Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THinkin gof buying a Slash Les Paul

• 31-03-2008 1:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭

So, I was thinking of buying one of the standard slash les pauls that are released tomorrow. I almost have the money :)
    What do ye think? They're €2700 in Waltons, whereas a normal standard is about €2600 (down to 2200 in their current sale)

Do you think its a gimmick? As its essentially just a standard with a slightly modified neck and some art work? Or is it a real collectors item!?

I know it will inly appeal to slash fans, wondering what others thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

personally i wouldn't go with a signature guitar at all. I'm sure a standard is just as good.You'll have Slash on it forever, be original!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

BarryCreed wrote: »
    personally i wouldn't go with a signature guitar at all. I'm sure a standard is just as good.You'll have Slash on it forever, be original!!

Ironic seeing as the Les Paul is, well, a Les Paul Signiature model. :pac:

Honestly, most people aren't even going to notice if it's a sig or not, and artist guitars often have a lot of features that stardard models don't have, so if you like a guitar, go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭ianhobo

Well, I would be buying it because it IS a slash sig model.

I already have (IMO) quite an original guitar, so I'm covered on that base ;)

I had long(er) term plans to buy the Custom shop one, with the fishman power bridge, but because these new ones are now available, the rumour is that it won't available much longer i.e gone before I have the money!

I'm just worried that it might be a big of a gimmick, and there fore maybe a lower build/material quality than a standard.

Gibson have already changed the fact that they said it was a long tenon neck to it now being a short tenon neck.
    Plus, there a more slash models to be released too.....hmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boycey

Very pricey. Whether it'll ever be a collectors item is anyones guess- are they limiting the production numbers? Its a looker no doubt though with good specs.
    I cant help think that kind of money would buy one hell of a 2nd hand guitar. It would kill me to hand over €2700 to Waltons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

I wouldn't go for the Slash model, but even if I would I'd shop around some stores in the UK, Europe and the states. I couldn't say for sure, but I have a sneaking suspicion it might be possible to get it cheaper than Waltons elsewhere ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

That's a lotta cash money to spend, but yeah, what it boils down to is if you like it and you think it's worth spending that much, by all means go for it.
    It's a personal thing, if I was gonna spend that much on a guitar I wouldn't go for it, but I'm not a big fan of lp's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

T he
    H andiest
    O ption,
    M an,
    A nd
    N ot
    N ear
    d '
    e xpensives

sei046 wrote: »
    T he
    H andiest
    O ption,
    M an,
    A nd
    N ot
    N ear
    d '
    e xpensives

its the same price on Thomann, and i rang a shop in belfast who gave me a very similar price, not enough of a difference to make the trip.

There is only 1600 of these ones, but gibson say that there are other variations to be announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

From the interview i saw on Sky news (still available from their website), there will be 3 models introduced, one of them will be an Epiphone. Just slightly different specs on the other two.

As far as i remember he already had a sig model from Gibson, so make sure you dont get sold one of the older ones if you want the new ones..

Welease wrote: »
    From the interview i saw on Sky news (still available from their website), there will be 3 models introduced, one of them will be an Epiphone. Just slightly different specs on the other two.

As far as i remember he already had a sig model from Gibson, so make sure you dont get sold one of the older ones if you want the new ones..

Well I wouldn't mind if they gave me one of the older ones, it a custom shop one :) retails at about €3800 (incl. on Thomann) It's the one I would prefer actually, but it's supposed to be phased out now because these new ones are being produced

As yes, your right it was a custom shop job... I would love to have a play with the Slash models, but i cant stand the colour choice on them.. I wanted to get one a few years ago, but ended up going for the heritage cherry sunburst standard instead. If you get one, let us know what it sounds like....

Welease wrote: »
    As yes, your right it was a custom shop job... I would love to have a play with the Slash models, but i cant stand the colour choice on them.. I wanted to get one a few years ago, but ended up going for the heritage cherry sunburst standard instead. If you get one, let us know what it sounds like....

I will indeed. :)
    In general, the responses have been negative - from my own guitar playing friends too! So I just don't know. I think that these marketing people have me brainwashed now! ha ha I mustn't be seeing something that others are :)

I would pop into town when they become available and try one out.. :) You'll get lots of opinions on them, but how many people will have actually played one.. From what i can recollect it has a thinner neck than the standard and Slash's own choice pickups.. So it should defintely feel and sounds little different. If you like it, and can afford it.... then its definately worth the cost :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

Aren't signature guitars for weeners? ;)

Quattroste wrote: »
    Aren't signature guitars for weeners? ;)
    Thanks, really helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

sixteen posts and nobody has told him to buy a Bacchus yet? what gives lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

€2700 is a serious amount of money. If I was dropping that on a guitar, there's not a chance in hell it'd be a Gibson.

A custom jobbie, or a PRS, or one of the much-loved Bacchus or whatever, but NOT gibson. THey don't make ANY guitars that have 3 grand worth of build quality in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

ianhobo wrote: »
    So, I was thinking of buying one of the standard slash les pauls that are released tomorrow. I almost have the money :)
    What do ye think? They're €2700 in Waltons, whereas a normal standard is about €2600 (down to 2200 in their current sale)

Do you think its a gimmick? As its essentially just a standard with a slightly modified neck and some art work? Or is it a real collectors item!?

I know it will inly appeal to slash fans, wondering what others thought.
    Have you played a Les Paul before? Personally I don't like the bridge or the neck but each to their own. I would say definitely try before you buy, especially given the money involved. As others have said I would be surprised if you couldn't find a better price online.

I was trying not to say the B-word but since everyone keeps harping on about them, I'll just say you'd get two Bacchus Dukes and have some change for the price of one Slash. No money goes directly into Slash's pocket though, so that might explain the difference ;)

There, I said it... I'll get me coat :p

VoodoChild is right though, chances are you'll get a better guitar from another builder, it's worth your time investigating some of your options outside of the big G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Well have an epi one into us soon, I'll let you know what I think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

I read something in one of todays tabloids that Slash has another new one comming out soon + an Epiphone.

This might be a different model than the one you have linked on the Gibson site.

He has had a slimmer neck than normal on his sig....a long tennon neck for better sustain....which Gibson don't even do any more.....but Edwards ESP do!!!!

But if you are willing to pay €2600 for a Gibson Les Paul Standard...then go the extra ton for the one you want......

You won't have to look for another one again, which was the question in a recent thread......

Thanks, really helpful

Please notice the smiley insinuating humour

I'm with the others as I'd never pay E2700 on a Gibson. I did buy one for E1700 but sold it a few months later as I didn't rate it. Seriously check out the Bacchus or high end Tokai's as alternatives if you must have a LP. The Slash sig guitar is nice but you're paying for the Gibson name and the Slash name and when you get older you may find you think it's a bit weeny to have a signature guitar! Just my 2c.

The man wants a Gibson Les Paul....his heart is set on one.

A signature guitar from the coolest guitarist on the planet......:cool:
    Not weeney....

I own 2 Gibson Les Paul's......and an Edwards, but it's the buzz of it all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Well if it was me id buy a prs, but thats me and its not my cash on the line.

Ok if your set on having a slash les paul at least do the smart thing. Play it a lot in waltons and play other guitars of a similar quality(i think there are some prs and high end ibanez and parker guitars in music maker). If you think that the guitar is still for you then buy it. If your looking for a kind of collectors model though id look elsewhere, at least to the custom shoppie slashes. Theres prob gonna be a good lot of these guitars around if the big G is gonna be making epi models too so bear that in mind.

My 2c

Thanks for all the replies, too many to be responding individually too :)

As I have already said, I would be buying it because IT IS a Gibson Slash Les Paul -> i.e knowingly paying for the name and branding branding etc

But as was said, maybe I should just buy the actual one I want, rather than rushing into this one. Despite what Gibson originally said, it is NOT a long tenon guitar, although the EPI model is!! Check out mylespaul.com for proof

I have played many high quality guitars to pre-compare, ESP, PRS, and I also already own a Gibson, so i know what to expect.

Smiley faces don't make a non-informative post any more helpful ;)
    How old will I have to get before "I think it's a bit weeny to have a signature guitar"? 30? 40? 50? maybe I'm there already? I guess I'm doomed to be a weeny so :(

Anywho, they are out today, so I'll head in and try one out :) And of course let ye know what I do....
    Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Go play a load of Les Pauls.. then swap in Slash style pickups..
    No ?

Smiley faces don't make a non-informative post any more helpful ;)
    How old will I have to get before "I think it's a bit weeny to have a signature guitar"? 30? 40? 50? maybe I'm there already? I guess I'm doomed to be a weeny so :(

You're a bit uptight aren't you. :( Humour dude, chill out and be happy. Good luck with whatever guitar you decide to buy. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭BarryCreed

Ironic seeing as the Les Paul is, well, a Les Paul Signiature model. :pac:

:) true enough...I won't buy any guitars with people's names on them ever again, fender et al can go and shoite!! :(

Petrucci Sig..............................

