Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed Dating experiences

• 09-04-2008 10:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭

Myself and four friends shall have our first speed dating experiences tonight!

Ive had a look round boards for more information but cant really find much.
    Im kinda crapping myself here.

Also it appears there have been no shortage of men booking, its been harder to find the women!

Anyway desparate times call for deparate measures etc... !!!

Any tips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Disco Stu

Sure it's a bit of fun really, went along myself once (mate dropped out at last minute) and was pretty nervous, but after the first one or two it's alright...!

Just go along and have a laugh.... one thing I'd say though is try not to hang around in your group of 4 or 5 as that might be a little intimidating to the others!! And if you can don't sit in a row with your friends because by the time they get to the last one of you they'll have all the info on your little group!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

BeatNikDub wrote: »
    Myself and four friends shall have our first speed dating experiences tonight!

Ive had a look round boards for more information but cant really find much.
    Im kinda crapping myself here.

Also it appears there have been no shortage of men booking, its been harder to find the women!

Anyway desparate times call for deparate measures etc... !!!

Any tips?

Never dont it I am shy enough without going through that experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Never done it and doubt I would really but I'd say it's good craic to go along with friends. Probably depends on the people organising it too, if they're good at making everyone feel at ease and just have a laugh.

Surprised you said there's a shortage of women, I remember hearing a couple of years ago that it was the complete opposite.

I'd love to do it.
    Not with the expectation of meeting anyone....I just think it would be great craic to chat to all sorts.
    It is such a rip off though....isn't it like 50 quid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I think that's a marketing gimmick. They tell us men all the female positions are booked out and they tell the women all the male positions are booked out.

I've done it a few times over the years... Most people seem to just go along for the laugh, so I don't know if you should expect much out of it. Monkeyfudge is an acquired taste anyway.. so 3 minutes is never enough. My opening question is usually asking what their favourite animal is and then sulking for the next 3 minutes if they don't say monkey.

I've found it is handy if I want to get through a whole months worth of rejections in one evening though... I've got quotas to hit after all.

My opening question is usually asking what their favourite animal is and then sulking for the next 3 minutes if they don't say monkey.

I've found it is handy if I want to get through a whole months worth of rejections in evening though... I've got quotas to hit after all.

Ha ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭BeatNikDub

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I'd love to do it.
    Not with the expectation of meeting anyone....I just think it would be great craic to chat to all sorts.
    It is such a rip off though....isn't it like 50 quid?

Its 30 euro.

I just hope its worth it - its this or kittens man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭monicafussy

Went last month nerve wracking at first but so much fun ,met a lot of nice guys but no love connections so I get another nite free

Its 30 euro.

I just hope its worth it - its this or kittens man.

I can't resist kittens.....I actually tried to blackmail my friend into contacting a kitten holder on an online dating thing. He wasn't in my aera, and I didn't think it was wise to let that one get away!

30 is grand...I've heard of it costing 50.
    Make sure and get back and tell us what you thought.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

I did it about 2 years ago. gas craic it was. but definitley didnt meet anyone for a potential date. . . why. . . cause all the blokes were fuppin jarred!!!! and I'm still single hehehe:D

Good luck BeatNikDub. lols. :D

Cripes!!

It was quite an experience! Two lads didnt turn up so you ended up sitting on your own a bit.

The age group was wrong. Im almost 27 so went for the 26-35 agegroup thinking people wouldnt be there just to be messing, plus no interest in a 21 or 22 year old really.

Anyway the guys were DEADLY serious about it all. One of them asked my friend her salary. Alot of them treated it like an interview and there wasnt much craic at all really. In my opinion its the first time you meet someone so keep it casual, have a bit of laugh and see if theres a spark.
    It was all a bit too serious for my liking really.

No matches for me, I do get a free go which I may use in a couple of months in a different age group when I recover!

Seriously though, Im still in shock, really the strangest evening I have had in quite a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

Never tried it personally, but a few friends did last year. They were just going "for the laugh" (I know they were secretly on the lookout)

Just think of it this way, everyone who's there signed up for a reason.

Don't be nervous, just have fun :D (Easier said than done, I know)

Aww no way! Sorry it didn't work out BeatNikDub but sure at least you gave it a go, ya never know it might be better if you use your free go at some stage.

Anyway the guys were DEADLY serious about it all. One of them asked my friend her salary. Alot of them treated it like an interview and there wasnt much craic at all really.

Talk about socially repellant!
    Were they much over 26? and was their at least some eye candy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭aye

Cripes!!

Anyway the guys were DEADLY serious about it all. One of them asked my friend her salary. Alot of them treated it like an interview and there wasnt much craic at all really.

did your friend tell him where to go?
    why would her salary matter?
    why would you ask it?

oh dear.

aye wrote: »
    why would you ask it?

oh dear.

Because you've give up on lust and look at romance as an economic acquisition.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Talk about socially repellant!
    Were they much over 26? and was their at least some eye candy?

They were all from about 35-40.

No eye candy. :(

why would you ask it?

oh dear.

Im pretty sure she did, she was not impressed at all!

There were a couple of sound blokes to be honest, just the age group was completely wrong.
    Only 2 actually made me laugh, or laughed with me on anything.

Cripes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

why would you ask it?

oh dear.

Ah fair few men at that age are looking to settled down buy a house and have kids and they want a partner that will be an asset to them in this endeavor.

Once this happens they will persist and usually find some that fits the critea they have selected with in a year.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Ah fair few men at that age are looking to settled down buy a house and have kids and they want a partner that will be an asset to them in this endeavor.

Once this happens they will persist and usually find some that fits the critea they have selected with in a year.
    Or perhaps theyve already been done over by one woman, and are making sure they get a self sufficient one this time. And at 40 you aint got time to waste on chit chat. :)

I always thought speed dating would be a laugh, but the experience described here makes it sound torturous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

are we allowed ask where you went - me and a friend are currently contemplating it, although have to say its not been sold very positively in this post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭monicafussy

I went to Sin city Temple bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

They were all from about 35-40.

No eye candy. :(

hhhmm..... yeah i'd have to wonder what type of people you'd get there. (No ofence meant to anyone who's ever done it!!!) like would you ever really get a hottie around your own age? i can't imagine it. and also, when people ask other people would they be into it, they all say the exact same thing "ah yeah for the laugh" :confused: ....Does that not say alot really?? I dunno... maybe i'd think differently if i ever went!

Well its do stuff like this Niamho or be a spinster with loads of cats so Ive got to at least try!!
    I wasnt going for eye candy anyway I was going to hopefully have a good chat with someone, a laugh and maybe even have a bit of a spark there!

I went to the vaults. It is organised by getout.ie, they do lots of singles stuff.
    I think I just did the wrong age group maybe.

Anyway too busy with work and exams to think about it for a while but Ill probably do it again just with a younger bunch.