Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick gang feuds.

• 07-04-2008 5:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭

Seeing there was another gangland killing at the weekend in Limerick and another suspicious death today does anyone have any ideas what can be done? The ERU seems to have had no affect. My own idea would be internment for all concerned. Would anyone else agree or does internment bring back bad memories of Northern Ireland in the '70s?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Armed guards on the streets of the city would help. It was a body found today, the murder most likely wasnt today. The one at the weekend was just ridiculous, a guy was shot in Garryowen just because he had been spotted with a member of a gang.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

I think largely they are just killing each other, so its hopefully a self-solving problem in the long term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Carpet bomb the whole county imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Fcuk em, let them kill each other imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

We need to introduce a three strikes rule. Break the law three times and you go to prison for life. Nearly all the Limerick scum would be off the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Curfews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

what's this about impounding their pimped armoured cars after they blared message from them to the prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Should be so simple...just deny movement for every gang suspect. They put a foot on the street, stop them and search them. If needs be a couple of times a day. Say : known gangster A leaves his house and gets stopped and searched. Nothing is found on him and he walks on and walks into let's say the local hardware store. Stop him again and search him again : reason : he could have armed himself in there. And so on and on and on until they're sick to teeth with it. You can rest assured that in no time given the kind of scumbag they fundamentally are one or more is going to loose control and take a swipe at a cop, lovely : bang him up and maximum sentence will keep them of the street for a good while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭masseyno9

sounds like a good plan except for the cop who he takes a swipe at. Would you do this whole stop, search routine, knowing it was a plan to get a thug to swing at you? What would he swing at you with....a hammer from aforementioned diy store, concealed weapon, syringe...? the risk for this is too great.

Other than the whole provoking violence part, the idea of constant surveillance is good, but in practicality, the gardai don't have the man-power. To watch one of the leaders is no use, because he'll get his minions to do his work anyway. Watch one of them and he'll get someone else to do it. Unless the gardai have teams watching all known members of a given gang (nigh on impossible) then the dirty work will still get done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

Maximilian wrote: »
    I think largely they are just killing each other, so its hopefully a self-solving problem in the long term.
    rb_ie wrote: »
    Carpet bomb the whole county imo.
    what's this about impounding their pimped armoured cars after they blared message from them to the prison.

i believe the Garda have now got themselves a bullet proof BMW X5. Confinscated for being over weight or so i heard anyway.

And the guy in Garryowen was not shot for just being seen with a gang member!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

A limerick gang feud?

I didn't know poems could be so violent! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

The only good thing about Limerick's fued is that it stays within the feuding families!
    A non related fued murder in Limerick is very rare so it's very safe for the likes of me and you and every other decent person to walk the streets!

Let them kill each other and not care! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Lizzykins wrote: »
    Seeing there was another gangland killing at the weekend in Limerick and another suspicious death today does anyone have any ideas what can be done?

Maybe get them educations........

Would it get rid of the problem? Yes indeed it would. Also, it would live a nice bit of empty space for us to construct Dublin2 so we could keep an eye on things down there a bit better.

Something has to be done to stop the culchies regressing to living in caves after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I love when Limerick people claim the media is exaggerating the problem.

Unless the stories about 14 year olds caught with guns, or a grandmother being the driver while one of her male relatives opened fire as they passed a gang of rivals, are lies, yes, Limerick does have a disproportionate problem. Houses in some areas go for 50k!

And, while Im sure he is a grand chap, the fact one of their main council spokesmen is called John Gilligan always raises a coincidental smile :)

http://skin.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=2970824205

Mutha****in westside!!! :)

It is interesting what people have said re the IRA having previously kept heroin out of Limerick. A strong IRA prsence would certainly explain why it is awash with guns, and has been for years, compared to slightly smaller towns like Galway.

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    I love when Limerick people claim the media is exaggerating the problem.

Unless the stories about 14 year olds caught with guns, or a grandmother being the driver while one of her male relatives opened fire as they passed a gang of rivals, are lies, yes, Limerick does have a disproportionate problem. Houses in some areas go for 50k!

And, while Im sure he is a grand chap, the fact one of their main council spokesmen is called John Gilligan always raises a coincidental smile :)

http://skin.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=2970824205

Mutha****in westside!!! :)

It is interesting what people have said re the IRA having previously kept heroin out of Limerick. A strong IRA prsence would certainly explain why it is awash with guns, and has been for years, compared to slightly smaller towns like Galway.
    Lol.

