Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would this disgust you, and should I tell her?

• 14-04-2008 5:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I was out having lunch with a good friend of mine yesterday. We had a nice afternoon chat, and just before we left she went to the bathroom. She was gone 5 mins, I got the bill and was ready to go, when she returned I said lets go… I can't remember the comment exactly, but it was something along the lines of "We'd better get out of here before they realise what I have just left them in the bathroom hahahaha"

Now please bear in mind that this girl is an extremely nice, well educated, well spoken, polite and pretty twenty something. However, all that aside, I just think that comments like this from Any girl, are completely unacceptable. It's one thing a bunch of lads joking about farts, and another what girls talk about on their own, but I just think that no woman should ever say anything toilet related to a guy – ever.

It really disgusted me. I pretended like I didn't hear it, and we left the café and went our separate ways. Now I just feel compelled to send her an email – cause as her friend I think I am obliged to tell her that a) no 'lady' should ever talk like this, and b) out of respect for me I never want to hear anything from her of that nature again.

What do you think? Do you agree that ladies should leave the toilet talk, in the toilet?

Do you think I should send her a quick email to her, honestly advising her that comments like that are un-becoming, and I really don't want to hear it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Honestly, let it slide. You're only likely to cause trouble (or possibly just majority embarrass her) by saying something outright. If she says it again, rather than ignoring it, playfully call her a filth bag or something. She'll get the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

why is it ok for "the lads" to joke about farts and such, but when it's the opposite sex, it's not?

a bit sexist tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

My god, get over it you absloute and total snob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Do you think I should send her a quick email to her, honestly advising her that comments like that are un-becoming, and I really don't want to hear it again.

If you friend who happens to be female said or did something which offended you and you considered ill mannered and rude and you don't wish for it to happen again then yes do address the matter with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

You are a sap if you think that is ok for guys to say that crap but are completely disgusted by a girl saying it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭RazielDoomgate

honestly you sound so stuck up your arse.. it was a joke. get over it buy yourself a sense of humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 suzy5978

oh my god!get real-i cant believe people think like this anymore.email her?are you mad?theres people killing each other day-and this is what your writing about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

Hello Mr Troll :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 suzy5978

sorry jus thought it was a bit mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

This does come across as a mite sexist to be honest. Why is it ok for lads to say this but not girls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

jesus christ, this is not the victorian era. women can and do talk about stuff like that. you're either disgusted by ANYONE talking like that, or its ok for everyone. none of this, its grand for the lads but its unbecoming of a lady. i bet if you emailed her she would tell you where to go with your backward sexist views.

personally, i wouldn't say stuff like that to anyone, male or female, but there are plenty of people who joke and talk about things like that all the time.

tbh, i think its time stuff like that became much less taboo. my granny died from an undiagnosed colon tumour, most likely because she was too embarrassed to talk about her toilet problems with the doctors. i'm not saying everyone should discuss their habits on a daily basis, but its a natural bodily function which she laughed about, and you've no right to email her and tell her what she can and can't say in front of you. i mean if it was a really racist comment or very offensive i'd mention it, but ffs it was just an off the cuff joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

calm down. you'd swear she did something utterly nasty like head butt someone working there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

In answer to your questions, no it wouldn't disgust me and I don't think you should tell her. Then again, you say she is a good friend so maybe she won't get upset over it.

As others have asked, why do you think it's okay for men to talk about things like that but not women? Are there things that men shouldn't talk about but that it's okay for women to talk about?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Let it slide this time. If it happens again, just tell her that you have no interest in her bowel movements and would prefer she kept that to herself. I don't think her being female should have any bearing on it though, it's not the 1950's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

I was out having lunch with a good friend of mine yesterday. We had a nice afternoon chat, and just before we left she went to the bathroom. She was gone 5 mins, I got the bill and was ready to go, when she returned I said lets go… I can't remember the comment exactly, but it was something along the lines of "We'd better get out of here before they realise what I have just left them in the bathroom hahahaha"

Now please bear in mind that this girl is an extremely nice, well educated, well spoken, polite and pretty twenty something. However, all that aside, I just think that comments like this from Any girl, are completely unacceptable. It's one thing a bunch of lads joking about farts, and another what girls talk about on their own, but I just think that no woman should ever say anything toilet related to a guy – ever.

It really disgusted me. I pretended like I didn't hear it, and we left the café and went our separate ways. Now I just feel compelled to send her an email – cause as her friend I think I am obliged to tell her that a) no 'lady' should ever talk like this, and b) out of respect for me I never want to hear anything from her of that nature again.

What do you think? Do you agree that ladies should leave the toilet talk, in the toilet?

I reckon that you are a prankster, with a very vivid imagination !!!. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Your attitude disgusts me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

People have to relax in their replies, he got offended by it and was looking for advice, Ill put my hand up and admit that I dont like hearing that talk from girls simply because I am not use to it.

OP,Id leave it but if she says it again start talking about your own bowel experiences maybe then she'll cop it and stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

If a girl I knew said something like this I'd probably just laugh uncontrollably. Maybe this is something you should try OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I want this girl.

I would marry her on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

wait...and this take you towrite a thread in PI?

man,be a man!its just a joke!maybe it is a bad one.or very bad one to you.but hey,it is not that completely unacceptable eh?

imagine if anyone do anything really rude to you......call garda?

lighten up man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Why not acquire a sense of humor? You're a miserable prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

snyper wrote: »
    I want this girl.

+1 lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Wow - the fact that you actually posted this to personal issues, :rolleyes:.

