Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feeling Desperate

• 10-05-2008 5:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

Posted this anonomously first and then thought to heck with it and joined the forum.
    Any ideas what I can do?
    Tomorrow I'll have nowhere to sleep,I've very little money and so few belongings I can fit them comfortably in a little 1 litre hatchback which is where I'll be sleeping tomorrow.It's not taxed and I've a court case coming up about that.
    I was robbed of everything else,unable to pay rent I lost my flat and the friend I've been staying with has a brother who is deeply suspicious of strangers - particularly 'charity cases' and has ordered me out.
    I have no living family.
    I'm so depressed I can't sleep or eat and as I haven't eaten for 4 days now I'm feeling pretty shaky.It's a battle not to throw up when I drink tea my stomach is so knotted up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭funkycat83

Jesus that sounds rough.

Do you have anyone else in your life? Cousins? aunts? uncles? Friends? acquaintances? Is there a homeless shelter you can go to for a couple of nights til you get yourself sorted?
    If you are feeling particularly desperate maybe you could talk to the samaritans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Suzi D

There's no one I can turn to.No family at all and I've already been to the only friends I have.They're sympathetic but can't help.No phone credit on the mobile either.I have a full tank of gas in the car but as it's illegal I'm terrified driving it.If it's impounded I'm s######

what part of the country are you in? apart from the samaritans and homeless shelters I don't know what to suggest? Do u have a job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Can you tell us your full story so we can understand what exactly is going on?

Not any more.Had to move too far away when I lost the flat.

yeah do least then we ma be able to help a bit better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

No situation is irreversable lass and this can be fixed. As funkycat said, where are ya? If your near Dub or wex, i may be able to help more

I'm that shaky I'm amazed I can write at all.If I go through the whole saga here it means I have to think about it and I'll lose what little self control I have left.I'm in Offaly.

feck im no good to you im in Galway. Wouldnt say there would be much in the way of services in Offaly though. Maybe you should take a chance with the car and drive to Dublin and try and start a fresh. If the guards stop you just say your documents ae in the post. Im sure that would get you away with it?

Don't fancy sleeping in the car in Dub somehow! Dangerous enough in the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Ring the homeless persons unit. They are in dublin and it is a freephone number. They might be able to arrange something for you.

Number is 1800 724 724.

Where are you now?

tell ya what lass, i'm up in dub tomorrow if ya want to wait till then to go over? i'll give ya as much help as you need to start off with and i might be able to get ya a job too if ya like? Just PM if this sounds like an option for ya?

I'm at a mates place in Kilkenny ,on their computer,can't stay here though.I'll be going back to the other friend's place soon, waiting for her to get back from mass to let me in,I'm okay there for one more night but that's it.

Talking to a mate of mine there in Offaly, he's a manager in a garden centre and he's looking for staff if you are willing to work there? just outside Clara apparently if thats any good to you?

Fair play to ya RedXIV

dublindude wrote: »
    Fair play to ya RedXIV

Always out to help ;)

Gotta get somewhere to stay first - can't work out of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Wow, Red.

Taking PI to new and interesting places.

Suzi I know Red in person from not too far back; I can vouch he's one sound lad.

His family owns a B&B, i could ask ahead and see if they don't mind putting you up till you get a paycheck?

Overheal wrote: »
    Wow, Red.

Taking PI to new and interesting places.

Suzi I know Red in person from not too far back; I can vouch he's one sound lad.

first time someone said that without me paying them :D

cheers Overheal ;)

It does help that people listen,that was the best hope I had when I came on here.Thanks guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭speaktofrank

Well if it was me, I would try to arrange short term accommodation until you have enough money to find your place, ok you have no family but surely someone can give you a couch for a week or two, if I lived in Offaly I would even offer my own.
    Get in touch with Red, a job will set you up nicely, sell the car if you don't need it and get in contact with social services.
    Where were you before this? It seems a little strange that you did not see this coming.

Edit: Ok you were robbed, but no savings at all? Did you have a job before this?
    Even if you had no job and were on social welfare you should still have been able to afford somewhere to stay.

nice one red :)

Hey there Frank.
    Thieves tend to operate when NO ONE sees them coming.I thought 'something' would come up before it came to this but it didn't.When I say I'm wiped out I mean it.
    I don't know many people and the ones I do know can't help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Suzi you are being offered help. Why not explore it? If you are afraid, bring a friend with you.

OK, in touch with my mate and he'll def do everything in his power to give you a job but he's not agreeing to accomodation till he meets ya. understandable i suppose. best i can offer ya at the min lass, i'll keep checking though

well im not being funny or owt but you may want to review your friend situation because if you are in this desperate of a need that you have had to ask the help off the people at boards your friends ain't looking too friendly at the moment,especially if they know you have no family and nowhere else to go. I would never see any of my friends out on the street.

RedXIV wrote: »
    OK, in touch with my mate and he'll def do everything in his power to give you a job but he's not agreeing to accomodation till he meets ya. understandable i suppose. best i can offer ya at the min lass, i'll keep checking though

You really are a very decent person, good on you RedXIV. I hope if I am ever down and out it is someone like you that I come across.

I'm not Irish Funky.(Aussie)It's why I don't know many people.
    Fair enuff with your mate Red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

suzi, i agree with funkycat, and sure you've got nothing to lose so why don't you give RedXIV's offer a try, what's the worst that can happen, from the sound of things, things can only get better. good luck and i hope everything works out for you.

cheers neuro praxis! but not really deserving until i have it sorted is it? OP, if you're desperate to get accomodation before a job, i can offer ya a bed in my place in dub. i'll run it by housemates but should be ok :D

Well thats fair enough so, but like it was said if you gave us a small bit more info we would be in a better place to offer help and information! Seems like Clara is your best option at the moment?

I can call your number for free off my phone Red.I'll call you when I get back to a good reception area.

first time someone said that without me paying them :D

Though I'll accept paypal :p

I can't imagine having nowhere to turn OP, that has to be one hell of a challenge. But I don't think that's the end of the road by far.

Brick walls are only put there to separate those that have the drive to go farther and those that don't. When you get through this trial - like every other brick wall in your life - you will come out stronger. And with such a thick wall I have high hopes for the person that breaks through it.

It's inspiring to see you're still in fighting shape Suzi. You've an exceptionally strong character.

dublindude wrote: »
    This one has my troll alarm beeping. It might be a wind up...Sorry to sound negative, but a lot of bull**** gets posted here.

I know and am inclined to agree, but giving the benefit of the doubt, these stories usually go quite deep...there may be drugs, alcohol, debt or mental health issues involved.

Hope ya do lass, I'll help ya anyway i can!

Ok so you've been wiped out financially. But weren't you working?
    I know if that happened to me I would get a week or two's pay in advance to tide me over.
    The landlord would be understanding too, especially seeing as it was the flat he was renting that got robbed. (Maybe I'm wrong on this part)
    This on to Lidl, €20 buys enough food for a week there if you are really careful.
    Anyway no need to feel desperate or suicidal over such a temporary problem.
    Sign on the dole if you can't get a job. Sleeping in your car for a week would be pretty crap, but look on the bright side, it's not winter.(though that's no consolation)
    I presume you are young so finding a job won't be a problem, once you have money, you can get another place and problem sorted. (Next time buy insurance though)

Sorry if this comes off as unhelpful but I was pretty much in the same situation in America for a while but left having got through it and learning a lot from the experience, you will too. Best of luck.

I know and am inclined to agree, but giving the benefit of the doubt, these stories usually go quite deep...there may be drugs, alcohol, debt or mental health issues involved.

Below is the post of mine neuro-praxis quoted. I deleted it because I thought maybe I was being a bit harsh
    Suzi you are being offered help. Why not explore it? If you are afraid, bring a friend with you.

This one has my troll alarm beeping. It might be a wind up.

- Homeless and hasn't eaten in four days, yet somehow is in a friends house posting on boards
    - Has a car (with a full petrol tank!) but it can't be driven
    - Has no family to help her
    - Was robbed of nearly everything she owns
    - Friend's evil brother kicked her out onto the street
    - Is going to court soon
    - Isn't interested in non-financial help
    - Isn't Irish so is even more isolated
    - Can't give us details or specifics

Sorry to sound negative, but a lot of bull**** gets posted here.

EDIT: Reading more of her posts, yep, something not right about this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

tell ya what lass, i'm up in dub tomorrow if ya want to wait till then to go over? i'll give ya as much help as you need to start off with and i might be able to get ya a job too if ya like? Just PM if this sounds like an option for ya?
    Talking to a mate of mine there in Offaly, he's a manager in a garden centre and he's looking for staff if you are willing to work there? just outside Clara apparently if thats any good to you?
    Suzi D wrote: »
    Gotta get somewhere to stay first - can't work out of the car.
    Jesus Christ, show a bit of gratitude will you?!
    His family owns a B&B, i could ask ahead and see if they don't mind putting you up till you get a paycheck?
    It does help that people listen,that was the best hope I had when I came on here.Thanks guys.
    And that's the most thanks you can give Red...?

Red, you're being amazing. Pity the OP doesn't seem to to realise it...

I'm far from young but thanks for the assumption!Temp accom landlords are not in the least understanding as a rule.No drugs,no booze,no debts,no looney,yet!
    I didn't come on here looking for financial help.
    I hoped that finding a little sympathy from strangers would help me to feel a little less sorry for myself.It has.

Red has been more than generous in this situation so as far as I am concerned, you get to Dublin, stay there, get a job and after a week or two you should have enough to get your own place.
    Red I don't know you but you seem like one hell of a guy. Respect.

I am also inclined to go along with what Dublindude is saying, too many parts of this story do not make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Strokesfan

Hi Suzi - I pm'ed you if that can be of any help

Eh looking for "sympathy"

You dont post the word "suicidal" if its just sympathy your after. :mad:

Would you be willing to share with us how you got into this situation?

lol, ok, ye gotta stop now guys, i can't afford any bigger a head. :D

Suzi D, another option open to ya, my fave bar in Dub is Aussie themed and they always are looking for staff, should be a snap to ya.

Still looking around, will let ya know more if i hear it

Sorry Dudess,what makes you think I'm not grateful to Red?
    Excuse the f*** out of me if I'm not up to Shakesperean prose standards right now.
    It's been a rough week.

lol, ok, ye gotta stop now guys, i can't afford any bigger a head. :D

Alright: You smell of elderberries and febreeze in the kettle is not on :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

What's standard of prose got to do with it? You didn't express any gratitude, which is rude, that's all.

Sorry Dudess,what makes you think I'm not grateful to Red?
    Excuse the f*** out of me if I'm not up to Shakesperean prose standards right now.
    It's been a rough week.

Eh ya dont have to be up to that. Just choose your words a bit more carefully.

Cutting through the scrap now and shooting it down........BANG!

ok, there's a hostel which is like a tenner a night in the city centre if you don't want to crash in my place. Also, it's worth looking through dublindude's sig for easy money. Huge resources there