Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which nationalities do you get on best and worst with?

• 27-03-2008 10:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭

As the title states.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Routledge

Affable wrote: »
    As the title states.:)

The Eiré. I love the Eire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

The Irish... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Most i have come across i get on okay with except the french. Every french person i have meet has been rude to me except one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Find Thai people difficult to deal with as I find their fakeness too irritating for words quite frankly. Everyone else is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

I get along with the Yanks great!

As for the Spanish, I dunno, there usually rude.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Get on well with the Polish and Palistinien guys i work with.

never really judged my Nation.

I like culchies of any nationality.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

I have trouble with Americans. Tbh being English I get on best with the English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Polish and Estonians are sound enough, French are usually ignorant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Not a fan of the french. I've been told that "country french" people are nice. I've obviously only ever met "city french". The french people I have met have been the most rude, arrogant and ignorant people I have ever met.

Love the laid back nature of the Australians and Kiwis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

love the irish, Aussies and kiwi's!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I get along with anyone who wants to get along, and I've never noticed any particular nationality that just didn't want to get along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Can't stand them damn MExicans.

*sarcasm*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Yeh 2nd all the french fekkers. I work in a team and there is ten nationalities(sp?) and the french are the only ignorant ones. BTW, is it just me or is every one (white) from South Africa a fecking mentalist? Sound but as mad as an empty can of beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

i've liked all the aussies i've met, most of the poles, a lot of americans, and quite a few brazilians and mexicans i've gotten on with great.

finnish people are crazy

irish are fine too.

not too keen on a lot of french people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

I really like Swedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Get on best with the English.

Can't think of any nation who I dont get on with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I have spent time in Australia, and really I enjoyed for the most part talking and mixing with the Aussies.

I have worked with a few people from various parts of Africa and they were all bang on.

I have worked with a lot of Pole's too. Kind of mixed with the Pole's. Some of them were top people, some of them were quite unsettling and some of them were down right ignorant/ arrogant. But you get that everywhere.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

allybhoy wrote: »
    BTW, is it just me or is every one (white) from South Africa a fecking mentalist? Sound but as mad as an empty can of beans

I've got a South African mate who definitely conforms to this theory, absolute lunatic!:D

Think I get on best with Scandinavians (mainly Swedes) and Germans. Get on fairly well with the Spanish and South Americans aswell. Not keen on some French people or the Welsh for some strange reason. I would have added Turkish people to that list but I made friends with a few of them over the last year and they make absolutely savage kebabs!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I don't know enough people of different nationalities to tell, really...so far it's probably Irish, Welsh, Aussies & Kiwis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

got on well with any polish i worked with, haven't gotten on well with any south africans, all 2 of them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Well i've worked with and known a few people from diffrent nationalitys.

French
    Polish
    Russian
    Latvian
    Cuban
    English
    Japanese
    Chineese

Dont have a problem with any of them.

Never really had the oppertunity to meet any Nigerians or Yanks, seeings how they are a nationality that are coming over in thier droves, but i dont think a persons nationality should be coming into context on people ya do or dont get on with.

If ya get on with a person, irrespective of nationality.

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Irish
    Filipinos
    Indians
    Polish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Get on well with those I work with. Those that I support, though, I'd like to kill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Probably the Irish, Scotish, Aussies, Polish, Dutch females and Nigerians.

For whatever reason I never really seemed to get on with the Welsh, French, or Dutch males.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Havent found one I dont get along with yet. Begining to dislike the chinese though as a nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Have mostly got on great with Mexicans, Cubans, Guatemalans and Colombians. Haven't really met people from European countries.

Haven't got on with most English people i've met and a lot of the easten European people i've met here seem to be ignorant. I don't know what their nationality is as i can't tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Chinafoot wrote: »
    Not a fan of the french. I've been told that "country french" people are nice. I've obviously only ever met "city french". The french people I have met have been the most rude, arrogant and ignorant people I have ever met.

