Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things to do, People to meet, Group Activities etc

• 04-04-2008 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Hi All, I'm new to this board. I've been off the drink since Jan 1st. I'm a 30 year old single guy and quite shy in Dublin. When I drank you could not shut me up. :)

I was just wondering if any of you guys meet on a regular basis? Are there group activities you do? I had a look at the web site and there are lots of things that I would be interested in doing. But I haven't seen any dates, times etc.

Would love to meet new people who will accept me now, and non drinkers like myself and do different things that I'd never have done before when I was too busy drinking.

Please get back to me on this!!!

Thanks a mil!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 martah

Hi Dercun,
    I am in the similar situation, maybe we could organise something together?
    Marta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Richie860504

Hi.
    I'm pretty much the same way. Maybe we could knock heads together and set something up or maybe even even meet up and discuss over a coffee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 martah

Hi.
    I'm pretty much the same way. Maybe we could knock heads together and set something up or maybe even even meet up and discuss over a coffee?

Or over a smoothie :)
    When and where :)?

Somewhere in city centre. First are we all from dublin? If so meet somewhere and just decide from there say O' Connell Bridge on Saturday at 2pm? How does that sound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Conchubar

Not strictly a non drinker myself but I like the idea of social events which don't involve drinking. Just an idea, if you want to meetup regularly there is a very good website www.meetup.com. It allows people to set up groups and organize social events. There is a good group in Dublin called "New and not so new to Dublin". There are over 300 people in that group but unfortunately most of the meetups are in pubs. Although even if you don't drink it is still good fun and you will meet lots of people. Might be worth setting up a non drinkers meetup group.

Richie, I see you have started a tread about meeting for coffee this Saturday. Thats sounds like a good idea, I know I am always looking for things to do during the day on weekends, but O Connell bridge is always really crowded on Saturdays, how will people recognize who they are to meet? Might be better to meet in a cafe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭NonDrinkersClub

That meetup.com thing costs money as far as I can tell - Can anyone give advice on how to set it up?
    Conchubar wrote: »

Not strictly a non drinker myself but I like the idea of social events which don't involve drinking. Just an idea, if you want to meetup regularly there is a very good website www.meetup.com. It allows people to set up groups and organize social events. There is a good group in Dublin called "New and not so new to Dublin". There are over 300 people in that group but unfortunately most of the meetups are in pubs. Although even if you don't drink it is still good fun and you will meet lots of people. Might be worth setting up a non drinkers meetup group.

Richie, I see you have started a tread about meeting for coffee this Saturday. Thats sounds like a good idea, I know I am always looking for things to do during the day on weekends, but O Connell bridge is always really crowded on Saturdays, how will people recognize who they are to meet? Might be better to meet in a cafe.

I'd like to meet up on Saturday too :) 2pm is cool with me & the boyfriend...any suggestions for cafes? Here's a few to get the ball a rollin':

If you're up for supporting a corrupt evil US corporation cafe, Starbucks is right there on Dame Street - might have to wait a while for seats though.

There's a lovely (but very small) place called the Joy Of Chai in Templebar, but that's always packed...and rightly so cos it's deadly :cool:

There's an eating area in Stephens Green shopping centre that has a juice stand / coffee stand / cakes / sandwiches...it's big too so we'd defo get seats. If it's a nice day we could buy some stuff & bring it to the park.

Any other ideas?

Sorry, didn't realize meetup.com was a paying service.
    I'd like to go along tomorrow. Any of the above suggestions is fine with me. Could someone pm me a phone number just in case the cafe is very busy? Don't want to go around each table asking people if they are part of the non drinkers club :D . Might be worth bringing a card with "Non Drinkers Club" written on it and leave it on the table.

Hi all.

Just thinking there. Maybe we should leave it till the saturday after next. Thinking this because it was only short notice that I gave and thinking maybe we would be better off meeting the week after instead. What time and place suits people. PM me and let me know and I'll sort something out.

That's cool with me :) definitely better to give people a bit more notice. I'm lookin' forward to meeting y'all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭johny28

Hi All,

I'm a social drinker but I'm very interested in attending this gathering on Sat at 2 PM.
    Two questions:
    1- What is the place?
    2- How do I/we recognize or know that you are from this forum?

I think it's being rescheduled to next Saturday!

Thanks.. I re-read the post again and realize that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 neeviec

Hey Guys,
    If the meet up is going ahead on Saturday, I'd love to join in if that's cool. I've only stopped drinking a few months ago but always want to meet new people. Keep in touch if it's going ahead, when and where that kind of thing.
    Niamh

Hi all.

Just thinking there. Maybe we should leave it till the saturday after next. Thinking this because it was only short notice that I gave and thinking maybe we would be better off meeting the week after instead. What time and place suits people. PM me and let me know and I'll sort something out.

Hey Richie - what's the story? You still organising this weekend's meeting? :p

Right, I'm thinking maybe we all meet at bewleys on Grafton Street(I think it is). Even if we just meet here and see where to go from here. How's 2pm suit everyone? If anyone has any other ideas of places to go, let us know and we can rearrange.

So far I think it is:
    Dercun
    Martah
    Conchubar
    Non Drinkers Club
    Johny28
    neevie and
    myself

That's cool with me, I presume we'll meet outside Bewleys? Looking forward to meeting you all, will be good to meet some new people.

Yeah, we'll meet outside and then see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

I think I'll tag along too if that's ok?:)

Yeah. The more the merrier.

See yiz there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Bad Boy

hope it's not too late to join in, i quit the sause years ago, and i must admit it does affect the social life in that i find myself watching tv more on a saturday nite rather than going out and doing something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Bad Boy

for meeting woman for the non drinker might i recomend facebook.com, send me a private message and i'll let you know my email address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

Hey there,
    Just wondering if ye all met up & if so how did ye get on? Any plans for another meeting?
    Cheers!

hiya - we're meeting up for this first time this saturday 2pm outside Bewley's Grafton Steet - you're more than welcome to come along :) same goes for anyone else who's interested! You can check with Richie for extra details I'm sure cos he's the man that set about organising this nice little get together.

All welcome :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

Hey that sounds great! Count me in! How will we know each other? We could use a code, like, "Excuse me, do you know where the DHL depot is around here?" - "Why yes, it's opposite the new specsavers building".

Well, I'll most likely be wearing a hat so that should narrow it down for yiz :pac: I reckon the chances of any other posse forming of it's own accord outside are slim...so just look out for the cluster!

I'm looking forward to Saturday now, it'll be good. I like the sound of coded messages, I'm sure we'll all find one another, hopefully it won't be too hard.

How about the blokes say "here love, fancy a roide?" and any bloke gettin bet around by a women, we'll know who he's looking for!!!

haha! if anyone says that in my presence they will be answered with a swift kick to the groin!

Thank you. You just proved it would work effectively!!!

Ok, as soon as I see a woman in a hat standing over a man rolling around in pain, I'll be able to identify 2 posters. :) Maybe I'll just crouch down and ask if you know where DHL is, just to be sure.

OK, so we have t agreed on the place and the time
    What about recognizing you folks, once I’m there?

Hey, I'll be wearing purple glasses and will probably have a head of hair like Worzel Gummage by the time I meet everyone, you'll see me. Or maybe I should just approach random fellas and ask them if they fancy a ride, that may work also ;) (I most definitely won't be doing this, far too shy for this kind of behaviour!)

I don't know what I'll be wearing. Whatever takes my fancy on Saturday. Watch this space (or my last post before saturday) Are we gonna go in for a coffee or will we just see what everyone wants to do when we meet up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 dercun

Looking forward to it. The cafe bar deli in Bewleys in Grafton St does great reasonable food there if anyone is up for that? But coffee sounds good anyway.

I'll be wearing a blue checkered shirt. Got short receding hair. 6'2".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Diairist

May I join? Outside Bewley's, 2 pm., Saturday. Look for an irate female standing over a grievously injured bloke. :mad: If no bloke rolling on the ground, ask Wurzel Gummidge where the DHL depot is? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

Oh quite looking forward to it now:D

I say we all meet up outside Bewleys (new name: Cafe Bar Deli) and hang around outside waiting for late people for about 20 mins.

(if you're lookin' for me I'll be wearin' a hat & I'll probably have an old long grey coat on)

So here's the thing - I doubt we'll be able to get seats in Bewleys together, so it might be a good idea to mosy on down to the Stephen's Green Centre...there's a massive eating area there with lotsa seats! :)

I'm sure we can fire around a few ideas for what people want to do later when we're all there.

Whatta yiz think?

I say we all meet up outside Bewleys (new name: Cafe Bar Deli) and hang around outside waiting for late people for about 20 mins.

(if you're lookin' for me I'll be wearin' a hat & I'll probably have an old long grey coat on)

So here's the thing - I doubt we'll be able to get seats in Bewleys together, so it might be a good idea to mosy on down to the Stephen's Green Centre...there's a massive eating area there with lotsa seats! :)

I'm sure we can fire around a few ideas for what people want to do later when we're all there.

Whatta yiz think?

Do you mean the one upstairs?

Howya Folks. Sorry about this but after me organising this I won't be able to make it. Something's came up and unfortunately it has to take priority. Hopefully next time. Sorry again about this.

Fear not y'all - I'll still be there so I can take over organising if yiz like? :) Gotta leave work now and ain't gots no internet at home. See yiz tomorrow at 2pm.

And yes, I did mean the upstairs food place in Stephen's Green for coffees, teas, juices, cakes!

So I'll see you all outside Bewleys (Cafe Bar Deli) on Grafton Street at 2pm. I'll be wearing a hat! I'm small and girly. My boyfriend is small and bearded! We're very friendly hippy type folks...see ya tomorrow....it'll be a blast!

I have a few ideas for what to do after, but sure I'll talk to yiz and see what the story is tomorrow.

Bye for now :cool:

Was really great meeting you guys today! You're all such nice people. :)

I know you'll probably only get to read this tomorrow, but I've decided not to go to the play after all. Major headache is kicking in (remember that oncoming cold I told you about? :()

Anyway, I look forward to meeting you all again some time! :D

Oh, and maybe Richie860504 will be there next time too, to prove he really exists! :P :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

This thread makes me feel great...good confident people with no ****ing hangups or agendas....Bravo lads.

Hey
    It really was great meeting everyone yesterday, sorry I had to leave early yesterday but left an assignment on the back burner for far too long and had to get back to it. Definitely up for meeting up again in the future, will try and think of something for a future meet up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Hi was just reading about yer meeting in Dublin yesterday and it sounded fun! Unfortunately i don't live in Dublin so it'd be a bit of a trek to travel from CORK to meet ye! Is there anyone from Cork who posts on this forum besides me?! It'd be great if we could organise something similar down here. I'm getting so sick of everything coming back to the pub - no matter how much you try to do something different people will still want to 'go to the pub'. There must be something else GODDAMMIT!! HA!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 headlessloon

hi y'all - was fun meeting up on saturday - even with my cold - hope none of u got infected! we should have the quiz together soon but in the meantime if anyone wants to organise something, im sure there'll be a good turnout! i'll be there anyway!

It was great meeting everyone on Saturday. Looking forward to the next event, will try to come up with some ideas :)

Hey y'all - just wanted to say that it was lovely to meet such an enthuasiastic & friendly bunch of people. I'm really lookin' forward to any future meet-ups and events with yiz! :) Sorry for my late reply here but I was off work yesreday with flu. Seems to be gettin' everyone this weather!