Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone Recognise this Scumbag??

• 08-04-2008 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭

My car (Audi A4) was broken into this morning. This guy knew what he was at, probably got some other boardies in the past. He broke the back vent window (small triangle) and managed to roll down the back window. He got in and out through the back window. There was nothing of value showing from the outside but he somehow found my sat nav which was in the manual holder hidden under the steering wheel, and digital camera in the glovebox. This happened in the D7 area on the quays in an underground carpark. He knew where all of the cameras were except this one...thanks
    54091.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

dont know him, sorry :mad:.

best of luck though, i hope he gets caught from this pic or any others that may have been taken that are not posted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭v300

Janey Mack, has Sean Kelly, the international cyclist, fallen on hard times ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Judging by his bone structure it looks to be a junkie with an arsneal monkey hat, so much for the manual holder under the sterring wheel as a hiding place, i've to stop using that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

These scum should be put down:mad:

ronnie3585 wrote: »

X2 :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭landydef

looks like the bloke who got my sat-nav in ballyfermott about a year ago ,luckily the polish lad i was working with caught him and got it back,(and gave him a hiding too):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Legs tied to one car, arms tied to another, pointing different ways of course.
    3-2-1, spin take off, rope tightens, POP.
    one less scumbag in the world.
    If this were the punishment then they wouldnt exist.

Id happily fit a towbar to my car in the name of civic duty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

great pic ! Hope you catch the knut.

Maybe you could put the pic up on www.neighbours.ie in the right section, I have one up there in a similar regard: http://neighbours.ie/dublin15/showthread.php?t=627

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

The dude in the pic is nowhere near your car. How do you know it was him that did it?

HJL wrote: »
    3-2-1, spin take off, rope tightens, POP.
    one less scumbag in the world.
    If this were the punishment then they wouldnt exist.

Id happily fit a towbar to my car in the name of civic duty!

bit graphic, but effective :D

could end up spending quite a bit on car washes too :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭golfpaul

unkel wrote: »
    The dude in the pic is nowhere near your car. How do you know it was him that did it?
    This is the best pic I could get from the cctv footage. The footage clearly shows him climbing over the gate at 5.28am and making his way around the car park with a torch checking out all the cars before reaching my car at 6.01am. Another pic shows him leaving with items in hand before making his exit with car park fob at 6.12am. God bless CCTV! Pity I couldn't get a clearer head-shot. He knew where the cameras were and moved a couple.

54096.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

D_murph wrote: »
    could end up spending quite a bit on car washes too :o

Dirty job, but someones got to do it, LOL !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭eclectictrek

:mad: Euugh hope you find him!! Absolute Scum!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Double locks on a premium car are pointless if they fit windey windows in the back. good old VAG!

Sorry, nothing actually useful to contribute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

That looks a lot like the guy thats doing all the theiving out in tallaght, anyone from tallaght notice all the windows being broken and CD players/sat navs being stolen? Over the last few weeks the garda said they've had 37cars broken into with stuff stolen from them which is a massive massive increase.

I had my CD player knicked and the charger off my sat nav (why!?) (had the sat nav in my house, but the holder up on the window, thats what attracted him), we heard the dog going mad and gave chase but he was dam quick getting the CD player out. I realsed the dog from the house anyway which gave chase, dont know if it caught up with him and gave him a snap, but id say he **** himself with a big doberman running after him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Double locks on a premium car are pointless if they fit windey windows in the back. good old VAG!
    Very good point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Best of luck mate, was actually surprised to hear the cops caught the knut that broke into my car last week, you never know, the pr!ck might get done yet.

Broken into twice in less than a year, might be time to get one of these.

franksm wrote: »
    great pic ! Hope you catch the knut.

Maybe you could put the pic up on www.neighbours.ie in the right section, I have one up there in a similar regard: http://neighbours.ie/dublin15/showthread.php?t=627

Thanks Frank.
    I had a look at the D7 section of neighbours.ie but there doesn't seem to be any active users. Did you ever find that scumbag?
    The gardai from Bridewell were up earlier and were very helpful, they even had forensics out. Doesn't look like there are any useable prints though. Will pass on the cctv footage later and hopefully he is known to someone in the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Sorry to hear that golfpaul,
    I really hope you / they catch this scumbag:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

golfpaul - sorry for you troubles. I hope he's caught.

HJL wrote: »
    3-2-1, spin take off, rope tightens, POP
    No, not a spin take-off. It should be done really slowly!

s----t----r----e----t----c----h! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

golfpaul wrote: »
    . Will pass on the cctv footage later and hopefully he is known to someone in the force.[/QUOT

If he's a local spunker the cops in the Bridewell will probably know him. I'd say your stuff has been turned into smack at this stage though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

landydef wrote: »
    looks like the bloke who got my sat-nav in ballyfermott about a year ago ,luckily the polish lad i was working with caught him and got it back,(and gave him a hiding too):D

That's a shame. If you had got him arrested, instead of doing the Bruce Lee stuff, this fella's Audi might not have been broken into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Yeah. I'm sure he'd be doing a life sentance at this stage if he'd been arrested.:rolleyes: All motorists in the city safe from car crime. I think the hiding was the better option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Wow but you car owners get pretty angry don't ya?

OP, sorry mate, don't recognise him but will keep an eye out about town. I've recognised people before from worse shots than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

Paulzx wrote: »
    Yeah. I'm sure he'd be doing a life sentance at this stage if he'd been arrested.:rolleyes: All motorists in the city safe from car crime. I think the hiding was the better option

Not for the OP it wasn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

IanCurtis wrote: »
    Not for the OP it wasn't

Do you honestly believe that this guy wouldn't be back on the streets had he been arrested?

A 14 yr old in Limerick is arrested at 1:30 am driving a stolen car, carrying a knife and wearing a bullet-proof vest. Released within hours he is arrested again carrying a loaded shotgun.

Yet a car-stereo thief will be remanded in custody ad infinitum? I only wish it were so.:mad:

Oh and BTW, sorry for your trouble OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joeybloggs

Ah some excitement.Ill be sure to keep an eye out too.
    Could it be THE CLAW that stole the Skyline in Canada?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WUY0MWL6k14
    Maybe he escaped and is now plotting a comeback.Dublin Style.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

54091.jpg

Liverpool fans eh? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Thats an Arsenal crest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

54091.jpg

You do know thats an Arsenal crest on the hat, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

Ah.. the poor fella was probably just pissed off about the defeat last night.

http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/2928/thiefnf7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭siobhan.murphy

little s**t,hope u get him,
    a good kicking is what that whore needs.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

You do know thats an Arsenal crest on the hat, right?

Was thinking that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭aidanco

:D What a dirty knacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

thanks for the sat nav

Thanks for all the replies guys. Been busy today so did not get much time to study more footage. I added another pic but its not as clear as the first one. I'm not back in Dublin until Friday so I will calculate his height then. Unfortunately the Garda I was dealing with is off until Friday so will give him the cctv footage then.
    54129.jpg
    LOL, just looked at that pic again, he's scratchin. Looks like we're searching for a scumbag with crabs!!!

golfpaul wrote: »
    Thanks for all the replies guys. Been busy today so did not get much time to study more footage. I added another pic but its not as clear as the first one. I'm not back in Dublin until Friday so I will calculate his height then. Unfortunately the Garda I was dealing with is off until Friday so will give him the cctv footage then.
    54129.jpg
    LOL, just looked at that pic again, he's scratchin. Looks like we're searching for a scumbag with crabs!!!

probably wont narrow it down much though ;):D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

If its a repeat offense, keep an eye on the time he comes in. Then one night catch him in the act. Best way of doing it if its a regular occurance or even asking the guards to drive by around those times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Did you have your sat nav set foolishly with the "Home" mode on? If so you would also want to watch your house :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Sully wrote: »
    If its a repeat offense, keep an eye on the time he comes in. Then one night catch him in the act. Best way of doing it if its a regular occurance or even asking the guards to drive by around those times.

thats exactly what to do.., he''l see it as an easy spot and try it again, if the cameras havent been fixed yet then leave them as they are, he'll think there was no attention payed to it and come back in, then break his legs.,

Did you have your sat nav set foolishly with the "Home" mode on? If so you would also want to watch your house :eek:

He already knows where home is as thats where he took it from but he's probably too inbred to know how to use it. If he does know or if he sells it to someone I have already listed it as stolen on the Garmin database so it can never be updated or have maps added. Never locked the damn thing though as I thought it was well hidden in the car. I wonder does anyone else use that lock feature?

vtec wrote: »
    thats exactly what to do.., he''l see it as an easy spot and try it again, if the cameras havent been fixed yet then leave them as they are, he'll think there was no attention payed to it and come back in, then break his legs.,

This guy was some sort of contortionist to get into the complex. He had to jump onto a wall and climb up a ten foot railing. At the top of the railing there is a gap of probably 12-18 inches to the complex structure. Then probably a 15 foot drop into the carpark. I would probably have torn myself a new one trying to get over that railing so its not an easy spot. My key fob for the gate was in my sat nav holder and he used that to get out. This was disabled so he doesnt have easy access back. That gap on top of the railing will now be closed up too. I think I might venture into this security business:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

what a muppet , sorry about your loss but be happy he wasnt a actual car theif and took the car aswell as the satnav and cam...

are you covered by insurenace ( though for the claim it might not be worth it )

anyways , will keep an eye out for any muppet fitting his description...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭MR DAZ

@ OP .. You said he seemed to know where all the camera's where..so he mostly likely cased the place a day of a few days previous.

It would take abit of time..but it might be worth looking over the last weeks footage.. he'd probabley be easier to spot.

just a thought though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

54091.jpg

Archimedes wrote: »
    Thats an Arsenal crest...

Zing! :D
    Anyway, it should have read "soccer fan, eh? :rolleyes:" ;)

OP, did you have the sat-nav cradle still stuck to the windscreen? Quite often, that or the marks left on the window are visual clues to these guys that your car is worth breaking into. If they don't see those, they usually move onto a car that has either feature.

Always remove the cradle as well as teh sat-nav itself, and to be even safer, wipe down the window with an alcohol or baby wipe. That said, you're never totally safe...

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Zing! :D
    Anyway, it should have read "soccer fan, eh? :rolleyes:" ;)

OP, did you have the sat-nav cradle still stuck to the windscreen? Quite often, that or the marks left on the window are visual clues to these guys that your car is worth breaking into. If they don't see those, they usually move onto a car that has either feature.

Always remove the cradle as well as teh sat-nav itself, and to be even safer, wipe down the window with an alcohol or baby wipe. That said, you're never totally safe...

Thats the thing, I was always weary about sticking a cradle on the windscreen (dead giveaway for scum). I got rid of the windscreen one and bought a different type off ebay. This was located down beside the centre console kinda looked like a phone cradle (it was easier than taking off the windscreen and wiping the screen everytime I parked the car).
    BTW anyone want to buy a sat nav cradle, only one owner, low milage:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭useless

I have one of these for my satnav:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000LRMS66/ref=pd_cp_e_0?pf_rd_p=250314601&pf_rd_s=center-41&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B00005UK9O&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0FFGQ0KW73EB70ZMNB5N

Just lob it into the glovebox when Im finished with it, no 'tell-tale' marks on the windscreen, completely invisible to a thief.

Although if these scumbags want to break into the car, they'll break in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Cameraman1

Anyone got any updates on this scumbag? Surely someone out there can help. Would people be willing to put the picture on local shop notice boards or something. Come on guys we have to help out here........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Fatloss08

ur not a liverpool fan and hes a pissed off arsenal fan ???

hoking :)

its a bloke called <snip> and he hangs with the filthy fifty gang in odeveny gardens , all junkies and lowest of the low

the once robbed a car from enfield and tied a sheep to the back and drove a couple of miles with a carcass at the back

hope you get him

I should have posted an update to this before but I was not too pleased with the outcome. After breaking into my car and stealing sat nav etc. he broke into my wifes car some weeks later stealing birthday presents. He was caught and had his day in court. His free legal aid told the judge that he would undergo another drug treatment course so the judge let him off and told him not to appear before her again. I found out later that he had over 60 previous convictions. So what can you do with scumbags like this, this really disgusts me. :mad: