Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The bad side of our game

• 30-03-2008 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

I was going to make this a longer thread and give out some specifics, but I think perhaps the specifics are not that important. In short there is a guy who plays in the Fitz who I think is in big trouble with a gambling addiction, I believe that he is in serious financial difficulties because of it, ( I don’t him particularly well). Any suggestions as what action I should take if any? Morally where do we stand on this issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

I was going to make this a longer thread and give out some specifics, but I think perhaps the specifics are not that important. In short there is a guy who plays in the Fitz who I think is in big trouble with a gambling addiction, I believe that he is in serious financial difficulties because of it, ( I don’t him particularly well). Any suggestions as what action I should take if any? Morally where do we stand on this issue.

Gamblers-Anonymous-.jpg

He should go here

Why you so willing to help him ??? I take it your just a decent soul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

There's not much you can do, though, because approaching him would not be easy and could result in a hostile reaction. It's really upto him or someone close to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Throw someone in the fitz a few quid to ring you when he's there and try and get a bit of the action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

don't mention any names. talk to him if u want, what more can u do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Firstly there are many many people in the Fitz/Sportium Emp etc with chronic gambling addictions. Same as in every bookies in the country. Same as there are thousands of alcoholics out there in the pubs everyday.

But most importantly its absolutely none of your business what an adult does with his money, and if you approach this person you'll be treated very abruptly at your cheek and be told in no uncertain terms where to go.

Its his decision and no one makes him gamble, he does it because he chooses to. In any event he'll never get help until he decides to himself.

I respect your sentiment though, sadly many people are struggling with live (and especially online) gambling issues in todays society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

this is a pretty tough one....depends I think on how well you know the guy...it's a very delicate thing to approach as the guy may not think he has a problem or appreciate you telling him that he has....it's a very sad thing to see...if you feel genuinely distressed at what's happening to him maybe you could approach him some night and try get him to go for a pint and try broach the subject...if the guy himself knows he's in the sh*t he might be relieved to have someone to talk to...problems of this nature are usually kept well hidden from family and non poker friends so you could provide a lifeline to him..that said he could react badly....it's really pretty much the same dilemma facing anyone who knows someone who's patently got an addiction problem of any kind and wants to help-not easy answered I'm afraid...

...unfortunately as regards how best the poker playing community and casinos can counteract this I'm afraid most initiatives will be counterfeited by the availabaility of online gambling now...if casino was aware a person had a problem and barred them and every casino perated the same policy and shared infomation it would make it more difficult for the person to find a live game and the message might hit home but with the ever present online availability of gambling most efforts will be in vain..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

If the guy is in that bad of shape let him figure it out himself. Bad form starting a thread like this in case he is a reg reader, i have a feeling i know who your talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Hammertime wrote: »
    Firstly there are many many people in the Fitz/Sportium Emp etc with chronic gambling addictions. Same as in every bookies in the country. Same as there are thousands of alcoholics out there in the pubs everyday.

But most importantly its absolutely none of your business what an adult does with his money, and if you approach this person you'll be treated very abruptly at your cheek and be told in no uncertain terms where to go.

Its his decision and no one makes him gamble, he does it because he chooses to. In any event he'll never get help until he decides to himself.

I respect your sentiment though, sadly many people are struggling with live (and especially online) gambling issues in todays society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

He'll probably go broke no matter what you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Kamaldihnio

There is more than 1 bloke in there with this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

If the guy is in that bad of shape let him figure it out himself.

But they never do until its too late. I know a guy who realised, only after he lost his wife and kids to an addiction, things may have been different if people had saw and recognised years before hand and possibly got to the root of the problem and helped him. But who knows. But at least someone cares enough about this fella to ask for advice. Its easy to ignore and let them get on with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

But they never do until its too late. I know a guy who realised, only after he lost his wife and kids to an addiction, things may have been different if people had saw and recognised years before hand and possibly got to the root of the problem and helped him. But who knows. But at least someone cares enough about this fella to ask for advice. Its easy to ignore and let them get on with it.

