Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai get those scumbag Romanians!!!

• 28-03-2008 12:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

from breaking news
    Gardaí have arrested 12 people today as part of a crackdown on organised thefts by a Romanian gang in Dublin.

More than €30,000 worth of property, including mobile phones, cameras, clothing and cash, was also recovered when officers raided six houses in Tallaght and on the North Circular Road shortly after 5.30am.

Gardaí say the gang specialised in distraction thefts at ATM machines and in pubs and clubs around Dublin city centre.

Nine men and three women - aged between their teens and mid-40s - were detained in this morning's raids.

Gardaí say they are all of Romanian origin

It's about time I say. They should all be fcuked out of the country!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

swingking wrote: »
    from breaking news

It's about time I say. They should all be fcuked out of the country!!!
    I bet they won't be though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Now now... Lets get the language right... They're scumbags who just happen to be Romanian.

See what I find weird is you always hear stories about young kids and their parents (completely innocent here, usually running for fear of their own country) who fight deportation and yet there's these scumbags that'll only get a suspended sentence (at best) and then allowed to stay.

Some things baffle me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Now now... Lets get the language right... They're scumbags who just happen to be Romanian.
    They're Romanians who just happen to be scumbags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Some things baffle me

Geometry baffles me :(

kaimera wrote: »
    Geometry baffles me :(

Good point. Did you not try those Less Stress More Success books?

And, for the record, I put calculators, log notes, rulers, pens and copies into a blender and one of those books did not fall out. All I got was a broken blender :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

rb_ie wrote: »
    They're Romanians who just happen to be scumbags?
    They're bags that happen to be full of Scum...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

rb_ie wrote: »
    I bet they won't be though.
    Even if they do get deported, these guys have a very strong return spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Good point. Did you not try those Less Stress More Success books?

And, for the record, I put calculators, log notes, rulers, pens and copies into a blender and one of those books did not fall out. All I got was a broken blender :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

In before lockage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

And, for the record, I put calculators, log notes, rulers, pens and copies into a blender and one of those books did not fall out. All I got was a broken blender
    Did you remember to put in the author or experienced teacher? Preferably one with 20 years experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Mister Fister

I bet that guy who nearly got robbed at the ATM with his mom beside him will be happy to hear this news, remember he said:

I was at at atm with my mom getting my money out and I saw these two guys who were up to no good behind me. I thought nothing much of it, people are always standing about. But when I put my pin in they started making trouble and my mom got scared and said 'You're movin' with your auntie and uncle in Bel Air'. I whistled for a cab and when it came near the license plate said fresh and it had dice in the mirror. If anything I can say this cab is rare, But I thought 'Now forget it' - 'Yo homes to Bel Air'.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055262267&page=2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Interesting part is the 30,000 grand. Even given the meejya/gardai's penchant for exaggerating these hauls, thats a fair few bob for poor ickle romanians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Better than sending them home with paid for flights so they can come back in a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 ioctl

I guess they moved over here to rob us as payback for Italia '90. :pac:

I have never met a ''normal'' Romanian. Has anyone else?

Their English consists of small sentences from what I've noticed.

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

KaG1888 wrote: »

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc

I have, quite few. Decent and hardworking people. A lot of them hate Roma people, because they have a lot of problems because of them, as a lot of people here dont see the difference between Romas and Romanians. Looking for a job, or trying to rent a place to live, when people hear that they are from Romania, 8 times out of 10 the conversation is over.

Would you like Irish people to be judged based on behaviour of travellers? It's exactly same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc
    Not my bike mechanic, he's Romanian also known among many dublin motorcycle couriers, living here over 10 years married to an Irish woman is hard working and honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

Bloody romanians ... bet theywill get off with it!

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc
    I've worked with a lot of them. Decent and very hard working not to mention well educated. They despise the Roma gypsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

guy works in our job as a mechanic,salt of the earth and works long hours with no complaints,sound bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If we can kick scumbags who happen to be Romanian out of the coutry, can we not do the same with scumbags who happen to be Irish?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    If we can kick scumbags who happen to be Romanian out of the coutry, can we not do the same with scumbags who happen to be Irish?

Nah, the constitution looks after them. And sure the amount of threads in AH would halve without them.

-Funk

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    It's worse to kick them out cause they'll be straight back. Jail ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

These are Roma gypsies, leave the Romanians out of it please!

You wouldn't like being linked to the "travelling community" now would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

IanCurtis wrote: »
    These are Roma gypsies, leave the Romanians out of it please!

So none of them were born in Romania, thereby making them Romanian?

Throw all scumbags out of the country tbh!

connundrum wrote: »
    So none of them were born in Romania, thereby making them Romanian?

Throw all scumbags out of the country tbh!

You know what I mean, don't be facetious :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

How do you know they were gypsies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

...because they were knackers!

Zing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I agree- most normal Romanians are some of the hardest working most decent people you'll find in Europe. In my last job one guy used make playground equipment in his sparetime for kids- and really good stuff it was too. They have a lot of pride in their work ethic. Its the Roma who give the whole sodding country a bad name.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc

I work with a "Normal" Romanian.

