Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Player: the proles' choice

• 26-03-2008 12:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭

How is it that John Player have a reputation of being for poor people? They cost €7.45, same as any other brand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Because silk cut and marlboro are for the gheys? That's probably there reasoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭turnsoutIwas

No they're 7.40! I wouldnt smoke anything else.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Work in a shop that sells fags at some stage. Note who buys JP Blue. Note the pungent aroma and disturbing accent / tracksuit that hasnt been washed since last christmas.
    Most smokers wont smoke em. Foul things. Like smoking a pencil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Hmph.

Wait til DesF sees this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Ah come on now, JPB's are the king of the smokes.
    Silk Cuts /Marlboro Lights are brutal and normally smoked by poncy steamers called Quentin and Fiachra outside D2 on a saturday night after they've had one to many shandy's.

Dunhill arent bad either are benson but they leave your throat in an awful state the next morning.

What does everybody else smoke?
    I went through a rolly stage (holborne?!) there bout a year ago when I was trying to cut down and it wasnt too bad.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I think there is already a thread on this, or similar, in the smokin forum though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

The Skinny Silk cuts are nice and lady like!!

allybhoy wrote: »
    Ah come on now, JPB's are the king of the smokes.
    Silk Cuts /Marlboro Lights are brutal and normally smoked by poncy steamers called Quentin and Fiachra outside D2 on a saturday night after they've had one to many shandy's.

Dunhill arent bad either are benson but they leave your throat in an awful state the next morning.

What does everybody else smoke?
    I went through a rolly stage (holborne?!) there bout a year ago when I was trying to cut down and it wasnt too bad.

Rollies ? Cheap and cheerfull! Silk cut Silver cos my throat is litterly in bits!

I think there is already a thread on this, or similar, in the smokin forum though.

There is a smoking forum? Holy Flaming Hotdogs batman. Anyone ever think that there are like too many forums on this? Its like everyone wants to be a moderator, Im going to setup "how to peel an orange forum" But i dont look like Hans Moleman... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Whenever I smoke a John Player Blue I realise they're bad for me, and that's GOOD! Also love using them to roll joints. Because I'm a ****ing scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Ok I have to ask, whats a prole? Is it an abbreviation for something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Proletarian. Noun. Singular.
    Proletariat. Noun. Plural.

John Player Blue, Super Kings, B&H - skanger fags.

Marlboro Lights - too cigar-ish

Silk Cut Purple ftw. Anything lighter is too light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

normally a rolly's man, but I've switched to Camel of late. prefer em to the rest. added note: Silk Cut are absolutely foul, don't know how anyone can smoke them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I smoke Marlboro Red, fuk rhis 'light' cirarette shoite, cigarettes will kill you, slightly less deadly dangerous is still deadly dangerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

normally a rolly's man, but I've switched to Camel of late. prefer em to the rest. added note: Silk Cut are absolutely foul, don't know how anyone can smoke them.
    Used to feel the same - was a B&H gal through and through (classy! :)) but just went majorly off Benson. They are disgusting, don't know how I smoked them for so long. I've grown to like Silk Cut Purple now - when I inhale I get a decent enough hit but it's not choking like B&H. They're not too strong, not too light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

If I smoked, I'd smoke JPBs, they're the only fag that's actually nice. As is, I use drum to roll joints.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

ok here I smoke roll-ups. Everyone does here, you'd see business women on their breaks outside the office skinning up. I remember in Dublin it was kind of frowned upon, I didn't smoke them there anyway. People would either think "Cheapskate knacker" or "Bleedin' sap hippy let's thump the head off him".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Chunky Monkey

Used to smoke JP but smoked forty a day during my exams last year and went completely off them. Went through a Superking phase too. I smoke Marlboro lights now though I prefer the red. Love Benson but only for nights out. I'd smoke twenty in just a few hours so my throat would be fuked the next morning either way. Don't like rollies, too strong, only used the skins for smoking a bit of ash from the tray if we didn't have any money for cigarettes (damnit I want the tens back) and other things...yes it is as mank as it sounds.

I'd smoke more now since the 10's were kicked in to touch!! Its had the opposite effect on things! is you get 20 your gonna smoke them faster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

gcgirl wrote: »
    I'd smoke more now since the 10's were kicked in to touch!! Its had the opposite effect on things! is you get 20 your gonna smoke them faster!

I think they brought in that to try prevent young people being able to buy them.

smokes are a rip off. tax to prevent.... has it ever ever ever worked?

Also it's rather stupid for people thinking whatever they smoke makes them something else.... Except Malboro, they are only smoked by refugees, culchies and students :D

Jay D wrote: »
    I think they brought in that to try prevent young people being able to buy them.

smokes are a rip off. tax to prevent.... has it ever ever ever worked?

Also it's rather stupid for people thinking whatever they smoke makes them something else.... Except Malboro, they are only smoked by refugees, culchies and students :D

Smoking is good for you!Fact.John Player told me himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Yes indeed, they are the chosen smoke of the prole.

