Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life in the Garda College

• 23-04-2008 7:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Ive been accepted in to the gards :)

But, on my first day ive no idea what to expect!! What do i bring with me?? What happens on the first day/week?

Do parents generally go to leave the sons/daughters off??

Also, will we defintely be allowed home on the 1st weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

just bring some money for beer and chips... it's just like normal college (without drugs) ...... not sure mammy kissing you at the gate is a great idea...

don't worry you'll be fine if your not afraid of guards....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

search the garda recruitment thread lots of detail, i think and im not sure, but money and suit and parents go from what i hear, im sure theres more....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭srdb20

What are the PE sessions like in Training?

What do they comprise of?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

if / when im going I can assure you my parents wont be coming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 thebigshot

If I joined the garda, my parents would be kicking me out of the house, not dropping me off at the gate. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

srdb20 wrote: »
    What are the PE sessions like in Training?

What do they comprise of?

Cheers

Physical Education, Health & Safety Studies- Areas Covered

(a) Physical Conditioning (b) Garda Self Defence (c) First-aid (d) Manual Handling (e) Swimming/Life-saving (f) Drill (g) Individual and Team Sports (h) Team Coaching

as per Garda website but it's comprised as 4weeks swimming ; 4weeks martial arts ; 4weeks jogging and 4weeks first aid AFAIK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭hammy140

Parents can go, they get a quick speech and then some tea.dont do what i did and head up on my todd, i was the only parentless orphan there on the first day!

Also, you will be allowed home that first weekend, and that is where the banter with your mates starts down the pub "Sssh, he's a guard!" etc!

hammy140 wrote: »
    Parents can go, they get a quick speech and then some tea.dont do what i did and head up on my todd, i was the only parentless orphan there on the first day!

Also, you will be allowed home that first weekend, and that is where the banter with your mates starts down the pub "Sssh, he's a guard!" etc!
    why do you normally have to stay up for weekends?

I was told your home at weekends, I believe thats still what happens unless its changed recently.

srdb20 wrote: »
    I was told your home at weekends, I believe thats still what happens unless its changed recently.

thats what i assumed,thank god for that

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

thebigshot wrote: »
    If I joined the garda, my parents would be kicking me out of the house, not dropping me off at the gate. :D

We need people like you to make up the society we live in.

Without people like you the gards would have no work to do :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Celtic07

hammy140 wrote: »

yeah heard bringing family is the norm..very few go by themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Jay112

Bring your family if you want! i did like many of the others, they enjoyed looking around the college.
    Your alowed home the 1st weekend and every weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

But, on my first day ive no idea what to expect!! What do i bring with me?? What happens on the first day/week?
    Have you been quartered in the College itself or with a family nearby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Ali08

Whats the policy on people with families accommodation wise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Haz33

Ali08 wrote: »
    Whats the policy on people with families accommodation wise?

I was at open day recently and was told married with family can go down on monday morn ,home on wed back on thurs morn and home on fri. They also allow commuting everyday but only if you live nearby or in exceptional circumstances. For eveyone else its in by 11 sun night until hometime at 4 on fri.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Ali08

Cheers! :) Do you have to pay for the accom on campus? The Garda website doesnt give any info on any of this, when is the next open day?

Ali08 wrote: »
    Cheers! :) Do you have to pay for the accom on campus? The Garda website doesnt give any info on any of this, when is the next open day?

They only run about 2 open days a year so keep watching websit for info.
    When in first phase in templemore you get approx €200 per week plus €69 allowance. If your living on campus this allowance goes to the college for your keep, If you're living at home you will receive this allowance. If you semi commute the allowance goes to the college for your keep.

anyone know where to find any pics of the accomodation or is it not available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Accomodation is basic but good, you get a bed, desk, shelf, wardrobe and sink in each room, you don't have to pay for it and everybody lives in for the first 10 weeks. No photographs available.

After week 9/10 a large portion of the phase move out (usually classes 1 to 9) to families and houses around the town to allow space for phase 5's and the new junior phase 1's, there are some good houses and i have unfortunately heard some horror stories.

Food is okay, but get's a bit repetitive after a few weeks.

After 5pm, you have access to the gym, all sports facilities, coffee dock, not sure if the rec is open again (it was closed when i left) but if it's open they have some big TV's and pool tables so always a good laugh up there.

If you want to bring your mammies and daddies on day one then do, a lot of my phase didn't and i'm glad i didn't because it gave me a chance to get my bearings and not have someone to look after when i didn't even know what was going on myself.

Definately bring pen and paper first day.

we didn't buy sports kit until late week 2/early week 3, so there's no real rush with the €400 they say to bring.

Bring some money for going out, polly's and maher's are great for going out and murphy's is great for grub, also there's nino's ( best chipper ever )

There is a shop in the college which is cheaper for some things but more expensive for others.

Plenty of barbers in town so you'll be fine for a hair cut.

There's a cinema in Thurles, not great in fact it's not even good but it beats hanging around the college and it's cheap from what i remember.

I think that about covers the advice i can give for the first few weeks, just enjoy it, do a little bit of study and listen in class and you'll be fine. Oh and dress smartly on the first day, guys usually wear a suit, which you'll have to get used to......we didn't get uniforms for 4 or 5 weeks, and i think the current phase 1's had to wait 6 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭super_shellers

Do people bring their boyfriends/girlfriends with them as well as their parents on their first day or is it families only kinda thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

During the open day, the guide told us that they assign you your seat in the lecture halls. I remember someone telling me that this is based on how well you did on your tests during the recruitment process, i.e. better you did, closer to the fron you sit. Is that true? And if it is, does it chenge according to your grades during the training itself?

how many people are in each class?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Chris007

What are the subjects you cover in the classes??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Chris007 wrote: »

Between others:

How to fight a writers cramp
    Getting shot - not as bad as it sounds.
    How to look good in the uniform
    Hippies - how not to leave baton marks on them and why
    Legal Studies

More you will find here:

http://www.garda.ie/col/student.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 hjs007

you will get a list of what to bring with you it common sense really ! dont forget your suit you will need it for the first few weeks. the first week wil be piss easy gettin stupid talks and gettin settled in. most of the firsr=t few weeks is spent in the pub and you get to go home every weekend

Chris007 wrote: »

You need to know this part for your interview, it shows that you have prepared and studied for it!!!

Just a heads up man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

hjs007 wrote: »
    you will get a list of what to bring with you it common sense really ! dont forget your suit you will need it for the first few weeks. the first week wil be piss easy gettin stupid talks and gettin settled in. most of the firsr=t few weeks is spent in the pub and you get to go home every weekend
    Great attitude...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 hjs007

well in fairness more then the first week is spent in the pub its the whole time bar the night before an exam to do some crash course study !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭childoforpheus

ojewriej wrote: »
    During the open day, the guide told us that they assign you your seat in the lecture halls. I remember someone telling me that this is based on how well you did on your tests during the recruitment process, i.e. better you did, closer to the fron you sit. Is that true? And if it is, does it chenge according to your grades during the training itself?

You are assigned a seat, but it has nothing to do with how well you did during the recruitment.
    Celtic07 wrote: »
    how many people are in each class?

Depends on the intake but it's normally between 20 and 25.

You are assigned a seat, but it has nothing to do with how well you did during the recruitment.

Depends on the intake but it's normally between 20 and 25.
    if there is an intake of say 250, do you just meet the guys in your class or do you get to mix with other classes or how does that work?

shakin wrote: »
    if there is an intake of say 250, do you just meet the guys in your class or do you get to mix with other classes or how does that work?

It's just like college in that in the big lecture halls you are all in there together, but seated with your class but then for the smaller classroom exercises it's just the 20 or so people in your group ... a bit like lectures and tutorials

kerry4sam wrote: »
    It's just like college in that in the big lecture halls you are all in there together, but seated with your class but then for the smaller classroom exercises it's just the 20 or so people in your group

ah i get ya now, also, seeing as there is around 1000 trainees, pollys must be wedged???:D

wedged i bet but doubt anyone would be complaining :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

just bring some money for beer and chips... it's just like normal college (without drugs)

LOL

brayblue24 wrote: »
    LOL

Are yez all sworn to secrecy down there or what? This thread has died!
    Share the info lads don't be tight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Haz33 wrote: »

TBH nothing to share. What he says is true. It was just how he put it..it is like a normal college - without drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

is there continuous assessments or are exams just at the end of each phase? Also about the living conditions, maybe a silly question but is there wifi access or are you even allowed to bring your laptop?

AntiRip wrote: »
    is there continuous assessments or are exams just at the end of each phase? Also about the living conditions, maybe a silly question but is there wifi access or are you even allowed to bring your laptop?

exams at the end of phases afaik. im sure everyone is continually assessed.no wifi

AntiRip wrote: »

first main exams are week ten..then week 18 after that. getting measured for uniform next week happy days

Haz33 wrote: »

yeah you are sworn to secrecy alrite.:)..any questions sure let me know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

yeah you are sworn to secrecy alrite.:)..any questions sure let me know

Just wondering how are people disciplined for (minor) rule breaking?

depends on the situation..maybe diary entries. keep your head down and do what has to be done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

Everyone they catch :eek:

no not everyone. anyway dont want to go into it on a public site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

depends on the situation..maybe diary entries. keep your head down and do what has to be done
    Diary entries? What's that ?

random wrote: »
    Diary entries? What's that ?

you are given a black diary which you keep with you at all times ... for rule-breaking you get a diary entry ... your diary is assessed over a period of time and those with x number of marks/entries will be disciplined.

I met with one Stage1 guard who was caught coming back from Thurles late one evening and it was entered into his diary and he ended up having to repeat his first year...

Basicly keep your head down and not have yourself known while in Templemore College for the wrong reasons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭RichieM.08

I met with one Stage1 guard who was caught coming back from Thurles late one evening and it was entered into his diary and he ended up having to repeat his first year...

:eek::eek: Harsh!!

RichieM.08 wrote: »
    :eek::eek: Harsh!!

you can say that again .. the man was rightly cheesed off but in a sense it worked out well for him in that he took on a few extras in his repeat year that earned him some extra credits that went down well with the staff there ... always a silver lining :)

you are given a black diary which you keep with you at all times ... for rule-breaking you get a diary entry ... your diary is assessed over a period of time and those with x number of marks/entries will be disciplined.

Basicly keep your head down and not have yourself known while in Templemore College for the wrong reasons

Surely there was more in his black book?. Surely they dont make you repeat a year over one minor incident? Tell me it ain't so !:(