Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too many displays required on car windscreens. It is getting ridiculous

• 06-05-2008 6:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

I spotted this on a car in Dunlaoghaire recently, four displays on the windshield and on the drivers side :eek: . It’s ridiculous that the DOE and MOT will fail you with a small stone chip yet at the same time let you blot out half your vision with these mandatory displays. In the States it’s illegal to have any display or obstruction on any part of your windscreen, all licence details are displayed on a small coloured sticker on the reg plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Having that many displays is not ridiculous. What is ridiculous is putting them at the driver side.
    Most people put them at the passenger side and have no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

micmclo wrote: »
    Having that many displays is not ridiculous. What is ridiculous is putting them at the driver side.
    Most people put them at the passenger side and have no problem

I agree, bottom left is my preferred position.

I've seen cars with more than the four in the pic above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Get a life. The driver's view is not blocked in any way there. :(

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Phaetonman

It pisses me off as well. Its indicitave of the level of beauracracy we have to live with nowadays.

You see people with multiple parking permits, nct, tax, insurance, toll road devices.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Phaetonman wrote: »
    You see people with multiple parking permits, nct, tax, insurance, toll road devices.

LOl, sounds like my car! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

I think we've bigger concerns in motoring Ireland than too many discs in our windows.

I've mine behind my rearview mirror, so its outa sight for most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

They're hardly in the feckin way now are they. But I do agree there should be less to display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

It's hard to tell from that picture, but three of those stickers could well be hidden by the dash anyway. If I put my permit at the very bottom of the windscreen, it can barely be seen (if at all) from the driver's seat. In some cars, you would not see a sticker stuck on in front of the rear view mirror.

That picture linked to is hardly a crime against humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Behind the rear view mirror is actually a handy place ...the stickers fill the gap that most sun visors leave open.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

peasant wrote: »
    Behind the rear view mirror is actually a handy place ...the stickers fill the gap that most sun visors leave open.

Oooh, that's a great idea! My last car had that green tint at the top of the windscreen so I didn't have a problem with a gap between the visors, but my new one doesn't......yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Dont be a dope and do what everyone else does, stick it on bottom left, seriously, you wont even notice its there;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

ive seen much worse. ie.receipts for parking permit, out of date tax or nct still visably displayed along with current valid disc, AA stickers, IRL stickers, boy racers who think its cool for some reason to have their horizonal tax disc holders stuck on vertically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Ive had the usual three discs (bottom left) and an eazypass (behind rearview) and a fire brigade member sticker (top right, from previous owner and i think guards gave me an easy time at check points because of it :D)

Never had any problem with visibility ever.

Its ridiculus complaining about it, it cant really affect it too much unless you cover your entire windscreen in stickers from anywhere

chris85 wrote: »
    Its ridiculus complaining about it, it cant really affect it too much unless you cover your entire windscreen in stickers from anywhere

Agreed. I feel stupid having even bothered posting in this thread.

Another crucial motoring tackled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

crosstownk wrote: »
    I agree, bottom left is my preferred position
    Probably because it's a legal requirement that they be in the bottom nearside. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I spotted this on a car in Dunlaoghaire recently, four displays on the windshield and on the drivers side :eek: . It’s ridiculous that the DOE and MOT will fail you with a small stone chip yet at the same time let you blot out half your vision with these mandatory displays. In the States it’s illegal to have any display or obstruction on any part of your windscreen, all licence details are displayed on a small coloured sticker on the reg plate.

I park on DL harbour a lot so I use annual concession parking stickers as well as the other crud - whatever glue they use welds the sticker to the windscreen and they won't come off... I have 4 of them now.:(

stevec wrote: »
    I park on DL harbour a lot so I use annual concession parking stickers as well as the other crud - whatever glue they use welds the sticker to the windscreen and they won't come off... I have 4 of them now.:(

Try a hair drier and some sort of solvent to remove the stickers. That's what some people use when de-badging their car anyway - don't know if it would be different for glass.

I was going to say sorry for going OT, but this was a stupid thread to begin with.

eoin_s wrote: »
    Try a hair drier and some sort of solvent to remove the stickers. That's what some people use when de-badging their car anyway - don't know if it would be different for glass.

In order to improve my view out the front (and stay on topic)...

Tried solvent (cellulose & acetone), didnt work. Bit wary of a heat gun on the glass.
    I was going to say sorry for going OT, but this was a stupid thread to begin with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

My disc holders are so far down the dash blocks me seeing them and my toll transponders behind the rear view (used to be *on* the rearview until I realised that what was causing it to fail on the M4). Can't see any of them. Obvious far less obtrusive than the legally required L plates were when I had them ages back!

Can't remove the dealers sticker off the back window, though - seems welded on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

MYOB wrote: »
    Can't remove the dealers sticker off the back window, though - seems welded on...

LOL, They must get their adhesives from the same place as the "Do not park here" stickers. - The amount of people I've seen with about a quarter of the sticker torn off(presumably after hours of effort) is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

stevec wrote: »

You could put a square of the clear sticky film for covering school books on the window and stick the sticker to that, Then when you pull it off it's only the adhesive from the school book covering that was attached to the window. That stuff comes off clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Cionád wrote: »
    LOL, They must get their adhesives from the same place as the "Do not park here" stickers. - The amount of people I've seen with about a quarter of the sticker torn off(presumably after hours of effort) is hilarious.
    Diet Coke is the job for them things.

Stekelly wrote: »
    You could put a square of the clear sticky film for covering school books on the window and stick the sticker to that, Then when you pull it off it's only the adhesive from the school book covering that was attached to the window. That stuff comes off clean.

I'll give it a go next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Probably because it's a legal requirement that they be in the bottom nearside. ;)

No its not...

Oilrig wrote: »
    No its not...
    In a vehicle equipped with a windscreen, the tax disc must be displayed in the lower left side and not more than 2 inches from the edge of the windscreen.

I don't have time now to dig out the relevant Statute Instrument but I may get a chance tonight. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

funny, I dont find that I have a much better field of vision without a tax or NCT disc blocking me windscreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

In a vehicle equipped with a windscreen, the tax disc must be displayed in the lower left side and not more than 2 inches from the edge of the windscreen.

I don't have time now to dig out the relevant Statute Instrument but I may get a chance tonight. ;)

I'd also appreciate it if you could find the statutory instrument where it says that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

These government departments and county councils should actually be making these stickers much smaller, similiar to the size of those stickers on the back of German registration plates.

G Luxel wrote: »
    These government departments and county councils should actually be making these stickers much smaller, similiar to the size of those stickers on the back of German registration plates.

Be careful what you wish for, the German system is expensive and much more of a pain in the neck than a few stickers on he windscreen.

At least here you can do everything by post/online (barring the NCT test), over there any change requires a day off and endless queues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'd also appreciate it if you could find the statutory instrument where it says that.

Someone posted it here a while ago, I tried looking for it but couldn't find it. Even tried transport.ie and had no look there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

G Luxel wrote: »

Just DIY tbh.

I did: colour-scan the originals, shrink to appropriate holder size (smaller, needless to say), colour-print, cut and place. Keep originals handy in glove box, in case the facsimile are ever queried (never have been so far, with many C/Ps passed through and facsimiles checked out).

Most cars have 'standard size windscreens', but some cars have a fairly small windscreen area (classics, sportcars, etc.) wherein yes, many discs/badges can become an issue, even at the 'regulatory' bottom left.

I wouldn't say the thread is totally pointless. Marginally so at best :D It could become more interesting if people were to suggest alternatives, I suppose - e.g. 'combined' discs/badges (e.g. tax/nct or tax/insurance or... dunno!), or e.g. doing away with having to display them (or even issuing them) UK-style or FR-style (this supposes modern Gardai / VLA database accessible by pandas in R/T... some decades away, then :rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

(2) The insurance disc shall be carried in a conspicuous position on the windscreen of the vehicle in such manner that it shall be both visible and readily accessible for inspection and be so located that it does not obscure the vision of the driver while the vehicle is being driven or in the case of a vehicle not fitted with a windscreen in a conspicuous position on the near side of the vehicle.

Tigger wrote: »
    (2) The insurance disc shall be carried in a conspicuous position on the windscreen of the vehicle in such manner that it shall be both visible and readily accessible for inspection and be so located that it does not obscure the vision of the driver while the vehicle is being driven or in the case of a vehicle not fitted with a windscreen in a conspicuous position on the near side of the vehicle.

