Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When was the last time you cried?

• 18-04-2008 11:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭

Are you a regular wobbly thrower? Or always maintain a stiff upper lip? My last cry was a couple of weeks ago :( but felt better after it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I was a big crybaby as a kid: the smallest little things used set me off.
    Then I got older and became emotionally dead. Honestly can't remember the last time, 'twas years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Zip + Uncircumsised male + Last Night + Alcohol = Tears

Although I was comforted by George from Nigeria who sold me some Lynx for €2 a squirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Probably around 8pm tonight, got kicked in the eye during training.. but that was more eye-watering than crying I guess..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

I cried with joy just now, I discover the Longford forum!! Who knew?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

i nearly cried today- but held it back...

before that......

was prob when a family member tried to kill themself recently ...hit me very hard

:(

I'm a bit emotional at the minute. I am crying over nothing three or four times a day.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Some films really get to me! Last time I cried was during the last 5 minutes of screen time during Atonement, when Redgrave was performing her part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

When the girl I fell for ran away :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭NextSteps

Some films really get to me! Last time I cried was during the last 5 minutes of screen time during Atonement, when Redgrave was performing her part.

Oh I bawled at that too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'll generally only cry over serious stuff. Anything else seems like an indulgence for me. A few glasses of vino and a weepy film and I may get a touch of misty eye.:D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

I had to check twice that this wasn't the ladies lounge. Wheres all the manly men?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I had a good aul cry yesterday, I am usually a monthly to bi-monthly crier.

Its a big relief to get a good cry out

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yea, but I think most replies are from women who cry more anyway so....... I must admit blokes who cry at the drop of a hat irritate the bejesus outa me. OK if they've a mental problem cool, but otherwise? Eh no.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Havent cried in a while now. I wonder whats wrong?

Nothing. There was clearly nothing to cry about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Some people cry at a drop of a hat, I know a few people who seem to have incontinent tear ducts and will start weeping due to any strong feeling be it grief, sadness, joy or frustration.

I don't consider tearing up as having a cry,
    if that was the last the last reason I cried was cos was I cute up onions and chillies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Sometimes doing the intense processes i hit an emotional spot. So last saturday, but it was with joy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭lezizi

This morning, I cant face another day:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Not cried in ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Haven't cried since primary school. Some of my mates have told me this is wierd. I've tried to have a bit of a cry (like when a girlfriend moved away, when friends or family members have died) but to no avail. I hear its accompanied by a great feeling of release.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

About 17 mins ago when I finally copped the scope of work I'm supposed to do :'(

lezizi wrote: »
    This morning, I cant face another day:(:(
    It's never that bad. It just seems like it now. We've all been there and if having a cry gives you any relief, then break out the kleenex.*

*This being AH someone is bound to jump at that.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

What are you implying that there are perverts here that get turned on by a crying woman or by tissues ?

lezizi it will pass, thats the thing no matter how bad a situation is and how bad you feel it will pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Every month like clockkwork (pms) for 10 mins or so and then I say to myself 'cop the fcuk on DF'!!! :D

Latest cry was Wednesday last about an hour or so after my sadist orthodntist tightened my bracess so tight it feels like I've gotten kicked by a steel toe Doc Marten in the mouth! Haven't eaten much since which is making me irritable an emotional also.*

*Wipes tear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

A few weeks ago.

I have no patience with people who cry at the drop of a hat. I'd just end up telling them to cop on everytime they look at me and making them cry more. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

It has been a few months ;_; I cry rarely, last time was for a good reason.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I'm a crier. It's more under control in the past year, but I tend to cry from any intense emotion. It's really annoying when I'm having an argument and start crying - I actually can't help it and REALLY don't want to be crying but my body won't stop. I cry at happy things (weddings, weddings on TV, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, anything like that...), sad things (especially on TV. I've been known to cry over an advert for the RSPCA. The poor dogs!)... It's not full on wailing, rather a few tears dropping quietly.

The last time I cried properly was about 10 days ago, watching Armageddon. Man, that's a sad movie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Phantasm

Last Monday watching the Skins Finale.

;_;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

When my dog died like 2-3 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Night before last, had a big fight with boyf, that was grand, then sat down to study, realised the amount I have to do in the next two weeks :( though if the sounds of spanking from my flatmates bedroom don't stop soon I might have to cry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Had a recent relationship that started out with high hopes, but control freakery recently became very apparent, and I decided to end it. The 'talk' went very badly, and he became very confrontational and tried to verbally bully me into changing my mind (which only confirms I made the right decision). When he eventually left, I was so shaken I sank to the floor and cried for the first time in yonks. From relief, and also I suppose from shock at my own lack of judgement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Last weekend after reading about Caroline Morahan's adorable little brother who died in 1988 aged 6 following a kidney transplant. I was in floods while reading the article in last Sunday's Independent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

November when I got some very bad news about someone close to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

November when I got some very bad news about someone close to me.

I'm very sorry to hear that. Serious news always makes the relatively minor upsets that we brood on fade in perspective. Sometimes tears are the gift of our love and care made obvious .... when someone cries for you, you know you are cared for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

twice yesterday
    1.because me mams seriously ill
    2drunkenly walked into a door....ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Wibbs wrote: »
    It's never that bad. It just seems like it now. We've all been there and if having a cry gives you any relief, then break out the kleenex.*

*This being AH someone is bound to jump at that.:D

fap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Last Thursday when my girlfriends mate kicked me square in the nuts while we were in the pub. She caught me with an absolute beauty of a right foot and I went down like a sack of sh!t then curled up in the fetal position for a good ten minutes crying like a child.

