Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After excercise I get wind and runs

• 18-04-2008 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭

Sometimes when I excercise aerobically (football, running etc), about 10 minutes after I get a really strong pain of wind in my stomach. I then get a bout of the runs and then after about an hour I am fine.

Any idea what this could be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Do ye eat crap food before it?

Jus make sure ye drink lots of water before, during, and after and ye should be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

I would have to go with your diet. Your body is having trouble getting enough energy during and after exercise.

What would eat/drink after exercise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Thats pretty common, and I'm not sure what causes it.

When I used to do lots of jogging a few year's ago we called it 'the runners trots' :p

A mate of mine could hardly run with us for more than about 15 minutes without breaking off into some near by bush's to dump a load, I felt sorry for the poor fecker.

I'd had something similar when coming home from the gym, but nothing too bad and it never caused me any concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

oh god ye! I know what you're talking about. I only ever get them though when I go back into pre season training, ie I'll have done no cardio for 10weeks and then I'll go straight into 110msprints. Usually they're gone by the 3rd session! Nothinh worse than legging it into a toilet when your pumping sweat:D

Girls I'm sorry for the graphic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I sometimes get full of wind when jogging, I put it down to jogging being similar to shaking a bottle of a fizzy drink..it wants out!
    Doesn't seem to happen unless I've been eating stuff that would make be a bit more gassy anyway..like cabbage, onions or beans for example.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

I was told it was because a reduction of blood flow to the digestive system but I don't know what causes that. Eating too soon to exercise or eating the wrong thing can do it. Wholemeal bread before a tough track session can set me going or a sports drink. Nerves can also do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Tingle wrote: »
    I was told it was because a reduction of blood flow to the digestive system but I don't know what causes that. .

When exercising you body sends as much of the blood it can spare to the muscles that need it , so your digestive system draws the short straw