Irish travellers are still Irish. Quo prid quo and ce sera sera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

i worked with two romanians and they were grand, again "scumbags who happen to be romanian"

ps in before lock :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Every morning walking up o'connel st i see the gangs of gypsies setting off for thier days begging.Sometimes there's twelve or more of them.One i've noticed has a slight limp but carries a wheelchair folded up with him,i've seen him sitting in the chair up by the fourcourts,his legs obvioulsy having given out on him once he got there.Usually a few of them peel off and can be seen getting on buses to wider pastures.There's a phone box outside the Cafe Kylemore where theycan be seen franticaly making and recieving phone calls from early in the morning.I've also noticed a few of the younger girls have dyed thier hair a blondy colour to fit in better when they're doing thier thing,these are usally the ATM fraudsters and pickpockets in grafton st.There's no doubt about it,these scumbags take thier freeloading and stealing very serioulsy,they must be making an absolute packet.

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc

That's an incredibly offensive statement to make. Apologies to any Romanian readers, as an Irish person I don't agree with any of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc
    Good lord........ I don't care what anyone else says, this is racist.

ojewriej wrote: »
    I have, quite few. Decent and hardworking people. A lot of them hate Roma people, because they have a lot of problems because of them, as a lot of people here dont see the difference between Romas and Romanians. Looking for a job, or trying to rent a place to live, when people hear that they are from Romania, 8 times out of 10 the conversation is over.

Would you like Irish people to be judged based on behaviour of travellers? It's exactly same thing.

Yeah I was actaully going to mention the travelers in relation to how they act over in England. I was giving an honest experience that I have never met a non Roma Romanian.

Ok firstly,
    I am not a racist...... I was jsut making a statement from my experiences with this particular race of people. A long term girlfriend I had was Bosnian so dont point the finger please. Why are people on here so ****ing sensitive

I am not a racist......
    Always love it when I see that line :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Badu

I have to say the majority of you are all completely ignorant. The people you are refering to are "Roma" NOT Romanian. Do some research before you post such racist muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc

Yeah I was actaully going to mention the travelers in relation to how they act over in England. I was giving an honest experience that I have never met a non Roma Romanian.

Shouldn't you have put IMIO before your post, In My Ignorant Opinion.
    I've worked with plenty of romanians and most of them have been pretty sound with good english, contributing to our economy and tax system.
    If the only African you had met was a lazy sponger would you think they are all like that. You're a straight up racist, simple and plain. I'm sure I'll get a ban for this from White Wash Man, he's taken sides with racists here in the past and basically abuses his power to silence opinions other than his.

Badu wrote: »
    I have to say the majority of you are all completely ignorant. The people you are refering to are "Roma" NOT Romanian. Do some research before you post such racist muck.

That's like saying that travellers born and raised here are not Irish. FACT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Badu

FX Meister wrote: »
    That's like saying that travellers born and raised here are not Irish. FACT

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roma_people

"The Roma are believed to have originated from Multan, located in the Punjab and Rajasthan regions of the Indian subcontinent. "

http://www3.baylor.edu/~Charles_Kemp/gypsy_health.htm

[FONT=Times New Roman, Times, serif]"The Roma originated in India and migrated to Europe around 1000 A.D. It is unclear why they left India, and there are no explanatory written documents. They reached the Balkans by the 14th Century and spread throughout Western Europe by the 15th Century. The Roma were the first people of color to immigrate in large numbers to Europe, and Europeans tended to treat them as outsiders. In the 18th century, groups of Roma were deported to the American colonies."[/FONT]

I think maybe you should go a look up what the word "fact" means.

lol, seriously?

*removes Swastika from sleeve*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I know about 6-8 hardworking Romanians in Galway, all who have been here around 8 years and most of whom have PhDs, I'd sooner see the uber-ignorant pitchfork-wielding idiots chucked out of the country before Romanians. You know who you are.

FX Meister wrote: »
    Shouldn't you have put IMIO before your post, In My Ignorant Opinion.
    I've worked with plenty of romanians and most of them have been pretty sound with good english, contributing to our economy and tax system.
    If the only African you had met was a lazy sponger would you think they are all like that. You're a straight up racist, simple and plain. I'm sure I'll get a ban for this from White Wash Man, he's taken sides with racists here in the past and basically abuses his power to silence opinions other than his.

Firstly, if you seen any of my posts on the political forum you'd see that I am not a racist. I have a nice post about how badly Africa has been threated by the US and the former Soviet Union over the years. I also sponsor a child with world vision for €25 a month from Guinea Bissau and I got the idea off here actually. So dont point that finger at me. I was making an un-serious statement. GET ****ING OVER IT

EDIT - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055173137&page=4 Yeah thats from a whitepower idiot, Meister !

Sherifu wrote: »
    Always love it when I see that line :pac:

Usually its followed by....

... but

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

''Big issue''
    ''Spare change''

Etc etc

I had a Romanian politics lecturer; he said the gypsies have no sense of an affinity with civil government or mainstream society, meaning that they have no qualms about crime

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roma_people

"The Roma are believed to have originated from Multan, located in the Punjab and Rajasthan regions of the Indian subcontinent. "

http://www3.baylor.edu/~Charles_Kemp/gypsy_health.htm

[FONT=Times New Roman, Times, serif]"The Roma originated in India and migrated to Europe around 1000 A.D. It is unclear why they left India, and there are no explanatory written documents. They reached the Balkans by the 14th Century and spread throughout Western Europe by the 15th Century. The Roma were the first people of color to immigrate in large numbers to Europe, and Europeans tended to treat them as outsiders. In the 18th century, groups of Roma were deported to the American colonies."[/FONT]

I think maybe you should go a look up what the word "fact" means.

So they have Indian passports do they? My cousin was born and raised in Canada, holds a Canadian passport and says she is Canadian but I'm sure you would put her in her place and tell her she is in fact Irish? Cop on.

connundrum wrote: »
    Usually its followed by....

... but
    I think they're catching on.