Fair point although with any addiction people can do their best to try help someone they know but to be honest it is only the person with the addiction can help themselves, unfortuneatly this sometimes mean they need to hit rock bottom or loose everything before they realise.

I know :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

i don't enjoy winning money off people with a problem.
    i'd enjoy much more winning €400 off a good mix of players who know what they're doing and can afford to lose then to win €500 off a guy who needs the money. don't get me wrong, if some dope wonders into a casino, hammered then he should be the lamb to the slaughter and i should take all his moneys, but if he is donating every night and its apparant he shouldnt be i wouldnt feel good about winning his money.

at the end of the day poker (imo) is a game, if i can win gracefully and fairly then fine. but if i can only win by taking advantage of people with a problem then it stops being a game for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Hammertime wrote: »

I respect this opinion, but surely its the nature of being part of a society that means we want to help our fellow man? Its the difference between a social and an individualistic society, and traditionally we have not been an individualistic society.

There's certainly no harm in trying to help, although it will always be more hassle to choose to help than to choose not to help.

To be honest, the club should be doing more to help. Its not morally right for a business to make its profits from the addiction problems of their customers.

/ all imho

BTW, on a side-note, things like gambling addictions are nearly impossible to overcome, so there is very little that even somewhere like GA can help with. Modern research on the topic calls it "sensation seeking" and it is something that you either have or not:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10359227?ordinalpos=1&itool=EntrezSystem2.PEntrez.Pubmed.Pubmed_ResultsPanel.Pubmed_DiscoveryPanel.Pubmed_Discovery_RA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

not morally right for a business to make its profits from the addiction problems of their customers.

Tobacco companies do it daily.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭CaptainNemo

There was a guy (probably still is) down in the Macau in Cork with a serious addiction, and health and financial problems probably directly related to it. Everyone down there knows him and knows he has a problem. I would sometimes feel very bad winning a pot off him because he would just look like a gigantic rock had dropped from the sky and was crushing him.

However he also borrows money off everyone and owes me a sum which I will never get back, so there's a limit to my sympathy.

It would mean absolutely less than nothing to him if you told him he had a gambling addiction and has probably been told it a million times. It's not like he doesn't know. I think there's very little you can (or should) do for people like him. Like a drug addict - they are just going to keep doing drugs, no matter what anyone says, until either some incredible disaster happens in their life, or they die, or they have some kind of personal-spiritual catharsis event. Either way, it will have to come from them, not you.

This is one of the reasons I don't think playing poker is very good for the soul. If you are not prey, you are a predator.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

ditpoker wrote: »
    i'd enjoy much more winning €400 off a good mix of players who know what they're doing and can afford to lose then to win €500 off a guy who needs the money. don't get me wrong, if some dope wonders into a casino, hammered then he should be the lamb to the slaughter and i should take all his moneys, but if he is donating every night and its apparant he shouldnt be i wouldnt feel good about winning his money.

at the end of the day poker (imo) is a game, if i can win gracefully and fairly then fine. but if i can only win by taking advantage of people with a problem then it stops being a game for me.

i was locked in the se two saturdays nights ago and dropped 200... donniebulge nick on full tilt, transfer when ready. :)

a-k-47 wrote: »
    i was locked in the se two saturdays nights ago and dropped 200... donniebulge nick on full tilt, transfer when ready. :)

if you're only looking for €200 then you don't need it... €2000 and i'd have insta-shipped! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

This is in the wrong forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭getting worse

A few quick points
    If the guy is in that bad of shape let him figure it out himself. Bad form starting a thread like this in case he is a reg reader, i have a feeling i know who your talking about

I am pretty sure that the guy does not post or read here, but if he does hey I still dont see the problem with posting this here, if it sends a message to get help that can only be good.

Regarding the wrong forum I believe that it is a poker related issue rather than just gambling, from my point of view poker is the only area of my life where I come into contact with gamblers and therefore come across this problem.

Yes I am whimp who does like to see some suffer with a problem regardless of who they are. Not sure that ignoring the issue is a good idea also not sure that my approaching some I dont know too well would do alot of good.

