Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National League Final

• 23-04-2008 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

Does anybody know if this will be all ticket or will they be taking cash on the day ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

The Division 2 Final in Navan is cash at gates while the Division1 and 3 final in Parnell Park,Dublin is all-ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I think Dublin may lose with the suspensions.

Nah, were going to hammer them:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

If Pillar chooses a similar team that I proposed,we should win.We need extra options up front in the form of Tiernan Diamond and John O Brien.These players have never had a better platform to prove themselves on before the championship than this match.We had 4 options in midfield realistically and are now left with 2 in Ryan and Magee.

3 of those 6 forwards are experienced enough in Keaney,Jayo and Vaughan while defense is still solid enough although the quicker Griffin gets back the better.

As for Westmeath,we'll have to look out for Glennon and Flanagan will provide a stiff test for Ryan and Magee.We'll need to run at their defense and break through it with our midfield players plus all six forwards.Westmeath have conceded an average of 8 points per game and if Dublin utilise this tactic or get free kicks in the process,we should edge it.I'm pretty confident Dublin can contain Westmeaths attack.Westmeath were played out of position in Parnell in February and resorted to kicking daft wides.

I'm fairly confident we can do the business but this time around I'm not as sure.Westmeath are proving to be very dark horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Feck sake EUR 30! for the Kerry V Derry match. Fair enough it's 2 matchs but still. a bit pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Dapos wrote: »
    Feck sake EUR 30! for the Kerry V Derry match. Fair enough it's 2 matchs but still. a bit pricey.

Was thinking the same thing myself. May have to pull out my fake student card !!! Only a tenner for students !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

will1977 wrote: »
    Was thinking the same thing myself. May have to pull out my fake student card !!! Only a tenner for students !!!!!

Id say there will be alot of Wexford students going alright:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Most of the teams have been named for Sunday

Kerry (SF v Derry): D Murphy; P Reidy, M O Se, T O’Sullivan; T O Se, A O’Mahony, T Griffin; D O Se, S Scanlon; Declan O’Sullivan, D Walsh, E Brosnan; Darren O’Sullivan, K Donaghy, MF Russell

Derry (SF v Kerry): B Gillis; K McGuckin, K McCloy, F McEldowney; L Hinphey, G O’Kane, M McIver; F Doherty, J Diver; M Lynch, B McGoldrick, E Muldoon; C Gilligan, P Bradley, E Bradley

Westmeath (SF v Dublin): G Connaughton; F Boyle, K Gavin, J Keane; M Ennis, D Heavin, D Healy; M Flanagan, D O’Donoghue; F Wilson, J Smyth, D Harte; A Mangan, D Glennon, D Bannon

Dublin (SF v Westmeath): S Cluxton; D Henry, B Cahill, P Casey; C Moran, B Cullen, G Brennan; D Magee, SRyan; B McManamon, M Vaughan, K Bonner; J Sherlock, C Keaney, J O’Brien

Wexford (SF v Fermanagh): A Masterson; C Morris (C), P Wallace, B Malone; A Morrissey, D Murphy, N Murphy; B Doyle, E Bradley; S Roche, R Barry, A Flynn; C Lyng, PJ Banville, M Forde.

Fermanagh (SF v Wexford): F Murphy; P Sheery, H Brady, D O’Reilly; D Kelly, R McCluskey, T McElroy; M McGrath, S McDermott; R Keenan, J Sherry, C McElroy; J McGurn, L McBarron, E Maguire

Tipperary (SF v Offaly) - Paul Fitzgerald; Aidan Foley, Mark Peters, Ciaran McDonald; Paddy Codd, Robbie Costigan, Cian Maher; Kevin Mulryan, George Hannigan; Philip Austin, Niall Fitzgerald, Laurence Coskeran; Damian O’Brien, Seamus Grogan, Brian Coen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

not long to go now until Sunday ... what are peoples' predictions?

here is my tuppence worth...

Div1 Football Final - going to have to go with the Kingdom ...
    Div2 Football Final - even with suspensions, Dublin to win comfortably
    Div3 Football Final - Femanagh are a strong force in my opinion
    Div4 Football Final - Might have to edge with Offaly

anyone agree / disagree :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

kerry4sam wrote: »

Celtic to win 3-1 :)

D1 - Kerry also i think by 4 points. Derry look good but cant see them beating a strong Kerry starting 15.
    D2 - Dublin by 2 points but could go either way with players out.
    D3 - Tough one really, id say only a point or 2 either way. Just so all mine arent the same as yours Wex by a point :)
    D4 - Offaly by 3 points.