Never ever go see any american pie/Seth Rogen movie, you could possibly die of disgust.

actually no forget everything that is written here, please send her a very frank email - I look forward to reading about it when she presses 'forward' to all in mail box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭pebblesjm

farts..................poop...................wee wees................:D

it's funny you sad ass (hee hee...ASS:p)

and guess what....(to rip off fruice)...its a natural thing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I want this girl.

Make that +2, she sounds like a bit of a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭W1llz0rz

I want this girl.

+3, I think its brilliant. If my girfriend said something like that I'd high five her and then laugh my ass off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Right, some points.

1. Leave the modding to the mods. No more comments on trolling etc.

2. Helpful comments only please.

My two cents: Such talk is unacceptable from anyone in civilised company, especially at a dinner situation. Toilet humour is for between friends, in informal settings. It has nothing to do with being male or female. I wouldn't bother telling her this, as it would be embarassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

wagon: That is OTT personal abuse, infracted

PebblesJM: read the charter, no more posting like this.

Generally keep it helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

Absolutely - not to do so is just more of the PC rubbish gone mad. That kind of behaviour just should not be tolerated - even in this uncivilised age. She's probably some kind of women's libber type who wants to burn her bra and stop shaving her legs.

Are you sure that she's not a lesbian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

"We'd better get out of here before they realise what I have just left them in the bathroom hahahaha"
    She could have left them a tip? You're jumping to conclusions OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

I thought you were gonna say she ran out on the bill or something.

Maybe you didn't like what she said but you can't control other people and tell them what not to say. E mailing her about it would be ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

My god, get over it you absloute and total snob

The OP is hardly going to agree with someone called arse ..biscuits.

2 things are a must in life.
    1/ no one wants to see a man naked.!
    2/ no one wants to think about women doing yukky stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Giblets1067

God, I envy you if this is the biggest thing you have to get worked up over. You are completely over reacting here. Fine if she says something like it again as other posters have said you could playfully give her the hint that you don't want to here it but omg thinking of emailing her?! You are going to come across as such a tw*t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I doubt she would appreciate your attitude about it either dude.

Might i suggest you remember that the lass is entitled to say what she wants to who she wants?

No offence, but whenever i hear someone say "i don't like hearing that" or "don't talk to me about x,y or z" they are invariably people that would never like to begin with, so i guess my opinion is biased in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Did you find out what she left for them?
    Then we might understand your disgust better!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I think we can safely assume that it was a freshly crimped arse candle.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

For a minute there, I thought I was in AH.

Would this disgust me? No. I might be a little surprised at the subject matter, but it would take something a bit stronger to disgust me.

Should you tell her? Well, no. I wouldnt think so. It was an off the cuff remark. She obviously felt she knew you well enough to think you could take it in the right way.

Do as she did, I reckon. Take life less seriously, and leave the whole issue behind you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

OP the 18th Century is calling you, you left your Epsom salts behind.

I just realised you spent 24hours thinking about your friend having a shit, then shared it with us. You're either coprophagic or a hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

I always thought ladies left rose petals in the toilet bowel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pat McGhee

I want this girl.

+ 4! And I'm a GIRL!!!!!! :D:D:D Straight too, I might add. ;)

But on a serious note, OP, it was a 21st century joke from a 21st century female, you need to learn to get with the times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭rohe

i think you should grow up a bit

theres worse things in life to worry about!!!!!

it's not as if she killed anyone, it was a joke,get a sense of humour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

i would never start a thread about it but that kind of comment would throw me a little. Disgust is too strong a word but it'd be a bit odd hearing that kind of comment from a girl. Imo, I find that girls who make comments like this, act laddish are trying too hard to be one of the lads. Call me sexist if you want but crude humour is far more of a guy thing than a girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Perhaps she was a little embarrassed for being gone too long and it was a bit obvious what it was for. She may have just been breaking the ice.
    Other than that, good luck when you find the Woman of your dreams and find out she is a mere mortal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

WindSock wrote: »
    Perhaps she was a little embarrassed for being gone too long and it was a bit obvious what it was for. She may have just been breaking the ice.
    Other than that, good luck when you find the Woman of your dreams and she leaves skidmarks in your bowl.
    Fixed that one for you Windsock.

OP I think you're hugely over-reacting. I would've split myself laughing. Toilet humour is funny from both sexes provided it's relatively rare. It loses all its wit if it's overused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Pat McGhee wrote: »
    + 4! And I'm a GIRL!!!!!! :D:D:D Straight too, I might add. ;)

But on a serious note, OP, it was a 21st century joke from a 21st century female, you need to learn to get with the times!

What are you doing next friday?.

Your invitation for you to marry me is in the post.

I come from good stock and i got LAND. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

i dont see what you have to complain about. some poor restaurant worker, most likely only earning minimum wage, had to go in there after your mate had opened her lunch box only to see a big meaty chud staring them back in the face. that poor bast*rd probably already has a hard enough time trying to makes ends meet as it is, without the added stress of having to wrestle a brown corn-belly snake. leaving a hot fudge sundae for someone else to clean up is bad enough, but boasting about it afterwards? now thats just unfair. she might as well have just dropped her pants and laid a turd right on that poor workers head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

if id been there with that girl i would have laughed alot and put my hand up for a high 5. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 ulichmagee

OP get with it man she sound like a fun girl !! if my girl said that i would break my heart laughing !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

It's one thing a bunch of lads joking about farts, and another what girls talk about on their own, but I just think that no woman should ever say anything toilet related to a guy – ever.

you need to take a chill pill and stop being so sexist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

ulichmagee and patmcghee, you're not by any chance related to Bob McGee? There're a few McGees up my way.....

OP, you should tell your friend how disgusted you are with her. That sort of thing shouldn't go on in this age of mobile phones.