Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats your favourite nightclub in dublin and why?

• 27-04-2008 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭

mine is good old coppers. hate tramco and tripod with a passion.. used to love xx1.. i guess i always have good nights in coppers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

foxylaydee wrote: »
    mine is good old coppers. hate tramco and tripod with a passion.. used to love xx1.. i guess i always have good nights in coppers!

:rolleyes: dear me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Lord help this lady:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭just pete

:d :d :d

This will be good !

Why do you like coppers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭foxylaydee

aw come on people! None of you said what your favourite nightclub is, am I to assume that you don't socialize? Its either that or your D4 heads that dont mix with country folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭junglecliff

tripod --- sound system..!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 vaughny

coppers haha i was there last night for the 1st time cant really remember much just some druken dancing-was out celebrating united's win!!:)

has to be Tripod for me because its probably the biggest club in dublin great sound system and the back-room is cool aswell if a want to chill out for a bit and have a chat:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

tripod or the hub or wax for good music.

coppers for being totally bolloxed,scoring slappers and waking up not able to remember most of the night in a random bed and spending the day after on the couch puking.

depends what mood im in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

tripod --- sound system..!!

I dunno. Ive been in there twice since it re opened, thought the volume was rubbish, way too low. The old redbox was the business.

Lay off her lads. At least she conceded Tramco is awful :) Worst club Ive ever been in, they played he theme tune from Skippy the Bush Kangaroo at one point! IIRC its the only club I ever left before closing.
    Its either that or your D4 heads that dont mix with country folk.

Or people who dont consider Cotton Eye Joe the highlight of dance music history. The only good thing about Coppers is

a- Plays Put em Under Pressure whether there is or isnt a match on :P

b- eh.....thats it....

Id love to hit the likes of The Vaults, Wax, anywhere playing proper dance, but getting people to go with is the problem. Any time my mates hit town they want to go to cabbage attractions like Boomerangs, Barcode, Redz, 21s etc etc, dives the ****ing lot of them (well, 21s isnt too bad, good for pulling and the chart dance is generally decent). Zanzibar is about the only good place I can occasionally drag people, plays some nice electro house and a pitcher of Fosters was a tenner last time. Coppers is ony good if you have been drinking and watching gah/soccer and are feeling a bit patriotic.

And thats when they do hit town, most people out here hit Heaven down the road 90% of the time (not that its a bad club, in fact it is probably the best mainstream place in Dublin, but I just cant seem to drag anyone to decent town spots, so cant go really :( )

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Can't really say I have a favourite. I'm not mad on Tripod, its ok. Sound systems (FunktionOne) is supposedly best in the country, any time I've been there is has never impressed me (but they have not had it particularily loud). It was better in the RedBox Days. Dam that thing would rearrange your insides.

Spirit used to be good back when it first opened. Went downhill fast.
    POD was great back in the day too, Crawdaddy is cool enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭emmie-lou

It has to be The Vaults for me i just love that place, i havent had a bad night there yet....i dont really like many places in town most of them are full of muppets :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

Have to say Tripod for me too. Best atmosphere out of the dance clubs. Not really into Coppers too be honest, think its a bit of a dump, but each to their own I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

emmie-lou wrote: »
    It has to be The Vaults for me i just love that place, i havent had a bad night there yet....i dont really like many places in town most of them are full of muppets :D

Take your drug fuelled spectacles off ya love will ya?

Its a pisshole, smell of sewer outta the jacks, full of scobies, bouncers are pricks, soundsystem in parts is questionable, I djed there bout 4 times in the last 2 yrs and I hated it, I love playin most places aswell.....

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

have to agree with the comments bout the old redbox.the sound in there was unbelievable.you'd feel the rumble in your chest and vibrations through the floor.lived for the student nights there when i started college.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Good old Redbox... Remember Student nights with cheap drinks, and saturday nights with queues all the way round to the odeon... They never should have changed it.

aw come on people! None of you said what your favourite nightclub is, am I to assume that you don't socialize? Its either that or your D4 heads that dont mix with country folk.

I can assure you love im far from being a "D4 head" this is a dance music forum and clubs like "slapper face jacks" do not come into the equasion, these type of places attract a certain crowd in coppers case garda, nurses or culchies, and play a certain type of music most notably cheesy pop music or 70's/80's pop music therefore you cannot expect people on here to take this type of thing seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

The old redbox soundsystem was savage, its savage at the moment if theres a band playing, unfortunately they dont crank it up for djs!!!!

Sides DC was the best club this country has ever seen, id say the Ormond Multi Media Centre would come 2nd for me.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Weird Scientist

When i used to go out a few years ago it was to tripod etc cause that was where everybody went. After it got done up I really realised I didnt like the place and was looking for something more. Sounds silly I know but I like intimate places where you really experience the night with the dj. That and a cool smoking section is ideal and preferable another bar or room with more stuff going on (i like to wander).
    MCGruders on Thomas Street has hosted some of the best night/days I'ver ever been to and that is why we've started putting our nights on up there.
    In the upstairs room you not only have the dance floor with a new sound system they've just bought but a whole side section with old school couches and another small room that can be used sometimes.
    There is an old off license room that sometimes has a pa set up in it and the downstairs bar is oldschool and normally has another set of decks in it.
    The beer garden is without doubt the best in Dublin with couches and heaters and a newly installed shed type thing with beer taps and music too.

It aint the prettiest of places but your left alone and the management are what every clubber wants, runners or whatever, its not a beauty comp and its not an issue.

I run nights there now because of this and you might think I'm being biased but anybody thats been there will tell you its an experience and 99 times out of a 100, a great one.

CJ BOLLAND tonight with a Xpress records showcase in the main bar!!! WRECK IT!!

check out our may line up
    New.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭emmie-lou

Fieldog wrote: »

Its a pisshole, smell of sewer outta the jacks, full of scobies, bouncers are pricks, soundsystem in parts is questionable, I djed there bout 4 times in the last 2 yrs and I hated it, I love playin most places aswell.....

its called an opinion love calm down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭steo123

best clubs in dublin were the temple and fireworks....

there is nowhere decent to go out now in dublin....im ashamed to say

england,spain,greece,cyprus,the states is much better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

jonny68 wrote: »
    Sides DC was the best club this country has ever seen, id say the Ormond Multi Media Centre would come 2nd for me.:)

Deffo johnny, olympic, ormond, deffo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

steo123 wrote: »

there is nowhere decent to go out now in dublin....im ashamed to say

england,spain,greece,cyprus,the states is much better

Deffo not mate,

olympic ballroom, ormond multi media centre, sides, temple of sound, ufo, mansion house, asylum, grouchos,

they were all the best clubs in town mate,

never see the likes again.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

I actually know the DJ at coppers, he uses the same shiny thing as me. Unfortunately he is out sick at the moment with a bad back! It's interesting to hear your views on the place. I have never been there, but have heard a lot about it being the local kennel club! I must try and get down there one night when he is back playing and see whether I agree!

I probaly will, have been to a fair few places like it. In fact I used to go to a club called King Of Clubs back in the UK. We all called it the kennel club! But in fact it was pretty cool as you had 3 floors. ground floor was chart n cheese, upstairs was 60's/70's retro, and then the top floor was a hard house/dance/techno floor. It also had pool tables and one was shaped like a 50p piece! (heptagon 7 sides) Really tricky playing when you've had a few scoops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

my fav is redbox.. simply because they cater for the type of music im into most.. but my all time fav was the system..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 VOG

DJ_Spider wrote: »
    I actually know the DJ at coppers, he uses the same shiny thing as me. Unfortunately he is out sick at the moment with a bad back! It's interesting to hear your views on the place. I have never been there, but have heard a lot about it being the local kennel club! I must try and get down there one night when he is back playing and see whether I agree!

Hi Spider thanks for the link to this thread was just reading there.

I Dj every Saturday night in Coppers and every odd Friday.

Love it or hate it Coppers does what it says on the tin, you know what kind of people are gonna be there and you what type of music will be played.

Wheater you like it or not it certainly does what it does very well, hence being the busiest club in the country. Most other venues would kill for the numbers that come into coppers.

I personally think it is run very well.

Not sure who the other dj is and his comments about the sound in coppers but there has been a number of upgrades to the sound system over the past 2 years so he might not have been there when the new gear went in. The sound system is top notch at the moment and the DJ box has been revamped.

If your after dance music coppers is not really the place for you but as I said it does what it does really well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭hubiedubie

I'd have to say Temple of Sound, followed closely by Grouchos. Does anybody remember the Runner Bean? Or the Underground? Both quite short lived but legendary in their time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 DangerousDerek

I'm off to Ibiza in a couple of weeks. Never been but it seems to me there is a gap in the market for a club in Dublin that can replicate the clubs out there. I'm looking to set up a new venue that will purely cater for all the people out there who want decent music in a great venue and nothing more. If you think there is a demand for it let me know.

I think theres always a gap in the market for a good club night, but it all depends on what sort of crowd show up for it. I've said before that I think Tripod is the best club in Dublin, because the crowd who go create a good atmosphere. There is never a sniff of trouble when I have been there. Compare that with places like Popcorn, where the place is full of dirtbags and there always seems to be trouble.

I know exactly what you mean. Why is it that the dance scene in Dublin attracts such scumbags? Overseas it's just people who are there just for the music (apart from the poseurs in muscle tops). If only we could have a club that could keep the tossers out and only let those in who are there for the music. My suggestion is to set up a mailing list for those who are genuine. There is enough people on this board alone to make it a success.

It's a tough one alright, because if you went to a lot of trouble to set something up, it would only take one sham to tell another sham, then you have every skanger in Dublin showing up to your gig. When they are at the door, more often than not bouncers will let them in coz they dont want it kicking off.

That can be got around by having a mailing list of people who you know are there purely to dance and have fun. And having good security working the venue. I'm suggesting a guest list of clubbers who have done more than rocked up to the venue on the night. If a scumbag shows up and he's not known he doesn't get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

The Tripod, cause I never have a decent night's clubbing anywhere else in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭derra

steo123 wrote: »
    Luke G wrote: »
    Deffo not mate,

olympic ballroom, ormond multi media centre, sides, temple of sound, ufo, mansion house, asylum, grouchos,

they were all the best clubs in town mate,

never see the likes again.....

Temple Theatre was a great spot Luke , some great nights in there and in The Crypt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 michelle_25

ive been reading all ur posts and still very confused, i have been searching on internet for past 2 hrs looking for the best clubs in dublin as i am planing a trip their with my friends for new yr, i am from london.
    i am looking for a bar/club with people in their mid 20's as i am 25, i like a mixture of music like Rnb, garage, cheesy music wat ever really as long as i can dance to it and a good fun atmosphere, does n e 1 have any ideas?
    from ur posts tripod seems the most popular is that the case or not?
    appreciate it if n e 1 can help me :)

Tripod is the best club in Dublin (in my opinion) but it would be a dance music venue. If you like house music, definitely hit Tripod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 michelle_25

thanx for ur responce G child, i guess i will take ur word 4 it so tripod it is.im definately hitting mcgruders for one of my nights, but cant decide between wax and vaults for my final night wat would u choose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Well obviously even though never been to any of them(curse you god:(),I reckon Asylum,Sides D.C,Grouchos,Ormond,Olympic and Mansion house are the best clubs Dublin had and will never be same buzz like them again:(

Not to sound too much a grinch,but going out nowadays is unbelievably sh*t,the money just for taxi's,entrance fees and gargle is unreal,not to mention getting into place,having deal with pigeon english big square jawed polish lumps or some arroagnt bouncers,plus there absolutely no atmosphere in any mainstream clubs nowadays,Boomerangs,Coppers,21s,Reds etc etc,these are hell for me,

The only time I bother going out for mad one,is to the oldskool raves,or dance themed nights,usually in Radio City in Isaac Butts Hotel(the modern day asylum for us nippers:D),and have had many good boogie in Legal Eagle,Belvedere,and all other places like that,that look bit bogey but are real down to earth and great atmosphere,all but the tunes,

When I would rarely go out just on a normal night,Id go Trivia on Westmoreland Street,nice relaxed vibe,good buzz,very little hassle getting in,great uplifting 90s tunes(Gala-Free from desire,Dreamer,etc etc).appraochable nice looking moths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 zeyad

Hi guys,

I've been in Dublin for a year now studying (RCSI!) and i'm loving it! Although I agree, we do need an increase in the amount of clubs that play proper electronic music. I've been to the usuals.. 21, Q-bar, Coppers, Barcode, Lillies Bordello, Tripod (which i agree is the best), The Academy (formerly spirit i think?) and Club-M.. can anyone PLEASE recommend some clubs that play good electronic music? The clubs I went to all year were fine for a good night out with the lads going on the pull.. but i'm really needing a proper rave-like atmosphere.. help?

Its weird that Dublin doesn't really have a big rave scene.. since I've met a hell lot of irish people in european raves etc.. just assumed there'd be a big demand for it. On a different note, me and my housemate have just started DJ-ing (taking our passion for music to a different level you could say!) so you'll hopefully be seeing us around!!

FINALLY.. and i know its been a long post, but i'd love to get in touch with DJs in Dublin just for a chat about the scene in dublin and just have some casual music-chat!

Thanks for reading!

Z

Hi Michelle_25, check your PM for my opinion on the clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

, bouncers are pricks,

everywhere,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Cray92

Well my opinion would be that clubbin in Dublin is not what it used to be,but there was golden era from 91 to 96 when you had a choice of some very special clubs with great atmospheres.Sides from 91 to 93 with liam dollard,billy scurry every week was magic.Then if you were up for a wild one head down the now legendary Asylum DC,were you just could lose the plot and nobody batted an eyelid.When the Asylum closed,the ormond and temple of sound were the best places to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Oshare Bones

Anywhere arveene plays ^_^ ahh that would have to be andrews lane...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭drunkdaz

VOG wrote: »
    Hi Spider thanks for the link to this thread was just reading there.

I Dj every Saturday night in Coppers and every odd Friday.

Love it or hate it Coppers does what it says on the tin, you know what kind of people are gonna be there and you what type of music will be played.

Wheater you like it or not it certainly does what it does very well, hence being the busiest club in the country. Most other venues would kill for the numbers that come into coppers.

I personally think it is run very well.

Not sure who the other dj is and his comments about the sound in coppers but there has been a number of upgrades to the sound system over the past 2 years so he might not have been there when the new gear went in. The sound system is top notch at the moment and the DJ box has been revamped.

If your after dance music coppers is not really the place for you but as I said it does what it does really well

Sorry mate I really have to disagree with you here. I end up in Coppers quite a bit. It wouldn't be my choice, but my mates go, its open late, bouncers are fine, and as you say it does exactly what it says on the tin. Music not my scene at all but I wouldn't hold that against it.

However, the sound system is abysmal. It sounds like someone threw a couple of Bush Hifi speakers round the place. The amps must be constantly clipping given the distortion, and theres no depth to the bass. As you say the place is generally rammed, so what I find disgracefull is the seemingly total unwillingness to reinvest in the place. And I'm not just refering to the sound system, the decor, facilities etc are also neglected. The management just seem to be happy to continue to cream money, and have been doing so for years.

You might think I'm been harsh but you did come here praising it, where as I always walk away thinking its a shame; that it could, and should, be so much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

hard to believe theres so little for people for whom chart music is the last thing they want to hear in niteclubs.........

looks like McGruders seems the best place on college nights for decent music, Wax is just a bit too small, and too full of drainpipes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

AKA just off Grafton St is a great spot for funky house music, and it's free in! Havent been there in a couple of months but everytime I've been there it was sweet.
    I remember fondly the Temple Of Sound back in the heady days of 1993. It was a ****hole, but they were the days when I wasnt choosy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 mcerc

If you cant pull in coppers, you might as well pull your face off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Had a ****ing headwrecking experience playing there... I was on in the smallest room at the far side and the tunes from next door were louder than my monitor (singular):o
    Did a fair few trainwreck mixes that night!

Pretty cool venue though, had a good laugh hopping around in the main room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

Coppers is great if you like singing along to Livin' On A Prayer while some fat nurse is swinging out of you half-trolleyed.

If you like good music and attractive girls, go elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Vamoose Killers

What's The Underground like guys? Trying to decide whether to go there or go to NightFlight in the Button Factory.