You're a bit uptight aren't you. :( Humour dude, chill out and be happy. Good luck with whatever guitar you decide to buy. ;)

Yeah sorry, your right, I am. Just been stressing over this waaay too much

Thanks for all the help. Think I'm going to pass on it.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Petrucci Sig..............................
    what he said tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

im in agreement here, but its a wee bit different to the sund hed get a outta the slash so i doubt its whats hes after, his loss really ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

I wouldnt pay that for a sig les paul, u can get so much beter for it, but thats me i already have a les paul and thats enough for me,

Sure here's me and Slash

meslashdave.jpg

ohh yeah! He's a great guy ...but doesnt talk much i can tell ya

I'd go custom for that kinda cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Last Angry Man

Patricide wrote: »
    im in agreement here, but its a wee bit different to the sund hed get a outta the slash so i doubt its whats hes after, his loss really ;)

Indeed. I make up words too..

Sorry couldn;t resist!!! I like the look of the Slash model but it's not massively different to a standard except for the neck profile and the Duncans. I think the Classic Customs are much better value and arguably a classier guitar but there you go. If I had that type of cash right now I'd be getting either a Firebird or the LP295 Guitar of the Month but then everyone has different tastes. Mine have changed recently - just swapped my ESP Eclipse for a 99 Les Paul Standard Plus with a Duncan in the bridge and a Burst Bucker in the neck. But I digress....

I just read in the most recent issue of Total Guitar that Slash has a second one comming out.....

A worn out version with the cig burns on it too.....just like the one he toured with GNR......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I don't see how you can decide until you play one and hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭freshcream

there was a custom shop slash in the soundshop in drogheda last weekend it the one with all the wear and tear and the honey colour 6 thou looked ok but the standard is better bang for your bucks:rolleyes:

Well, I went in to check out the guitars yesterday as they were officially released.....and waltons shipment of the Standards has gotten delayed/lost/found again (thats over 20 guitars) No ETA as of yet

The list of current guitar for sale are:

Epiphone Slash: €899
    Gibson USA Standard: €2699
    Gibson Custom VOS (The infamous slash sunburst guitar) €3799
    And the Gibson Custom VOS Aged (As above, but aged, with all cracks, scrathes, dents, also signed) €6000!!!

While they didn't have most of the guitars they were supposed to have had, What they did have was the new Custom aged VOS, the €6000 one, which I got to play :) Describing it here would be a waste of energy, as it can't be appreciated here without playing it, regardless of your personal feelings towards towards Gibson and their prices, it is a fabulous instrument.

I'm now expecting a whole MOUNTAIN of negative comments about this guitar..... ;)

Hopefully the standards will be in by the weekend, and I can get to play one of those

6k on a guitar. No fukkin way! Insanity. I'd get a whole new setup including guitar, amp, effects, beer and still have change from 6k and it would sound waaaaay better than just the guitar you get for 6k from Gibson. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭freshcream

I diden't get to play it as I coulden't afford it, but one of the guys took pictures of it I will ask him to forward and put up later.

6k on a guitar. No fukkin way! Insanity. I'd get a whole new setup including guitar, amp, effects, beer and still have change from 6k and it would sound waaaaay better than just the guitar you get for 6k from Gibson. ;)
    Preference for a particular guitar sound is always personal so it's arguable whether he would agree with your setup being better but I agree with you regarding the insanity of the price tag. I think I'd be too terrified of dropping it to enjoy playing it ;).

If you spend €6,000 on a guitar, what will you spend on an amp and effects setup or have you got that covered already?

You're missing the point Malice. If I spend 6k on a complete setup that could rock a decent venue and someone else spends 6k on just a guitar(no amp, no effect etc) then I will sound better. Amplified sound v's acoustic sound from an electric guitar. ;)

;);)

But your buying the dream man ha ha

Yeah, It's a lot, but it was really amazing, the sound was just unbelievable!!

Me? I have a Marshall 165w 2x12 and various home made amps and effects

OK, sorry, the picture does it absolutely no justice what so ever. Crappy camera phone in a dark room in waltons

You're missing the point Malice. If I spend 6k on a complete setup that could rock a decent venue and someone else spends 6k on just a guitar(no amp, no effect etc) then I will sound better. Amplified sound v's acoustic sound from an electric guitar. ;)
    That's true, the sound from an electric guitar doesn't travel too well without amplification :).

Six grand is just ****in nuts, I can't think of any guitar I could justify six grand for, other than if I could sell it for seven. If you're buying a guitar to play, and let's be honest thats what they're there for, even I can't see a way of justifying six grand :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Nuts amount for a blem Les Paul :rolleyes: ;)

TBH, that's probably what it was, a blem that they pulled off the line and decided to give it the "relic" treatment. ROFL! :D

For 2 and a half i would get a customised les paul made EXACTLY how i want it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

+1 :)

Do a mean a real one? or a copy?

It depends. Do you mean one built the way a Les Paul should be built or one with Gibson on the headstock? :p