In fairness though, some of the other guys who saw it went a little teary-eyed aswell out of compassion

orestes wrote: »
    Last Thursday when my girlfriends mate kicked me square in the nuts while we were in the pub. She caught me with an absolute beauty of a right foot and I went down like a sack of sh!t then curled up in the fetal position for a good ten minutes crying like a child.

In fairness though, some of the other guys who saw it went a little teary-eyed aswell out of compassion

oooh... I was that bystander once.

One of the lads was a real asshat and I could kill him - he grabbed my mate and gave him the wedgy of all wedgeys: the pants ripped and there was apparently some thong action that seperate the poor guys balls apart and pulled one of them well off to the far right >.< He was on the ground, fetal, had a puke, and one of his eyes were pure red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I cried nearly every day between September and December last year with nomotive.. simply severe depression :o

Lost nearly 3 stone in that period.

Was a bad time i felt like a pathetic cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Overheal wrote: »
    oooh... I was that bystander once.

One of the lads was a real asshat and I could kill him - he grabbed my mate and gave him the wedgy of all wedgeys: the pants ripped and there was apparently some thong action that seperate the poor guys balls apart and pulled one of them well off to the far right >.< He was on the ground, fetal, had a puke, and one of his eyes were pure red.

:eek: Fcuk that, poor guy! The prat who did that to him deserves a major kicking
    snyper wrote: »
    I cried nearly every day between September and December last year with nomotive.. simply severe depression :o

Lost nearly 3 stone in that period.

Was a bad time i felt like a pathetic cnut.

Sorry to hear that man, glad to hear you're feeling better now though.

But you have given me an idea with your connection between depression and weight-loss. From now on instead of skirting around the sensitive subject when girls complain about their weight, I shall simply agree and tell them that they are indeed fat. They might get all depressed and cry for a while, but once they lose all that weight because of it, I'm sure they will thank me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

A few minutes ago, Blackburn are still beating Man U 1-0:(

Italy stealing the World Cup. I watched every one of their matches: there isn't one where I can honestly say they played a fair game. and yea my dad went around the back of the house to sulk afterward when they eliminated USA ( but to be fair that was one of the dirtiest games of them all on the part of the Italians ).

Watching the England team break out into tears on the pitch? Absolutely priceless :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

I cried laughing last week when a German and his chinese girlfriend walked into the sitting room just as we were watching the episode of father ted that makes reference to the chinese on craggy island and a nazi priest, even worse when they insisted on sitting down and watching it with us, they were not impressed, I was inconsolable:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Broke up with the other half yesterday so that would be yesterday.

Cool_CM wrote: »
    I cried laughing last week when a German and his chinese girlfriend walked into the sitting room just as we were watching the episode of father ted that makes reference to the chinese on craggy island and a nazi priest, even worse when they insisted on sitting down and watching it with us, they were not impressed, I was inconsolable:D

:D :pac: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Cool_CM wrote: »
    LOL :D Brilliant!
    humbert wrote: »
    Broke up with the other half yesterday so that would be yesterday.
    Tough break, dude. :(
    Chin up. It's painful but it gets better...

I have a very low cry threshold. Sad films (especially ones where the protagonists are in love but can't be together - e.g. the aforementioned Atonement, Brokeback Mountain, Brief Encounter): oh man! They just crush me...
    And that RSPCA ad that Faith mentioned: can't watch it.

But I think I have a good balance. I don't act like a big sap usually, and if I feel the tears coming, I tend to go off somewhere on my own. You wouldn't think I was a cryer if you met me. I don't envy people who can't cry - it does provide great emotional release. Very therapeutic and cathartic. It's not necessarily a sign of being a wimp - in fact some of the toughest fellas I've ever met are cryers. Being overly emotional does not necessarily equal weak.
    So to answer the OP's question: I don't remember the exact time but it was definitely recent - as in, during the last few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I'm not really a crier - well I rarely let my guard down in front of people. Used to never cry, even when I was younger except for when I was sure nobody was around. I'm not as closed up now though, since a break up last year it's like the dam has broken, :o last time I cried was lastnight when I realised that my friends girlfriend was accusing me of being 'the other woman'.

*There's NO truth in it whatsoever:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I cried briefly when I came home from the pub last night and had the clarity that only a bellyful of beer can bring and I could see how much I have made a f**king balls of a lot of things. Twasn't nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I don't remember. Probably some time in Primary School. I was given **** for not crying when the cat I had grown up with died. Truth is I loved that cat more than anybody else. He was a real pal. :(

I tend to get really annoyed/angry when most people would cry. Sometimes I get really hyperactive and friendly. =s

Jee Golly fellers, I'm 16 and I'm more manly than most of you. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

MizzLolly wrote: »
    last time I cried was lastnight when I realised that my friends girlfriend was accusing me of being 'the other woman'.

*There's NO truth in it whatsoever:(
    Been there. Got ostracised by a load of people at work who thought I was having an affair with another guy who works there (funnily enough, even though he was the one making all the passes at me, he didnt get ostracised at all). Apart from the fact that it wasn't true, I can't understand how it would have been any of their fukking business. But I didn't cry - I just got maaaaad :mad:.
    Jigsaw wrote: »
    I cried briefly when I came home from the pub last night and had the clarity that only a bellyful of beer can bring and I could see how much I have made a f**king balls of a lot of things. Twasn't nice.
    Actually I think it's an episode like that that caused me to cry recently too. But sadly, it's reality that brings those thoughts on for me, not alcohol. Alcohol blocks them out... Hope you're feeling better now. Most of us have those thoughts so you're not alone.

Man, this is getting heavy...