That's not the clearest - does it just have to be on the near side if it doesn't have a windscreen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

That's not the clearest - does it just have to be on the near side if it doesn't have a windscreen?

nope
    just out of tghe way and conspicious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

esel wrote: »
    Get a life. The driver's view is not blocked in any way there. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Tigger wrote: »

Where did you obtain that regulation?
    In any event, it does not specify displaying the disc on the lower left side of the windscreen.:confused:

I've searched a couple of the 1997 statutory instruments, the rules of the road, rsa, etc but I can't seem to find anything on this particular issue.

Also, can you tell me does a car have to display an insurance disc if it is parked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

There are far, far worse things out there than how many discs are on a windscreen.

Like impending speed cameras, Dual Carriageways that should be classified as Motorways and given appropriate speed limits, the threat of the end to Autobahns with no speed limit in Germany etc. Need I go on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Ah here lads can you not find something that is actually a problem and no offense not something as stupid as that unless you need a booster seat to see over the steering wheel there is no problem with vision and that is a really bad spot to put it if you are a small person. Why dont you stick it up at the top on the passenger side you dont need to see through that part of the windscreen. Well unless your passenger likes putting their head on the dashboard and looking into the sky.

Oilrig wrote: »
    No its not...

Del2005 wrote: »
    Someone posted it here a while ago, I tried looking for it but couldn't find it. Even tried transport.ie and had no look there.
    Here you go!

Road vehicle (Registration and licensing) Regulations 1958

(Please note - 'licence' is the official name for the tax disc)

4.—(1) The licence for a vehicle shall be carried on the vehicle at all times when the vehicle is in use on a public road.

(2) The licence shall be carried on the vehicle as follows :—

(a) on a bicycle (other than a bicycle used for drawing a sidecar), tricycle or invalid carriage—in a conspicuous position on the near side of the vehicle in front of the driving seat ;

(b) on a bicycle used for drawing a sidecar—on the near side of the handlebar of the bicycle or the near side of the combination in front of the driving seat ;

(c) on a pedestrian-controlled vehicle—in a conspicuous position on the near side of the vehicle ;

(d) on any other vehicle—

(i) where the vehicle is fitted with a glass windscreen extending across the front of the vehicle to the near side—facing forwards on the near lower corner of the glass and either on the glass or within two inches of it, or

(ii) on the near side of the vehicle, facing towards the near side of the road and not less than two feet six inches nor more than six feet six inches from ground level and between two imaginary parallel lines, the first drawn vertically through the rear-most part of the driving seat or cab (or where there is no such seat or cab, the foot plate) and the second drawn vertically six inches in front of the base of the front windscreen or, where there is no front windscreen, through a point four feet forward from the first line.

Here you go!

Good on ya - I know what a pain finding that stuff can be....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭ramanujan

thats where i put them. nice and neat. Im surprised that there isn't that many of us doing that!

i just display the tax and insur though, I hate things blocking my view.

ramanujan wrote: »
    thats where i put them. nice and neat. Im surprised that there isn't that many of us doing that!
    Probably because it's illegal! ;)

I have an excuse though for putting them there.

My car is LHD and in the prescribed place on the "nearside" the stickers actually do interfere with my field of vision.

But wouldn't you 'nearside' be our 'offside'! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭nytraveller

In the States it’s illegal to have any display or obstruction on any part of your windscreen, all licence details are displayed on a small coloured sticker on the reg plate.

Not true. In NY stickers must be placed on the drivers side of the windscreen. 1 sticker is for registration, the other is inspection. Inspection sticker is 1 inch square and registration is only slightly bigger. They're on the drivers side so the cop can see them easily, but risks getting hit by passing cars!! (which happens alot)

Never understood why Ireland needs to have "disc holders". Shouldnt insurance companies/tax office/ nct just make a small sticker for each??

go away with nearside and offside ...took me years to be able to tell left from right ...don't confuse me now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭ramanujan

Apparantly so! The gardai seem happy enough with my up to date tax and insurance when they check, will move it if one of them ask. But for the moment I like it up there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

But wouldn't you 'nearside' be our 'offside'! :D

Doesn't nearside refer to the side nearest the edge of the road? If he's on Irish roads that would still be the right hand side as you look at the car head on. All this left hand nearside right hand drive mumbo jumbo is confusing. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Mods, puhleeeease lock this thread. It was dumb to start with.....

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

esel wrote: »
    Mods, puhleeeease lock this thread. It was dumb to start with.....

If this thread isn't meant to live, it will just die naturally. There shouldn't be any need to lock it.