Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin - Meath

• 21-04-2008 7:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭

I was wondering if the GAA will choose to make an example out of players/counties from either sides in the same way they endeavoured to do so after last Summers "Semplegate" affair. Incidentally, that was handbags compared to what unfolded in Parnell Park yesterday. It was fairly obvious that both teams were given the instructions that if anything started, it was all in, man for man. Total disregard for the laws of the game and the GAA's attempts to stamp this out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

I was wondering if the GAA will choose to make an example out of players/counties from either sides in the same way they endeavoured to do so after last Summers "Semplegate" affair. Incidentally, that was handbags compared to what unfolded in Parnell Park yesterday. It was fairly obvious that both teams were given the instructions that if anything started, it was all in, man for man. Total disregard for the laws of the game and the GAA's attempts to stamp this out.

I dont think the GAA will do anything to either Dublin or Meath. They should also deem that the sendings off are sufficient punishment for the offenses committed including Whelan. Roll on the summer when we (Dublin) play Meath again except this time in the Leinster Final. As with the Tyrone game, i am delighted with what happened. Several years ago in a halftime melee going into the tunnel against Armagh, Dublin lost their bottle and never got it back. The Tyrone game was the first step in getting that bit of nastiness back into our game and yesterday was the final step. Its showed that Dublin will get in and battle for every ball for every minute of the game and will take no crap when doing it. We will give as good as we get.

Bring back Vinnie Murphy!
    Up the Dubs!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I imagine very little will happen. No doubt a fine for both counties and another slap on the wrist to both teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

It could have been and should have been 3 players from each team at least yet Peadar Byrne escapes near the end.He should have walked.Paddy Russell had a hell of a job to do and I think he did it right for the most part but as the game progressed he made some easy wrong decisions.I hear a 2 month suspension may be on the cards for all 5 players.

On the melee itself,I'm disappointed that Dublin didn't learn to just walk away but Meath were equally as guilty getting involved.Cluxton must have been the only players not to get involved.Whelo getting sent off was when it really kicked off in my view in terms of the crowd going mad.I think CCTV should be installed in every county ground,the coffee incident was just pure scumbaggery and I'd hope to high water that that "fan" would get barred or even charged.Had I been in the stand and saw who it was,I would have gone to a Garda.As a result,Parnell Park may have to seriously consider allowing hot drinks to be sold as we saw the danger the players could be in.

On Whelo,it was silly.Right in front of the referee.No complaints on the red card.I saw Meath getting away with it later in the match with Byrne.I wonder if Geraghty will be suspended for a match too.He gave the finger to the church end terrace and if Donaghy got punished in Castlebar,then GG should get punished too.

On the actual football/match itself,the Dubs were amazing.I can't remember the last time that they clicked as a team.It probably was in the Championship against Derry last year...ok Roscommon was simple but as a team when it really mattered.13 Meath players couldn't beat 12 Dublin players.It says a lot.

Young Fennell won a lot of ball after Whelo was sent off.This guy single handedly manned the Dublin midfield and won.Also,what can you say about Dermot Connolly?I believe his display of football yesterday was his best ever in a Dublin jersey.Putting over some beautiful points.Mossy was on fire too.The Meath defense couldn't cope with him.I was a bit sceptical of Henry coming into this match but he played a blinder in defense.Jayo also got into some great running positions and contributed.Good to see Vaughan decide the match.He really does shine against Meath.

One worry I have is Cluxton at the moment.The second goal was soft and Joe Sheridan is not a good player in my opinion.He was good when called upon but made the last few mins very tense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Have only seen the highlights this morning

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NnOCndqPTMo

Fight started over nothing, absolutely ridiculous. All seems to start when Dublin 22 (Diarmuid Connolly I think) takes exception to nothing in particular. Only player with any sense was Cluxton it seems.