I guess I am going to go with

Div1 Football Final - Kerry in a tight game
    Div2 Football Final - Dublin to win just, both teams have key players missing
    Div3 Football Final - Wexford :D
    Div4 Football Final - Offaly

Division 1

Kerry to win more comfortably this time around.Derry are missing Conway while Kerry have Gooch,Declan Sullivan and Galvin back.The neutral ground will make it interesting but Kerry were there more recently.Kerry by 4 points.

Division 2

Good to see Pillar name a strong side and bring in Magee and O Brien as I wished.Interesting to see how Bonner will perform.Back line looks very solid although our forward line is weakened but is still a strong frontline.Westmeath are missing Dolan and Duffy and it will be an interesting battle between Flanagan and Ryan/Magee.Vaughan was responsible for Dublin beating Westmeath back in February while O Brien,McManamon were there for Dublins defeat of Westmeath in January.Dublin to win by 1 point.

Division 3

Which show will be on this Sunday...the Mattie Forde Show or the Tom Brewster Show?These teams are very even but Fermanagh have had the upper hand in past championship outing between the two.I think Wexford may be good for the win this time.Wexford by 2.

Division 4

Offaly and Tipperary play in PortLaoise which is practically home from home for Offaly.Tipp may fancy an upset but with McNamee,McManus and Kellaghan,Offaly are too experienced.A defeat to Tipperary would be a huge blemish for Pat Roe.Offaly by 3.

blackbelt wrote: »
    Division 1

Kerry to win more comfortably this time around.Derry are missing Conway while Kerry have Gooch,Declan Sullivan and Galvin back.The neutral ground will make it interesting but Kerry were there more recently.Kerry by 4 points.

Division 2

Good to see Pillar name a strong side and bring in Magee and O Brien as I wished.Interesting to see how Bonner will perform.Back line looks very solid although our forward line is weakened but is still a strong frontline.Westmeath are missing Dolan and Duffy and it will be an interesting battle between Flanagan and Ryan/Magee.Vaughan was responsible for Dublin beating Westmeath back in February while O Brien,McManamon were there for Dublins defeat of Westmeath in January.Dublin to win by 1 point.

Division 3

Which show will be on this Sunday...the Mattie Forde Show or the Tom Brewster Show?These teams are very even but Fermanagh have had the upper hand in past championship outing between the two.I think Wexford may be good for the win this time.Wexford by 2.

Division 4

Offaly and Tipperary play in PortLaoise which is practically home from home for Offaly.Tipp may fancy an upset but with McNamee,McManus and Kellaghan,Offaly are too experienced.A defeat to Tipperary would be a huge blemish for Pat Roe.Offaly by 3.

What do you think of the lack of Tiernan Diamond? He is a workhorse half-forward with excellent distribution qualities, I know you like him as a Vinnie's man. Personally I think he is a far better bet than Collie Moran in the half forwards and I'd like to see him come the championship.

Nalced_irl wrote: »
    ... D2 - Dublin by 2 points but could go either way with players out
    Div2 Football Final - Dublin to win just, both teams have key players missing
    Division 2 ... Dublin to win by 1 point.

1 down guys :eek:

RESULT Dublin 0-10 Westmeath 0-15

D3 - Tough one really, id say only a point or 2 either way. Just so all mine arent the same as yours Wex by a point :)
    Div3 Football Final - Wexford :D
    Division 3

:eek: Fermanagh 2-10 Wexford 0-16 ... 2 strikes from 2, what are the odds for that i wonder :rolleyes:

extra time to follow ...

:eek: Fermanagh 2-10 Wexford 0-16 ... 2 strikes from 2, what are the odds for that i wonder :rolleyes:

extra time to follow ...

Wexford win just like I predicted :D First senior football silverware in 15 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Good game Sat was it? :)

and todays?

after extra-time

Fermanagh 0-20 Wexford 3-15 ... 4point victory ... never saw that coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

Well Westmeath were 11/5 to beat Dublin and as no one predicted it here, which doesn't surprise me as we still have little or no respect despite being one of the more successful teams of the last years and if everyone stays fit our defence will give us a chance against anyone. I thought the treatment Glennon got in the second half was disgraceful, but delighted with the win.

patmac wrote: »
    Well Westmeath were 11/5 to beat Dublin and as no one predicted it here, which doesn't surprise me as we still have little or no respect despite being one of the more successful teams of the last years and if everyone stays fit our defence will give us a chance against anyone. I thought the treatment Glennon got in the second half was disgraceful, but delighted with the win.

yeah i should seen that result coming ... Westmeath really have come into their own in the last 2years especially ... seem to have a new found confidence and belief that is dangerous in any team

anyone fancy Derry's chances today then? before the starting whistle goes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Dunno bout derrys chances, that second kerry goal was one of the softest i have ever seen! Three derry players it passed before goin in!!

that goal was 3soft points for us for definite...only 2 in it at half-time...but Derry look wrecked going in :rolleyes:

D4 - Offaly by 3 points.
    Div4 Football Final - Offaly
    Division 4

Offaly 2-13 Tipperary 0-12 ... greater margin than predicted

patmac wrote: »

I did not predict it, however in the football championship pools thread I have them down to make the AI quarter finals. They are becoming a dangerous team without Dessie Dolan. With him they will be awesome.

what was that ... 1min 10sec for Derry to goal ... what a start to the second half :)

D1 - Kerry also i think by 4 points. Derry look good but cant see them beating a strong Kerry starting 15.
    Div1 Football Final - Kerry in a tight game
    Division 1

:eek: Full-time: Kerry 2-09 Derry 2-13 :eek: :mad: :eek: :eek: What in the name of all that is good about football just happened in the second half

but Derry look wrecked going in :rolleyes:

Not that wrecked by the result anyway (this is why i didnt comment on you sayin that at half time as i have seen them do this before)

There will be no livin with the lads up here after this weekend :o

Incidentally why was cooper sent off?

GAAman wrote: »
    two yellow cards ... the second for mouthing at the ref ... just little banter like :p

GAAman wrote: »
    Not that wrecked by the result anyway (this is why i didnt comment on you sayin that at half time as i have seen them do this before)

There will be no livin with the lads up here after this weekend :o

Derry certainly fought for every breaking-ball and at times managed to out-muscle us but i'm :eek: ... Derry just never took it for granted and fought hard for everything ... Their is no place for complacency in football and Kerry learned that the hard way today ...

Congrats to Derry ... best team won on the day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The best team did indeed win. It is good to see Kerry brought down to earth. Hopefully it won't be their last defeat of the year. Two in the Championship will do nicely.:)

I think there wasn't any real shocks over the weekend.All teams in the finals are good teams and matching them up after a long hard league campaign,anything could really happen.

On the Dublin-Westmeath game.I was confident that the starting 15 could squeek past Westmeath but it wasn't to be.They came out and played some good football and kept up and led Westmeath for the most part.Losing Jayo was too much and Dublin kinda gave up after a while.

In midfield,Darren Magee was playing fairly well but then disappeared.Flanagan had a great game for Westmeath.Dublins forwards looked dangerous in the first half and then collapsed in the second.Missing easy chances (Vaughan) and an open goal of all things.:o Defence was terrible and ball control was a big issue.David Henry never was and never will be a full back yet he was stuck there.Tiernan Diamond wasn't given enough time on the pitch.I thought he could contribute but when the forward line were struggling at that stage,he wasn't going to be given the support he'd need.

Most of that team yesterday were very inexperienced and in the case of some (Cosgrove :mad:) are washed up and should not be allowed anywhere near the intercounty team again.Cosgrove doesn't even cut the mustard at club level anymore even.I think Westmeath should be given credit for coming out of Division 2 when nobody really gave them a chance however yesterdays performance was not enough to suggest that Westmeath are shoe ins for Leinster.They beat a very depleted Dublin team that had their attention turned away from the game itself by the events from Parnell Park and the media frenzy.Diarmuid Connolly and Mossy Quinn would have torn that defense to shreds in my opinion and midfield would have been won had Fennell or Whelan been there but we are happy to be back in division 1 where we belong and congratulations to Westmeath.

Fermanagh and Wexford was a very exciting game.Fermanaghs inability to deal with Forde and Barry cost them and those three goals were taken nicely.If you saw the incident at the Terrace (it happened in front of me) you would have laughed your socks off.Forde was throwing a Fermanagh line-ball back into the crowd and appeared to have been hit from behind and then let out an exaggerated yelp.:D Wexford let Fermanagh back in and against a more clinical side,would have lost.

Derry v Kerry was a treat.It had a very hard act to follow but it lived up.Kerry were truly awful I thought.Some very soft defending made Kerry look better than they performed and Kerry only showed shades of All-Ireland Winning form.Derry outclassed Kerry in midfield in the second half and their back line really put Kerry's front line in its place,forcing some ridiculous attempts by Kerry.Cooper did nothing but get sent off and Muldoon and Bradley were class today.

