Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just benched body weight

• 14-04-2008 5:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭

I had been struggling with my bench press for the last 5 years and I eventually gave up on it. I could never push any kind of weight with it unlike all the other big lifts.

Read a thread here about the rotator cuff muscle and within a month of training it I've gone from 60KG to 75Kg and the sky is the limit now. I was always been held back by failure of this tiny little muscle but no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Phaetonman wrote: »
    I had been struggling with my bench press for the last 5 years and I eventually gave up on it. I could never push any kind of weight with it unlike all the other big lifts.

Read a thread here about the rotator cuff muscle and within a month of training it I've gone from 60KG to 75Kg and the sky is the limit now. I was always been held back by failure of this tiny little muscle but no more.

congrat's ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭bwardrop

Congratulations dude!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Fair play, up to 1.5x now.

Keeping my shoulders (scapulas) healthy has made a big difference to all my pressing, no more pain at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Reyman

Interesting progress Phaetonman - I think you're referring to Eric Cressey's article on training the rotators, which one of the lads (or ladies) referenced here, just a while back.

I followed his recommendations too and found the results very good in terms of improved lifting 'stability'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭DILLIGAF

interesting stuff. Can anyone link to the thread/article mentioned by the OP? What exactly does this stop? Will it stop "dead arm" or just muscle failure from happening so quick? I'm kind of stuck at 60KG too. Decline is a lot easier and I might be able to up the ante there, but my flat out benchpress is kind of depressing as I can pile on weight for things like cable pulls and flys etc. But the benchpress is a downer sometimes! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Awesome work OP. :)

I wish my bench would start to move, even a little bit, it's been the same now for months!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Phaetonman

DILLIGAF wrote: »
    interesting stuff. Can anyone link to the thread/article mentioned by the OP? What exactly does this stop? Will it stop "dead arm" or just muscle failure from happening so quick? I'm kind of stuck at 60KG too. Decline is a lot easier and I might be able to up the ante there, but my flat out benchpress is kind of depressing as I can pile on weight for things like cable pulls and flys etc. But the benchpress is a downer sometimes! :D

It was the same for me. I just wasnt' able to push it and I never got much of a burn in my arms or chest. The failure would come on so soon as well which made it really difficult to judge without a spotter. Not too sure where the article is but I read a few after doing a bit of googling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Mind your shoulders folks, hurt mine benching 3 weeks ago and I can barely do a press up now without pain.

Anyone link to the article.

Congrats OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Reyman

I think this is the article. It tackles the external rotators thoroughly.

It does say that you should cease all shoulder work while doing the programme and avoid doing the programme before bench work because of injury possibility due to tired stabilising muscles .
    - ref. Eric Cressey:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I think the attached doc is the one youse are talking about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

You ABSOLUTELY need to make sure you're squeezing your shoulder blades together while your on the bench or you will hurt your shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Vegeta wrote: »
    Mind your shoulders folks, hurt mine benching 3 weeks ago and I can barely do a press up now without pain.

Anyone link to the article.

Congrats OP

How did you injure yourself Vegeta? Too much weight, slip in form?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Hanley wrote: »
    You ABSOLUTELY need to make sure you're squeezing your shoulder blades together while your on the bench or you will hurt your shoulders.

Never knew that..AND i've a shoulder injury!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭TKD SC

Reyman wrote: »
    I think this is the article. It tackles the external rotators thoroughly.

It does say that you should cease all shoulder work while doing the programme and avoid doing the programme before bench work because of injury possibility due to tired stabilising muscles .
    - ref. Eric Cressey:

Re the article, for the barbell cuban press, the first phase of it is an upright row to 2" below cavicle. I've read though in a few of his other articles how he's very much against upright rows and thinks they're the cause of many shoulder problems. Therefore, I'm just wondering why there's an upright row element included in this attached workout if he's so anti them? Or am I missing something here??

I've a funny thing going on with my rotator cuff and will give Creasy's exercises a go and see if helps, but just unsure now about this cuban press?