I hope that the fan who threw a cup of tea at Ciaran Whelan gets some sort of charge or ban. This follows on from the coin throwing incident a few weeks ago. We don't want to see this type of behaviour in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Didn't see the game but they should stamp this shit out. I don't pay to see garbage when I go to a gaa match. That's the main reason i'd never go to another compromise rules crock of shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

In my original post on the locked thread I didn't mention Meath, which I should have, I know that they are absolutly no saints and that they should also receive hefty punishments, but the post was aimed at Dublin's increasingly poor disciplinary record and yet again they are shown nationwide in a melee ala Omagh which they got away with after a lengthy appeal process the image they are portraying is making the GAA a laughing stock.

patmac wrote: »
    In my original post on the locked thread I didn't mention Meath, which I should have, I know that they are absolutly no saints and that they should also receive hefty punishments, but the post was aimed at Dublin's increasingly poor disciplinary record and yet again they are shown nationwide in a melee ala Omagh which they got away with after a lengthy appeal process the image they are portraying is making the GAA a laughing stock.

Yes Pat that is true but in the original thread you blew it out of proportion slightly.It was 6 red cards in 3 matches against Monaghan (2),Armagh (1) and Meath (3).The Monaghan game can hardly be a blazing example of total and blatant indiscipline.Vaughan and Cullen were given two yellows and Cullens sending off was totally ridiculous.If you saw it you would have laughed in amazement.It just went to show what a joke Syl Doyle made of that match.I can't comment on the Armagh match as I didn't see it but yesterday I got a birds eye view of the events.

You can look at the melee and come out with different answers.I did see Connolly coming in alright but didn't seem to be hard.It was handbags,pushing and shoving all the way.As for Whelo,the tackle which preceded it was a fair tackle with the shoulder and the Meath player made a meal out of selling it was ahigh tackle and when Whelo was confronted in his face he lashed out...no excuses.I don't believe Dublin are actively going out with the mentality of getting into fights.It was a Dublin-Meath match in Parnell Park,it was bound that something would happen.

As far as Meath are concerned,unfortunately they'll get away lightly enough."The fan" throwing coffee won't be caught and punished,Peadar Byrne will line out the next day when he should have been red carded and Geraghty will escape a one match suspension for gesturing at the crowd.

blackbelt wrote: »
    The Monaghan game can hardly be a blazing example of total and blatant indiscipline.Vaughan and Cullen were given two yellows and Cullens sending off was totally ridiculous.If you saw it you would have laughed in amazement.It just went to show what a joke Syl Doyle made of that match

+1 Two soft red cards and not a very good example of Dublins indiscipline.

Yes Pat that is true but in the original thread you blew it out of proportion slightly.It was 6 red cards in 3 matches against Monaghan (2),Armagh (1) and Meath (3).The Monaghan game can hardly be a blazing example of total and blatant indiscipline.Vaughan and Cullen were given two yellows and Cullens sending off was totally ridiculous.If you saw it you would have laughed in amazement.It just went to show what a joke Syl Doyle made of that match.I can't comment on the Armagh match as I didn't see it but yesterday I got a birds eye view of the events.

As I said in the other thread, if I was a Dublin supporter I would be worried about discipline. As a Wexford supporter I am worried about our recent disciplinary record, which I don't think has been as bad as Dublins this year. A sending off cost us against Laois last year, poor discipline could cost Dublin somewhere along the line this summer.
    You can look at the melee and come out with different answers.I did see Connolly coming in alright but didn't seem to be hard.It was handbags,pushing and shoving all the way.As for Whelo,the tackle which preceded it was a fair tackle with the shoulder and the Meath player made a meal out of selling it was ahigh tackle and when Whelo was confronted in his face he lashed out...no excuses.I don't believe Dublin are actively going out with the mentality of getting into fights.It was a Dublin-Meath match in Parnell Park,it was bound that something would happen.

I still don't understand why the fight started. Seems to me that both sets of players came out a bit to fired up and it boiled over. No need for players to run the length of the pitch to get involved. Fair play to Cluxton for staying out of it.

For me the tackle before the sending off, I think it was high. Players were probably still a bit upset rom previous incidents and it got a bit heated again. Striking another player, sending off no arguements.
    As far as Meath are concerned,unfortunately they'll get away lightly enough."The fan" throwing coffee won't be caught and punished,Peadar Byrne will line out the next day when he should have been red carded and Geraghty will escape a one match suspension for gesturing at the crowd.

As for punishments, both county boards should be fined IMO. As for the individual players, I think that anybody that was singled out can feel a little hard done by if others get away, but, if you get involved where you shouldn't you should take whatever punishment is given.

What is this about Geraghty gesturing to the crowd? I didn't hear anything about this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

As with the Tyrone game, i am delighted with what happened. Several years ago in a halftime melee going into the tunnel against Armagh, Dublin lost their bottle and never got it back. The Tyrone game was the first step in getting that bit of nastiness back into our game and yesterday was the final step. Its showed that Dublin will get in and battle for every ball for every minute of the game and will take no crap when doing it. We will give as good as we get.

Well with attitude like that among dublin fans then is anyone surprised this type of stuff happens?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭future_plans

I have to second that post. The dominant team of the last 8 years plays football with a creative footballing mentality. They don't strive for "that bit of nastiness" to win. If some nastiness does help, it's only a short lived thing and doesn't provide any platform to build on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Hold on a second,Dublin only won by a point,if thats the best performance you've seen in a while I think it says a lot about Dublin football,never mind Meath! And in fairness when that many people get sent off the game lose's it's shape,for Meath losing there corner backs it's harder to deal with than Dublin,cause there lads were from different ends of the pitch altogether!

Those 12 players really played well and fought for each other (no pun intended) and those 12 players did play as a team when their back was against the wall.I saw shades of it against Monaghan when we lost Vaughan but those sending offs made Dublin play as a team rather than individually.We can win games from individuals but we played as a team and won and thats something that hasn't been happening too often.Considering they had the numbers advantage,each player on the Dublin team played out of their skin.Dermo,Mossy,Fenno,Ryaner,Henry,Collie and Jayo and Brendan.If we can play with that grit and determination,we are going to be very hard to beat in the championship if we weren't formidable enough as it is.I believe Dublin had an All-Ireland winning contenders performance yesterday and that is very hard to refute.

As for us being advantaged,I don't think losing a midfielder,a back and forward disadvantages Meath.Fennell won the majority of Meaths kickouts when we were reduced and it led to Meath having to take some short kickouts.Dublin got on with it and outplayed a team that outnumbered them.It is a test of character to overcome the odds and thats what I saw yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Killme00 wrote: »
    I dont think the GAA will do anything to either Dublin or Meath. They should also deem that the sendings off are sufficient punishment for the offenses committed including Whelan. Roll on the summer when we (Dublin) play Meath again except this time in the Leinster Final. As with the Tyrone game, i am delighted with what happened. Several years ago in a halftime melee going into the tunnel against Armagh, Dublin lost their bottle and never got it back. The Tyrone game was the first step in getting that bit of nastiness back into our game and yesterday was the final step. Its showed that Dublin will get in and battle for every ball for every minute of the game and will take no crap when doing it. We will give as good as we get.

Up the Dubs!

This post is the kind of ill-informed rabble-rousing that we don't need. First off anyone who receives a straight red is automatically banned and since all players were sent off for striking (I presume) all of the players are looking at lengthy bans of at least 2 months. Also going on past incidents the county boards are also looking at fines. Mayo and Meath in 96 final and Dublin and Tyrone in the league were similar type of incidents and county boards got fined. The GAA or CCCC or DRA or CCCP or whatever anagram is given jurisdiction here should also look at additional bans for other players heavily involved as obviously the ref can't send 15 players off in a match even if they deserve it.
    Additionally the Meath County Board should be fined extra for the tea throwing incident and Geraghty should have a game ban if it is shown he gestured to the crowd.

As for Dublin this year they are getting desperate and confusing overly physical play with mental strength. They know they've been a soft touch in tight games over the last 3-4 years and are trying any thing they can this year to keep the candle burning. Kerry last year, Mayo the year before and Tyrone before that were all defeats that hurt badly. With the same management and players (essentially) and the same leaders (Whelan who no matter what you say manages to get involved in 2 controversial incidents each year) they have deep seated difficulties.

So in conclusion Dublin are too damaged to win anything this year and won't realise their undoubted football potential if they continue down this route.

2 soft red cards!! Are we thinking about the same incident. Okay Cullen's first yellow might have been borderline but his second yellow was for a rugby tackle. As for Vaughan I'll refer you to the picture

Mark_176090d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

The Monaghan game can hardly be a blazing example of total and blatant indiscipline.Vaughan and Cullen were given two yellows and Cullens sending off was totally ridiculous.If you saw it you would have laughed in amazement.It just went to show what a joke Syl Doyle made of that match.I can't comment on the Armagh match as I didn't see it but yesterday I got a birds eye view of the events.

Lads, I'm a Dub and have to disagree with ye there, Cullen was walking a tightrope after his first yellow and should have had more sense, having said that every player can pick up two yellows and it doesn't show that he's a dirty player. Vaughan, on the other hand, was also on a yellow, and if the ref had had any sense, or seen the incident properly, should have given him a straight red for the punch. Caffrey's defence of Vaughan afterwards, and his comments on the referee, are a symptom of a problem, and we're not going to get many sympathetic referees with talk like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Being a Dub and only have only seen the melee on TV I can't judge the rest of the match. Yet I still find myself deeply embarrassed by what I saw. In any other sport a lot more than five on either side woudl have gone, especially the ones sprinting from their own half.

I am inclined to think that the GAA should look to UEFA for an example. They should kick them both out of the championship until next year. The problem IMO, is that it actively encourages the type of carry-on that we hear reported weekly up and down the country. I'd also wonder whether it may be time , as one of the candidates for GAA president , for a really good look at the rule book.

I also think it is time for some form of a sin bin for yellow cards and that there might also be a case of fining individual players as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

This whole debate has been blown out of proportion. Talk of suspensions is over the top. Afterall, this is only the league. I wouldn't get too excited about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Awesomo-4000

is_that_so wrote: »

I also think it is time for some form of a sin bin for yellow cards and that there might also be a case of fining individual players as well.

I cant see players receiving a fine as its an amateur sport. An extended ban (for example 2-3 months) is the most likely punishment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

is_that_so wrote: »
    I am inclined to think that the GAA should look to UEFA for an example. They should kick them both out of the championship until next year.

Why not just kick them out of the league? I, for one, would be delighted. The league is no better than a collection of pre-season friendlies and tepid challenge matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I cant see players receiving a fine as its an amateur sport. An extended ban (for example 2-3 months) is the most likely punishment

The length of ban is predetermined based on whatever offence they are reported for by the referee, AFAIK a ban cannot be extended unless they were sent off in the previous 12 months.

A fine wouldn't be a runner as they are amateurs, but how about withholding a percentage of the government grant - said percentage only to be given to players who haven't received a red card in the season, it would incentivise fair play and players might think twice about swinging a punch off the ball.

This whole debate has been blown out of proportion. Talk of suspensions is over the top. Afterall, this is only the league. I wouldn't get too excited about it.

It doesn't matter whether it's the league, All-Ireland final day or the opening of a club ground in Balllymoe this kind of carry on has to be stamped out. There seems to be a certain element of Dublin supporters here who can never see any wrong being done by there team.
    Why not just kick them out of the league? I, for one, would be delighted. The league is no better than a collection of pre-season friendlies and tepid challenge matches.

Fine no Dubs in the league next year. Deprived of any warm up games (as everyone else is off playing a National competition couldn't be arsed playing them) Dublin will be unfit, rusty and will probably resort to more violence as they see every other team in the country run rings around them.