Anyway thanks for the replies. Any other comments welcome.

dit this pretty much sums up how I feel about the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

if you're only looking for €200 then you don't need it... €2000 and i'd have insta-shipped! :p

Did €500 on friday in the Jackpot, kinda need, sort us out with a contrabution Jeff

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

sorry missed an extra digit there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Its people like him that are vital to the poker economy.

and crime keeps the police employed???? so lets encourage theft, rape, alcohol abuse????

Mellor wrote: »
    Did €500 on friday in the Jackpot, kinda need, sort us out with a contrabution Jeff

i sent it to jesus, c/o the pentagon.

edit:

mellor = "if some dope wonders into a casino, hammered then he should be the lamb to the slaughter and i should take all his moneys," :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

and crime keeps the police employed???? so lets encourage theft, rape, alcohol abuse????

Crime being eliminated is probably the worst thing that could happen to an economy, think of how many jobs lost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

I think the most subtle way to go about it is to make up a stamp of www.gamblingtherapy.org/ and stamp it on his forehead.
    What posters, if any, are up on the Fitz noticeboard these days relating to info/help about it, do they have a GamCare one?

When I used to play live in Dublin I saw a loads of people with obvious gambling problems. But since research in Britain suggests that 1 in 6 people in a casino at any one time are problem gamblers it's hardly surprising to spy one of a Saturday night.

I'm not suggesting you go Steve Irwin on them, "Oh crikey I got myself a problem gambler here, WOAH he's a slippery little degenerate isn't he". Probably best to approach problem gamblers from the side and downwind of them...unless it's the General.
    How appropriate saying something to him is is a function of how well you know him. It *should* be the job of the casino, it is elsewhere and it will be here, but currently we have no gambling commission and nothing to oversee responsible gambling practices by the industry. Try saying something to a member of staff, would be good for a giggle at the expression at the very least.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

The Fitz has several posters up about responsible gambling and self exclusion tools on its noticeboards. I also notice lately there are self exclusion forms in fairly prominent positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

He's just stating a fact Jeff, no need to get all emotional. Degens are necessary, regardless of how that sits with you morally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

[QUOTE=hotspur;55537428, "Oh crikey I got myself a problem gambler here, WOAH he's a slippery little degenerate isn't he". .[/QUOTE]

This is the funniest comment I have ever read on boards.Literally cying laughing.

jbravado wrote: »
    This is the funniest comment I have ever read on boards.Literally cying laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

5starpool wrote: »
    The Fitz has several posters up about responsible gambling and self exclusion tools on its noticeboards. I also notice lately there are self exclusion forms in fairly prominent positions.

Splendid, thanks. An improvement from when I used to go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

You can't dissociate yourself from gambling addicts by saying "I only play with people who can afford it, I don't take money off gambling addicts". Even if you really walk away from the table any time a real degenerate sits down, the game is only there because of that guy. If no one took his money you wouldn't be able to play with the regulars either, they wouldn't be there.

Occasionally I've heard people say "I only play tournaments, where no one can lose more than a buyin, so I'm not taking advantage of anyone who can't afford it". This is still wrong. Apart from the people who do indeed spend more than they can afford on poker tournaments, tournaments in almost all clubs are subsidised by cash games and table games.

I've come to terms with the fact that I don't mind taking money off sickos. I feel at least I'm being honest with myself and that if I don't do it someone else will. I'd also be OK with working in a pub or an off licence or a shop that sold cigarettes. Or even owning one, if you think there's a difference.

I do think it's funny how many people think pubs shouldn't serve drunk and casinos shouldn't cater to gambling addicts but that cigarette companies shouldn't target anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭WECpoker

I would say it is nice that you care.....and Im sure many who post here do care for their fellow man who is in deep trouble. I dont see anything wrong with politely mentioning your feelings to the person next time you see him (then leave it alone).

As I have played Poker for many years, the sad thing about all forms of gambling (including poker) is that there are Millions of these poor souls who get engulfed over their heads. Many of these lose everything, many lose their families, a couple kill themselves.

The unfortunate truth is if you play enough you see the sadness everyday. Gambling/Poker can be a rough road.

Cheers for your trying to help....every little bit of assistance to the common man adds up

Bad Side of the Game Note:
    I knew a great fellow at the Poker Room. He had a nice business, he had won hundreds of thousands of dollars at Poker, and he was the REAL GENEROUS TYPE. He gave money to EVERYONE who was his "friend", no questions asked. As you can imagine, he had a LOT of friends.

His poker luck started to fade badly. Before long, he became a true poker degenerate, losing more and more never able to get the winning streak back. He lost his business. Lost his family. The one thing that depressed me most, was his "friends" abandoned him. He reluctently asked them for money, and they now would have nothiong to do with him.

Eventually, with no friends no family and no money left, he killed himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

"For evil to triumph it only requires good men to do nothing"

I think some of the advice on here is truly appalling. A genuine question deserves a genuine answer. We've had two young men commit suicide in this town recently - God knows why - But there's enough pain in the world and if you spot it and can do something about it then that is truly amazing. If you have the courage to go up to the guy do so. Sometimes that small gesture can make all the difference. If you get short shrift then fine. You have done what you can. If you are not comfortable with that point your concerns out to the staff - Most places should act responsibly - and I think the management of most of the Dublin clubs are approachable.

Other than that it's a case of consequences. Addiction is only a problem as and when it produces consequences. And perhaps this poor person is not there yet.

But it's nice to know that there are still nice people in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

So if you were a member of the gardaí, would you only arrest the really really evil people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

I guess I could feel bad, i'm not sure. An advantage of playing online I guess. I'd just make myself feel better by spending his money on a ps3 or clothes or some sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Spuca

WECpoker wrote: »
    I would say it is nice that you care.....and Im sure many who post here do care for their fellow man who is in deep trouble. I dont see anything wrong with politely mentioning your feelings to the person next time you see him (then leave it alone).

As I have played Poker for many years, the sad thing about all forms of gambling (including poker) is that there are Millions of these poor souls who get engulfed over their heads. Many of these lose everything, many lose their families, a couple kill themselves.

The unfortunate truth is if you play enough you see the sadness everyday. Gambling/Poker can be a rough road.

Cheers for your trying to help....every little bit of assistance to the common man adds up

Bad Side of the Game Note:
    I knew a great fellow at the Poker Room. He had a nice business, he had won hundreds of thousands of dollars at Poker, and he was the REAL GENEROUS TYPE. He gave money to EVERYONE who was his "friend", no questions asked. As you can imagine, he had a LOT of friends.

His poker luck started to fade badly. Before long, he became a true poker degenerate, losing more and more never able to get the winning streak back. He lost his business. Lost his family. The one thing that depressed me most, was his "friends" abandoned him. He reluctently asked them for money, and they now would have nothiong to do with him.

Eventually, with no friends no family and no money left, he killed himself.

Thanks for that uplifting message filled sentiment.

Fatboydim wrote: »
    "For evil to triumph it only requires good men to do nothing"

I think some of the advice on here is truly appalling. A genuine question deserves a genuine answer. We've had two young men commit suicide in this town recently - God knows why - But there's enough pain in the world and if you spot it and can do something about it then that is truly amazing. If you have the courage to go up to the guy do so. Sometimes that small gesture can make all the difference. If you get short shrift then fine. You have done what you can. If you are not comfortable with that point your concerns out to the staff - Most places should act responsibly - and I think the management of most of the Dublin clubs are approachable.

Other than that it's a case of consequences. Addiction is only a problem as and when it produces consequences. And perhaps this poor person is not there yet.

But it's nice to know that there are still nice people in the world.

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Hi Getting Worse,
    It was nice to meet you in the Fitz the other night..
    I feel that maybe an approach to the person in question, and maybe a suggestion to him that he should "Cut down" the amount of time he spends in the Fitz... Unfortunately casinos and card clubs can become almost like a vacumn, if your bored at night, there is always going to be a game on in town.

We have all done the 2 nights a week in the clubs, which invariably leads to 4 - 5 nights a week, then suddenly you can't remember anything significent happening over the last 2 months because you have been in the same place, with the same peopl night after night.

Also maybe suggest to him to Try to give himself a set amount of money to spend a night.

Unfortunately at the end of the day the only person who can change him is himself... and until he realises he needs to change his habits, it a lose lose situation..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 JoesephStalin

I have been reading these boards fo quite a while now but this thread had finally done it for me. Never have I heard such shi*te in all my life. This is the last straw.

These boards have their fair share of know-it-alls, do gooders and soap box merchants but some of the comments on this are beyond fu*king belief.

For a start, Mother Theresa with the original post - get a fu*king life. If you approach that De-gen, (who obviously knows he has a problem which is why he is going around in rag order) I guarantee you 99.9 % of the time he will tell you to fu*k off and mind your own business. Do you think that Alco's or heroin addicts will get better because some fool approaches them and says "Hi, I just wanted to say I think you may have a gambling problem, and here is a number for a GA meeting" ?? Cop on please.

As for this beauty from WECPoker:

Give me a sick bag. You should join the samaritans, your wise goodness and lovingness could be useful.

There are loads more idiot comments on this thread that I wont even bother go into.

Other than to say, DITpoker I have read so many of your threads and you are an arrogant and ignorant fool. Get a life with your 3000 odd posts. I'd say you sit at home in your bedroom cracking one off to Boards.ie you saddo.

I wouldnt be one bit surprised if this post gets removed by you or one of your "cool" moderator buddys.

Good night Irene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

I have been reading these boards fo quite a while now but this thread had finally done it for me. Never have I heard such shi*te in all my life. This is the last straw.

These boards have their fair share of know-it-alls, do gooders and soap box merchants but some of the comments on this are beyond fu*king belief.

For a start, Mother Theresa with the original post - get a fu*king life. If you approach that De-gen, (who obviously knows he has a problem which is why he is going around in rag order) I guarantee you 99.9 % of the time he will tell you to fu*k off and mind your own business. Do you think that Alco's or heroin addicts will get better because some fool approaches them and says "Hi, I just wanted to say I think you may have a gambling problem, and here is a number for a GA meeting" ?? Cop on please.

Give me a sick bag. You should join the samaritans, your wise goodness and lovingness could be useful.

There are loads more idiot comments on this thread that I wont even bother go into.

Other than to say, DITpoker I have read so many of your threads and you are an arrogant and ignorant fool. Get a life with your 3000 odd posts. I'd say you sit at home in your bedroom cracking one off to Boards.ie you saddo.

I wouldnt be one bit surprised if this post gets removed by you or one of your "cool" moderator buddys.

Good night Irene.

welcome to boards :eek:

I Other than to say, DITpoker I have read so many of your threads and you are an arrogant and ignorant fool. Get a life with your 3000 odd posts. I'd say you sit at home in your bedroom cracking one off to Boards.ie you saddo.

meh... bad varience.
    i am arrogant
    i am ignorant
    i am what keeps you entertained
    i am all that you want to be

give us a kiss! x

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Good night Irene.

Good to see that I am a 'cool' moderator. Hope you enjoyed your posting career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 JohnDublin

Good night Irene.

PMSL - cant find the post from Irene though ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

I'd say you sit at home in your bedroom cracking one off to Boards.ie you saddo.

I lol'd

RoundTower wrote: »
    You can't dissociate yourself from gambling addicts by saying "I only play with people who can afford it, I don't take money off gambling addicts". Even if you really walk away from the table any time a real degenerate sits down, the game is only there because of that guy. If no one took his money you wouldn't be able to play with the regulars either, they wouldn't be there.

thats a fair point. I think i would make a distinction between a gambler who comes in and loses a few quid on a night out and a guy who comes in and is noticeably chasing losses he cant afford. basically i wouldnt enjoy winning from that kinda guy.

its the extreme im talking about, i dont know this fitz fella who the OP was talking about.

i suppose an example id give is I'd try and talk my mate who has a decent income and is about to go out on the beer into playing a quick game of cards while getting the pre-drinks in, but i wouldnt try and get the mate who has lost his job, who only has a few quid, and should be using the money elsewhere to play the same game.

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    I lol'd

its a fetish... i cant help it...:D