Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is boards very cliquey?

• 21-04-2008 11:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭

I appreciate that I'm a relative newbie, and a Northern newbie at that, but my slightly paranoid mind thinks that a large amount of the threads that I've contributed to have died a death/ground to a halt once I posted.

I also felt a bit sniped at in one of the weekend staking threads. I immediately returned the stake (without acknowledgement).

Is it necessary to come down and buy pints/donk off chips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

at least youre not from cork imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

this line is very confusing - imo it's a fold

EDIT lol @ Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Fold without a read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

Grafter, I thought the same. I guess you just have to keep posting like any forum.

Northern means nothing, says the englishman. If you want to donk off chips, then come to Longford rubicon, bring lots of money and let me know when you are in. I'll play ya.

keep posting if you feel you have a valid opinion or something really bugs ya.

gl, welcome to boards.ie.

signed

newbie big_iain

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Grafter wrote: »
    I appreciate that I'm a relative newbie, and a Northern newbie at that, but my slightly paranoid mind thinks that a large amount of the threads that I've contributed to have died a death/ground to a halt once I posted.

I also felt a bit sniped at in one of the weekend staking threads. I immediately returned the stake (without acknowledgement).

Good and bad folks here. Just stick it out and you'll soon be ignoring the idiots with the best of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

RoundTower wrote: »
    at least youre not from cork imo

beware round tower u might end up square tower talking about us corkies like that :pac::pac::pac::pac::cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

This happens all the time, it takes a little time for people to see what sort of a poster a newcomer is. Once people get used to seeing you're not a tool, you'll find soon enough that you get accepted pretty quickly. Stick with it I'd suggest. Take it as a compliment if no-one is ripping your posts to shreds... IMO
    Staking is only a new occurance here, so I wouldn't take this to heart, we'll have to see how it pans out in the future, but up until now we've never really had staking threads, so people are probably just wary of a low post counter looking for free staking, but again I wouldn't worry about it.
    Certainly not necessary, but I found shipping some money to the mods always works well, feel free to ship some money my way, and I'll respond to every post you make for the next week... :D
    musician wrote: »
    Good and bad folks here. Just stick it out and you'll soon be ignoring the idiots with the best of us.
    Never a truer word spoken... :D

P.S. Welcome aboard. And RT is right, at least you're not from Cork... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

Ste05 wrote: »
    This happens all the time, it takes a little time for people to see what sort of a poster a newcomer is. Once people get used to seeing you're not a tool, you'll find soon enough that you get accepted pretty quickly. Stick with it I'd suggest. Take it as a compliment if no-one is ripping your posts to shreds... IMO

Staking is only a new occurance here, so I wouldn't take this to heart, we'll have to see how it pans out in the future, but up until now we've never really had staking threads, so people are probably just wary of a low post counter looking for free staking, but again I wouldn't worry about it.
    Certainly not necessary, but I found shipping some money to the mods always works well, feel free to ship some money my way, and I'll respond to every post you make for the next week... :D
    Never a truer word spoken... :D

P.S. Welcome aboard. And RT is right, at least you're not from Cork... ;)

ban for a week for slaging corkies :D

Hey Grafter,

Everyone is a noob at some stage.

Ste05 hit the staking thread issue on the head so I wouldn't worry about it. If it takes ya more than 100 posts to figure out whose opinion isn't worth sh*t (read:mine quite a lot of the time) then I'd be surprised. If this thread survives on the front page for a while and the right people chime in it could go epic.

Oh and if you ever post a HH and say got a "feeling" and called/folded etc, and you see a post by LuckyLloyd berating you immediately afterward going on about maths then PM me. I have proof he believes in playing poker through the force...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

No this forum isn't at all cliquey, isn't it obvious that the Dublin brigade are a warm and friendly bunch who make people from different parts of Ireland welcome. You'll find Roundtower in particular is a swell chap, always full of light hearted banter. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

The more cliquey the better imo.
    You cant have stupid n00bs coming in thinking they own the damn place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

luckylucky wrote: »
    No this forum isn't at all cliquey, isn't it obvious that the Dublin brigade are a warm and friendly bunch who make people from different parts of Ireland welcome. You'll find Roundtower in particular is a swell chap, always full of light hearted banter. :p

I get mixed up between Dublin and Cork. Which is the one with only 2 distinguishabble words per sentence? Last time I was there, one was feck and the other was feckin.

All I remember is getting drunk near Kinsale and waking up with a Shakin Stevens song in my head. Eventually realised it was the Speckled Door I was in, not the Green Door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Could be worse.

I had a bumpy start to posting in the poker forum due to two jokes that did not go down well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

a large amount of the threads that I've contributed to have died a death/ground to a halt once I posted.

generally happens to every tread ive ever contributed i wouldn't worry about it, i got banned after my first post

mdwexford wrote: »
    The more cliquey the better imo.
    You cant have stupid n00bs coming in thinking they own the damn place.

Are we talking Ireland or Poker here

ps Kidding. No Interest in politics as long as poker isn't taxed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

I also felt a bit sniped at in one of the weekend staking threads. I immediately returned the stake (without acknowledgment).

sniped at by me? Im just a bit skeptical of sending money to people who arent really known in the community. Its not anything on you but if someone with 50 posts final tables for like 5k and say 2.5k of that is mine and nobody knows who they are they could take all of the 5k. Alot of people wont do that but some would so if i ask something liked "does anyone know you?" or mention low post counts its not a personal attack its just sort of protecting my interests. Also im not in the boards clique either so its a big deal!!

edit: what do u mean you returned the stake without acknowledgment?

edit 2: looked tru that staking thread again and you said that you hadnt received the stake yet but you were regd for the tourny and would honour the stake if it arrived. you posted your bustout hand a little while later. did the stake not arrive in time? im not sure if you were playing on my stake or what. so you sent the stake back to my full tilt account?

edit3: basically were you playing on my stake? looks like you were from the bustout hand posted. if you were why did u sent the stake back?

edit4: chkd my ftp cashier and u did send the stake back. im confused

big_iain wrote: »
    Grafter, I thought the same. I guess you just have to keep posting like any forum.

Northern means nothing, says the englishman. If you want to donk off chips, then come to Longford rubicon, bring lots of money and let me know when you are in. I'll play ya.

keep posting if you feel you have a valid opinion or something really bugs ya.

gl, welcome to boards.ie.

signed

newbie big_iain

TY, but I'm a natural nit, so how much money I bring won't make me more welcome, unless the more astute regulars invest in extra refreshments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

As far as the staking goes I know Id prefer to be staking people who are posting regularly - particularly in the strat section as a) I know theyre working on their game b) theyre giving something to boards aswell as getting something out of it and c) yes its a bit easier to trust someone you see posting a lot.

sniped at by me? Im just a bit skeptical of sending money to people who arent really known in the community. Its not anything on you but if someone with 50 posts final tables for like 5k and say 2.5k of that is mine and nobody knows who they are they could take all of the 5k. Alot of people wont do that but some would so if i ask something liked "does anyone know you?" or mention low post counts its not a personal attack its just sort of protecting my interests. Also im not in the boards clique either so its a big deal!!

edit: what do u mean you returned the stake without acknowledgment?

Sorry! Looks like a total misunderstanding.

I genuinely appreciated the opportunity to be staked as I had never played with someone else's money at any level.

I do not need staking, but this wasn't the point. I wanted to see how it felt and whether it made any difference to my decision making.

For me, it did. I know I went out first level, but I hope we all agree that short term results are irrelevent. My decision was correct but I felt uncomfortable with the extra weight on my shoulders and nearly folded just so I wouldn't go out early.

I immediately returned the stake (to the best of my knowledge) to the nick that it appeared it had been sent from.

If it did not get through or I did it wrong, then I will happily match the staking that you generously made last time, for an equivalent tourney this weekend and will split any profits with you or with the charity of your choice.

Edit you uber edited while I typed. I 'm an oldie and I type slow.

Sorry! Looks like a total misunderstanding.

I genuinely appreciated the opportunity to be staked as I had never played with someone else's money at any level.

I do not need staking, but this wasn't the point. I wanted to see how it felt and whether it made any difference to my decision making.

For me, it did. I know I went out first level, but I hope we all agree that short term results are irrelevent. My decision was correct but I felt uncomfortable with the extra weight on my shoulders and nearly folded just so I wouldn't go out early.

I immediately returned the stake (to the best of my knowledge) to the nick that it appeared it had been sent from.

If it did not get through or I did it wrong, then I will happily match the staking that you generously made last time, for an equivalent tourney this weekend and will split any profits with you or with the charity of your choice.

Edit you uber edited while I typed. I 'm an oldie and I type slow.

but why did you sent the stake back? if your being staked and you bust out from the mtt you dont owe the staker the stake back. pm me your stars screename and ill send the money back. i didnt even notice you had sent it back till i checkd my cashier history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭KINGofHEARTS

Is boards cliquey ??? yes and no

The staking thing has to be understood due to your lack of posts, I find it very unusual the Holllllaments would stake so many people into a tourney in the first place, and fair play to him, a very nice gesture and trustworthy.

You can get good advice here sometimes, depends what your after, it seems to me though that if you post something that someone in particular doesn't agree with you will sometimes find yourself being slated from all angles by people who know sweet FA what they're talking about and maybe in need of a few friends,

The advice in general though is or seems solid enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

there are only 2 kinds of people on boards

1 the ones who bitch about there being a clique
    2 the ones who sit around smoking cigars and laughing at the members of group 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

rb_ie wrote: »
    Could be worse.

I had a bumpy start to posting in the poker forum due to two jokes that did not go down well.

two? I only remember the one that was the inspiration for my last sn. what was the other one?

The one about how to get rid of viruses/trojan horses from your computer easily...

but why did you sent the stake back? if your being staked and you bust out from the mtt you dont owe the staker the stake back. pm me your stars screename and ill send the money back. i didnt even notice you had sent it back till i checkd my cashier history.

My fault entirely.

I took your comment out of context, for which I apologise unreservedly.

Hard to believe we're arguing over $20 or whatever that we're both trying to give to the other, when I'm trying to bitch about the welcome here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

The one about how to get rid of viruses/trojan horses from your computer easily...

oh yeah. lol

My fault entirely.

I took your comment out of context, for which I apologise unreservedly.

Hard to believe we're arguing over $20 or whatever that we're both trying to give to the other, when I'm trying to bitch about the welcome here :)

nooooooo, if i staked you for the mtt then you dont send the stake back. you did send the stake back so now i owe you the money you sent back. its the law. i have no money on ftp and self excluded myself because i want to grind this week and not play horse and fck around in mtts so ill send on stars. srs

due to your lack of posts

Now the piss is being taken bigstyle.

Contrast and compare

nooooooo, if i staked you for the mtt then you dont send the stake back. you did send the stake back so now i owe you the money you sent back. its the law. i have no money on ftp and self excluded myself because i want to grind this week and not play horse and fck around in mtts so ill send on stars. srs

Cool! You owe me :)

If you make less than $10K this week you owe me 55%

If it's $10-20K, you owe me 50%

If it's $20K+ I'll let you away with 45%

Now the piss is being taken bigstyle.

Contrast and compare

You wanna compare to my post count ???

Did I post in the staking thread ???

I wouldn't expect to be staked by complete strangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

it seems to me though that if you post something that someone in particular doesn't agree with you will sometimes find yourself being slated from all angles by people who know sweet FA what they're talking about

You never get slated for no reason, usually it's something like

1. someone asks for advice on hand
    2. people give advice
    3. guy disagrees with advice, usually gives some illogical reasoning
    4. people explain why his reasoning is flawed
    5. hes like stfu I had a feeling and just ignores the advice he asked for
    6. people say lol and slate said person

Cool! You owe me :)

If you make less than $10K this week you owe me 55%

If it's $10-20K, you owe me 50%

If it's $20K+ I'll let you away with 45%

got sum1 else to send money on ftp to u so all sorted.

KingofHearts

Truly nothing personal, but you're making my point in a way that I didn't expect or wasn't looking for when I started the thread.

The best of Irish is in the banter and the slagging, not taking ourselves or each other too seriously. I'm well up for the craic. I can take as well as give.

There's sometimes a nastier edge on this board from what I've seen and this is a good example. Maybe it's because of poker's competitiveness

Sorry if I've offended one of your alter egos or your boyfriends. I guess it's one or the other.

got sum1 else to send money on ftp to u so all sorted.

TY Received

What's your favourite charity?

TY Received

What's your favourite charity?

rspca

rspca

Doubled (and 25% UK gift aid added)

(but we owe each other a drink :) )

kool

It's a trap

It's a trap

LOL You have the only so-called female sig :pac: in Irish history that has the fellas zipping up, crossing legs and putting both hands in the way and you think I'm trapping?

Buy your own beer :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

is boards very cliquey??

yes, a resounding yes, especially the poker forum, though some are worse.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

2 the ones who sit around smoking cigars and laughing at the members of group 1

QFT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Sirtoyou

I think the staking threads have been a resounding success and a lot of fun.They also seem to build a larger sense of community imo.As a corkonian I think it was the proudest day of my poker career to date to be staked by someone from the Pale:p.Thanks Lloyd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Yup. Cliquey alright. Although it doesn't take long to join.

Grafter : Hi, I'm new, can I have 20 quid?
    Holla : Sure, here ya go, who are you?
    Grafter : Thanks, but because you ask, it doesn't matter. Have your f*cking money back.
    Holla : P*ss off. It's yours, keep it.
    Grafter : F*ck off, I don't want it. I'm giving it away.
    Holla : You can give it to the dogs for all I care.
    Grafter : I will. And the rest. Now, buy me alcohol.
    Holla : Sure.

DubTony wrote: »

Grafter : Thanks, but because you ask, it doesn't matter. Have your f*cking money back.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

I'm Northern

UL.

(welcome to Boards!)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

kpnuts wrote: »
    UL.

(welcome to Boards!)

Will you just feck off from these here parts. I thought we had successfully got rid of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

You can get good advice here sometimes, depends what your after, it seems to me though that if you post something that someone in particular doesn't agree with you will sometimes find yourself being slated from all angles by people who know sweet FA what they're talking about and maybe in need of a few friends,.
    People mistake cliques for people who domt agree with them.
    Well I have been playing poker for nearly a year now, I know not to take a race for ALL my chips, damn clique here think they know it all.
    Everyone starts like this and slowly realises that they were/are an idiot, and surely the process starts again with someone else.

2 the ones who sit around smoking cigars and laughing at Reggie
    FYP
    kpnuts wrote: »
    UL.

(welcome to Boards!)

post more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

Ste05 wrote: »
    Take it as a compliment if no-one is ripping your posts to shreds... IMO

Maybe.....or maybe they're so bad nobody has the time to correct everything.

LOL, try posting bayesian mathematics and conditional probability and see how fast the thread dies :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

DubTony wrote: »

KingofHearts

Truly nothing personal, but you're making my point in a way that I didn't expect or wasn't looking for when I started the thread.

The best of Irish is in the banter and the slagging, not taking ourselves or each other too seriously. I'm well up for the craic. I can take as well as give.

There's sometimes a nastier edge on this board from what I've seen and this is a good example. Maybe it's because of poker's competitiveness

Sorry if I've offended one of your alter egos or your boyfriends. I guess it's one or the other.

Your well and truly accepted now anyway