Todays matches showed that the fitter and hungrier sides won it.Wexford being fitter and Derry being more hungry.I think Derry have to be seriously considered as the strong favourites for Ulster this year.

I think Derry have to be seriously considered as the strong favourites for Ulster this year.

Been saying this about two teams for the last two years, Derry and Monaghan (of course i wont say the first one aloud where i am situated most of the week ;) )

I think based on performances and opposition,Derry have to be considered hot favourites.They got blitzed and roasted by Kerry in the first 15 and won reasonably comfortably...4 points.

Monaghan are gone off the boil a bit and it is hard to see how they'll deal with a defense that contains McGuckin et al.Derry's midfield in Diver made mince-meat of the breaking balls today and thats where the difference will be if Monaghan have to face Derry.Monaghan do not have a great midfield and neither do Tyrone in reality although it improved big time as the league progressed.Derry beat Tyrone and Donegal comfortably and taught Kerry a lesson today.I've been thinking of Armagh as possible contenders but overall Derry should win Ulster after turning in a display like that today against a very experienced Kerry team.

I think based on performances and opposition,Derry have to be considered hot favourites.They got blitzed and roasted by Kerry in the first 15 and won reasonably comfortably...4 points.
    ... but overall Derry should win Ulster after turning in a display like that today against a very experienced Kerry team.

You say a "very experienced kerry team" but just look at our line-up
    Kerry (SF v Derry): D Murphy; P Reidy, M O Se, T O’Sullivan; T O Se, A O’Mahony, T Griffin; D O Se, S Scanlon; Declan O’Sullivan, D Walsh, E Brosnan; Darren O’Sullivan, K Donaghy, MF Russell

Their were a few inexperienced players starting and at least 1 (Maher) that came on as a substitute ... Declan O'Sullivan was taken off to make way for Gooch and he was outstanding last year and is just back from injury and lacking match practice as was/is Gooch ...

You can hype up the experience of Kerry to make the victory all the more impressive if you like but the Kerry players that played at any stage today were no-where near Championship Level, hence the Derry victory today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Disappointed over Kerry match. After the first 15 minutes or so i thought we would def win but once Derry started reducing the gap they started playing very well.

Suppose only positives is that Kerry got to play in final, good to get an extra game. Now on to the Championship!

Monaghan are gone off the boil a bit and it is hard to see how they'll deal with a defense that contains McGuckin et al.Derry's midfield in Diver made mince-meat of the breaking balls today and thats where the difference will be if Monaghan have to face Derry.Monaghan do not have a great midfield and neither do Tyrone in reality although it improved big time as the league progressed.Derry beat Tyrone and Donegal comfortably and taught Kerry a lesson today.I've been thinking of Armagh as possible contenders but overall Derry should win Ulster after turning in a display like that today against a very experienced Kerry team.

I think with monaghan they burned themselves out rather then anything else and i think the same will happen to derry in the big games this year. I do always be wary of using the league as a measuring guide as alot of teams use it to suss out younger players in the panel. I think although kerry had a good few "Names" out there today they didnt take it very seriously (coopers face as he was comin off is a perfect indicator how many players do be smilin and laughin when sent off?)

While i am not takin away from derry they did very well today i can see them swallowin their own hype and burning out like monaghan did last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Most of that team yesterday were very inexperienced and in the case of some (Cosgrove :mad:) are washed up and should not be allowed anywhere near the intercounty team again

Did you not describe this as a "strong team" the other day? I'd say ye were 4/5 c'ship starters down and Westmeath were 2/3 down, so neither team was full strength, not to mention couple of Westmeath lads carrying injuries.

I think Westmeath should be given credit for coming out of Division 2 when nobody really gave them a chance however yesterdays performance was not enough to suggest that Westmeath are shoe ins for Leinster.They beat a very depleted Dublin team that had their attention turned away from the game itself by the events from Parnell Park and the media frenzy.Diarmuid Connolly and Mossy Quinn would have torn that defense to shreds in my opinion and midfield would have been won had Fennell or Whelan been there but we are happy to be back in division 1 where we belong and congratulations to Westmeath.

I don't think anyone from Westmeath, or who knows anything about football in general would say Westhmeath were a "shoe in for Leinster" so not sure what you are talking about there. Dubs will still be strong favourites for this, particularly as you will have usual home advantage most/all games.

jackbhoy wrote: »
    Did you not describe this as a "strong team" the other day? I'd say ye were 4/5 c'ship starters down and Westmeath were 2/3 down, so neither team was full strength, not to mention couple of Westmeath lads carrying injuries.

