Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tom Dunne on D'Arcy's show...

• 07-04-2008 9:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭

Listened to the Ray D'Arcy show for first time in ages this morning, thank god i did - Tom Dunne is presenting \o/

He is an absolute mile better then d'arcy at the whole morning show thing, he's not as sanctimonious or annoying or anything... Any chance we could start a campaign and get him in full time in the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Maybe he could take over from Gerry Ryan aswell and the very bad Newstalk breakfast show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

dulpit wrote: »
    He is an absolute mile better then d'arcy at the whole morning show thing, he's not as sanctimonious or annoying or anything...
    QFT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

He's better because he doesn't have his partner in the studio with him, egging him on to talk utter sh1te.

D'Arcy was far far better before that idiot gf of his decided she wanted to be in the spotlight too.

Get rid of her and the show's listerners will return, guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

In Fairness Mairead is as bad, she spent the morning reading an article on herself in the sun newspaper. She thinks she is gorgeous, granted she did look good a couple of years ago (met the gang in a pub) but the new blond hairdo does nothing for her. She looks like a scanger.
    Tom Dunne is class, not annoying and seems very down to earth and humble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

Strangely, Tom presents D'Ary's show better than he does his own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Might listen in for the rest of the week. Heard Tom Dunne the last time he did the show and thought he was hillarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Tom Dunne + Will Hanafin = great radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

yup, for the first time in ages I'll tune in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

It made work so much more tolerable today. If only he always presented it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

deRanged wrote: »
    yup, for the first time in ages I'll tune in.

+1, by the sounds of it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭patrickc

IanCurtis wrote: »
    He's better because he doesn't have his partner in the studio with him, egging him on to talk utter sh1te.

D'Arcy was far far better before that idiot gf of his decided she wanted to be in the spotlight too.

Get rid of her and the show's listerners will return, guaranteed.

totally agree the constant approval and flirting gets on my wick...
    silvine wrote: »
    Strangely, Tom presents D'Ary's show better than he does his own!

agree totally

yes agree again , they bounce well off each other as such

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

yup- +1 for Tom, although me thinks he won't be budged from his music show in the evenings, that has a huge following too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭RastaRed

sham69 wrote: »
    In Fairness Mairead is as bad, she spent the morning reading an article on herself in the sun newspaper. She thinks she is gorgeous, granted she did look good a couple of years ago (met the gang in a pub) but the new blond hairdo does nothing for her. She looks like a scanger.

she used to be hot, but looked in bits last night on anonymous but at least jenny didnt make an appearance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭RastaRed

sham69 wrote: »

she used to be hot, but looked in bits last night on anonymous but at least jenny didnt make an appearance

Had a listen to some of it this morning. Great radio. Bit of chat and great music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

if only we could show darcy all of these comments then we could get Mr dunne in for good...

We should email them to him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Leaderbored

Fago_25 wrote: »
    if only we could show darcy all of these comments then we could get Mr dunne in for good...

We should email them to him....

Yes. That'd work.

"Well, I've just checked my email, and seemingly just under a dozen voices on a messageboard have spoken. It's now clear to me that It's time for me to pack in the lucrative contract, and for my partner and I to go on the dole & hand over the reins to a DJ who already has a successful niche, and may not want a full time morning gig.."

If only it were that simple.

BUT , if the Dunne listenership figures raise the show's profile (and they should in the short term. He's excellent entertainment) , then perhaps, just perhaps, the message would sink in at Today FM that Ray's constant pontificating, interruption (and correction) of guests, condescending tone, inability to accept correction or criticism, and opinionated non-rants on non-topics aren't necessarily what the Public want...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭Clink

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Had a listen to some of it this morning. Great radio. Bit of chat and great music.

that Jenny one wrecks my head, the accent on her. and D'arcy pretending to be holyer than thou and ridiculously pc is very irritating altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

I did tune in this morning and enjoyed the show. nice and irreverent, noone told me what to do or think or how to solve anything at all, and I was entertained. lovely stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

I wonder would ray "bandwagoner" D'arcy jump on the full time Tom Dunne bandwagon he jumps on every fcuking other one. Imagine working with your other half. And more to the point he turned up to that anomyous thing with a bobble head ray. As far as he knew he was meeting a 100 year old woman.

What the fcuk would a 100 year old woman do with a po*y bobblehead ray???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Who's Tom Dunne? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

jimbo78 wrote: »
    Who's Tom Dunne? :confused:
    Runs BGRH, nice lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Sherifu wrote: »
    Runs BGRH, nice lad.

THAT Tom Dunne? :eek:
    Wow, didn't know he was a radio presenter.

Small world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 "V"

I have to say i like listening to Ray in the morning he's way better then the alternatives i.e Ryan, But Tom Dunne is in a different class he just makes it a pleasure to listen to, he's so easy going and has great interaction with guests. Its great to hear Ann on with him this morning she's deadly. Ray never gave her a chance to talk when she was on his show,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 barry-s

Bazzy wrote: »
    I wonder would ray "bandwagoner" D'arcy jump on the full time Tom Dunne bandwagon he jumps on every fcuking other one. Imagine working with your other half. And more to the point he turned up to that anomyous thing with a bobble head ray. As far as he knew he was meeting a 100 year old woman.

What the fcuk would a 100 year old woman do with a po*y bobblehead ray???

Ray D'Arcy and Tom Dunne are two of the countries top radio DJ's, and for a reason - they are great professionals, very funny men, and each run great radio shows. This illiterate gripe of yours..... I mean, I don't even know what you're angry about. Maybe you'd be better of tuning into Beat FM or something more juvenile of that nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,189 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Tom plays decent music- which is unheard of on day time radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Tom Dunne is class, a very funny and entertaining guy.

After today's show everytime I'll hear the word elimination I'll think of him :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Dinkie

+1. Can't wait for the rest of the week. It was brilliant

Was listening to Tom again this morning, driving to work was actually pleasurable with his dulcet tones to sooth my ear as I sat in traffic. It's great to hear decent music at that tome of day too. Only thing is I love his evening show too and I miss him in the evenings when Dave Couse is on instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Clink wrote: »
    Was listening to Tom again this morning, driving to work was actually pleasurable with his dulcet tones to sooth my ear as I sat in traffic. It's great to hear decent music at that tome of day too. Only thing is I love his evening show too and I miss him in the evenings when Dave Couse is on instead!

He's excellent. Best on the radio by a mile. Its great hearing proper music instead of that commercial ****e normally played. Very likable fella. GO TOM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭missmorbeg

Makaveli wrote: »
    It made work so much more tolerable today. If only he always presented it.

Leave Darcy be . TONY "Fantasticcccc" FENTON has gotta go , he is becoming unbearable

98FM or FM104 should come in with a tasty offer and lure him away. I would say he'd get a hugh listenership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

98FM or FM104 should come in with a tasty offer and lure him away. I would say he'd get a hugh listenership.

Come in with a tasty offer! I'd like to come in with a baseball bat and go all Robert De Niro/Al Capone (in the Untoucables) on his big fat bald head.

Yoooouuuurrrrrr a WINNER! Your a TWAT Fenton!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Never going to happen. Love it the idea, but no way will it.

Consider that the national reach figures from the JNLR's, Today FM is at 16%, whereas in Dublin, its only 9%. Newstalk and Spin are more popular overall.

The weekday share figures, the key bread and butter 7am-7pm hours, also in that table for Dublin only, are shocking for Today FM. 6.5% At that point, its ahead of Spin, but Q102 passes it out!

Today FM is more popular down the country, where the choice of listening is far less. Dublin has always been a black hole for Today FM in terms of listenership.

If D'arcy, Fenton and Dempsey and co can old get 6.5% in Dublin, FM104 and 98FM will quite happily carry on with what they've got, thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

The Dr. Bill thing that's on at the moment is very funny

I wish. That would take him off the national airwaves.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

He was a very welcome change for the week!

Now back to the the usual muck!

I was talking about TD lads not Tony 'drink drive' Fenton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭gd1987

Agreed.

I'm sick of opinions D'arcy tellin me what to do, he'd piss off the pope!

Also I'd like to see Fenton and Dempsey out too, Feck it just put Tom Dunne on
    the radio all day long.;)

I know I wont be listenting to Today FM next week.

Newstalk should sign up Tom Dunne for the morning, they only broadcast a heap of drivel before Moncrief anyways.

Tom dunnes Grand , but there will coe a time where Him , Tony " I love rem so much id make love with them all day " Fenton and Ian Dempsey will all fall to the Wrath Of RAY FOLEY ! , He is the only semi decent dj on the radio these days that is not doing the same S#### every day atleast he changes it up

Really? Ray Foley annoys the hell out of me. Can't speak for anyone else.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Really? Ray Foley annoys the hell out of me. Can't speak for anyone else.

ah i like the stuff, he takes the piss like , its good .

i think i may start a let get T Fenton off the radio thread! would it work tho ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 rayobri

Just fell upon this. I thought I was the only one who thought Tom Dunne was better than Ray D'Arcy. I just think Ray has become too opinionated since the kid was born. I don't think him and Jenny should be on air together..

Tom and Will are very good together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

missmorbeg wrote: »
    i think i may start a let get T Fenton off the radio thread! would it work tho ???

Probably not, but it's worth a try.
    One, because Fenton's not really relevant on the radio any more, and
    Two, a new thread would help keep this one on topic, and stop it being locked by the Mods due to irrelevant mentions of Foley, which are frowned upon in the charter...

Anyway, Tom Dunne for Communications minister please, new Taoiseach, If you're reading.. That should give him a free hand to choose when he's on air & who he replaces. :)

missmorbeg wrote: »
    ah i like the stuff, he takes the piss like , its good .

Anything that helps remove Tony Fenton off the radio is a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

So i had the misfortune of hearing the first hour and a bit of D'Arcy this morning, he spent a good lash of it discussing how he's a sensitive guy, due to him crying at some kid on Britain's got talent. The start of the 2nd hour he became all self-rightous and was going on about (shock horror) road safety. Luckily i got to college then...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

rayobri wrote: »
    Just fell upon this. I thought I was the only one who thought Tom Dunne was better than Ray D'Arcy. I just think Ray has become too opinionated since the kid was born. I don't think him and Jenny should be on air together..

Tom and Will are very good together.

+1 I too thought I was alone in thinking this. I used to love Ray but now that he is working with Jenny, has a child, Mairead (not georgous and is at best moderately funny) Farrell who also has a child........well the show has just gone down hill in a big way. The texts he reads out are so predictable and so boring.
    This week we had Tom's dulcet tones (and his tones are lovely,) Tom's good taste in music, Tom's good humour, Tom's willingness not to pontificate about ........well about everything, not one single insight into his poverty stricken childhood (actually have no idea about Tom's childhood and I like that) and Will being Will.

Probably not, but it's worth a try.
    One, because Fenton's not really relevant on the radio any more, and
    Two, a new thread would help keep this one on topic, and stop it being locked by the Mods due to irrelevant mentions of Foley, which are frowned upon in the charter...

Anyway, Tom Dunne for Communications minister please, new Taoiseach, If you're reading.. That should give him a free hand to choose when he's on air & who he replaces. :)

ok point taken .

Tom Dunne has great personal music taste too!