"**** south hill, **** moyross, **** all yall pussy ass limerick mother****ing bitch made niggas, yall want the beef the beef be at ballymun come get it bitches"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

My sentiments exactly, Limerick is very safe. As PoxyShamrock says unless your not involved you will be fine, its not like LA down here, it happens in the poor areas, ppl arent being gunned down in the middle of the city, its happening in Southill, Moyross, Weston, The Island and other poorer areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Too far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BrendanD

I did not see any smiley there you are joking ?
    Would it get rid of the problem? Yes indeed it would. Also, it would live a nice bit of empty space for us to construct Dublin2 so we could keep an eye on things down there a bit better.

Something has to be done to stop the culchies regressing to living in caves after all.

Lol.

"**** south hill, **** moyross, **** all yall pussy ass limerick mother****ing bitch made niggas, yall want the beef the beef be at ballymun come get it bitches"

Ive been clicking a few band members links. The black dude first on the list is kickin his rhymes

"AM BLACK AND BLACK EVEN IF IT WAS STILL SUNNY
    AFRICAN FOOD SURE IS KINDA YUMMY
    AM A YOUNG ADULT AND MA NOSE IS STILL RUNNY
    AINT TALKNG BOUT A RANDOM CHICK
    COMING OVER TO GIVE ME A RANDOM LICK
    IF GOOD, I'LL GIV YOU A RANDOM TICK
    NO RANDOM CHICK SITTING ON MY RANDOM D***"

Limerick may have all the drugs and violence of Brooklyn and Queensbridge but without the schooling to articulate it like Biggie and Nas did so well :p

Battle Royale had the right idea. Send them all of to the Aran Islands and give each a back-pack full of assorted weapons and some mock ones and a canoe to navigate from island-to-island. If any head towards the main-land, the canoe will be blasted from the water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

connundrum wrote: »
    Too far?

depends. What's the scale of that diagram? 1mm to 1Km? seems about right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Limerick forum broken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

Battle Royale had the right idea. Send them all of to the Aran Islands and give each a back-pack full of assorted weapons and some mock ones and a canoe to navigate from island-to-island. If any head towards the main-land, the canoe will be blasted from the water.

And do it during Tedfest. 2 birds 1 stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

I haven't managed to work out if this guy is "Keepin' it real" or ripping the piss
    http://skin.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&PhotoAlbumId=0&MemberId=5068893531&PhotoId=6235508289
    Hilarious nonetheless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Cool_CM wrote: »
    I haven't managed to work out if this guy is "Keepin' it real" or ripping the piss
    http://skin.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&PhotoAlbumId=0&MemberId=5068893531&PhotoId=6235508289
    Hilarious nonetheless!
    This guy is the Dublin guy from skanger me banger.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGpcKu7kLuY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Ah right, you can never be sure though, some people actually do dress like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Simple solution.

Full time Garda helicopter based in Limerick.A full time armed patrol unit(on the way),and the people of these areas standing up to the gangs,rather than blaming everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Limerick forum broken?

The matter has been discussed numerous times in one form or another. I would not inflict this thread on that forum. There's also a more general issue/discussion of internment or something... just, no.

Edit (almost forgot the perfect solution):
    One word: Rambo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 ioctl

Nuke them, along with the middle east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

ioctl wrote: »
    Nuke them, along with the middle east.

I'd support this if you agreed to carry the nuke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Karoma wrote: »

I like your style :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Im with the others who said it. Limerick is fine as long as you're not a scumbag. I go into town 4-5 times a week and have never ever felt in any danger. I worked in there for 3 years and had no trouble walking the streets in there. Its just the poorer areas of the city where you will encounter trouble and all counties have areas like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

A mandatory 5 year no parole for possession of an unlicenced firearm.

Shoot to kill if someone opens fire at Gardaí.

CAB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

lmfao at dubs criticizing limerick :rolleyes: when dublin has the fastest growing homicide rate of any European capital city. 73 murders in dublin last year ain't anything to be proud of

rossie1977 wrote: »
    lmfao at dubs criticizing limerick :rolleyes: when dublin has the fastest growing homicide rate of any European capital city. 73 murders in dublin last year ain't anything to be proud of

Limerick has the same size population of your average west Dublin new-ish suburb (roughly the same as Tallaght, Clondalkin or Blanch, all of which from memory have around 70-90k each)

My area, of similiar size, had from memory one fatal shooting and two or three fatal stabbings last year.

Limerick has had two gangland killings this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Melion wrote: »
    The one at the weekend was just ridiculous, a guy was shot in Garryowen just because he had been spotted with a member of a gang.

In terms of gangland killings it was very clever. You kill someone who was seen even talking to a member of your rivals and suddenly people don't want to talk to them so more. The suppliers for these guys will have less weight in the city than the families themselves. This is really the first time the killings have spread outside those who are actually involved so hopefully it should bring enough heat down to finally wipe out the people who can think in such ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

ninty9er wrote: »
    Bit harsh considering rapists serve 5-6 years, murderers 7-8.

ninty9er wrote: »

Shoot to kill if someone opens fire at Gardaí.

CAB

Please tell me you are not intending to run for FF.

Not that the ideas are all that awful. More that you seem very knee jerk and reactionary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Please tell me you are not intending to run for FF.

Not that the ideas are all that awful. More that you seem very knee jerk and reactionary.

Not anytime soon anyways:rolleyes:

edit:
    I'd just like to be able to sleep without being woken by that f*ing Garda helicopter passing over every half hour when something goes arse over tit not too far from where I live.

Real punishment for first serious offences has to be part of solving this problem. A serious brainwashing programme to turn these people into productive members of society over that period would then be in order. After, in 5 years you could get a whole secondary education.

CAB has punished criminals' pockets, now the tables need to be turned on them so they feel the pain they've inflicted on their neighbours.

Limerick has the same size population of your average west Dublin new-ish suburb (roughly the same as Tallaght, Clondalkin or Blanch, all of which from memory have around 70-90k each)

My area, of similiar size, had from memory one fatal shooting and two or three fatal stabbings last year.

Limerick has had two gangland killings this weekend.

and dublin has a population about the size of a small tokyo suburb but yet its homicide rate is about the same as Tokyo's 23 special wards (population 85 million)

closer to home; london metro (population 8.5 million) has just over twice the murders of dublin

Whatever way you paint it Dublin's and limerick's murder rate are poor. Population size should never be used as an excuse. Some of the biggest murder centres in america are smaller towns like Gary, In and Flint, Michigan. New york the biggest population centre in the USA is well down the crime rankings

I said it before.

Quit trying to pretend Limerick does not have a disproportionate amount of gangland crime.

It does.

Your mates on the bebo band page seem quite proud and aware of it.

Gary Indiana is on the outskirts of Chicago metro.

Flint is a short drive from Detroit, the most violent city in the US.

Gary Indiana is on the outskirts of Chicago metro.

Flint is a short drive from Detroit, the most violent city in the US.

gary is 40 miles from downtown chicago, flint is 70 miles from downtown detroit. Thats like saying athlone's drug/crime problems can all be attributed to its proximity to dublin.

affluent detroit suburbs (and yes there are a few) have zero or well below average (USA) crime levels

everyone is well aware of limerick's problems but as i have said previous dubliners should address their own problems BEFORE they throw stones in someone elses direction. You guys can start by removing some of the addicts along the quays and around marlborough street that seem to multiple every day.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Brint

I thought it was just 12 yo kids, or dorks with leather jackets in movies who were in "gangs" - how sad, that a bunch of pathetic inbred losers would take a "gang" fued so seriously as to kill someone.... lol @ "gangs" - how clichéd. Get a life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Caught using a firearm in the commission of specific crimes (eg; armed robbery, murder) = life in prison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

I think all them gangsters should be put against a wall and shot. Internment for all the other criminal scum who rob cars, throw bricks at cars etc And dont let them out until they have respect for people and the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Or middle class Ireland could stop buying the drugs that give money to these gangs?

If you got rid of all the gangs in Limerick and Dublin, new gangs from elsewhere in Ireland would step-in to supply the market with drugs. Rather than focus on just two areas, the entire country needs to accept that the problems in these areas are being fuelled by recreational drug users from everywhere in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 ioctl

Karoma wrote: »

Done. I don't think nukes have any affect on gingers so you'd be safe. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Brint wrote: »
    I thought it was just 12 yo kids, or dorks with leather jackets in movies who were in "gangs" - how sad, that a bunch of pathetic inbred losers would take a "gang" fued so seriously as to kill someone.... lol @ "gangs" - how clichéd. Get a life.

No real point in focusing on the term the media use to get our attention about these issues. These people do not consider themselves to be "gangs". They are families and crime is their family business and has earned them a good living for some time. They will not readily give it up, either to the cops, the people they have been feuding with for years now or the new elements that are currently establishing themselves in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

In addition to what I posted earlier about denying movement to gang members and continious stop and search strategies. Indeed the big lad will be sitting in the gav watching the wall sized plasma tele but while the minions' wings are being clipped his operation is being crippled as well and he will become quite uncomfortable quite quickly. And as for it being riskfull for the actual cops on the operation, indeed it would be quite dangerous but when supplied with the proper equipment it would be feasable. Proper equipment being at least : a powerfull car + trained driver, high quality body armor not a stabvest, the right kind of armament and training to use it.

Nobody should be allowed to leave Templemore without having done an advanced pursuit driving course and without having been trained on all the weaponry in the Garda arsenal. This doesn't mean that every Guard out there should be a tooled up rambo but it will lead to a better trained force that will have the capability to switch from your everyday variety of policing to the rougher sort of work if needed. In the case of the Limerick gangs it looks like the need is well established in my opinion.