Cop on would ya. Even as a solid warm up event the league is hugely important and if Dublin carry on the way they are you never know the 2008 Div 2 league might be the only national silverware they win for the next 10 years.

Zzippy wrote: »
    The length of ban is predetermined based on whatever offence they are reported for by the referee, AFAIK a ban cannot be extended unless they were sent off in the previous 12 months.

A fine wouldn't be a runner as they are amateurs, but how about withholding a percentage of the government grant - said percentage only to be given to players who haven't received a red card in the season, it would incentivise fair play and players might think twice about swinging a punch off the ball.

Interesting thought. However I would more like to see a points system with yellows and reds being taken into account. Also overturning of sending offs would have to be tightened up - no more people getting off the hook cos the ref didn't write down his number in Irish or something

According to hoganstand.com there will be no announcement with regard to disciplinary issues at the Dublin V. Meath game in Parnell Park until further notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

kevmy wrote: »
    There seems to be a certain element of Dublin supporters here who can never see any wrong being done by there team.

There seems to be a certain element of NON Dublin supporters here who ALWAYS see wrong being done by the Dublin Team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Archebald

lads dublin yet again are involved in another fight ,,talk about givin the gaa a bad name ,, and i no that meath are just as bad but its come to the point now where there will have to be hefty punishments thrown out ,,,,why should these leinster teams always get away with everything ,,cork and clare were not shown any sympathy and i spose rightly too if they get the point across and if any one remebers there was another hurling match in leinster that very day and there was also a fight in and nuthin was said about like :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Disgraceful, absolutely disgraceful. They should hang their heads in shame, all 15 of them. As usual when they play, no matter what county they play against, they cause trouble. There was nothing royal about their behaviour yesterday. As for the ref, how could he make such mistakes? For example, a Meath player clearly headbutts Ciaran Whelan in the fist, and inexplicably it is Whelan that gets sent off. Then as he is walking off a Meath fan throws a hot cup of coffee at him but, like the Meath forwards, misses the target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Dublin won, I'm happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

They did indeed. The good oul' 12 Apostles. Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 DeJaMo

First of all, im a Meath fan and was at the game yesterday.

Dublin deserved to win the game. Meath were awful and Dublin should not of allowed them to get back from 7 points behind!

I think the referee was right in sending off equal players from both teams to cool things down.

Whelan was stupid to do what he done... who's to say it was a Meath fan that threw the cup of tea/coffee whatever. If I was a Dublin fan I would of thrown the kettle at him for opening the game to Meath at the time.

I dont think Geraghty made a negative gesture at the crowd, I was down at that end.. Cluxton made a fool of Geraghty by letting the ball roll out over the line... the Dublin fans gave him stick and he simply waved back at them. Sure, Everyone was laughing - fans from both sides.

Meath could not use the extra man and Dublin simply outclassed them in the skills department!

Looking forward to the Leinster championship :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Up the Dubs!

Grow up! They're footballers, not Gladiators FFS. There's no harm in standing your ground but this is nearly the whole team steaming into a fight. Stupid, ridiculous behaviour. You don't win Championships when half your team is suspended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Flukey wrote: »
    There was nothing royal about their behaviour yesterday. As for the ref, how could he make such mistakes? For example, a Meath player clearly headbutts Ciaran Whelan in the fist, and inexplicably it is Whelan that gets sent off. Then as he is walking off a Meath fan throws a hot cup of coffee at him but, like the Meath forwards, misses the target.

Like the other threads that have descended into farce on this subject there has been a nugget of truth in them, this is it

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

and Geraghty will escape a one match suspension for gesturing at the crowd.

Blackbelt i never thought i would be defending Geraaghty but he didnt give the the crowd the finger. Geraghty was been giving some friendly banter for making a hash of a chance and he in turn waved at the crowd and he got a big cheer from the crowd and geraghty and his dublin marker were laughing about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Cafiend

As a Dub supporter at the game yesterday I have to agree entirely with what the Dejamo said.

Dublin did not play well yesterday. Meath played terrible football. As long time slagger of Geraghty I was watching him during the first part of the melee and he stayed away it was only at the end of the second scrap that he went up and then seemed to break up the scrap. Fiar dues to him.

Whelan was a joke - he's served us well but has never identified that the weakest part of his game is his head. He often looses it when he's most needed be that by having a scrap or disappearing for large portions of critical games. Caffrey doesn't seem to notice this.

My biggest criticism is for Caffrey I was behind the dug out when Andrews and Brogan made their walk and he gave them a tap on the back. These are 2 people who have been sent off in the first five minutes of a game that could put us back into divisions one! He doesn't discipline the players he seems to be more concerned about being their mate than giving them a bollocking and leading them....And it's not that he wants to keep it for the dressing room if that was the case than why do anything why give them a clap on the back, why not watch the game and deal with them later.

Dublin did not play were yesterday - there was some good displays form players for the future (Fennell and Connolly esp.) but Meath didn't play the extra man and made some seriously bad plays - alot of ball hit wide, high or dropped.

All in all Dublin are still too concerned about appearing like soft touches than appearing like champions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/16-players-banned-after-parnell-park-debacle-1354928.html
    16 players banned after Parnell Park debacle
    Dublin and Meath hit hard as GAA hand down record suspensions and fines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

F*ckin hell!

the article only names 6 Dublin players. Who are the other two?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Not sure, must wait till the other news sites have it or someone buys the independant

Im gald that the GAA has taken this stand.
    If the Cork - Clare handbags of last year was to set a precendant (which was an over reaction and a warning) then the punishment of Meath & Dublin still appears light but its a step in the right direction.

Now they have to be consistent and both teams should accept their punishment .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

jank wrote: »
    Im gald that the GAA has taken this stand.
    If the Cork - Clare handbags of last year was to set a precendant (which was an over reaction and a warning) then the punishment of Meath & Dublin still appears light but its a step in the right direction.

Now they have to be consistent and both teams should accept their punishment .

I don't have a problem with the GAA coming down hard on both teams here, as long as it's consistently applied throughout the championship. The reason the Cork and Clare players were suspended though was because it was trial by video evidence, as the game hadn't even begun. Anyway, the hard done-by act doesn't suit! I seem to remember a certain Noel O'Leary being allowed to play in the AI final last year after a big sob story about how unfair it would be if he missed out on the biggest game of his life!:rolleyes:

That's the kind of shít that needs to be done away with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Thats a bit too much IMO. Dublin have a big enough panel so it should not affect them that much but Meath will be ravaged in a year when they have the potential to go far in Leinster and the AI series. Seems unfair to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭future_plans

Fair play to the GAA for acting fast on this. From a certain angle I suppose the punishment may seem light. But on the face of it, it is probably apt. Now Meath and Dublin should just take this on the chin, and not pursue any appeals. This would be a decent gesture. Then put it behind us and get on with the championship. If it happens again, with any team, then the punishment will just have to get harsher and harsher until the message hits home. Roll on the Summer!

I agree 100%. I am hoping that we don't see appeals and teams trying to use loop holes to get players out of suspensions. This kind of behaviour needs to be stamped out and a clear message sent to players and management.

I haven't seen anything else yet about the fan who threw tea at Whelan, that is a shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'm quite happy they punished both of them. Good stuff.

Anyway, the hard done-by act doesn't suit! I seem to remember a certain Noel O'Leary being allowed to play in the AI final last year after a big sob story about how unfair it would be if he missed out on the biggest game of his life!

But he punched Geraghty. That's surely OK!:D

mobby wrote: »
    There seems to be a certain element of NON Dublin supporters here who ALWAYS see wrong being done by the Dublin Team

What difference does that make if there are. You can't try and defend the indefensible as some supporters are here.

