Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie 2008 Heads Up Competition - Sign up here

• 29-04-2008 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭

Okay so I said I'd run this for this year (must be mad), and I've lifted most of EL Stuntmans post from last year.

The tournament works as follows:

1. The game is poker (duh) - any variant that the two players in each match can agree between themselves. Presumably NLHE will be the variant of choice but you can go ahead and play Southern Cross with wild 2s, 3s, 4s and 5s for all I care.
    You can play at any online site (or live) for any stakes (play money if you like) that are mutually acceptable.
    Please note that this tournament is primarily for fun and bragging rights and should be entered into in that spirit.

2. Each match is best of three. This should hopefully reduce the luck factor and ensure that the best player wins.

3. It is up 100% up to the two players in each match to arrange and complete their match before the deadline for each round to complete.
    If one player in the pairing cannot play before the deadline (and the other player has made reasonable efforts to contact him/her and arrange the match), then he/she forfeits.
    Plead all hardship cases (holidays/imprisonment etc) to the tournament organisers.

4. Matches can be played live or online. Again, it's at the discretion of the two players in each match. Hopefully, last year's format of live semis and finals in a casino will be repeated.

5. This year a $10 nominal fee will be charged for entry. From this I'll arrange a trophy and some prize money for the winner. This is to ensure people at least make an effort to fulfill fixtures

6. The $10 can be paid via transfers on Pokerstars or GJP to myself. Please dont ship yet.

7. It's an FA Cup style draw. Each round must be completed by a certain date. Once that date is reached, the full list of winners will be drawn again to determine the next round of matches etc and so forth....
    If we do not get a suitable number of contestants, then a preliminary round will be required to get us down to an appropriate number (like 128 or 64 or whatever).

8. Tournament organiser's rulings are final and irrevocable
    There will be a prize befitting the enormity of the competition, however the true prize will surely be being able to brag of your achievement for one whole calendar year.

The Interested ones

1. KevIRL
    2. HoLLLLLaments
    3. Killme00
    4. coillcam
    5. El Stuntman
    6. Mr Plough
    7. YULETIRED
    8. BigCityBanker
    9. chdpoker
    10. BetdaqPokerMgr
    11. Roundtower2
    12. ArmaniJeanss
    13. Luckylucky
    14. ionapaul
    15. Hyzepher
    16. Delanec8
    17. Mr E
    18. Juan Pablo
    19. WH BONNEY
    20. pierce hard
    21. BarrierReef
    22. bombjack2
    23. [nick]
    24. Ste05
    25. EARMUFFS
    26. FedFrank2
    27. phantom_lord
    28. RichieLawlor
    29. gigetheman
    30. Slash/ED
    31. a-k-47
    32. Lao Lao
    33. RasTa
    34. Nagran
    35. Mellor
    36. Tony_Montana
    37. aidankk
    38. jprender
    39. The Al Lad
    40. Murderer
    41. bohsman
    42. davidgti
    43. max_power
    44. mocata
    45. opr
    46. bops
    47. The Istanbul
    48. Rattled77
    49. Flushdraw
    50. Glowingmind
    51. Gillcarr1972
    52. LauraLashes
    53. colquhom
    54. ridonkulous
    55. strewelpeter
    56. White Knight
    57. Macspower
    58. ElectraBlue
    59. Hoki
    60. Taxipete29
    61. Requiemforadream
    62. Mr Minraise
    63. RedJoker
    64. THEIRISHMOB
    65. Get In There
    66. The Tourist
    67. gkenny
    68. Chucky the tree
    69. BIG-SLICK-POKER
    70. KashMachine
    71. HiCloy
    72. sickpuppy
    73. AKQJ10
    74. Hectorjelly
    75. cardshark202
    76. mickste
    77. Daithio
    78. cooker3
    79. Spiritus
    80. DubTony
    81. BobSloane
    82. WhalloranIRL
    83. DeadParrot
    84. BlueMonke
    85. Guinnessman
    86. spectre
    87. digiman
    88. Imposter
    89. smurph
    90. Culchie
    91. POKERKING
    92. kellogs
    93. The_Chopper
    94. jackyback
    95. reilly110
    96. spoofingjam
    97. twasantis
    98. HighFinance
    99. Jools Poker
    100. Butternutz
    101. kebabfest
    102. pocketdooz
    103. Scouser in Dub
    104. Pabloh
    105. rag2gar
    106. pppspecia
    107. allinstevie
    108. DeVore
    109. dougee19
    110. Iago
    111. TommyGunne
    112. 30Something
    113. Ageilpops
    114. Trippie
    115. mickc
    116. Shuffles
    117. derealbadger
    118. fixer
    119. eagle eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

Ill play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

In

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

When's the deadline for the first match to be completed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭coillcam

I'd like to register too please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

fo shizzle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Im in and so are my advisers and backers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

inski

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭BetdaqPokerMgr

In

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Anseo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

RedJoker wrote: »
    When's the deadline for the first match to be completed?

Well I imagine its going to take approx 2 weeks to get this up and running, and then I'll allow a 3-4 week window for round one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

In.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

In like flint, as one of my mates' always says (think he's combining flynn with clint there!)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

In

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

In

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Juan Pablo ---> in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

Yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭pierce hard

in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭BarrierReef

In

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 bombjack2

In

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Il be gone to america june 9th for summer im assuming this rules me out??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

in

When you're no longer able to edit your OP, just make a post about who is to be added and one of us mods will put them in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭EARMUFFS

As long as i ain't drawn against HalfBaked I'm in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭FedFrank2

in please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

inski

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

im in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Sounds like a plan...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

ill have go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

tipp86 wrote: »
    Il be gone to america june 9th for summer im assuming this rules me out??

Its up to you, you can play games online, so a bit of organisation and you should be grand, it'll be more difficult than for people based in Ireland, but doable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

count me in please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

In and would like to play a players choice best of three if allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Nagran

I'm interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

KevIRL wrote: »
    Its up to you, you can play games online, so a bit of organisation and you should be grand, it'll be more difficult than for people based in Ireland, but doable
    I tried this last year and it was too awkward to meet up, so I gave Ollie (i think) a walk in round 3,
    technically I never lost, so with my undefeated record, im inski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Tony_Montana

in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

in:D, and whenever i lose , the winner should back himself as i have lost to then eventual overall winner each time ive played this....:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

I am in too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

Im In-ski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭davidgti

in:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power