Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drug trade in prison....how?

• 18-04-2008 9:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

Something I have always wondered. In a place with little actual cash floating around how or why are there drugs sold?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Why? Because there will be people there who want them. How? I'd imagine they can trade things for it but apart from that, I haven't the foggiest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I know there is trading. My question is how does a junkie who had to steal to support his heroin habit outside manage to obtain enough cigarettes to swap for his gear inside?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Family/Friends smuggle it in during visits or throw it over the wall in a specific area at a specific time.
    There is cash in prisons and people trade for drugs aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

sexual favours?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

i seen first hand people throwing tennis balls that were no doubt filled with coke etc into a certain prisons yard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Virgil°

You see cheap plastic footballs littered on the barbed wire on the walls of mountjoy.
    And plenty inside the walls too.
    Full of various things.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Seen it myself, Also seen some spliff plants growing on the inside wall of a prison, most likely some grass or something was throw in got caught in the railings or something to that effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    sexual favours?

You don't get **** in prison for sex. If some body wants to **** you they will try and **** you. Giving it up just makes you bottom of the food chain. Besides, sex is not that major an issue in Irish prisons.

Trading systems and such are well established. You do something for someone such as sneak something in for them ( some prisoners are known for smuggling so are watched, they then use others ). All kinds of things to do in prisoner to earn some scratch.

Besides, money is not all that rare in the prison system. If anything it is one of the easiest things to smuggle in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

Dragan wrote: »
    Besides, money is not all that rare in the prison system. If anything it is one of the easiest things to smuggle in.

yeah sure didnt some bloke have like a budgie or something in his cell recently enough!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Dragan sounds like he *knows*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Peared wrote: »
    Dragan sounds like he *knows*

Maybe he *knows* someone who *knows* :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Morbid.Angel

Betcha he didnt sit down for a fortnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Brint

You don't get **** in prison for sex. If some body wants to **** you they will try and **** you. Giving it up just makes you bottom of the food chain.

I never knew that - thanks for clearing it up.

Brint wrote: »
    I never knew that - thanks for clearing it up.

Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

The arse is an amazingly diverse thing... knives, mobile phones (and charger), you'd be amazed what fits in there... :D

.... I've just lost all credibility in regards to my heterosexuality, ah well. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Virgil° wrote: »
    You see cheap plastic footballs littered on the barbed wire on the walls of mountjoy.
    Full of various things.
    Those plastic footballs aren't filled with anything

They are supplied to the prisoners by the authorities as it keeps them occupied during recreation time and avoids a lot of trouble, fights etc. The prisoners know they will get new footballs so they just kick them over the walls at the end of each recreation, and some get stuck in the barbed wire

Someone once told me the amount they spend on footballs in a year in Mountjoy, can't remember the exact figure but I remember being shocked at it, something like €80,000.

The tennisballs however are going in to the prison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Corrupt Garda? Visitors? Emmm anus? :confused:

Someone once told me the amount they spend on footballs in a year in Mountjoy, can't remember the exact figure but I remember being shocked at it, something like €80,000.

Seriously, there is not a hope in hell that they spend 80,000 a year on plastic footballs in one prison in the country.

If you wasted 2 a day then it would work out at:

2 X 365 = 730

€2 a ball = €1,460 for balls for the year.

Someone was pissing down your back and telling you it was raining mate.

I can ask them when I'm in work next week but I know as fact it isn't anywhere near 80,000 a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

maybe they get a football each. :pac:

They would have to kick 109 balls a day over the walls.
    Even at that, I posted above saying they get them at €2 a go. Thats shop prices. All the prisons have a central store that buy the balls in in bulk and distribute them around the prisons so they will get them at far cheaper than €2 a ball, I would imagine its around €1 a ball which would mean:

A: 218 balls a day get kicked over the wall.
    B: Prison Officers will simply say "no more balls" if they know they are just kicking them over the walls the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Im surprised nobody has mentioned crooked prison staff. Not to mention crooked cops. Where do you think all those seized goods go? Some corrupt cops will re-sell it to a street dealer; some will probably move it to mountjoy to be given to the prison population for a profit - some people see it as a correction facility; some see it as a prison. It would probably be the former trying to put a stop to it.

Overheal wrote: »
    Im surprised nobody has mentioned crooked prison staff. Not to mention crooked cops. Where do you think all those seized goods go? Some corrupt cops will re-sell it to a street dealer; some will probably move it to mountjoy to be given to the prison population for a profit - some people see it as a correction facility; some see it as a prison. It would probably be the former trying to put a stop to it.

I could see some people thinking that but do you really think its that way??

Prison Officers have to sit in a room off the main visits room watching cameras of visits in case anything gets passed to a prisoner. (I have seen this first hand)
    They have no interaction with either the prisoner or the visitor, they ring through to other officers to pick people up, so how would they profit from it??

The main way of getting drugs into a prison these days is in a tennis ball over the walls when its yard time.

jonny24ie wrote: »
    I could see some people thinking that but do you really think its that way??

Prison Officers have to sit in a room off the main visits room watching cameras of visits in case anything gets passed to a prisoner. (I have seen this first hand)
    They have no interaction with either the prisoner or the visitor, they ring through to other officers to pick people up, so how would they profit from it??

The main way of getting drugs into a prison these days is in a tennis ball over the walls when its yard time.

you can bribe people to turn a blind eye.

jonny24ie wrote: »
    They would have to kick 109 balls a day over the walls.
    Even at that, I posted above saying they get them at €2 a go. Thats shop prices. All the prisons have a central store that buy the balls in in bulk and distribute them around the prisons so they will get them at far cheaper than €2 a ball, I would imagine its around €1 a ball which would mean:

A: 218 balls a day get kicked over the wall.
    B: Prison Officers will simply say "no more balls" if they know they are just kicking them over the walls the whole time.
    Prison officers want them to have footballs as it makes their job easier, there is a new bag of footballs given out each day

they could just install a roof/netting over the yard to stop that kind of crap from going on.

Prison officers want them to have footballs as it makes their job easier, there is a new bag of footballs given out each day

But in each bag there is 20 Footballs, I work for the prison service so I know most of the workings etc.
    If one bag is given out a day then its 7300 footballs a year.
    That means a football by that reckoning is costing the IPS €11 each. As i said above someone is having you on.

they could just install a roof/netting over the yard to stop that kind of crap from going on.

They have it sealed like a cage but on the edges there is barbed wire so a few balls get burst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Are you taking the piss?

You honestly think John Gilligan "smuggled" a flat screen into prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

king-stew wrote: »
    i seen first hand people throwing tennis balls that were no doubt filled with coke etc into a certain prisons yard!
    New balls please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Lads what makes you think that the authorites want the prisons to be drug free? When a high percentage of inmates are there for drug related crime already and probably have an addiction to heroin, it makes more sense to just let things go on and keep everyone ticking over instaed of having a bunch of disgruntled strung out guys with very little to do bar dreaming up ways to cause trouble.
    I'd have no doubt that there are screws who take in the odd package and I know for a fact that people going in on remand shove whatever they can up their hole in order to make friends, pay off their own or a friend's/family members' drug debt or to use as barter.
    As regards money changing hands...it does so mostly on the outside. Family and friends will be approached and asked to settle drug debts incurred in prison with threats of violence against the inmate who incurred the debt. In some cases social welfare books or claims will be handed over as collateral or payment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Brint

Wertz wrote: »
    I'd have no doubt that there are screws who take in the odd package...

lol - you're so 'street'. Thug Life~

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

That's what they're called...prison guards if you so prefer.
    Having grown up on a council estate I'll stick to my shorthand version kthx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Ehm.... sources?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Was just thinking that while reading. A chickenwire-sized mesh would do the job, no more tennisballs landing in the yard. plus they could then collect all the ones that do get thrown over, and destroy/sell whats inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

TPD wrote: »
    Was just thinking that while reading. A chickenwire-sized mesh would do the job, no more tennisballs landing in the yard. plus they could then collect all the ones that do get thrown over, and destroy/sell whats inside.

I laughed at that. I'm sure you didn't mean to say sell?

Collie D wrote: »
    I laughed at that. I'm sure you didn't mean to say sell?

All this talk of crooked cops and 'screws', figured id preach to the masses. Havent the slightest notion what they do with it myself, dont really care.

Yeah...fair enough. Don't get me worng, I wasn't having a go at you...just thought it was funny ;)

Most prisons have this facility but in open parts (like beside the visits office or even beside the trades office or anywhere that prisoners are not allowed all the time) there is no mesh. If Prisoner A wants drugs and he know he will be scrubbing a wall in an open area he will arrange to have drugs thrown in there when he is working.

Youd think theyd just have mesh over all places the prisoners might be, no matter how long they'll be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

You don't get **** in prison for sex. If some body wants to **** you they will try and **** you. Giving it up just makes you bottom of the food chain. Besides, sex is not that major an issue in Irish prisons.

I'd seriously question the belief that it isn't prominent in Irish and British prisons when you take into account how very few male on male rapes are actually reported in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I've known a few P.Os over the years, one of the things that suprised me was that a few of them said that drugs was one of the main things that kept the 'joy peaceful and if they stemmed the supply then they could expect trouble.

Also heard that two P.Os once took a hiding for trying to intercept a delivery that came over the wall, dunno if thats true though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

As with everything in Ireland the prison system is backwards, there are more laws protecting the scum in there then the so called 'screws'. I know two prison officers and there the nicest people you could know, they arent crooked, but apparently alot of morons work as prison officers in the joy so who knows

Bambi wrote: »
    I've known a few P.Os over the years, one of the things that suprised me was that a few of them said that drugs was one of the main things that kept the 'joy peaceful and if they stemmed the supply then they could expect trouble.

Also heard that two P.Os once took a hiding for trying to intercept a delivery that came over the wall, dunno if thats true though.
    Yeah ive also heard that from one of them, that if something came over the wall when the prisoners were around you wouldnt go down and get it

Virgil° wrote: »
    Full of various things.

As has already been pointed out, those balls are coming out, not going in. If you have a look at the locks up around cross guns bridge, you can see loads of old-ish, half deflated ones in the canal. We used to get the newer ones out when we were kids and had no football.

Certain parts of the yard in the 'joy do have mesh wiring around them, but it's been known to have packages frozen in ice and lobbed over the wall so that they fall through the mesh when melted.

Also, I would in my bollix try to intercept a bag thrown over the wall if 2 or 3 inmates were scrambling after/counting on it.

Certain parts of the yard in the 'joy do have mesh wiring around them, but it's been known to have packages frozen in ice and lobbed over the wall so that they fall through the mesh when melted.

I'm missing something here. Why do that when lobbing them over the wall without ice would have the same (albeit much quicker) effect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Ice would add weight to the package. If the pacakge was too light, it may not have the velocity/momentum to get over the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I imagine with the help of the screws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

There are two ways to bring them in there.

1. From your guest
    2. From the guard

Why they are selling them? To get extra money and respect.

What for? You can buy alcohol, cigaretes and people for money. You have money, you're the boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

yeah I got my Internet smuggled into the prison with my budgie and big screen TV