Real Dub (and Meath) supporters should call it what it is now - a dsigrace, not cheer them on. If idiots from other counties want to take pot shots at ye all the time then let them. The way to stop that is to start acting like champs not kids in a playground
    jank wrote: »
    But he punched Geraghty. That's surely OK!:D

Yeah I think that was passed at Congress, every team is allowed to hit Geragthy once with no consequences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Delighted with the suspensions for both teams, but only if County Boards appeals are rejected which unfortunately is very unlikely. My original post in the other thread was to highlight the headlines in the papers which all concentrated on the bust up instead of the cracking Hurling League Final.

patmac wrote: »
    Delighted with the suspensions for both teams, but only if County Boards appeals are rejected which unfortunately is very unlikely. My original post in the other thread was to highlight the headlines in the papers which all concentrated on the bust up instead of the cracking Hurling League Final.

In relation to that I was just reading thatlast Sunday the three Division 2 NFL games yielded 32 yellow cards and seven red cards, while there were only six yellow cards flashed in the Division 1 NHL final. Hurling is played with passion and intensity, yet we don't really see the same levels of indiscipline.

Just to clear up my comments. I'm not trying to glorify violence in any way. I just believe that when something like this happens, it shows the rest of the country that you wont be bullied and will stand up as a team. I dont think its childish or thuggish to say that I am proud of the Dublin team for sticking together and fighting for each other.

However I think the potential suspensions handed down by the GAA are excessive and will obviously penalise Dublin more than any other team because they are the big team, the big name and the big crowd puller. Commentators and Journalist alike are always quick to voice their opinion of a dirty Dublin team because the have grown up in Dublin's shadow and now have a chip on their shoulder about it. As already stated Dublin have the squad to cope with it and should be ok in the first few rounds of the championship. Meath on the other hand do not which is a pity as I would have liked Dublin to play them in the Leinster final this year.

Up the Dubs!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Thats a bit too much IMO. Dublin have a big enough panel so it should not affect them that much but Meath will be ravaged in a year when they have the potential to go far in Leinster and the AI series. Seems unfair to me.

Shouldn't have acted the bollox then tbh.

If they get destroyed in the Championship then it'll be a good lesson for the players involved. Hopefully the fans will get on their backs and make them realise just how much they let their county down. Same goes for Dublin as well.

However I think the potential suspensions handed down by the GAA are excessive and will obviously penalise Dublin more than any other team because they are the big team, the big name and the big crowd puller.

The suspensions are standard suspensions for anybody who breaks the rules, doesn't matter if they are from Dublin, Meath, Leitrim or if their mother is from Fiji and their father is from Fermanagh. The GAA handed out suspensions to Cork and Clare players last year for acting the idiot, why not Dublin and Meath.
    Commentators and Journalist alike are always quick to voice their opinion of a dirty Dublin team because the have grown up in Dublin's shadow and now have a chip on their shoulder about it. As already stated Dublin have the squad to cope with it and should be ok in the first few rounds of the championship. Meath on the other hand do not which is a pity as I would have liked Dublin to play them in the Leinster final this year.

Which commentators and journalists are these? How exactly are they living in Dublins shadow?

However I think the potential suspensions handed down by the GAA are excessive and will obviously penalise Dublin more than any other team because they are the big team, the big name and the big crowd puller. Commentators and Journalist alike are always quick to voice their opinion of a dirty Dublin team because the have grown up in Dublin's shadow and now have a chip on their shoulder about it.

What shadow is this now. When was the last time Dublin won the All Ireland?
    The post stinks of "the world is against us!"

This is the mentality caffery is trying to instil into the side, but i think its going to backfire on him. He knows this is the last chance for an All ireland. If he fails he is out of the job. Not a good sign!

The suspensions are standard suspensions for anybody who breaks the rules, doesn't matter if they are from Dublin, Meath, Leitrim or if their mother is from Fiji and their father is from Fermanagh. The GAA handed out suspensions to Cork and Clare players last year for acting the idiot, why not Dublin and Meath.
    `

I do not concur. :D
    Due to media pressure the GAA will come down harder on Dublin than any other county. This is just my opinion and not in any way based on fact.:eek: