Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer Jobs in Revenue

• 08-04-2008 4:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭

Did anybody else get their interview date for this. I know a few people who have got the letter this week. If they have not contacted by now is it safe to assume you have not got an interview?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

They rang me and arranged mine over the phone with me last week, but I did work there last Summer.

I think the letters usually go out relatively close together so I'd give it a wee while before throwing in the towel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

i had interview for this last week on thursday. Havent heard wether i got it or not though.

emailed me today to say ive will be called as soon as position arises so im happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

rory1983 wrote: »
    emailed me today to say ive will be called as soon as position arises so im happy.

That usually means you didn't get it.. Are they also "keeping your cv on record" ?

well it said i was successful in the interview so i presume it means i will be called to an office when im needed. My friend got it last year and that what he got too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭eclectictrek

Yeah, They contacted me on Friday, i have an interview tomorrow..Havn't worked for them before also. Another girl i know worked there last summer and has an interview tomorrow too..I wreckin they choose people randomly as there's two others who have worked two previous summers and are still waiting...:rolleyes:

Any tips for interview or what to expect??:)

10 minute interview as about work when you deal with customers. asked about team work, asked if i had any questions and if i was avaiilable for continious work. They will give you copy of ur application and qestions are based on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭pa daly

ellscurr wrote: »
    They rang me and arranged mine over the phone with me last week, but I did work there last Summer.

I think the letters usually go out relatively close together so I'd give it a wee while before throwing in the towel!

They just rang this afternoon so fingers crossed!!

ah you will be grand they dont ask anything difficult and they give your online application before you go in so just read over it. It will be 10 15 min max and tell you this at start so dont think because its a quick interview that you did bad

Id imagine a very small percentage of the people who get called for interview are actually offered a position am I right?? Because I know a few people who got called...?

i dont know the day i was there was 2 people waiting for interviews. Short interview not very difficult questions maybe they look at your work experience and how you filled out online application and rate you on all of it

interview went well today i think, an owl feller came down n made me feel fairly at ease saying it was an informal chat n suff.. unfortunately the lady when i got in wasn't as happy as thhe guy, then asked about my current job, actually a good bit about it and then college..

Said they'd get back to me next week so fingers crossed!!!:D

well done sounds the same as mine, you will probably get it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Enda89

damn it anyway, where did you apply for the Revenue?

I applied last year and didn't get it, totally forgot about applying this year. Feck it!

on their website but it over now

Rory may I ask whats the general dress code for an interview like this. Did you wear suit, tie etc or would that be over doing it?

i wore a suit the other epeple there were wearing suits or shirts and tie

Anyone know how long after the successful in the interview email do they let ya know when n where your going to be??

just out of interest what did ur interview say and did you opt for working outside the summer. And congrats on passing interview. I dont how long they take to tell you

If you mean what did the interviewer say..

I work parttime with computers so were quite interested in that (he came across all suprised of a female of my age doing that, amused me for a sec:p Lol) and then situations with the three things they put in the interview time n date email..

Yeah as she was finishing up she asked me that actually, in a way would you be available to work apart from the summer, in the moment i kinda said with college fulltime it would be difficult but at what stage would you be looking for..She just ticked the box n said if anyone was going on maturnity leave etc..I was saying anything to please them at that stage n was dying to get out of the place so didn't comment!!?!:D

Actually at first look at that email about passing the interview i didn't know whether to take it as a right iv got it or iv just gon through the first stage n may not depending on whether something or someone else comes up?!?!

yh thats what they did to to me asked me about studying I.t, then even though i said only summer asked about doing out of term work and i just said yeah sure ill do it. Got an email a week later saying i was succesful and that i had been placed on a panel ( not sure though if that means if ill be working during summer though? but still looking for something in the private sector anyway.

Yeah that's what i got:confused: wonder does anyone else know?? I should probaby do the same then just incase and look elsewhere..

yh hopefully well they should have worded it better, i applied with some recruitment agencies for temping thats about it. but revenue sounds handy and decent enough wages and flexitime.

It's actually quite annoying how they worded it!! Im gona try find out:) Yeah it is pretty handy, four of my friends from college have done it previous summers n each of them gave a "aw i hope you get put where i was" ..sorted;)

i know people who did the civil service and they said it was grand but it really depends where you are put. ill just be pissed if they dont offer me summer work and then ring me when im in college asking me to work. Anyway we will see what happens. If ya get a call from them post up here and ill do the same

I got the same email saying I was successful in the interview but Im 200 on a panel?? This doesnt sound good to me can anyone shed some light please??

mine just said id been placed on a panel didnt give a place? Did you say you were available for out of term work

No I told them I was available just for the Summer. The interview went really well so I am a bit disappointed with this as 200 seems way to far down a list. They also said they are giving out contracts in the coming weeks and I will be notified if I am reached on the panel:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rory23

yh but think how many revenue offices are in dublin, the would be taking on a good few temps, the there is people who applied got the job and wont turn up as they got something else so 200 isnt a lot when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭kittycati

I'm 201 on the panel. Do you know if it's just per area or for everywhere?? Revenue have 100 offices nationwide.

I was never told what number i was on the panel...:confused:

I have been told by anyone who has previously work in the revenue that they got that exact email..

What exact mail are you refering to?? A number on the panel?

mine just said i was succesful and i was placed on a panel, but ive heard some people are getting ones that say you hve been place number x on a panel. So dont know what the story is.

I got a number on the panel for last year (I think it was a fairly high number :D) and got in no worries.

so what does it mean if they just say your on a panel and dont give you a place?

That they gave the places to other people on the panel? The number is order of preference, so if you're 150 and number 149 says no, then they call you. Without a number it's impossible to know how many people are ahead of you. It means you passed the interview and if there's an opening you're in the running.

You could contact them and ask what criteria they are using to select people from the panel if it's not a numbered system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 realism

Has anyone who has been put on a panel without a number heard from Revenue yet???

yh i did they rang me and asked me which office id prefer to work in dublin.

rory1983 wrote: »
    yh i did they rang me and asked me which office id prefer to work in dublin.

Did they give you a start date?

nope just said he was allocating offices, i would have asked him but they rang a few min before i was going to exam .

Still havn't heard anything...
    Don't know if that's a bad sign!?!

got a letter to day to say ive been given a 13 week contract so im happy, you were the same as me with no number so id say you will hear from them too

Got a call today offering Sandymount so happy enough. Where were you offered rory1983?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

got rejection letter today, fair enough not really disappointed, but i do have a few quierys!

out of curiosty how were the positions determined?
    what candidate criteria was layed down?
    cause i never sent them a cv nor was i asked to or asked anything about my previous work experience etc!
    and it wasnt a lottery cause it clearly stated it was a competition!

"Canvassing will disqualify" my arseh!!

was it not the online questionnaire they used select people, and then a interview. I applied to civil service as well and got a rejection letter. I always see that on job ads what does canvasing will disqualify mean?

it means that if mammy or daddy etc try to put a word in for ya you are automatically rejected. akin to nepotism

i too filled out that online questionaire but it never asked to submit a cv or work history just the basic name address etc. So how did they decide on who got the job and who didnt?
    im sure im not the only one asking this as it stated in the letter that over 9000 people applied for 500 positions

for the record i was never called for an interview either

yh but it also asked a load of "how do you like working in a team 1 for not very to 10 i like it alot" type questions so they probably had a marking system that rated everyone who answered the questions. then they prob hired people who done it last summer aswell and of course the ones whos mammy and daddy got them a job. But i see where your coming from i got a rejection letter last year.

ya i suppose but i hardly answered 1 to all those questions!!lol

and i always knew it was all about "who ya know" etc that gets ya these type of jobs or abit of luck but when your on the short end and especially when they plaster that "canvassing will disqualify" on every single state/public job application its pretty annoying!!

I got rejected from the publicjobs.ie competition this year, despite having been good enough for Revenue last year and this year. It was on the basis of those 'how much do you like filing? a little, a lot, very, not very, hate it etc.' questions.

yh it was my love of filing that got me to apply in the first place :)
    You did it last summer whats is it like? Its say on contract 41 hours that like 9-5 or is it flexi time.