Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Earth Hour

• 28-03-2008 7:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭

It's "Earth Hour" tomorrow apparently:rolleyes:

http://www.earthhour.org/

In 2008, 24 global cities will participate in Earth Hour at 8pm on March 29. Earth Hour is the highlight of a major campaign to encourage businesses, communities and individuals to take the simple steps needed to cut their emissions on an ongoing basis. It is about simple changes that will collectively make a difference – from businesses turning off their lights when their offices are empty, to households turning off appliances rather than leaving them on standby.

So, will you be putting your lights out? Or do ya recon its a scam the ozzies thought up so we'll all be sittin in the dark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Lights will be staying on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Sounds like a great idea :rolleyes:

Personally, I'm looking forward to tree-hugging hour more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

/me snips main power line to house. Done and done. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

yes, I'll be doing it.
    And I'll also be on my bicycle on which the back wheel dynamo is hooked up to the National Grid trying to do my bit for the ozone layer whilst offering my friends and family who pop around to save energy, some south african peace crisps.

FFS....what a load of old bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

I'll be holding in the ol' flatulence for the 60 minutes so you'll be able to see the ice caps refreezing before your very eyes and several Polar Bear cubs will be born in the hour.

FFS....what a load of old bollix.

Agreed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

I'll won't be home at 8pm tomorrow, but i'll do my part by turning the car headlights off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

We can make a difference :pac:

http://worldfrontpage.com/moscow_air/

I'm not so sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Eglinton wrote: »
    I'll be holding in the ol' flatulence for the 60 minutes so you'll be able to see the ice caps refreezing before your very eyes and several Polar Bear cubs will be born in the hour.

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Time to fire up the heating, switch on the PCs and the 2 TVs, 2 wiis, playstation, DVD player, crank the Oven to 300 degrees and run all 4 hobs on 6 while I leave the fridge door and all of the doors and windows open.

Actually thats probably gonna cost me a tenner to do for an hour... so no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Will they be turning off the lights at the building site in the extension of the Dundrum Shopping Centre....? Must be some bill on that place at the end of the day...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

And I thought I was the only one who didn't believe in Global Warming.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Will they be turning off the lights at the building site in the extension of the Dundrum Shopping Centre....? Must be some bill on that place at the end of the day...

What?? Take it here :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

Will probably play havoc with power stations receiving less demand than they are accustomed to at that hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Its going to be worse for the environment turning back on all those lights at once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Lol at the whole concept. I fail to see the link between energy saving and prevention of global warming. Why conserve when nuclear power has all the answers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

nice gesture but don't see the point as it won't change anything from tomorrow on...

why the feck aren't 'non-essential' lights off ALL THE TIME anyway? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

anyone tries cutting power to my servers and they'll taste my wrath :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jimbo78 wrote: »
    And I thought I was the only one who didn't believe in Global Warming.

What?? Take it here :pac::pac::pac:

Why? Is this not an issue once you pass beyond the M50?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I'm breaking into all your houses and shutting the power off at the mains tomorrow, that'll teach you lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

what a bunch of bleeden mongo's :confused:

When all those people turn on the electrical devices at once then the powers stations will have to increase there output temporarily to compensate thus cancelling any effect of having the power off in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Sherifu wrote: »
    We can make a difference :pac:

http://worldfrontpage.com/moscow_air/

I'm not so sure.

That picture is beautiful in a strange kind of way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

KTRIC wrote: »
    what a bunch of bleeden mongo's :confused:

When all those people turn on the electrical devices at once then the powers stations will have to increase there output temporarily to compensate thus cancelling any effect of having the power off in the first place.

*facepalm*

the idea is to get people to realise that appliances left on standby and lights left on in empty rooms is wasteful and it doesn't take much effort to turn them off properly and leave them off when they're not in use.

It seems most people need some kind of gimmick like earth hour to get them to realise something this simple, and even then most are resistant to basic common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

someone please tell me that they're actually going to burn less peat and oil in the power stations for this hour - hmmm, maybe they'll just dump the surplus heat into the rivers and sea as normal and further contribute to fabled global warming:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Bmark

Eglinton wrote: »

Hillarious !! i wonder what they'll call the cubs?? it will have to be an environmentally friendly name !!!!!

I got an e-mail about this in work. I'd gladly turn off my computer for an hour at work in the middle of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Myth wrote: »
    I got an e-mail about this in work. I'd gladly turn off my computer for an hour at work in the middle of the day.

Sadly, it's at 8pm.

If they turned off the lights in all the pubs, could set the scene for an arse grabbing contest...

Hetrosexually of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

If they had an Earthhorse hour I might agree to participate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

It's a nice idea I suppose, but there's too much greed in the world to ever make a significant difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Google's homepage has gone black in 'a gesture to raise awareness of a worldwide energy conservation effort'
    Tis cool!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

8pm on a Saturday night? They haven't really thought this one through properly, have they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

Google. How could you?

That's quite cool of Google to put their support into it tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

We need to turn off the juice for a century to make a difference at this stage. This is such a load of self-gratifying ****. And Google with the black page, ffs it takes the PC more power to render, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

alan4cult wrote: »
    Google. How could you?

I just started screaming at this damn infliction called Vista on my laptop when Google came up all black:eek::eek:....then I noticed the Earth hour linky thing.

One hour crime spree anyone.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    Google's homepage has gone black in 'a gesture to raise awareness of a worldwide energy conservation effort'
    Tis cool!

There is a search engine called Blackle (it's basically Google) that has a permanently black background. It is supposed to reduce power consumption on CRT monitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

nipplenuts wrote: »
    And Google with the black page, ffs it takes the PC more power to render, no?

They said themselves,the colour makes no difference,power wise. It's just them putting out a reminder. Thanks Google.:rolleyes:

Google quote:
    As to why we don't do this permanently - it saves no energy; modern displays use the same amount of power regardless of what they display

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

:pac: Google looks so much cooler black...it should stay that way!!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

Total waste of time. If you look at an aerial photo of the world at night, there are red blobs in Nigeria and Russia. These indicate millions of tons of butane and propane being burned off, because the cost of transporting them is more than their sale price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Typical. Google.com still still has the lights on.
    Total waste of time. If you look at an aerial photo of the world at night, there are red blobs in Nigeria and Russia. These indicate millions of tons of butane and propane being burned off, because the cost of transporting them is more than their sale price.

pic?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

For goodness sake - would somebody think of the Bonos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭skuzzb

:eek:Googles gone dark for the day!:eek:
    Go to www.google.ie anytime before Sunday (or before they get enough people complaining to change it back)

They give the full story here http://www.google.ie/intl/en_ie/earthhour/

To be honest, its a cool idea but the first thing I thought when i saw it was OMGHAX!

Its gonna be a fun one having to explain this to the scores of people ringing up tech support centres all day tomorrow when they think their PC has gone nuts! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

woah! looks cool i wana keep it like this all the time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Mine hasn't, but it's customised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Jackovarian

you can!!!!!!!!!!!!

www.blackle.com

enjoy!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭SQDD

they did the same thing recently with israel for their black day

There's already a thread on EarthHour if you'd care to look down the front page of AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

you can!!!!!!!!!!!!

www.blackle.com

enjoy!!!!
    Apparently it does nothing for energy saving, unless you're using an ancient CRT monitor.

link: http://techlogg.com/content/view/360/31/

Wasn't there a while thread of alternative - google type pages some time ago...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0329/environment.html?rss

In Dublin non essential lights will be turned off for the hour.
    If they are non essential, why not keep them off so?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Ahhh lads, come on, just switch off the non essential lights, like the garden lamps, the shed/garage/conservatory/2nd toilet/attic/rooms that are are not being used/ and the twenty other lamps you use to add to the ambience! sure it'll be all kinda cosy and snug in the glow of the T.V. or fire:) and it's just for one hour, go on, give the Planet a hand!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

I will do it to give the ESB some extra work!;)