying you or you have some sort of grudge against them, then I could understand people reporting them.

But to just randomly report someone for driving a foreign car seems a bit ridiculous. It doesn't have any affect on your life, why would you be bothered?

Do you just like making phonecalls and talking to the gardai makes you feel important?

I don't understand the reasoning behind this - I mean maybe if it's some neighbour that's been annoying you or you have some sort of grudge against them, then I could understand people reporting them.

But to just randomly report someone for driving a foreign car seems a bit ridiculous. It doesn't have any affect on your life, why would you be bothered?

Do you just like making phonecalls and talking to the gardai makes you feel important?

Theres a very good reasoning for this. Does it not piss you off every time you renew your tax that these guys are just sticking two fingers up and using the services that you paid for. I would have no problem in shopping these ****s

No - it doesn't bother me at all. If they can get away with it, fair play to them.

As I said before, if it was someone that had pissed me off then I might think about reporting them but if it's just some random person I couldn't care less.

They're deceiving the state of VRT and of road tax. And I'd wager theres a damn good chance they're not insured either - if you disregard the law in one area it implies you'll disregard it in far more. Don't see that as being any less worth reporting as a benefit fraudster, etc - all end up costing those who don't break the law money.

One of the two cars I know of has an out-of-date UK road fund licence disc, meaning its not taxed there. This probably implies its not insured or MOTed either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

No - it doesn't bother me at all. If they can get away with it, fair play to them.

Would it bother you if you had an accident with one of them and tried to claim off their ... ahem .... insurance?!

As I said before, if it was someone that had pissed me off then I might think about reporting them but if it's just some random person I couldn't care less.

So if they stole some cash from your pocket you'd be fine with that as well? Strange a la carte attitude to the law you have there

I really, really don't get this Irish 'ah fair play to them' attitude to people who are quite directly ****ing the rest of us over. :confused:

Would it bother you if you had an accident with one of them and tried to claim off their ... ahem .... insurance?!

I don't know how you jump from having no tax to having no insurance - they're completely separate issues.

Very few Irish companies will insure a foreign registered car

Very few foreign companies will insure a domestically registered car that is permanently used outside their country

Someone who willfully disregards the motoring laws of a country in *two* regards (vehicle registration and taxation) is very likely to have the same nonchalance to the rest of them.

Surely if a car isn't taxed, the insurance (if any) will be null and void?

I think it works like that in the UK, but not over here

If their UK insurance is voided in the UK, its quite obviously voided here too!

One of the requirements while obtaining insurance:

Vehicle Requirements ▪ Must be registered in the Republic of Ireland or the United Kingdom in your name, spouse, civil partner or parent's name.

So if I have an english reg car on the roads for a couple of years here, and go to the bother of insuring it, do you really think Quinn Direct will pay out for someone whi I drive in to?! I really think not.

Very few Irish companies will insure a foreign registered car

Very few foreign companies will insure a domestically registered car that is permanently used outside their country

Someone who willfully disregards the motoring laws of a country in *two* regards (vehicle registration and taxation) is very likely to have the same nonchalance to the rest of them.

Personally, I would never drive a car without insurance or tax. But there's way too much risk involved if there's an accident and you don't have insurance. I'd see driving without tax as a much lesser crime.

AFAIK quinn direct have no problem insuring a foreign car.

One of the requirements while obtaining insurance:

So if I have an english reg car on the roads for a couple of years here, and go to the bother of insuring it, do you really think Quinn Direct will pay out for someone whi I drive in to?! I really think not.

Yes, you've just quoted quinn direct's position on it. If the car is registered here or in the uk you're fine for insurance. What exactly in that quote makes you think they won't??

Who *do* you contact to snitch in a VRO dodge? I know of a car thats been here well over a year...

Does anyone know the contact details?

Yes, you've just quoted quinn direct's position on it. If the car is registered here or in the uk you're fine for insurance. What exactly in that quote makes you think they won't??

It seems to change from insurer to insurer...
    insure.ie wrote:
    As the insured person you are the owner of the car, it is registered in your name (or your partner) in the Republic of Ireland and the car is taxed privately.

There is however no mention of a car that is registered anywhere except Ireland & UK. So the left hand drivers certainly cannot be covered if they've been driving here on foreign plates for a while.

Insure.ie also mention the car must be taxed, so I'm sure it would be a reason given by the insurance companies not to pay out.

http://www.insure.ie/default.rad?AppID=insureie&WSID=Motor_Assumptions&affid=insureie&InsureSection=motor&plid=insureie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

They're deceiving the state of VRT and of road tax. And I'd wager theres a damn good chance they're not insured either - if you disregard the law in one area it implies you'll disregard it in far more. Don't see that as being any less worth reporting as a benefit fraudster, etc - all end up costing those who don't break the law money.