I don't think anyone from Westmeath, or who knows anything about football in general would say Westhmeath were a "shoe in for Leinster" so not sure what you are talking about there. Dubs will still be strong favourites for this, particularly as you will have usual home advantage most/all games.

On paper I had confidence that that team could scrape a result as the players there ie Cullen,Cahill,Keaney,Vaughan and Shane Ryan are good players but lets call a spade a spade...that team was really thrown together,particulalry in the forward line and midfield.

Apart from 2-3 possible individual changes to that lineup,they were our only options.Missing 2 midfielders in Fennell and Whelan hurt us badly.Missing 4 regular players in the forward line ie Brogans,Mossy and Diarmuid and then Jayo getting injured...well there is 5 for you already.We were missing 7 of the established players and then another two plus Jayos injury so our casualty list went up to 10.Thats nearly a whole team.

As for the home advantage,are they moving all of Dublins Championship matches to Parnell Park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

As for the home advantage,are they moving all of Dublins Championship matches to Parnell Park?

Well not that I heard anyway but unless they move Croke Park you'll still have home advantage for all games, given that Croke Park is in Dublin and all. In fact many of the dubs summer supporters (not including you here btw) who will start popping up here in the coming months only know Croker as their home and have prob never even been to Parnell.

Whatever way you paint it there was 10/11 of your c'ship starting 15 out there yesterday and if I was a dub I'd be p!ssed off with many of their performances instead of making excuses for them. Westmeath were missing Dolan (our best and most influential player in my memory of watching them) for 60 mins who then came on carrying an injury, Glennon also got injured but was left on and Duffy and couple of others who would be in or around the first XV were out as well.

Anyway we'll agree to disagree on this, not gonna take the gloss of a great week for Westmeath, with the Hurlers and Footballers winning Div2 and most impressively Maryland winning in Celebrity Banisteoir :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Here are some pics from the Dublin v Westmeath game yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Archebald

wat a game !!!!im so glad that derry beat kerry,,,,,kerry really did let there lead slip,,but derry made a class comeback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

extra time to follow ...

Nice earner for there for me!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Derry's midfield in Diver made mince-meat of the breaking balls today and thats where the difference will be if Monaghan have to face Derry.Monaghan do not have a great midfield and neither do Tyrone in reality although it improved big time as the league progressed.Derry beat Tyrone and Donegal comfortably and taught Kerry a lesson today.I've been thinking of Armagh as possible contenders but overall Derry should win Ulster after turning in a display like that today against a very experienced Kerry team.

They'll have to come out of Ballybofey first :cool: Oh, the joys of Ulster football, seeing the favourites dumped!

I remember people telling Donegal fans to cop on last year, only the League and all! :confused:

I wouldn't take the League game seriously. Derry wanted the League this year, Donegal where happy with 8 points. Suit Donegal to have a low profile and be underdogs. That's usually when we produce the results.

The Derry midfield must be in the top 2/3 in the country at the minute though.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Nice earner for there for me!

Me to :D

Just watched the highlights online. I was a bit disappointed that the Sunday Sport panel chose to talk more about Fermanagh, than Wexford who went through the league unbeaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Me to :D

Just watched the highlights online. I was a bit disappointed that the Sunday Sport panel chose to talk more about Fermanagh, than Wexford who went through the league unbeaten.

yeah because the only player they know is mattie!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Seanies32 wrote: »
    They'll have to come out of Ballybofey first :cool: Oh, the joys of Ulster football, seeing the favourites dumped!

I remember people telling Donegal fans to cop on last year, only the League and all! :confused:

I wouldn't take the League game seriously. Derry wanted the League this year, Donegal where happy with 8 points. Suit Donegal to have a low profile and be underdogs. That's usually when we produce the results.

The Derry midfield must be in the top 2/3 in the country at the minute though.
    That's pretty much how I explained the situation to a colleague yesterday. ;)

Also well done to the GAA for not having the Division 3 trophy in Parnell Park on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

Also well done to the GAA for not having the Division 3 trophy in Parnell Park on Sunday

Congrats on the double Div 3 and O'Byrne Cup! I'd hold onto the O'Byrne Cup if I was ye because it will be hard to get the Div 3 cup of the Biffo's.

It is hilarious.I walked past Nicky Brennan in Parnell Park on Sunday and he didn't look too embarassed.He did say in an interview that after he arrived that he immediately noticed something was wrong but it wasn't so apparent when I saw him.:rolleyes: