Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shower every day

• 11-04-2008 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

My gf gives me grief if I do not take a shower every day.
    Personally every 2nd day is enough for me.

Growing up, Saturday was bath-night. Were we stinky kids by Friday?... I don't think so. (I'm not suggesting that I go back to that regime btw).

Of course we're one of the first generations who've had the luxury to be able to take a shower every day... does that mean that 40/50 years ago, people constantly walked around reeking?... I suggest not.

IMHO the scent of a woman's body is for me very sexy. About 1000 times more arousing than the iron smell of deodorant.

But my gf is not someone who can appreciate this. Personally I would prefer if she jumped in the sack the odd night without taking a shower beforehand.

If we lived somewhere hot, like California for example, I could understand falling for the "must have a shower every day" mentality. But during the Irish winter?...hmmm.

So a relatively minor complaint in the scheme of things. Probably should just keep shtum and toe the line I suppose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭eve

First, most of us had the once a week bath night regime but, IMHO, bodies go through changes at puberty that makes us smell more. This is to get interest from the opposite sex for obvious biological reasons.

On the 40/50 years ago thing, I think that there were more prevalant smells around at the time. Most houses had an open fire with the smell that goes with that. There were other things around to mask the smell of an individual.

Personally I have to have a shower every day. If I didn't have one before going to work, for example, I would feel very conscious of it on the train, in the office, etc. I would be afraid that I wouldn't smell 'clean' and that my body would have an odour. I would also be unwilling to sit close to friends or family for the same reason.

As to your gf giving you grief about it, that's a personal thing between you two. Maybe a compromise where you have a shower every day and a half? ie have a shower this morning, one tomorrow evening and one again Tuesday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

I happen to think taking a shower is one of life's great pleasures.

When I get out of bed on a weekday morning, I look forward to a shower, especially when it is cold day, a nice warm shower to get you started... HELL YEAH

Then at night, if I've had a hard day nothing is better than a quick shower to get the wind down to bed time away. But each to their own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭Clink

It also depends on your level of activity all day, if you're in a desk job you're less likey to stink than someone doing physical labour obviously. 40/ 50 years ago there wasn't the level of central heating and all that we have today so now we're more likely to be sweaty and stinky. Maybe if your gf is telling you to shower it's for a reason?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭aoife2k

I'm with the OP...i take a shower every 2nd day. Firstly, it's bad for your hair and skin to shower every day. Your hair has natural oils in it to keep it healthy, washing these out everday and replacing them with heat from hairdryer/straightener/curling iron...gives me the shivers to think people would do that to their hair most days.

Anyway, like one of the other posters said, it depends on what your doing. If you're having a good long jog every evening or your work involves getting dirty/dusty e.g builder then yeah, have a shower but if you just do normal everyday things I don't see the need to shower everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Grawns

It is important to clean your bits everyday though! I am a big fan of baby wipes. I shower every couple of days, my partner everyday ( sometimes twice). He slags me about it but he knows I'm not stinky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Shower every day tbh, at least once.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Every second day is fine, give her grief for showering every day. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Ah no you have to shower everyday, especially if you have an intimate relationship,

I wouldnt be happy about something dirty coming near me in fairness as I wouldn't like my OH to say there was a smell off me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 keimear

The ladies who are saying they shower every couple of days...fair enough.

But I take it you would shower every day during your period?!

Just curious...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

How would someone be "dirty" after a day without a shower though? It seems weird to me that she'd be giving out about that, you're hardly reeking after 24 hours like. If it was the other way around I'd be kinda upset if my bf had issues with me not showering religiously every day. Some days you're tired, off work, etc etc. Seems a bit OTT to me anyway, unless you smell incredibly bad OP after 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭conbob

your gf tells you when to shower?? (whipp-ishhhhh)

• I don't think it's essential to shower every day. I usually shower every other day because it's a hassle to put the immersion on every night and my flatmate showers in the morning and uses all the water. I know people who only shower 2-3 times a week because their hair doesn't get greasy. How would you stink if you don't shower for one day? You can use deodorant etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I feel genuine shame for fellow Irish males who dont shower everyday, yes lads you stink, you might not think you do, but you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

shower together, that way she gets her way in keeping you clean and you would have something to look forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

aoife2k wrote: »
    I'm with the OP...i take a shower every 2nd day. Firstly, it's bad for your hair and skin to shower every day. Your hair has natural oils in it to keep it healthy, washing these out everday and replacing them with heat from hairdryer/straightener/curling iron...gives me the shivers to think people would do that to their hair most days.

Anyway, like one of the other posters said, it depends on what your doing. If you're having a good long jog every evening or your work involves getting dirty/dusty e.g builder then yeah, have a shower but if you just do normal everyday things I don't see the need to shower everyday.

+1. Depending on my level of activity I often leave showering to every other day or if I'm very active it could be twice a day.

Love Cremo's idea. I'd consider it one of my fantasies tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

I shower when i get out of bed, its just not keeping fresh and clean but it wakes you from your doziness better then any cup of coffee!

also if you are going out in the evening time its always nice to be fresh again.

Shower every day FTW, you do stink if you dont, you just dont realise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

It's absolutely fine not to shower every day, unless you have a BO problem and that is what your girlfriend is suggesting.

As was said before, it is actually much better for both your skin and your hair if you don't shower constantly because it dries out the skin and strips the hair of natural oils.

Obviously if you have been doing a lot of physical activity then you probably should shower for the sake of others around you.

I find that people who do shower every day without fail will always find it weird and dirty if you don't. I used to shower everyday and really thought it was awful if somebody else didn't. It seemed so unclean. But now that I live in a horribe house with a disgusting shower, I have gotten used to showering every second or third day and its fine. As long as you have a good wash in the morning you'll be fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

If I dont get to shower I at least wash under my arms and my private areas. It would be very inconsiderate to my boyfriend if I didn't and I expect the same treatment from him. Especially re washing his bum and bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I'm with your gf on this. I had a bf who did not shower every day and it was DISGUSTING when he expected me to get up close and personal with him. Maybe you smell worse than you realise? Just shower! It only takes 5 mins. Otherwise don't expect any oral!:D

btw confronting someone about their personal hygeine is not an easy thing to do, you must smell bad if she has been driven to nag you about it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Well of course you should shower before that but unless you are very lucky you won't be getting that every day. :)

What if it's unexpected? Don't you want to be prepared? Nothing worse than getting down there and finding the man smells of dirty bum and c**k.

What if it's unexpected?

'Sorry honey, you'll have to wait until I shower tomorrow. You see I have not showered in almost a day and am clearly filthy.'

:-)

Have some pride men! Do you want the woman to be gagging all the way through? How would you like it if she smelt like a fish market on a hot summer's day?

There is nothing sexier than a freshly showered man who has just splashed on some aftershave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

You can tell her she should be conserving water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

I feel genuine shame for fellow Irish males who dont shower everyday, yes lads you stink, you might not think you do, but you do.

BS and you're... *checks what forum he's in* ah.. you're mistaken, and circumstantially not about to be called an idiot.

Every second day suffices, obviously with the exception of after exercise/ a night out etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Monkey61 wrote: »
    It's absolutely fine not to shower every day, unless you have a BO problem and that is what your girlfriend is suggesting.

Exactly what I was thinking. If she's geting on to you about this then it is obviously very noticable that you haven't showered. Would you still wash your face, underarms and dangly bits? You can probably be pretty sure that those people who lived 40 or 50 years ago did at least that.

OP, you also said how you prefer the smell of a woman over the smell of deodorant. Do you use deodorant yourself? If not, and if you're still unwilling to shower every day, perhaps you should consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

Cremo wrote: »
    shower together, that way she gets her way in keeping you clean and you would have something to look forward to.
    I was just about to say it. This will solve all your problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I am an everyday Gal myself, twice a day depending on whether I have been in the gym or not. Like a long bath occassionally too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Shower every day that im gonna be around herself and so should anyone. I do a fair bit of mountain/wilds based sports so on those trips showers are a bit hard to come by.
    For those who are suggesting you shower with your other half every time....ha ha ha i can only presume ye have never lived with a s.o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Mr.S wrote: »
    what about showering a night?

I SUCK at getting up early, so if i have to get up at like 8am, i would shower/shave the night before, before bed - the o.h thought this was stupid as i would get "dirty" during the night :confused:

usally every 2 days personally.
    you sweat more during the night than at any other time bar exercising.

Wear anti persp in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Showering everyday?

I can barely remember to do it every two days. Besides, isn't showering daily supposed to be bad for your skin?

Wasting water with this daily nonsense! Especially those two shower a day folk. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Some guys sweat more than others and need a shower more often. Personally I like my boyfriend to shower at least every two days and once a day is optimal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

OP have you heard of the Three S's?

Shower, Sh1t, Shave. This should be done every Day (Not the shave with everyone).

If she complains about it then why dont you change it? Personal Hygiene is very Important!

I didnt have a shower today (for the first time in about 9 months!) and I feel like sh1t. I dont see how someone can go a day or more without a shower!!!!

OP have you heard of the Three S's?

Shower, Sh1t, Shave. This should be done every Day (Not the shower with everyone).

If she complains about it then why dont you change it? Personal Hygiene is very Important!

I didnt have a shave today (for the first time in about 9 months!) and I feel like sh1t. I dont see how someone can go a day or more without a shave!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Your user name say's it all about you, the only way i would not shower everyday is when im sick and feeling sorry for myself, and dont even leave my bed-every 2nd day means your going to be smelly, i bet people you work with think of you as the smelly 1, they wont tell you this but will talk amongst themselves, anyway smell ya later, wash your self!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Personally I shower every day. I find I need it to wake myself up properly. It also makes shaving easier. I don't tend to use much deoderant/aftershave. I'm definitely not one of those people who reckon that emptying half a can of Lynx under each armpit constitutes cleanliness :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

As an aussie I would be instantly repulsed by anyone who said they dont shower every day.
    I know its a VERY different climate over here, but its very ingrained in me. I am actually quite shocked by how many people admit to it here.
    This is in a normal environment though, camping/hiking etc would obviously be different.
    Some of you seriously only had baths once a week as kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Jumpy wrote: »
    Some of you seriously only had baths once a week as kids?
    I can't speak for anyone else here but yes, Sunday night was bath night when I was a kid. You got scrubbed in preparation for school on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

I don't live with my bf but I do hate when he hasn't had a shower... it's not that he smells bad he just smells kinda "stale" - esp down below where there's generally more hair, more sweat glands and it gets warmer... it's not pleasant if things turn intimate. A fresh clean smell is much much nicer.

And I think if you're the kind of person who wears football jerseys, 2 showers a day is really necessary!! The synthetic material just makes guys seem to a) sweat more and b) it smells rank when it dries. Thankfully my bf doesn't wear them that often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

look, if she's giving you grief, its probably because she's noticed you tend to smell a bit.

you probably don't smell all the time, but just because you never notice it, doesn't mean other people don't, your gf especially because she has intimate contact with you.

frequency of showers wouldn't bother me, as long as things weren't whiffy when getting it on, that would be a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuggggge turn off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I have a shower every 2-3 days, unless I have been to the gym. The amount of rubbish I have read on here is amazing. You do not smell if you do not shower for a day. I have not had a shower since thursday, and have just asked my gf whether she thinks I smell, and she said "Yes, nicely". I should point out that I do not wear deoderant unless I am going out as I find if you put it on and do not shower the deoderant itself goes off and causes more odour.

Sweat itself does not smell. What you see on Deoderant adverts is just ridiculous. Sweat only starts to smell after it has gone off, which can be anything from 3 hours to a couple of days.

I have personally been in the same set of clothes, only changing boxers and socks everyday for 5 days, without having access to a shower, doing all physical work, and can tell you that while you do smell a bit, how smelly you get does not increase exponentially for each day, like some people would have you believe. If humans really needed to shower everyday to stop them getting very smelly, the human race would have become extinct centuries ago.

If my gf is going to give me oral, then I will make sure I have showered, but as someone said that does not happen everyday.

While some animals do wash them selves: cats, some birds etc. Most do not. Does your dog smell? Ours doesnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I shower every second day, granted same as other people, if I've been exercising/cleaning etc I'll have another one. But I don't see an issue with every second day - once you're clean/unsmelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

We all wash (bath or shower) every day in our house, yes growing up it was a once a week affair (yuk) when I think of it now. So thats why I make sure I shower every day, it only takes 5 mins and you feel great after it! I think if you are being intimate with someone its nice to be clean for them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

I shower every day. Think showering even second day is pretty disgusting imho.

I get up, shower, dress commute to college, commute home, changed for work, goto work, work, drive back home, sleep and NOT get up the following morning and have a shower? Eh, no. Far to much stuff going on during day. I am healthy and have no BO problems, but going a day without a shower in a busy lifestyle would make me feel "unfresh" and dirty, even if I wasn't.

Shower every day ftw!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 monters

haha i remember dreading the sunday nyt bath when i was younger....always meant getting a comb scraped through my hair....being freeeeeezing when you got outa the hot water...and school the next day!!!:mad::mad::mad:

everydays a shower day for me know thought!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

My gf gives me grief if I do not take a shower every day.
    Personally every 2nd day is enough for me.

If your GF is giving you grief about it she has an issue with it and whilst you may think that not washing very day is acceptable then have a bit of respect for your other half, no woman wants to get jiggy with someone who smells.
    IdontSmell wrote: »
    If my gf is going to give me oral, then I will make sure I have showered, but as someone said that does not happen everyday.

What, her giving you oral? I bet it doesn't, not when any foreplay would have to go to amber alert for you to have a shower in order for her to go down on you. I'm sure it's all planned with military precision.:rolleyes:

Some of the posts above amaze me.There is NO excuse for not washing everyday. If you are in a relationship or not, have some respect for yourself and your parter and ffs keep clean, this horse-sh1t of people saying "but I'm not dirty" is utter codswallop, you should WANT to shower every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Miss Fluff it's your attitude that's utter codswallop. You can't generalise for the entire population. It depends on the person and their circumstances. For me it would probably be every second day in cold Winter weather unless I'm doing something physical. In hot Summer weather pretty much every day. I used to live with a guy who showered twice a day no matter what he'd been doing. A few times I saw him have a shower late at night, go to bed then get up and have another shower first thing. What was he washing ffs? The dirt off the bed? That's just overkill and is unnecessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Miss Fluff it's your attitude that's utter codswallop.

Each to their own sweetie, personally a cock full of day old cheese wouldn't do it for me but there you go, people have different standards I guess.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I shower every day. Don't know how I got away with the "shower once a week" during school :eek: cos I sweat a lot. Meh, I like the coldness. I heat up, I sweat.

On the flipside, not everyone sweats a lot, thus not everyone needs to shower everyday.