I know, sure everyone knows

Jay D wrote: »

Well, obviously children should smoke Kilburn......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pi0QvX6cG0k (not sure if the tags wrkd)

Well, obviously children should smoke Kilburn......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pi0QvX6cG0k (not sure if the tags wrkd)

I am so getting my 15 year old some of them when I have a child + 15 years later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Work in a shop that sells fags at some stage. Note who buys JP Blue. Note the pungent aroma and disturbing accent / tracksuit that hasnt been washed since last christmas.

Talk about stereo-typing!! :D I smoke JPB's.... oh, wait... yeah... you just described me but left out the wee stains...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

There is a smoking forum? Holy Flaming Hotdogs batman. Anyone ever think that there are like too many forums on this? Its like everyone wants to be a moderator, Im going to setup "how to peel an orange forum" But i dont look like Hans Moleman... :rolleyes:

There is also a Mustard forum.

Red Malrboro is my choice. Try differrent stuff every now and then, but always come back to Red Malrboro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I smoke John Player Blue and I am far from a scumbag, I do not wear tracksuits or anything of the like. Don't steriotype people please it makes you look ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

Irishcrx wrote: »
    I smoke John Player Blue and I am far from a scumbag, I do not wear tracksuits or anything of the like. Don't steriotype people please it makes you look ignorant.

Are you from Dublin?? Don't know about the tracksuit etc thing. But i don't think i've ever seen anyone smoke JPB's that wasn't from Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

Its like everyone wants to be a moderator, Im going to setup "how to peel an orange forum" But i dont look like Hans Moleman... :rolleyes:

Awh you got my hopes up! :mad: Now who's head will I rub?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

In my experience, JPB usually are smoked by ne'er-do-wells but Benson are a good, decent brand, the gold standard of cigarettes. Carrolls seem to be smoked exclusively by travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

this is unbelieveable. The stereotyping on this page is disgusting.

Just cos you wear a smelly tracksuit doesn't make you a skanger......I wear one and it's just cos I can't be arsed getting dressed today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Dudess wrote: »
    Proletarian. Noun. Singular.
    Proletariat. Noun. Plural.

John Player Blue, Super Kings, B&H - skanger fags.

Marlboro Lights - too cigar-ish

Silk Cut Purple ftw. Anything lighter is too light.

What category do 20 Major fall into :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Sizzler wrote: »

Death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I just want to say my smokes are better than yours so there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Used to smoke JP special/black years back, never liked blues, rotten tast....then switched to Carrolls (supporting local business) which is still my preference on the rare occassion that I smoke. Nice in spliffs too. [edit] lol so I'm a knacker for smoking Carrolls? lmao
    Have to agree with whoever mentioned about light cigarettes...the only diffference is the size of the pores in the filter tip...tobacco has the same tar and nicotine levels and there's evidence that smokers of lights, smoke more and inhale deeper causing more log term lung damage.
    Ah we're all going to die choking on our own body fluids...great isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

JPB = the smoke of the shiney tracksuited scumbag. It's true. Manky smokes altogether. I don't really trust anyone I see smoking them tbh, and I'd never take my Zippo out in front of them. I'd only "lose" it. If they haven't got smokes they usually ask "hee-yore buuuuud, aneeeeee schmoakes?"

B&H = better standard of person, but they are the JBP of Britain tbh.

SuperKings. God help me. Sweet suffering jaysis, they are made for the dregs of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sizzler wrote: »

Age bracket: 40-death
    Preceded by: johnny blues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Chunky Monkey

ibh wrote: »
    Are you from Dublin?? Don't know about the tracksuit etc thing. But i don't think i've ever seen anyone smoke JPB's that wasn't from Dublin.

Lotta people smoke them in Navan.

Majors are for the old folk who refuse to quit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

Don't smoke anymore but when I did JP Blue was yer only man. I'm no skanger but I am a working class Dub, don't wear track suits or talk with a disturbing accent. I bet above poster wouldn't 'stereotype' to alleged skangers faces :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭AlanSparrowhawk

rothmans ftw. jpb are for teenagers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Lotta people smoke them in Navan.

Majors are for the old folk who refuse to quit.

Navan is full of ruffians, so is my town though.

Did you notice we in meath are a few years behind dublin in skanger fashion?

Only recently have the half bleached heads appeared, we were slow on the uptake of horizontal striped jumpers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

smokers are jokers!

sorry, dont think its been said yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Who the Hell is John Player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

When you smoke a cigarette you are sucking off a fag.

Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

...but you look cool.

Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

Zulu wrote: »
    ...but you look cool.

Fact.

and you get that deep sexy voice that drives ladies crazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I couldn't give a bollocks. JP are grand, B&H are better, but I smoke Silk Cut cause I don't smoke cigarettes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

grahamo wrote: »
    and you get that deep sexy voice that drives ladies crazy!

Especially if you drink loads of whiskey and play blues guitar. Been working on my blues voice for years, nearly there.

*Goes for a smoke*

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

grahamo wrote: »
    I bet above poster wouldn't 'stereotype' to alleged skangers faces :)

I agree with you grahamo he is wrong but how is him saying something to their face and them not reacting nicely going to prove they are not "skangers"