Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy Racers in the BMW

• 08-04-2008 4:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭

It's something I've noticed recently maybe it's been going on for a long time.

But does every second car on the road these days seem to be an oldish BMW with a 17/18yr old kid driving it?

Are boy racers turning to BMW's as they're alot cheaper now?

4/5k for a 98 for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

Boy racers will drive anything they can get money for. They're probably in a 1.6 ball of sh ite so I wouldn't worry about them doing much.

If you could buy a 911 for 4k and insure it for peanuts, boy racers would drive them too.

I could barely get insured on a 1.2 Fiesta (IR£3,000) when I was 18, I dunno how a lot of lads are doing it these days - insurance seems to be a lot more reasonable for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

MarkN wrote: »
    I could barely get insured on a 1.2 Fiesta (IR£3,000) when I was 18, I dunno how a lot of lads are doing it these days - insurance seems to be a lot more reasonable for them.

after working in a petrol station part time for a few years (when i was 15 to 21), i'd always hear these lads calling each other "red hot bastards", red-hot referring to the fact they either had no insurance or have insurance with completely false details. (17 year old driving a 316 1.9 for example, down as a 30 year old, and saying they live in a nicer area, and park their car in a garage, and it has an alarm and immobiliser, and 10 years no claims, the list goes on... )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

bmw ARE REAR WHEEL DRIVE

youtube drifting:D

thats why you see them in the old AE86 twin cams, the rwd starlets, opel mantas, capris , altezzas, steer from the rear:D:D

bmw are nothing special, dunno why everybody thinks they are great:confused:

they aint particularly fast either

kona wrote: »
    they aint particularly fast either

Slow as fook mate.

BMW_M5_2006_3_9w.jpg

Slow as fook mate.

BMW_M5_2006_3_9w.jpg

i knew sombody would post that as a response, they aint BMW factory spec though are they??? they are tuned by the tuning part of BMW??

but its skangers were talking bout, they wont be driving that M-tec for another 20 years:D

OP is talking about sub 2L 3 series etc, and they are slow:D

There's still plenty of quick BMWs that are not M cars..

But yes, most boy racers in BMWs are not driving anything too mad but then again, what's 7k these days??

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/BMW/M3/evolution/860027/

860027_20080203050251_1.jpg

But yes, most boy racers in BMWs are not driving anything too mad but then again, what's 7k these days??

they are not quick at all, was in one on saturday and was unimpressed, looks fast though, ive a 1.4 and i kept up with one last night:cool: and yes he was caning it:D and had more gears:D

edit: sorry the one i was in defo wasnt one of them, neither was the one last nite! they were both under 2L id guess.

ohhh that car is very tempting!!!

i may have to go "red-hot" though! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Nasty looking car. Why do the nacks insist in putting a rear wing and a front splitter on every heap of sh1t. Just looks so tacky!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I know a lad who is 18 or 19 and has a new M3:eek:
    I have a bike with pedals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭T J Hooker

they are not quick at all, was in one on saturday and was unimpressed, looks fast though, ive a 1.4 and i kept up with one last night:cool: and yes he was caning it:D and had more gears:D

edit: sorry the one i was in defo wasnt one of them, neither was the one last nite! they were both under 2L id guess.

ohhh that car is very tempting!!!

i may have to go "red-hot" though! lol

how cool are you, advertising or insinuating your street racing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Plug wrote: »
    I know a lad who is 18 or 19 and has a new M3:eek:
    I have a bike with pedals.

How can a guy that age afford one of those? Software genius or is daddy a builder? Thing is...where do you go after owning a M3 at 19? A 599GTB by 21? I kinda like the journey of buying somerthing a little bit better every few years...

I read a year or two back that the F1 driver Nico Rosberg's first car was an Audi RS4 and I thought THAT was ridiculous. But his father is an ex-F1 World Champion and mega-millionaire... Things in Ireland have gone mad!

Does anyone think all the hoo-haa about danger on our roads started when insurance went down for young drivers? As MarkN said, even in my early 20s my insurance cost x000s...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

pburns wrote: »
    How can a guy that age afford one of those? Software genius or is daddy a builder? Thing is...where do you go after owning a M3 at 19? A 599GTB by 21? I kinda like the journey of buying somerthing a little bit better every few years...

The parents are millionaires, money no problem.
    A ferrari wouldn't surprise me with him at 21!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It's common for boy racers to lie about details to their insurance companies these days, or as someone said previously, not get insured at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Yeah i'm a right oul boy racer in me beeeeemmmmeeerrrrr me.... love the POWAH of my 320.... diesel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Nasty looking car. Why do the nacks insist in putting a rear wing and a front splitter on every heap of sh1t. Just looks so tacky!:rolleyes:

that 'heap of ****e' is an m3 and the rear spoiler was a bmw factory option :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

are you into cars at all?????
    why post on the motor forum if you dont know what an M3 is??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

i knew sombody would post that as a response, they aint BMW factory spec though are they??? they are tuned by the tuning part of BMW??

but its skangers were talking bout, they wont be driving that M-tec for another 20 years:D

OP is talking about sub 2L 3 series etc, and they are slow:D

What the hell are you talking about? 135i,123i, 335i, 335d,330i,330d, 325i, 325d, 530i, 525i, 535i, 535d, 540i, 550i, 630, 645, 650, 635d, 750, 740, All over 200 HP, all factory non m cars.

Older 3 series coupes are still very fast for their age, they chip well, have loads of available after market performance and exterior extras and look nice.

The speed of your car has little to do with it, most over 200 hp cars are more than fast enough to allow the driver to be the limiting factor on our roads. I have a fast enough car but have been beaten by guys in 96 celicas and MK 5 golf gti's because I was not as crazy as them or willing to do such supra legal speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

kceire wrote: »
    In the poster's defence, we've both seen more than one 318 coupé looking just like that.;)

how difficult is it to click the carzone link, which i think he did given the front splitter comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

You will find E30's quite popular as the 318is and 325 fitted with a diff are quite fun to drive.

My brother has (had) a lovely 1990 E30 318is until a middle aged man ploughed into him with his Avensis. Electric everything, heated mirrors, mpg needle. Beats driving a golf, corolla (my car), starlet, fiesta etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Cyrus wrote: »
    how difficult is it to click the carzone link, which i think he did given the front splitter comment
    I know, I do agree with yourself & kceire, it's just that the car in the pic does look just like a tacky 318 coupé.:)

What the hell are you talking about? 135i,123i, 335i, 335d,330i,330d, 325i, 325d, 530i, 525i, 535i, 535d, 540i, 550i, 630, 645, 650, 635d, 750, 740, All over 200 HP, all factory non m cars.

Older 3 series coupes are still very fast for their age, they chip well, have loads of available after market performance and exterior extras and look nice.

The speed of your car has little to do with it, most over 200 hp cars are more than fast enough to allow the driver to be the limiting factor on our roads. I have a fast enough car but have been beaten by guys in 96 celicas and MK 5 golf gti's because I was not as crazy as them or willing to do such supra legal speeds.

what the hell are you talking about, you either race them or dont, ??? nothing crazy about speed on a long straight, what IS crazy is speed on back roads
    :D:D:D

yes 200bhp................but they weigh a ton, they are not fast in comparison to others such as TypeR etc........

im not insinuating street racing:D

what the hell are you talking about, you either race them or dont, ??? nothing crazy about speed on a long straight, what IS crazy is speed on back roads
    :D:D:D

yes 200bhp................but they weigh a ton, they are not fast in comparison to others such as TypeR etc........

im not insinuating street racing:D

It is crazy to speed on straights...easy to loose control under sudden breaking or if the road is slippy. Also you could kill someone, and if the cops catch you at 200+ KPH then you may loose your license.

Spirited Driving is ok, but these older cars doing super high speeds at the limit or the machine, don't have the traction, driver skill, good judgment, or breaks to do this safely anywhere.

I have driven Type R's and the lack or low down torque and the need to rev the bejasus out of it to get the power make a stock type R a pit of a lame duck IMHO.

Power to weight is all that matters, so a 2001 Civic Typr R is 1270 kg and 197 BHP giving 155 BHP per 1000 Kg, while a 1996 m3 ( as above) is 317 BHP and 1535 Kg giving 206 BHP per 1000Kg...and the BMW does not have the same image as the type R.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

If you go to rallys and car meets the reason they drive them u will see there.. They have them for "diffing, drifting, donuts" even ones with out a dif are easy to kick out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Because he like other cars? Not everyone is a beamer head you know. Or did you mean this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Vain wrote: »
    If you go to rallys and car meets the reason they drive them u will see there.. They have them for "diffing, drifting, donuts" even ones with out a dif are easy to kick out

You'd be doing well to get a car moving at all without a diff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

JohnCleary wrote: »
    You'd be doing well to get a car moving at all without a diff :D

Nice one :D

but we mean lsd of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

so taken all this into account is the BMW becoming a bit of a "common" car e.g. every dick/harry is driving one and it's taken away from the "status" that once came with being a BMW driver.

every dick drove a BMW before:p.

yes BHP/TON is important but so is gear ratios:)

low down torque dont matter,if you use your gears:D once that v-tec kicks in:D:D:eek:

baaaaaaaaappppppppp baaaaaaaapppppppppp bapp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

ntlbell wrote: »
    so taken all this into account is the BMW becoming a bit of a "common" car e.g. every dick/harry is driving one and it's taken away from the "status" that once came with being a BMW driver.

I wouldn't say owning an e36 BMW has any "status" associated with it nowadays. I think they are nice cars but its not like they are obscenely expensive or anything. Sure you could get an e36 m3 for 7 grand as pointed out above. Some of the e46s are going for reasonable money nowadays too but they are just good cars not a status symbol. The reason they seem common is that they last well and theres lots of them around now.

I think you'd have to be looking at newish ones for those wanting a status symbol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I lol'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Any twit can buy an old BMW and stick a m tec body kit on it and think he is awesome! Nothing new there. The 18 year olds I see are driving the bottom of the range 316i, some maybe in a 318i if their parents will pay the additional insurance.
    E36's are the skanger BMW, I see a few of them in e46 models these days.
    Those weird looking e36 316 compact models are the way to go if you just got your provisional these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Brint

Maybe he likes cars that aren't common as muck?

I'm actually looking out the window of my office now, and out of the 18 cars parked on 1 side of the road, there are 6 BMWs. How elite...

how many m3s?

anyway they cost as much as a ford focus in the states, no wonder you see loads :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

ntlbell wrote: »
    PaulKK wrote: »
    I wouldn't say owning an e36 BMW has any "status" associated with it nowadays. I think they are nice cars but its not like they are obscenely expensive or anything. Sure you could get an e36 m3 for 7 grand as pointed out above. Some of the e46s are going for reasonable money nowadays too but they are just good cars not a status symbol. The reason they seem common is that they last well and theres lots of them around now.

I think you'd have to be looking at newish ones for those wanting a status symbol.

If I saw someone driving an old M3 I would not associate the normal BMW status with him. However, assuming he did not look like a boy racer I would give him credit and respect for knowing a nice car. M3's are prestigous no matter how old. Old beamers still look cool albeit abit dated. Because some ppl have no fashion sense they have to rely on the latest models of cars to tell what's cool and what's not so cool....they seem to never be able to tell if an older car is nice so they just say that's shi*.....and why you ask them "Oh it's old...sure that's an 96"

The reality is that nowadays most new cars coming out look shi*....primera, BMW 5 series & 7 series....new astra...they have all these stupid design characteristics. It's like as if the motor industry hit a brick wall with design and decided to go with these stupid futuristic designs even though it's not 2050 yet.

Look at all the prestigous marques like ferrari, porsche and aston martin. They have stuck to their guns and not not followed the ridiculous route most car manufactures have spiralled down over the last few years.

Alot of boy racers have not really got a clue though so if I saw one of them driving an M3 I would think
    "If they didn't know someone that knew about cars they would probably be driving a Z3 or a Hyundai Coupe."

The first car is a womans car or for fellas with small dicks.

The second is more of the same except it's from a shi* manufacturer. Fair enough they may be reliable but there from the lower end of the scale and hold no credit with me as a "prestigous sports" car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

mondeo wrote: »
    E36's are the skanger BMW,

really?

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/BMW/M3/EVO-Individual/948124/

3.2L 321 hp (239 kW)
    0-60 5.5 s

tell you what, you keep your mondeo and i'll be the "skanger" in my e36.

idiotic generalisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

quarryman wrote: »
    really?

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/BMW/M3/EVO-Individual/948124/

3.2L 321 hp (239 kW)
    0-60 5.5 s

tell you what, you keep your mondeo and i'll be the "skanger" in my e36.

idiotic generalisation.
    Impressive specs, and no doubt a good car, but that one is just a bit too bling for my tastes. Loud is a word that comes to mind, and that's with the engine off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

JHMEG wrote: »
    Impressive specs, and no doubt a good car, but that one is just a bit too bling for my tastes. Loud is a word that comes to mind, and that's with the engine off.

well, take your pick, there's plenty of less 'bling' examples out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

mondeo wrote: »
    E36's are the skanger BMW, I see a few of them in e46 models these days.

And the mondeo is the vehicle of choice for a lot of travellers. Are the travellers jealous of the skangers!?

Cop on and don't be so close minded.

No matter how old an M3 is once it's standard looking I wouldn't judge anyone driving it as a "skanger".

BMWs are common as muck but decent ones are not. There's a lot of people driving them that bought into a badge, usually someone in a 325+ has not.

quarryman wrote: »
    well, take your pick, there's plenty of less 'bling' examples out there.
    And a few that are more:
    http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/BMW/M3/evo-321/621767/
    There's no accounting for taste!

er its an estoril blue vert with a hard top

granted the AC Schnitzer rims are an acquired taste

i also dont think the individual vert linked was bling, its totally std, a beautfil and well maintained car too :) owner has just got an e39 m5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Feckin' M3 convertable... got scuttle shake written all over it! Coupe or nothing! You want top down? Get the 328Ci convertable.

er its an estoril blue vert with a hard top
    I don't care if it's a banana split with chocolate on top, those alloys are gansta! Medallions are mandatory for the owner.

The owner is a dealer? Googling for the phone number and he is/was also selling a 318, a Honda CBR, MR2, Corolla...

well they wouldnt be my choice but cost a fortune,

worse on an e46

look at this ACS m3 (8k worth of acs extras) hideous!!

koko.jpg

dd.jpg

koko.jpg
    OMFG they have distroyed that beautiful e46 M3...thats a crime against humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

Just because a young fella is driving a 316i or 318i does not make him a "boy racer", that is one of the 1st glaring and indeed stupid generalizations on this thread. Insurance has finally started to become more reasonable for younger people in Ireland, and if the guy goes out and buys a 10 year old 3 series, fair play. Yes they are more common then before, but so what, I'm sure hes happy and all the people splashing out on a 08 plate thinking they are great got nothing more then a 1.2 corsa and a car with plenty of depreciation ahead of it. Nice. Most of the younger lads (under 21) that have BMWs driver the 318is Mtech sport versions, with leather and a decent 144Bhp engine. They are a great car for their age, and the owners work hard for their money and are fully insured, take great care of the car etc. Don't tar all young drivers with nice cars with the one "boy racer" brush ye all like to use regularly.

I was looking at 318i saloons but I choose my alfa as it was rarer and more car for the money, but each to their own.

Finally, an E36 M3 is one of my future cars all going well. Anyone with the audacity to call them "scummy" can run off in their nissan micra, as they clearly know nothing about cars or performance variants. I like the E36 M3 as it is more subtle then the the newer ones, and as someone said it even looks a lot like a 318i coupe. Only a true enthusiast will notice the larger brakes, the subtle badges or the M3 leather seats.

I agree BMW's are nearly overly popular in Ireland, but that is more people keeping up with the neighbours, buying underpowered 316's for the badge and a new reg plate instead of buying something slightly more interesting with more poke. Each to their own as they say, but less of the silly generalizations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

astraboy wrote: »
    I agree BMW's are nearly overly popular in Ireland, but that is more people keeping up with the neighbours, buying underpowered 316's for the badge and a new reg plate instead of buying something slightly more interesting with more poke. Each to their own as they say, but less of the silly generalizations.

Ya paying premium for a underpowered 316 is bit of a waste. What do you buy a BMW for really? Why not an older BMW but more powerful?

The only reason for it really is having the 08 plate isn't it? Or perhaps it's because if it's not new "how will I know it's stylish and I'm not out of date?"
    So if you buy a car for the plate that's underpowered it says an awful lot about you really doesn't it?

It's the same for all cars....given a budget an enthusiast will always go for more "car" than year.

So your just a plank really then driving around in your new overpriced underpowered Beamer. :D and all the guys drivin' round in their 10 year old M3's will leave you for dust by any measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

Ya paying premium for a underpowered 316 is bit of a waste. What do you buy a BMW for really? Why not an older BMW but more powerful?

The only reason for it really is having the 08 plate isn't it? Or perhaps it's because if it's not new "how will I know it's stylish and I'm not out of date?"
    So if you buy a car for the plate that's underpowered it says an awful lot about you really doesn't it?

It's the same for all cars....given a budget an enthusiast will always go for more "car" than year.

So your just a plank really then driving around in your new overpriced underpowered Beamer. :D and all the guys drivin' round in their 10 year old M3's will leave you for dust by any measure.

Exaclty, a 08 318 or a 96 M3? No contest for me. Screw what the neighbours think, judging a car on its reg plates is silly, even second hand I judge by condition, not age. I know of guys driving old AE-86 Twin cam corollas older then they are and they are in great condition! Anyway, the newer lower spec BMW's look tacky, tiny undersized wheels and an over styled body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

astraboy wrote: »
    I know of guys driving old AE-86 Twin cam corollas older then they are and they are in great condition!

Great condition but for how long is the question?? Doing doughnuts in tesco's carpark will do wonders for the car :rolleyes: