Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Police" - skanger talk?

• 09-05-2008 8:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭

What is it about the skangers and working class of Ireland that they seem unable to say the word "Gardai", instead referring to our police force as the "Police"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Talking in Irish is Gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I usually say the 5-0 or the fuzz. Am I cool now? Please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I'd be surprised if they'd even refer to them as the "Police"...

Note: Speaking about skangers here and not the working class...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Yep, thats a pet hate of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yeh and curse those people who say mobile to mean a cell phone.

you know there are more than one word for things in this world? :rolleyes: < - thank god i use cloud so i can still see proper rolleyes smiley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

It's not "gardai" or the "police" it's the 'guards'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Golferx wrote: »
    What is it about the skangers and working class of Ireland that they seem unable to say the word "Gardai", instead referring to our police force as the "Police"?

Don't 'working class' people just says 'pigs' instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

stovelid wrote: »
    Don't 'working class' people just says 'pigs' instead?

Aren't working class people just pigs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Not all working class are scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Cremo wrote: »
    you know there are more than one word for things in this world?
    Except that "Gardai" isn't Irish for "police". And technically (though I don't know the ins and outs of it), the Gardai's charge isn't to "police" people in common sense. They are the "Guardians of the Peace". I'm not sure what the difference is, but it was explained to me before.

So to call them the "police" is just incorrect.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

It the Guards or Gardai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Eh mmmmmm ok but why would there be a problem with calling them what they are?
    seamus wrote: »
    Talking in Irish is Gay.

What does it say on this link?
    http://www.garda.ie/

OP this thread is a fail -1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Rob_l wrote: »
    What does it say on this link?
    http://www.garda.ie/

OP this thread is a fail -1

The picture of Fachtna on that site is >3megs. Fuppin eejits. You can nearly make out the artist's signature on the painting behind him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭vote4pedro

OMFG referring to a police force as "police" instead of a fine, proud Irish name?!!1
    It doesn't make a jot of difference ffs, nor does it when the GAA desperately attempt to pretend we're living in some sort of gaelic paradise by using terms like banaisteor (sp) and beginning notices over the PA with "Fogra na Gardaí"...before giving the actual message in heathen Bearla

javaboy wrote: »
    The picture of Fachtna on that site is >3megs. Fuppin eejits. You can nearly make out the artist's signature on the painting behind him.

I thought you were joking

but if that flag wasn't there you could make it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Police are agents or agencies empowered to enforce the law and to effect public and social order through the legitimate use of force. The term is most commonly associated with police departments of a state that are authorized to exercise the police power of that state within a defined legal or territorial area of responsibility. The word comes via French from the Latin politia (“civil administration”), which itself derives from the Ancient Greek πόλις, for polis ("city").]

Mike.

"An Garda Siochana - Irelands National Police Service"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't visit the guards if you're on dial up.

Fuzzy muff http://www.metacafe.com/watch/52085/ali_g_dangerous_weapons/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

So as you said they refer to our police force as the police. I'll admit I do refer to them sometimes as the police and other times as the gardai. What the hell does that make me OP and why does this bother you so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Its deh bleedin LAPD. Leggih!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I usually say the 5-0 or the fuzz. Am I cool now? Please?
    Remembers the wire. /sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

tis handy living in a small town, i call local copper "dad" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Sketch, its the po-lice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

Fail!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Its the Po-Po!!!!

Whoop whoop its the sound of the police.
    whoop whoop its the sound of the police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

connundrum wrote: »
    Its deh bleedin LAPD. Leggih!

That's what the local IC7's say around here anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

Every Breath You Take by The Gardai doesn't have the same ring to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

"Well, well, well, if it ain't the fuzz".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

... instead referring to our police force as the "Police"?

Huh, what was your point again!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Po-lice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

The feds, the fuzz, garda

Whenever im playing GTA, i refer to the police as the garda :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Federales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Stevo11

Rob_l wrote: »
    Eh mmmmmm ok but why would there be a problem with calling them what they are?

Quote:
    Originally Posted by seamus View Post
    Talking in Irish is Gay.

Rob_l

Very subtle ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭cowan

Signature looks awful like Peter Kay to me tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

na Gadaí Sicíní

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

wait.. you can understand what they're saying now?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

holy fup, haven't they heard of thumbnail !

http://www.garda.ie/images/commissionermurphy.jpg
    175px
    214px
    3365.1 KB (3445860 bytes)
    Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy

The full image is
    4961px
    6066px

I'm nearly tempted to ring up and report the stolen bandwidth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

what about bluebottles old skool dublin scumbag term for the rozzers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ModeSkeletor

I have even heard Irish people referring to the police here as "The Old Bill" :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ModeSkeletor

holy fup, haven't they heard of thumbnail !

http://www.garda.ie/images/commissionermurphy.jpg
    175px
    214px
    3365.1 KB (3445860 bytes)
    Garda Commissioner Fachtna Murphy

The full image is
    4961px
    6066px

I'm nearly tempted to ring up and report the stolen bandwidth

Fach that anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

ive heard travellers referring to them as "the shades" !

incidently, im"working class". i say garda or gardai!

op, are you middle class or upper class?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Don't think thats a working class thing at all, "Sketch Garda!" , never heard "Sketch police!" uttered in a working class area in my entire life. I'd say it's far more of a middle class thing personally. But either way whats the problem, why did you say Ireland instead of Eire? Well? Huh? My friend? Yes?

(would it be Eire in that sentence he wrote anyone? Or would it be "in Eirinn" or something because he said "of Ireland"? I'm never sure about that one.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

Police
    (n) : an organisation granted authority to enforce the law
    (v) : to enforce the law and keep order among (a group); to patrol or clean an area

pigs, cops, gards its all the same

its not just the "commoners" that refer to the gardai in other terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

I have never in all my born years heard a skanger say 'police'.

It would sound weird and funny, like if they said 'ghastly' or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I've never heard anybody refer to them as the Police. Even if they do, that's what they are so there's no problem.

That's not important right now however. What's important is that the word 'bloke' seems to be thrown around an awful lot lately. It's a terrible word and everytime an irish person says it, a good person dies.

A curse word you might say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Davidius wrote: »
    I've never heard anybody refer to them as the Police. Even if they do, that's what they are so there's no problem.

That's not important right now however. What's important is that the word 'bloke' seems to be thrown around an awful lot lately. It's a terrible word and everytime an irish person says it, a good person dies.

A curse word you might say.

I agree, it is a term which should stay in the English home counties.
    I hereby pledge to kill one kitten every time i hear an Irish person using this term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

slipss wrote: »
    why did you say Ireland instead of Eire?

I don't really get the problem with saying 'police' but then I tend to call them police.
    Is 'Eire' not disrespectful to the state in some way though. I've been told this a few times as usual I can't remember the whole story so I'm not sure why this is the case .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

OP get off your high horse and stop being such a snob.