I've found the opposite to be true.

I love the Scots, they're great fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

My football team is made up of Aussies, English, Irish, a Scot, a Kenyan and a Kiwi. I work with South Africans, Italians, Eastern Europeans, English and Aussies. I get on with whoever wants to get on.

bluto63 wrote: »

I love the Scots, they're great fun

I wish I had a scottish accent :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

A bit ridiculous to generalise entire populations, but in my experience:

I get on on well with: English, German, Dutch, Mexican, Italian, Japanese
    I don't get on well with: American, French

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

tend to dislike: the english; egyptians; and the spanish; americans

get on with; irish ; dutch ; french

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

White people are dicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I get on with Irish people very well.

Then there's the Irish, I can't stand them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

When I worked in New York, the Dominican Rep. lads and Mexicans were great. Always positive (even though people treated them like ****) and always up for a laugh.

Also love Geordies (they're a nation unto themselves) and generally get on great with all English people. Spanish are great craic aswel.

No love for the French, and there is something about Aussies that grates me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

This thread is a cestpool for type "A" sterotypes.

How anyone can genuinely say they dont like americans - all 275 million, or think the french are rude all 60 odd million of them because you may have met a few is beyond me.

I tend to "get on well" with a personality rather than a nationality.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

In this thread: Generalisations :rolleyes::D

snyper wrote: »
    This thread is a cestpool for type "A" sterotypes.

How anyone can genuinely say they dont like americans - all 275 million, or think the french are rude all 60 odd million of them because you may have met a few is beyond me.

I tend to "get on well" with a personality rather than a nationality.

apology accepted! :D

havent met a rude frenchmen but then i havent really looked. Met some annoying, bastardly, shady chinese folk, but I've also met some awesome chinese folk.

If you want to get really racial I find the hardest people to get along with are so-called African Americans. Most of them just dont want to be got along with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

To be honest get on best and worst with Irish. Have never had problems with French, find their reputation very undeserved to be honest. South Africans are another matter, have a guy in work who's sound but most of them are very fake and with a few beers in them their real character comes out and it's nasty. Truly nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Overheal wrote: »

If you want to get really racial I find the hardest people to get along with are so-called African Americans. Most of them just dont want to be got along with.
    Interesting, when I was living in the States the Americans i got on best with were African Americans, many of them militant. Suppose it's horses for courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

snyper wrote: »
    How anyone can genuinely say they dont like americans - all 275 million.

28,000,000 americans were born since this post ;)

http://www.census.gov/

jdivision wrote: »
    Interesting, when I was living in the States the Americans i got on best with were African Americans, many of them militant. Suppose it's horses for courses.

Yeah try going to school with some and you'll see what I mean. Constantly getting robbed blind in between classes got old fast. Not all bad, but theres a shocking amount of them who are just raised woefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

I get on with the whole of asia and eastern Europe.

Yeah try going to school with some and you'll see what I mean. Constantly getting robbed blind in between classes got old fast. Not all bad, but theres a shocking amount of them who are just raised woefully.

What would they rob?

My pokemon cards :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Sheesh... what's the world coming to?

Am I going to be the first person to say Germans?

My pokemon cards :(

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

I cant get on with germans at all- i think its because their language sounds so agressive and the whole hitler thing doesnt help lol, I dont really get on better with any other nationality than others - they are all the same on that line- except germans

Though honestly when i was little i had a nightmare a chinese person kidnapped me and im kinda scared of them even to this day:(

DonJose wrote: »
    28,000,000 americans were born since this post ;)

http://www.census.gov/

303,724,296 according to that formulated guesstimate.

You're forgetting about the morbidly obese that eat their children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Can't stand any Americans. Oh and some Welsh.

Everyone else I've met apart from some individuals are great. Irish, French, Portuguese, Spanish, Greek, Scottish, English, Korean, Chinese, Japanese ....