Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boards Summer Beach Body Super Challenge: Week 5

• 21-04-2008 8:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭

Now we're definitely past half-way!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭lindak

Well weekend went ok had my treat day on sat went to a christening and went a little over boards. Had about 12 roses choc, peanuts & salad but salad consisted of cowlslaw, egg mayo, cheese, soda bread with real butter. Then went out for dinner and had just a main course of pasta with chicken and tomatoe based sauce although the portion was big it could have been worse. Got back on track yesterday though. Measured myself this morning and some small changes nothing major but I reckon things start slowing down at this stage! I will weigh myself in the morning in the gym.

Thigh - 21.5 - No Change
    Chest - 32.5 - No Change
    Bicep - 10.5 - No Change
    Wrist - 6 - No Change
    Waist - 25 - (-.5)
    Hips - 32 - (-.5)
    Top of legs - 22 - No Change
    Knee - 15.5 - (-.5)
    Calf - 11.5 - (- 1)

So still some loses and no gains that is the main thing !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

The last couple of weeks have been slow moving, not really seeing any major changes, but I can see that a healthy diet is good for maintaining my measurements and I've been maintaining my fitness too. I'm going to step it back up now for the next four weeks to get my goal (32" waist and build up my upper body).

Measurements are in cm:
    Beginning:__Week 4__________Week 5
    Neck_________38_____________38
    Chest________93_____________92
    Bicep________29______________29
    Wrist________16.5____________16.5
    Waist________87.5 (34.4")______87(34.2")
    Hips_________92.5____________93.5
    Top of legs____87.5____________88.5
    Knee________37______________36
    Calf_________35______________35.5

Weight is down to 71kg from 72 a couple of weeks ago, which is great (and surprising) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Forgot to take my measurements again (eeeejit!!) but there's some significant extra room in some of my clothes these days!! My eating habits went failry haywire over the weekend (there was pancakes, chocoalte sauce and ice-cream :o) but the next two weeks I'll be stepping up a gear again as I have a very big family function to attend on May 3rd and I have a posh frock to look good in!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I forgot myself too gem, but my skinny trousers are a lot looser then they've been in ages!!
    plus I've had to move in on the bra hooks, which is always good.
    i'm really gonna put my nose to the grindstone for the second half as I'm attending a wedding at the end of May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

I managed to drag myself outta bed this mornin and do some weights before work, really chuffed coz its a good start to the week. I did'nt get as much done as I used to when I was doing it in the evenings but with working so late the last week or two I was getting nothing done. So, as they say, something is better then nothing :D

Well done to everyone for making it halfway, I'll be doing my measurements tomorrow evening as usual, not expecting much change but as long as they're not going up I'm happy. Gonna put my head down now for the next few weeks and start lifting heavier and increasing the resistance in my cardio.

I've a holiday booked for the 10th June and I'm gonna look fab for it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Well it's back to the weekday routine - yay! The weekends really throw me off kilter!

Wasn't too badly behaved, did have a bottle of wine and a packet of chipsticks :) That is the worst I've been since I started the challenge so I'm well proud of myself. I made an effort to drink plenty of water too - I'm good at drinking it during the week because of work and exercise but often don't drink any then at the weekends.

Will measure/weigh either tonight or tomorrow night. Depends on my helper! :) I know myself I haven't lost any weight anyway, don't feel any changes! But maybe I'm wrong..

Will go to the gym this evening and do a good hour and a half - going to try a bit of jogging on the treadmill and then other crosstrainer/bike/mat exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Yea was bold this weekend as well, although I think I was due some cheats!

Had a meal over in the girlfriend's sisters on Saturday, including dessert afterwards (would have been too rude to refuse - it was made specially). Had my 10 units of alcohol, 2 cigarettes (really have to cut this out, have been off the fags for years but recently am having the odd one when drinking, fecking annoying), some roasted/salted peanuts, some cheese + crackers, then we were up till 5.30 watching the Calzaghe fight, got stuck into some toffee popcorn. Last night was at the cinema and had some popcorn there too. All in all, a lot of cheating.

But back to it today, my stomach does feel a little bloated after the weekend so will be trying to up the training a little bit this weekend to burn it off - my weight when measured first thing Saturday morning was exactly the same as the previous week - 80.7 Kgs. I'm putting this down to not being able to cycle at all last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Damn I'll take full measurements tomorrow. My waste line was 35.2 this morning though, at 84.4kg with 14%BF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

` >Wk 4>Wk 5>Changes
    Weight (Kg) >75.5 >74.1>-1.4
    Neck >33>33>0
    Chest (1) >93>92.5>-0.5
    Bicep >29>29.5>0.5
    Wrist >17>17>0
    Waist (2) >92.5>90>-2.5
    Hips >93>92>-1
    Top of legs (3) >102>101>-1
    Knee (4) >45>45>0
    Calf >43>42.5>-0.5

at the measurements are moving again yay!!

Those are pretty big changes ali.c - don't go too far too quickly!!

Is anyone getting bored of their dinner diet - I was trying to pick up food for the 'weekly shop' and found myself kind of bored. Need to stop using pesto in everything! Any ideas?! Veg is fine - carrots, broccoli, etc. just need some new ideas - but must be quick - by time I get home it's already almost 8pm and that's most days. So preparing in advance is kind of out too, often cook extra to freeze but microwave has gone bust! So that option is out now too!

I'm going to pick up some sweet potato, I had this one sunday and really liked it. I find it's salads for lunch that I detest right now. I'm sick of eating leaves. What else can I have? I was thinking of (cooked) frozen veg with a chicken fillet or roasted veg. Or tuna instead of chicken. What other meat can I bring into work?

Also I must confess.....
    Last night instead of going to the gym I went to McDonalds and had a Big Mac, medium fries and Chocolate Milkshake :(

Cork_girl wrote: »
    Is anyone getting bored of their dinner diet - I was trying to pick up food for the 'weekly shop' and found myself kind of bored.
    blah wrote: »
    I find it's salads for lunch that I detest right now. I'm sick of eating leaves. What else can I have?

Salsa, stir fry's, homemade stew, homemade soup or try some ideas here for inspiration

blah wrote: »
    Also I must confess.....
    Last night instead of going to the gym I went to McDonalds and had a Big Mac, medium fries and Chocolate Milkshake :(

:eek::pac:

I hear you - was tempted to run right past the gym on my way home but it was this challenge that made me go in. So let that be your 'blip' and put it behind you! Onwards and upwards :D

Sweet potato is a good idea, something different. I got some turkey rashers too - for a change!

For lunch I've been having salad too, with a boiled egg and some tuna. Other options though are couscous with some tomatoes and spring onion mixed through it, with salad on side. Something different!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭lindak

I was having egg and tuna , and this week I am having egg and turkey slices ! I know not everyone is a fan of turkey but I actually like it !

Dinners at the moment have consisted of fish & veg/ chick & stir fry / Steak marinated in worchester sauce and herbs and veg/ pasta with fried peppers & onions with salmon or chicken ... last week I jamie olivers italian meetballs .. they were yummy dont have the receipe handy but il put it up tommorrow and its quite healthy you could also google this maybe !! its off the sainsbury advert.

Cork_girl wrote: »
    :eek::pac:

I hear you - was tempted to run right past the gym on my way home but it was this challenge that made me go in. So let that be your 'blip' and put it behind you! Onwards and upwards :D

Yes...let us never speak of my "little indiscretion" again. I'll be in the gym tonight. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

If it makes you feel any better blah I had a big dirty kebab roll on Friday night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

jsb wrote: »
    If it makes you feel any better blah I had a big dirty kebab roll on Friday night :D

Thats nothing compared to one of these bad boys http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55628995&postcount=36

jsb wrote: »

And hence, the death of "Salad Boy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thebiggestjim

Just to let you guys know im still in this challenge. I haven't posted much since the start but Im keeping a record of everything im doing and im going well.

Strength is improving
    weight is going up
    BF% is static

another goal of mine was to lose the farmer tan. Its actually getting worse. Im going to put serious effort into improving this situation over the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭d-redser

Ok today was weigh in/measurement day.

Last week my weight was 12.12.8 and today it was 12.12.2. :o and my measurements are still the same. I am a bit disappointed again but I realised that I have not gained any weight since I started this and it's slowly coming off.. At the start of March I was 13.5st.

I got a proper programme in the gym last night, looks like I was going waaay to easy on myself and I will be starting it tonight.. A bit intimidated in an understatement but hopefully in a couple of weeks I will be able to see a significant difference in my fitness and weight levels ..

Took my measurements last nite but of course left them at home! The bit I do remember though is the weighing scales which said I am now 10 stone :D Yay! That's a drop of 3lbs since last week (but only 4lbs since the start of the challenge to put it in perspective!). So I'm happy and I do feel a bit better. A bit to go yet though!

It's boxercise this evening and I think I'll try a bit of treadmill to get my jogging in afterwards (that's counting on being able!).

ye measurements are at home, will put them up at some point. Weight is the same as last week and the week before at 15st2lb but waist measurement is down to 37.8, which is 2.2 inches since the start. However I will give a full report on my progress thus far when I post up this weeks measurements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Had a weights session in the gym yesterday and broke 3 of my personal bests :)

Didn't do measurments last night as I was all pumped up after the gym, I don't usually go to the gym before I take my measurments so I figured it would skew the results.
    Did measure my biceps though and they were 1/8 of an inch bigger.

Back from my updated gym session and O MY GOD!!

I really worked at it. I didnt realise how easy my previous programme was, and a bit shocked to realise that I was capable of the new, more intense, programme (well just short of 7 mins:()

I am aching allover but loving every minute of it :D No wonder I wasnt losing much weight or inches!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

d-redser wrote: »
    Back from my updated gym session and O MY GOD!!

I really worked at it. I didnt realise how easy my previous programme was, and a bit shocked to realise that I was capable of the new, more intense, programme (well just short of 7 mins:()

I am aching allover but loving every minute of it :D No wonder I wasnt losing much weight or inches!!

Good stuff! What was the new programme d-redser, out of interest?

celestial wrote: »
    Good stuff! What was the new programme d-redser, out of interest?

At the moment it is 20min on threadmill, at varying speeds and inclines. Running for a minute and fast walking for a min etc..

20mins on xtrainer at varying levels and again sprinting for a min then normal for a min... I have a back injury so I found this one really tough..

Rowing for 10mins.

I will be getting my weights programme next week.

I havent done a proper workout in over 2years cos of my back and put alot of weight on too so I'm really feeling now with this workout..

Hey everyone, well done, keep going, we're over the hump now, it's all downhill to the finish line from here! :D

It's interesting how the first couple of weeks this thread ran to 6 or 7 pages with the amount of people posting, but now it's only 2. Fair play to everyone who's still here (and the peope who are still in but haven't posted lately :) )

screen name JSB -> Salad Boy -> jsb
    age 28 -> 28 -> 29 :(
    height 5'10
    weight 217lbs->219lbs->212lbs->212lbs ->212lbs (0)
    right arm 15.2->15.3->15.4->15.5 ->15.6 (+.1)
    left arm 15.2->15.3->15.4->15.5 ->15.6 (+.1)
    left thigh 25.2->25.8->25.4->25.4 ->25.8 (+.4)
    right thigh 24.8->25.8->25.5->25.6 ->25.9 (+.3)
    waist 40->39.2->38.7->38.5 ->37.8 (-.7) (measured around belly button)
    chest 43.6->43.6->???->44 ->43.2 (-.8)

So that includes last week's update which I never got to put up.

So as it is the half way mark I might as well give some sort of progress report. Overall I am happy with my progress, I am managing to maintain my weight for the most part while reducing my waist measurements. So from the look of it I am managing to gain some Lean mass while I am leaning out. However I was surprised about the chest measurements I am not sure if last weeks or this weeks is a more true representation of my actual size.

For the most part I am using bucket loads of LIT to try and strip the fat and it seems to be working. I did a mid week check of progress today (weekends due to more weight sessions and food then to skew results) and weight was down to 15.0.5, down from 15.1 last thursday, and wasit was down to 37.4. so it seems I am still going in the right direction.

trying to get food right is being a slight pain in the ass though due to the fact that of some RL getting in the way I haven't been able to keep a proper training schedule and so evening meals are often having to change at the last minute and also deciding how much I want to eat on ana days for gains can lead to me over thinking things.

Strength wise chances are I will probably come out of this back to my strongest if not stronger then I have been before, which considering the lay off I had before and now the fact that I can't just eat everything I want to aid recovery now I am quite pleased with. However I am missing my gut though:(. As I love squatting I also found the gut helpful for increasing core pressure and stability and I really noticed the difference while doing 130 3x3 last week. So I think I may have to invest in a belt for compensation.

Maybe my brain is shrinking too but I am seriously getting more forgetful!!

Measurements for Week 5 :eek::
    Neck Same
    Chest - .375"
    Bicep -0.125"
    Wrist -0.125"
    Waist +0.125"
    Hips -0.625"
    Top of legs -0.125"
    Knee - 0.375"
    Calf Same

Body Weight -4.4lbs :D

The change in body weight is not as drastic as it seems for one week - since the start of the challenge I have lost a total of 4.6lbs - this is the first week that there has been a change and I think it's because I have been weighing myself at night on Tuesdays - so it all depends on what I've eaten that day etc. Which I know is a bit unreliable. But I weighed myself the following morning and it said 9st 13lbs - previous night it said 10st. So weight is in and around there somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Well I'm still in.

Weight is down 5kg since starting. Happy with progress. looking a lot leaner, eating wwaaaaaaaayyyyyy better than normal

What I am not happy about is the fact I have not done a chest or shoulder workout in about 5 weeks and feel very skinny and weak up top :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Hayden*

Hey :D This was my first week having protein shakes and I really like them they keep me going during the day. But they make me really thirsty has anyone else found this?? Last night instead of doing boring aerobic work i hit the outdoors with a football and tried running around :D its so much harder than on the mill n d gym but Im going to try be outdoors a bit more now that the evenings are longer and I want to keep myself motivated!

My diet is going ok lots of veg chicken, tuna, wholemeal wraps etc. and I'm fitting into my clothes better not seeing a great results on scales but id rather tone up more than loose weight.

Hayden* wrote: »
    This was my first week having protein shakes and I really like them they keep me going during the day... they make me really thirsty has anyone else found this??
    Yeah it can happen to me too sometimes, I'll get a little thirsty after drinking whey. Solution? Just drink more water ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

I weighed and measured myself and got bodyfat done today.
    Results are ok - good I think.
    Main measurements
    Chest 38 - - - 38
    Waist 30.5 - - - 29.5
    Hips 36 - - - 35
    Top legs 38 - - - 37

Weight - same
    Bodyfat - 22.7% - - - 20.7%

I'm happy about the bodyfat but not about not losing weight. I know the scales aren't everything and all that but previously I've always used my weight to gauge where I am with things. I also went to ww for quite a while so aiming to lose actual weight is kind of programmed into my mind.
    That said, I haven't felt even remotely like I'm on a diet at any stage of this and if this is the way (and amount) I can eat to maintain my weight in the future then thats pretty cool.
    Anyway, going to give it an extra push for the next 3.5 wks and hopefully drop some more fat and a few lbs.

Does anyone have a rousing speech to give us to motivate and focus the mind :rolleyes::)

Waist 30.5 - - - 29.5
    You lost an inch on your waist!
    I'm happy about the bodyfat but not about not losing weight.

You're going great, an inch is loads. If your measurements are looking good, you must focus on those, you've probably built up some muscle and lost fat so you weight is static, but you look much better. Would you rather be above your "ideal weight" but have perfect measurements, or be at your ideal weight and still be unhappy with your body?

Does anyone have a rousing speech to give us to motivate and focus the mind :rolleyes::)

Go go go! Only 3.5 weeks left. Then we can all stuff ourselves with pizza and booze!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

Just tried on a pair of jean which I once considered throwing away because they only used to get onto me if I tucked my tummy in, before I closing the button.Those same pair of jeans now require no "tucking" and they need a belt to stay up.Although I havent been very strict with my diet and excercise for the last 2 weeks,this just shows what living a healthy and balances lifestyle can achieve.
    I love this is a great feeling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Measurements are +/- from last week 3s ones.(red are from first week)
    Neck -0.02 (-.5)
    Chest same(-1.5)
    Bicep same(-1)
    Wrist same(-.25)
    Hips -0.02(-1)
    Top of legs -.5(-2)
    Knee +.5(-1)
    Calf same.-.5(-1)
    Waist same (-1)

Thought I'd see some bigger changes after I forgot to measure last week.
    But all in all I'm really happy with how my shape has changed, overall I've just about dropped a dress size since the start of the challange.
    Plus obviously by getting off my arse I'm a lot fitter.
    Like Fatal I put on my skinny trousers for work the other day by mistake, and actually thought thry were my normal ones (which I can now pull straight down without opening)