Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TA a month of adventure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭cp251

Interestingly, the Derry unit is listed as Derry, although Londonderry in the address. Changed times indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

cp251 wrote: »
    Interestingly, the Derry unit is listed as Derry, although Londonderry in the address. Changed times indeed.

That'll def mean a big difference to the recruitment from nationalist communities :D Is v strange that it isn't L'Derry tho

Love the little subtle hit at the end "the regular army is also recruiting" hmmmm, ye lads wouldn't be trying to claw a few young fellas in by offering them some pocket money with the TA and they WHAM have a few extra soldiers for Iraq and Afghanistan up your sleve??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭lmtduffy

is anyone else thinking of going,

has anyone any experience with the ta?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 .net

Just a note you have to give an address within NI, got a call a few mins ago from them, so I am using my best mates brothers address in NI.

But you can join from the south that is the loophole...

If you do get deployed oversea's although your job is not protected down here if you are in NI or the UK your employer if obliged to re-employ you on end of deployment..

.net wrote: »
    Just a note you have to give an address within NI, got a call a few mins ago from them, so I am using my best mates brothers address in NI.

But you can join from the south that is the loophole...

If you do get deployed oversea's although your job is not protected down here if you are in NI or the UK your employer if obliged to re-employ you on end of deployment..

Just wondering what are the chances of getting sent into Iraq/Afghanistan and what kind of contract is attached to the TA? I have read about TA soldiers being killed in Iraq so wonder if it's a) the brighest move ever sending in TA soldiers with their level of training and b) the brighest idea ever going on Camp Shamrock in the first place.

An email I got form them said the minimum is 27 days a year and you can do less but you get less money atthe end of every year,

and he also mentioned that you can leave anytime you want,

they didnt say anything to me about having an address up there,

Well he told me that there was 120 soldiers from CCoy 2nd BN RIR currently over there or something similar to that or from NI

segaBOY wrote: »
    Just wondering what are the chances of getting sent into Iraq/Afghanistan and what kind of contract is attached to the TA? I have read about TA soldiers being killed in Iraq so wonder if it's a) the brighest move ever sending in TA soldiers with their level of training and b) the brighest idea ever going on Camp Shamrock in the first place.

They are not the RDF they are better trained and have more funding and equipment, so they are pretty capable but I think you may need to be in a year or two before you get deployed and it is voluntary unlike the regulars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

segaBOY wrote: »

Read 'Dusty Warriors' by Richard Holmes. Follows the Princess of Wales Royal Regiment on deployment in Iraq...good few TA involved, from officers on the CIMIC (civil-miliary cooperation) side of things to squaddies in the rifle platoons. One private was over there immediately after his 2 week training and performed very well.

Given the size of the TA, it might only be an off-chance that you get sent overseas but its still a very real chance and their military is very stretched at the moment.

Why do you think they're advertising this?? :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

concussion wrote: »
    Read 'Dusty Warriors' by Richard Holmes. Follows the Princess of Wales Royal Regiment on deployment in Iraq...good few TA involved, from officers on the CIMIC (civil-miliary cooperation) side of things to squaddies in the rifle platoons. One private was over there immediately after his 2 week training and performed very well.

Given the size of the TA, it might only be an off-chance that you get sent overseas but its still a very real chance and their military is very stretched at the moment.

Off the top of my head there were a number of TA deployed from Northern Ireland during the Iraq invasion. Tim collins book "Rules of Engagement" notes rangers from Enniskillen being deployed as perimeter security at one of the bases prior to the invasion and him having a chinwag with them.

concussion wrote: »

Thought exactly the same thing "Meet new mates, learn new skills and pocket up to £1,200 plus a tax-free bounty of £395* in the process!" never mentioned the chance of "winning" free flights to iraq tho :rolleyes:

As .net said the TA are better trained than RDF I completely agree...but 2 weeks training and off to iraq-with a major chance of not being given proper armour and desert DPM-the brits are sound that way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I would love to do get well trained and then go straight back to the RDF with my training!!!

If ur offerin boy no bother-just come to my unit we need it/another corkman wouldn't go a miss!!

I am already in the RDF. I assume you cant be in both. (Unless you are RDF???)

Yea am RDF-wouldn't join the TA if hell froze over!

Yeah, you're either serving one nation or the other! No ifs or buts about it! Just to get one thing ironed out, if you're in the TA and dont want to serve if A-stan or Iraq at the moment you won't. Unless there is a major escalation in violence or a new theatre of operations opens up.

Oh, I missinterpreted what you said then.

I thought you meant you were in the TA and you would like another Corkman in your Unit.

I wouldnt be happy about it but I do think it would be fun to do that course with the TA and then Bail. It is good money and would be valuable experience for me and my Unit, but even if I could I probably would't because I would feel awkward with that damn flag on my shoulder!!!

Oh, I missinterpreted what you said then.

I thought you meant you were in the TA and you would like another Corkman in your Unit.

I wouldnt be happy about it but I do think it would be fun to do that course with the TA and then Bail. It is good money and would be valuable experience for me and my Unit, but even if I could I probably would't because I would feel awkward with that damn flag on my shoulder!!!

So you're a patriot when there's no one paying you? Besides, it wouldn't benefit your unit unless you're a qualified NCO or Officer. An besides, all the basic training you would receive over the period of "the challenge" would be covered in a POTS course.

Well, I could tell the Lads what it was like, what I learned ****e like that.

What you said seems kinda hostile....
    I was just saying it would be good fun and of course it would be a benefit to my unit because I would come out of it at least slightly better at things than I am now so on a tactical exercise I think I would be a benefit.

I am not doing it anyway and I probably wouldnt do it even if I wasnt in the RDF because I wouldnt want to wear that Uniform especially in NI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Pirbright

If anyone wants detail on 2 R Irish, drop me a PM.

When you sign on, you will be advised that you could be mobilised once you've completed your phase 1 and phase 2 training. Currently though all mobilisations are "voluntary" unless you're in a trade that they require and even then this is usually over-subscribed.

Job Security - You'll get none down here. The few southern lads I know who are currently out with 2 R Irish in Afghanistan have either quit (with a view to going into the regs after completing their tour) or taken career breaks (public sector) or are self-employed.

Home Address - Using a Southern Address just means a longer period of time for security checks. Everyone is welcome.

Training - 2 weeks phase 1 and then 2 weeks phase 2. Fully Trained TA Soldier. You can also go in straight to DEPO (Direct Entry Potential Officer) or what ever it is called now. Thats 2 weeks basic phase 1, 2 weeks phase 2 and then about 9 months of officer training. Big commitment. Before going on ops be prepared for at least 4 months of beat up training to bring you up to an acceptable standards to the regs. Again job roles once on ops can change depending on needs - see the reference to Dusty Warriors a few posts back....at the moment Force Protection and ANA training are the main roles but going on patrol has happened in recent weeks.

I had great times with the Rangers (now 2 R Irish) and did the DEPO route. Learned a great deal of stuff that I can put into civvy life - Project Management, Management, leadership etc. It's well worth the time and effort and you get paid too (and enough kit to do you for life!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Have to admit, it looks incredibly tempting.
    Going off right after recruit camp in the RDF over to the TA for some additional training, come back with extra training thus being more useful to my unit.

*sighs*

My friend and I discussed how cool this would be but we were never really serious about it. We did sign up to the RDF and took the oath and all. Not really in keeping with it.

well i am getting transfered to NI with my work and a new contract so i will be covered jobwise upon deployment

Have to admit, it looks incredibly tempting.
    Going off right after recruit camp in the RDF over to the TA for some additional training, come back with extra training thus being more useful to my unit.

*sighs*

My friend and I discussed how cool this would be but we were never really serious about it. We did sign up to the RDF and took the oath and all. Not really in keeping with it.

Methinks if you were in the TA you would'nt be to hasty to go back to the RDF

Regardless of which is better (I have no experience of the TA so cannot compare) I still made an oath to the RDF. So I'm staying with them.

wow the rdf finally get back to me to go to a medical,

but as far as I know I wont be around to go the the rdf camp this summer,
    but will be for the ta one.......

gonna be interesting if any other questions comes up tomoroow,

"sorry, I might be in another army come august"

lmtduffy wrote: »
    wow the rdf finally get back to me to go to a medical,

but as far as I know I wont be around to go the the rdf camp this summer,
    but will be for the ta one.......

gonna be interesting if any other questions comes up tomoroow,

"sorry, I might be in another army come august"

Anyone know what the PT and medical is like ?

medical for ta or rdf?

TA, I know the medical for the RDF is laughable as I know quite a lot of overweight unfit people passing it, obviously the standards are higher in the TA and there is a Physical Fitness test

TA, I know the medical for the RDF is laughable as I know quite a lot of overweight unfit people passing it

Unsure as to the unfit bit (although there are a few like that at training anyway)
    but it was a bit oddly done (weight taken in shoes etc)

All the best Liam, took you long enough to get your medical.

Well, I could tell the Lads what it was like, what I learned ****e like that.

What you said seems kinda hostile....
    I was just saying it would be good fun and of course it would be a benefit to my unit because I would come out of it at least slightly better at things than I am now so on a tactical exercise I think I would be a benefit.

I am not doing it anyway and I probably wouldnt do it even if I wasnt in the RDF because I wouldnt want to wear that Uniform especially in NI.

I wasn't having a go at you. I just really dislike the idea of someone giving an oath (in this circumstance to the Queen and Great Britain) and then just leaving after you get your fill.

Jesus, I didnt actually think of the Oath...Thats that idea Scrapped.

Next one...US Army Rangers. (I wont mind that oath)

Sorry for thinking you were having a go. (The Internet doesnt express tone very well)

An oath means zero lads even the one here, listen to thunder, I have no alligance to any country if I have to take one, so be it but at the end of the day it means absolutely nothing if you want to solider...It is a formality simple as......

Meh, I'm taking my oath seriously, I've a lot of faults but I do my best to keep my word.

Then again,I'm still caught up in youthful enthusiasm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Thought I'd strayed into the Walter forum, then realised I hadn't :eek:

Whats that supposed to mean ? Walters are people who talk BS I dont see any here just people discussing a topic of interest.

An oath means zero lads even the one here, listen to thunder, I have no alligance to any country if I have to take one, so be it but at the end of the day it means absolutely nothing if you want to solider...It is a formality simple as......

I disagree. I may have watched too many movies but if I sign my name to something I'm going to stick with it. I intend on joining the British Army in a year or so (after college) and will take the oath seriously. Then again, honour and loyalty mean alot to me.....

My only loyality is to the guy beside me and obviously the unit, that queen and country stuff just does'nt wash neither did it when I was in the navy here but that is just my sixpence...

But it looks interesting as at the moment the single live leaves a gap to be filled ;)

Passed my rdf medical,
    and there doing another camp which Ill be around for,

but got a big british envelope of propaganda today,

and am still considering doing both camps,

so far I havent read anything that would stop me from being in both armys.

Passed my rdf medical,

You cannot serve in two armies at the same time :mad:

Speak to your RDF training NCO before you attempt to enlist in the TA or vice versa

Nothing ive signed and nothing ive read backs that up,

but I stand to be corrected,

Passed my rdf medical,

You cannot be in both at the same time, if you attempt that it is called serving a foriegn power whilst in another army which is taken very seriously by either army.

Technically it is treason or similar although that might be a strong term..

Also I see your in galway and your nearest TA centre is in Enniskillen, thats a long way to go each week and also do you have an NI address as you cannot enlist with a southern Irish one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

DFR R7
    Paragraph 7

Persons Ineligible for Enlistment.

7. The following persons shall be ineligible for enlistment in the Reserve Defence Force for service in the Enlisted Personnel (Army Reserve) or the Enlisted Personnel (Naval Service
    Reserve):-

(i) a person belonging to the military, naval, air or police services
    country or state or belonging to the reserve of such services;

http://www.rdfra.ie/regulations/r5.shtml

You dont need a southern address and I plan on going and doing the shamrock challenge thing and the rdf camp,
    and will stick wiht one after that,

I dont see either side bringing it up or looking to check,

but we'll see,

and with regards to travelling they cover expenses for certain things,
    and if there as good as it looks it will be worth it,

probably wont make the weekly parades...

Well if you are caught you will be in a world of sh1t. and The TA will probably do a Background check for Ireland and See that you are in The RDF.

You dont need a southern address and I plan on going and doing the shamrock challenge thing and the rdf camp,

but we'll see,

1. You cannot join the TA without being a UK resident and with a UK address your talking crap clear and simple, I have the documentation and also you can confirm this with BA Army regulations, you need a UK or NI address so your a confirmed WRONG

2. The Security clearance is done via the department of Foriegn affairs, The Security and Intelligence section of the Gardai and Finally through your local Garda station, you WILL BE FOUND TO BE IN THE RDF and you can be charged and discharged immediately.

3. You cannot just turn up and do a camp with the TA, the process for enlistment takes several months and you also have to pass a potential recruits course

It is clear and simple hear that you are both immature and stupid to think about doing the above but the fact is that you cannot and will be found out and then made ineligable for service in both for Lying.

Use your brain and done one or the other.

but we'll see,

Also if you do not do drill nights you are not eligable for any camps or bountys think again !!

You have been and it seems you are still determined to get yourself in a world of hurt.

I am a serving member of the RDF and I shall be alerting the relevant military authorities to your posts :mad:

You have been and it seems you are still determined to get yourself in a world of hurt.

I am a serving member of the RDF and I shall be alerting the relevant military authorities to your posts :mad:

Why not leave the man hang himself?? Can't believe he cannot see how blatantly wrong he is :eek:

Because it's my duty to stop muppetry such as this :mad:

Fair point