Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can Dustin win Eurovision ?

• 09-05-2008 09:39AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭

Was listening to him on Ray Darcy's show this morning.

Anyone think he has a chance of winning ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭RedXIV

It'd show how far that competition has come along wouldn't it? I don't think we're gonna do worse than last year but i'd have some shock if we won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Only Smarties have the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

I wouldnt think he has a chance in hell but the bookies have him 6th favorite at 16-1 so its not unreasonable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

When is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Joliegood

The first semi-final is Tuesday week. The final is the following Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

Well it is a turkey of a song! Gettit??? Turkey!!! Bwahahaa! :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I reckon he might but I believe it is the death of the competion, well Ireland's involvement, if he does.

Yup, given Ireland's previous entries, Dustin's effort is poultry in comparison... Gettit??? Poultry!!! Bwahahaa! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭token56

If he did we could get him to present it next year, you know really show case our country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Joliegood

token56 wrote: »
    If he did we could get him to present it next year, you know really show case our country
    With Podge and Rodge :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,000 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Not a chance really. Nobody else will 'get it', still, he's better than most of the eurovision muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Joliegood wrote: »
    The way the voting has gone anything could happen. Doubtful though. Another obscure Eastern Europe destination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Harpy

no i don' think he can!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Not sure, but he'll do far better then the previous few years did at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

He wont even get outta the semi!

The Europians will think it's actually an attempt at a song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭N1njapirate

well seeing as it's hard enough for the Irish to understand him, I don't know how the other nationalities will... especially get the Irish pub jokes thrown around the place in the song.

Doubtful he'll get through the semi-final, unless there's a lot of people who vote to make a mockery of the competition. It's kinda shameful that Dustin is going performing that song, but the eurovision is a mockery in itself I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I personally dont get the idea of a badly made turkey with a skanger accent. Its not funny at all to me. I dont think any other nation will "get" it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

No chance.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    No chance.

I'd say he has aviary chance! Oh ho! :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Unlikely to get any votes from the eastern countries as they still take it too seriously, but should get some from the western countries who all realise it's a load of rubbish, well except for France who are upset about their own song being in English this year so are unlikely to vote for anything spoken in that fowl language. ;)

Wasn't it Finland that won a couple of years ago with some daft act in masks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Yup, given Ireland's previous entries, Dustin's effort is poultry in comparison... Gettit??? Poultry!!! Bwahahaa! :pac:
    I'd say he has aviary chance! Oh ho! :D

Retire from boards. Now.

If Dustin wins eurovision as it was is over. Yet I still think he has an outside chance, shockingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Seems like others think we are mad...

http://perezhilton.com/2008-03-28-this-one-takes-the-cake

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

he will either win it. or not get out of the semi-finals.

its a tough call, will easteran europe understand it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I think he is in for a stuffing

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'd say they will be offended by Ireland so obviously not taking the game seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

I will be watching the show for the first time in years because of his entry. I cannot wait to hear what Terry Wogan has to say.

Cormic wrote: »
    I will be watching the show for the first time in years because of his entry. I cannot wait to hear what Terry Wogan has to say.

My thoughts exactly.

Also, the eurovision isn't as it was. It hasn't been right since the Eastern Europeans joined in. Now anybody with fireworks, dancing, drums, and whatever wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Ah they will. Sure phrases like "Go on ya good thing!" or "Gerrou o' dat garden!" are very common in Croatia.

I always thought this version was so much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Dustin is a b@stard and I hope he loses heavily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

your full of life today:p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

robinph wrote:
    Wasn't it Finland that won a couple of years ago with some daft act in masks?
    Oh Lordi..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Joliegood wrote: »
    Nope, he's too much of an in-joke.

RTE are obviously playing the 'My Lovely Horse' card.

I, for one, will be hoping that Paddy Power will be giving good odds on Ireland getting nil points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ModeSkeletor

He's better than the UK entry anyway.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWnQ_81n3YE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

I wouldnt think he has a chance in hell but the bookies have him 6th favorite at 16-1 so its not unreasonable

Im putting 20 on so. Even 30.

Id reckon he has a great chance. Really! Its so hilariously nuts, Im deffo putting money on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'm so determined to make it win that I'm cloning myself 200,000 times and we're all flying to Paris so we can vote for him.
    In hindsight, I should have done the cloning when I got to France, but nonetheless, now I'm supporting Dustin and the poor ailing airlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

He's better than the UK entry anyway.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWnQ_81n3YE

In fairness to the UK, I watched their show to choose the song and all the entries were a load of crap. They had to choose someone! Binman X-Factor guy was the best of a bad lot.

I have a friend in France who is getting all her French friends to vote for Dustin.

I think if a weird song is going to win it's probably going to be Spain. It's slightly more relatable than Dustin's song!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Phantasm

That song annoys the cock off me. I hope he fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭dvega

I think its a farce,but considering last years winner AND the year before i think we did dead right by entering a muppet for our contestant this year,its the way the competition is gone,i think the way its going its gona wither out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

robinph wrote: »
    Unlikely to get any votes from the eastern countries as they still take it too seriously, but should get some from the western countries who all realise it's a load of rubbish, well except for France who are upset about their own song being in English this year so are unlikely to vote for anything spoken in that fowl language.

what are ya on about the French not voting for us? sure it's the only entry with French in it isn't it? :pac:

Irelande douze points...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I haven't seen or heard the other acts yet but he/it has a good a chance as the other contestants ;) Did anyone see the "contestants" last year? Dustin is really no different to any of them so hell ya! I think Dustin might just win it. People will vote for him even if it's for comic value :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭dvega

kerry4sam wrote: »
    he/it

Its a Muppet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,431 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Suprised people aren't "getting" this song!

The song is woeful.. but it's the exact sorta stuff the Eurovision fans will eat up. It has so many characteristics that will appeal to Europeans such as a unique non-traditional act (Lordi anyone? It's a fecking turkey puppet), mentioning numerous countries (pretty much all of them) and capital cities (always a winner!), and the song is called 'IRELAND DOUZE POINTS!'

The song has a chance of cleaning up.. people need to stop rating the terrible song and look at how many attributes appeal to the Eurovision watchers (and voters).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Reckon it might be stopped so to speak at the semis. I can't imagine whoever organises it are happy about it.

Personally i think its great :D There was an entry a few years ago with an old granny on a rocking chair that was ****e beyond belief so Dustin is no worse. Noone takes it seriously so why should we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

dvega wrote: »
    Its a Muppet!

re:he/it ... 'it' refers to the muppet and 'he' refers to the person doing the voice/singing :p but cheers dvega

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Dustin press conference

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=il_xxzahhdU

LMAO!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Maybe a lot of european kids will pester their parents to vote for the Turkey?
    It's certainly a hard one to forget...love it or hate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

darkman2 wrote: »
    Dustin press conference

He certainly has an answer for everything!

Your man from the Ukraine didn't sound too happy about Dustin being a puppet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

darkman2 wrote: »
    Dustin press conference

class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Class, at least we are getting a laugh for our money. Usually we are bored to tears