Thanks,

Simon

Degsy wrote: »
    Never knew that..AND i've a shoulder injury!

Try this...

-Put your arms straight out in front of you parallel to the ground
    -Reach as far forward as possible
    -Imagine trying to hold a coin between your shoulder blades (just doing this will see a huge reduction in the ROM of the press)
    -"lock" your shoulders in by trying to pull your shoulder blades down towards you hips with your lats

It might take a while to figure it out, but it will give you a rock solid base to press off once you get it down.

EDIT: Should also add, when you reach as far forward as possible, your hands will probably be around neck level. When you lock you shoulders into the "safe" position, your hands will be around or just below nipple level. Right below that point is the sort of area you want to be touching the bar.

TKD SC wrote: »

Re the article, for the barbell cuban press, the first phase of it is an upright row to 2" below cavicle. I've read though in a few of his other articles how he's very much against upright rows and thinks they're the cause of many shoulder problems. Therefore, I'm just wondering why there's an upright row element included in this attached workout if he's so anti them? Or am I missing something here??

I've a funny thing going on with my rotator cuff and will give Creasy's exercises a go and see if helps, but just unsure now about this cuban press?

Thanks,

Simon

Next time you're in the gym have a look for people doing up right rows. They normal have quite a narrow grip and are horsing the weight up. It's a recipe for shoulder impingement.

Watch how the cuban press is done.... a slow controlled movement with a shoulder width (ish) grip. Since you're pulling it up slowly you'll find the point where you'll naturally stop, this is when you reverse curl it and finish with a press. Chances are this natural stopping point is alot lower than you see more peopl upright row to.

They're really completely different exercises.

Next time you're in the gym have a look for people doing up right rows. They normal have quite a narrow grip and are horsing the weight up. It's a recipe for shoulder impingement.

Watch how the cuban press is done.... a slow controlled movement with a shoulder width (ish) grip. Since you're pulling it up slowly you'll find the point where you'll naturally stop, this is when you reverse curl it and finish with a press. Chances are this natural stopping point is alot lower than you see more peopl upright row to.

They're really completely different exercises.

Makes perfect sense! Thanks Hanley.

celestial wrote: »
    How did you injure yourself Vegeta? Too much weight, slip in form?

I was benching for reps of 5-6 so it wasn't a weight I had never lifted.

I think I was tired and used sloppy form to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Try this...

-Imagine trying to hold a coin between your shoulder blades (just doing this will see a huge reduction in the ROM of the press)
    -"lock" your shoulders in by trying to pull your shoulder blades down towards you hips with your lats

It might take a while to figure it out, but it will give you a rock solid base to press off once you get it down.

EDIT: Should also add, when you reach as far forward as possible, your hands will probably be around neck level. When you lock you shoulders into the "safe" position, your hands will be around or just below nipple level. Right below that point is the sort of area you want to be touching the bar.
    That sounds like a good exercise. I must give that a go when I get home this evening. I find with bench pressing that once my arms start to get tired, they get tired very quickly.

It's not really an exercise per se... Just a drill to teach you how to get into the proper position to press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

It's not really an exercise per se... Just a drill to teach you how to get into the proper position to press.
    Sorry, exercise may have been the wrong word :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Thanks Hanley, I'll have to try this myself - I too suffer from not making any progress with my barbell bench press, either incline or flat. I've been working out for months now and haven't moved from 60kg in months, whereas everywhere else except my chest and shoulders have increased quite considerably. Even my dumbell chest press is improving!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Try this...

Sounds good. I'm looking forward to trying this out. Thanks.

Hey folks

so I tried Hanley's technique last night with just the bar and it definitely does take a lot of pressure off the shoulders

I have a question though H, my lower back was arching slightly in the effort to keep the shoulder blades pinned together. Is this ok, bad, or do I need more practice at keeping shoulder blades pulled in tight and keeping flat on the bench?

Your lower back should naturally arch somewhat. Think of the shape of your spine. An elongated S. It's perfectly ok.

If you're making a specific effort to arch to decrease ROM and get better leg drive the majority of the arching should come from your upper back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭aye

Hey folks

so I tried Hanley's technique last night with just the bar and it definitely does take a lot of pressure off the shoulders

I have a question though H, my lower back was arching slightly in the effort to keep the shoulder blades pinned together. Is this ok, bad, or do I need more practice at keeping shoulder blades pulled in tight and keeping flat on the bench?

are your knees below the level of your hips?
    this would cause your lower back to arch more.
    try putting your feet on a step when you are benching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Saabdub

I developed nagging shoulder pain a couple of years back:(. It held back my bench for a long time. I think it was caused by unequal development. Working on the big muscles and not paying enough attention to the small ones. I worked on my rotator cuffs and general shoulder strength for a good while. Finally I got a shoulder support with magnets that was recommended by a pharmacist. I was very sceptical but after about a month of wearing it in the evening and at night (also doing the exercises) my shoulder improved and I started to make progress again. I have no idea how it works (it may just be a placebo). I've got one for my aching wrists that seems to help as well.

Saabdub

Yeah my shoulder is fcuked

about 4 years ago at a kick boxing competition I threw a left hook and so did my opponent. He hit me in the left bi-cep and damaged my left shoulder

Never went to physio then. What a bloody fool I was.

It has always been weaker since. I am pathetic at over head pressing, seriously really really bad.

If I lift a dumbell above my head my shoulder may click and I lose all power in it. It wasn't sore just uncomfortable

This was finally going away over the course of the last year from weight training and it was getting better and better.

2 weeks ago I hurt it benching. I can lateral raise fine but any over head press or benching type movement is painful/uncomfortable.

I have gone to the physio twice in the last 2 weeks and it has helped. I no longer have constant pain there.

Its still wrecked though, I was using a 5kg plate last night and pressing it above my head just to see how it is. My shoulder is grinding and clicking now which is slightly painful and very weird feeling.

I currently have that sh1tty feeling that this may never get better. General feeling sorry for myself type day.

So moral of the story, save your shoulders and get help if you injure yourself.

I currently have that sh1tty feeling that this may never get better. General feeling sorry for myself type day.

Know exactly how you feel dude. Oh, to be injury free...

TKD SC wrote: »
    Know exactly how you feel dude. Oh, to be injury free...

yeah reading the rotator cuff thread it seems you have very similar symptoms to me.

It literally feels like a muscle or tendon is being caught on something in the shoulder. When I lift a weight above my head or at a certain angle it pops over on the way up and then back on the way down.

More work needed on it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭aye

Check out this crazy move for a rotator cuff.

"

Think small muscles can’t move big weights? The rotator cuff muscles in your shoulders
    may not be as noticeable as a massive set of cannonball delts, but they’re just as important for hoisting heavy loads on the bench or overhead press. To help them perform at their peak, warm them up before your next chest or shoulder workout with this exercise from Keith Scott, C.S.C.S., a strength coach in Medford, N.J.

PICK UP A SMALL MEDICINE BALL (two to four pounds), and press it into a wall in front of you with one hand (your arm should be straight, as if you were motioning for someone to stop). Do not lean forward and rest your weight against the wall.

BEGIN TRACING THE ALPHABET AGAINST THE WALL with the ball, rolling it around to form each letter. Press hard—the more pressure you use, the more your rotator cuff will be activated. When you’ve finished making all the letters, switch arms and repeat. Repeat once on both arms, and then begin your workout.

Why It Works:
    “Your rotator cuff keeps your shoulder joint safely in the right position while you move it,” says Keith Scott, C.S.C.S., who also specializes in preventing and treating injuries. “By firing it up prior to a big lift, you instantly make your shoulder more stable and therefore increase its ability to handle more load. Heavier weights will now feel easier.”

"
    http://www.mensfitness.com/Cuff_Exercise/fitness/strength_training/196
    you'd get some odd looks in the gym.

anyone heard of this before?