One of the two cars I know of has an out-of-date UK road fund licence disc, meaning its not taxed there. This probably implies its not insured or MOTed either...

Maybe they are british, working in Ireland, and return home every 6 months? Then they are here totally legally driving a UK reg'ed car totally legally. I hate those not taxing and insuring their cars. But VRT is unfair and a stupidly high tax on the poor old motorist. If you can get away with it, fair play to you. Tattle tales like you are fairly sicknening to be honest.

astraboy wrote: »
    But VRT is unfair and a stupidly high tax on the poor old motorist. If you can get away with it, fair play to you. Tattle tales like you are fairly sicknening to be honest.

Blah blah blah. What a stupid attitude. Any other laws that you don't agree with? Lots of people don't agree with the drink drive limit, they say its unfair and they should be able to drive home drunk from the local pub as theres no taxis......suppose they should be let get away with it as well.

They're stealing from your pocket as whatever short fall there is from VRT comes from some other budget. Its all taken from a central source.

astraboy wrote: »
    Maybe they are british, working in Ireland, and return home every 6 months? Then they are here totally legally driving a UK reg'ed car totally legally. I hate those not taxing and insuring their cars. But VRT is unfair and a stupidly high tax on the poor old motorist. If you can get away with it, fair play to you. Tattle tales like you are fairly sicknening to be honest.

The people I'm trying to report are not going home for more than 6 months a year. If they're here for less than 6 months, Revenue will ascertain that.

Those who decide selectively which laws they want are *very* sickening "to be honest".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

The people I'm trying to report are not going home for more than 6 months a year. If they're here for less than 6 months, Revenue will ascertain that.

Those who decide selectively which laws they want are *very* sickening "to be honest".

I'd leave it unless you want bad karma. No one likes a rat. They'll be caught in their own good time.

Again, the standard Irish attitude of "ah sure it'll come good in the end" that leaves us with thieving politicians, corrupt police, hacksaw medical consultants, etc, etc getting left alone for *years*.

This country disgusts me at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Again, the standard Irish attitude of "ah sure it'll come good in the end" that leaves us with thieving politicians, corrupt police, hacksaw medical consultants, etc, etc getting left alone for *years*.

Ryanair has cheap flights ;) ..

I pay my taxes and i couldn't give a sh1t what anyone else does

Same attitude just trying to dress it up.

The point is that while they *might* get caught - it'll be an age. If ever. During which time they've defrauded *YOU* as a tax payer. We're being ridden ten ways till Tuesday on motoring taxes as it is, the less people that pay them = the more they're going to raise them.

Same flights that the people who don't think they should pay Irish taxes should take. If they're so fond of their english reg cars then let them **** off over there to live then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

You'll find revenue contact details at the following link, just click on your area

http://www.revenue.ie/cont_main.htm

I had to look up the local revenue to find a contact today, I'm report bogus charity collectors. The same bunch come round week after week with a different charity every week but the same van with NI reg collects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

So leave. Sure you could get a ryanair flight out of here for elss than 50euro... INCLUDING taxes and charges :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Tony Danza

Posting on boards should sort it out though.

Tony Danza wrote: »

If you have a read of his earlier posts you'll see he's looking in to reporting them, rather than JUST posting on boards.

JohnCleary wrote: »
    So leave. Sure you could get a ryanair flight out of here for elss than 50euro... INCLUDING taxes and charges :D

Why leave when theres a chance it could be fixed? Although not likely with a case of new boss same as the old boss.
    Tony Danza wrote: »

I've reported them. People who vent and don't actually do anything to sort it out are worse than those that have the "ah sure..." attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

MYOB, whilst I agree with you reporting them - as them 'getting away with it' costs us all more over the long term - it is kindof funny that you have the name MYOB. Mind Your Own Business, right?!

lollers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Just for the record.

Section 140 of the Finance Act 2001 authorises both Customs Officers and Gardai to detain vehicles for such period as is required to determine whether a vehicle has been registered/VRT Paid.

EDIT: People should report those who haven't gotten the above paid. Afterall; Motor Tax goes directly to your local authority and as such maintains the already expensive bin charges/rates to businesses. If you want them to charge you even more rates then let them get away with it. If you want to pay more income tax come Budget 2009 then you'll let them get away without paying VRT as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

Its good to see the gardai out in force alright, I've come accross 3 checkpoints in the last 2 weeks and that was a small amount of driving.

I've reported them. People who vent and don't actually do anything to sort it out are worse than those that have the "ah sure..." attitude.

Who did you contact? The customs have a few numbers up on revenue.ie...just interested in what department to contact