Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non-photography photography meet

• 25-03-2008 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭

Calina had a fabulous suggestion in the introductions thread that we have a meet based on people rather than subjects, and coffee/drinks rather than cameras... who wants to kick off the bidding on a suitable date? I take it we want a weekend?

I hate to be dublin-centric but i'd hazard a guess that it is a) the centre of the universe and b) handiest for the majority of people round here. Correct me if I'm wrong of course :rolleyes:

Is there somewhere we could concievably obtain enough comfortable seating? Doesn't have to be a pub, could be a coffee place - although i'm rather partial to a sunday carvery... or maybe that's irrelevant :o

Who's in for a Dublin meet on the 12th of April? 19 votes

Uh huh
    0%
    Nuh uh
    100%
    Paulwdr strangeloveGristlyEndHugh_CkensutzrobinphCalinamelekalikimakaRoen440Hztrishw78leinstermanelvenDinkcountryjimboThOndaCity-ExileRoryWShakeyBlakey 19 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭ShakeyBlakey

Nuh uh
    i'm easy, I'd be up to it if there wasnt too many objections, i think sunday carvery sounds good coz i dont drink coffee:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Nuh uh
    Oh goody, I like it when other people think my ideas are good.

If I could make so bold...it's fair to say that we might make a decent turn out for Dublin but I think there's also a reasonable crew in the southern half of the country so it might be worth looking at one somewhere Cork/Waterford direction as well (and if it's Cork I could probably make it too provided I'm not stuck in Dublin working or gone somewhere travelling). Galway might also be an option too cos I think there are a few there too.

Location/time wise, I'd be on for a Sunday afternoon. I like the grub idea as well but as for location...you're asking the wrong person. Mostly when I go out in Dublin I seem to wind up in 4 Dame Lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Nuh uh
    12th April any good to people? I'll be in Dublin that day shooting the Leinster match and flying out on the Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Nuh uh
    12th sounds good to me too. I'll be around before the Leinster game too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Nuh uh
    No cameras at all?
    Sounds good to me.
    I don't drink coffee though.
    Would prefer a Saturday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

Yeah I'd be up for the 12th but I have a ball to go to that evening so unless its a day thing you can probably count me out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Glasgow is nice this time of year....i got a new coffee machine.....you can all come to my house!

Too desperate? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

Nuh uh
    Good idea ... I'd be interested as long as it does not end up being an excuse for a piss up ... so I'm more for a coffee house of an afternoon or a restaurant than a bar ...

How about that place you and I used to meet for lunch? ... the one with the Tiger and Beano hardback annuals for menus in Rathmines ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Nuh uh
    Lets keep this civil and on topic please.

Who else likes Jo-burger in Rathmines? That might be an idea for a saturday afternoon, right enough... big long bench tables, we could get a decent crowd in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Aw, I missed some nastyness? Dang.

I'd like to organise a parallel event for Cork. At least that way when nobody turns up I still have an excuse for going and getting a greasy cheeseburger. Checkmate Mr Tramapoline!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

Nuh uh
    If they make tea, count me in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

elven wrote: »
    I hate to be dublin-centric but i'd hazard a guess that it is a) the centre of the universe and b) handiest for the majority of people round here.

screw you guys... I'm going to have my own Galway meet up, with blackjack and hookers... in fact... forget the blackjack... and the meet up.

OT: Somebody bring a camera so the rest of us can see what you all look like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

Eirebear wrote: »
    Glasgow is nice this time of year....i got a new coffee machine.....you can all come to my house!

Too desperate? ;)

Way too desperate? Smacks of a psychopathic billy no mates :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Way too desperate? Smacks of a psychopathic billy no mates :D

:( i hate the internet

Screw you guys, ill keep my coffee to myself! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭K_user

screw you guys... I'm going to have my own Galway meet up, with blackjack and hookers... in fact... forget the blackjack... and the meet up.

Whey-hey! A non-Galway meet up!
    I'll just mark that in my calender - a day of not going anywhere, with no hookers*...no blackjack...no camera's...maybe tea...but it will be by myself :D

(*I wonder what my wife would say about me writing "no hookers" on my calender? :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

Nuh uh
    Who else likes Jo-burger in Rathmines? That might be an idea for a saturday afternoon, right enough... big long bench tables, we could get a decent crowd in.

Can't fit too many people to a bench and weekend afternoons are generally choc-a-bloc with families in there, it's a popular spot. That said, I don't have any bright ideas for indoors. How about somewhere outdoors now that the weather is (supposed to be) picking up? Or does that constitute a meet? I'm easy though, I may have one or more kids with me.

Nuh uh
    Hugh_C wrote: »
    I'm easy though, I may have one or more kids with me.

Are you including the boards people in that statement??? :D

Outdoors might be nice .. but might turn in to a meet, with everyone bringing their cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Go to Caps. I love Caps. You could just grab one of those enormous tables or several of the smaller ones that are laid out beside each other. Then a brusque walk in Stephens Green - the perfect first date?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Nuh uh
    i say this so many times but baillast min...

count me in

Nuh uh
    What's caps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Nuh uh
    TelePaul wrote: »
    Go to Caps. I love Caps. You could just grab one of those enormous tables or several of the smaller ones that are laid out beside each other. Then a brusque walk in Stephens Green - the perfect first date?

Brisk walks in St Stephen's Green do not count as perfect first dates here.

Where's Caps?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Captain americas?

Can i come if i guess right? Not that that means it has to be captain americas, kinda prefer if it wasn't.

Nuh uh
    Aaaaah. Yes we had a mini (micro) meet in there round christmas, but i didn't notice any huge tables. What do the masses think? Is the 12th good for everyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

Market bar does tapas, coffee and has nice big tables downstairs. Wouldn't mind meeting all the creative people here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

Nuh uh
    the 12th sounds good to me also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

Nuh uh
    12th is good for me. I don't mind where we go as long as there is enough room for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Saturday afternoon/evening can be awkward fro me, I wont know until a few days before if I could go or not.

If it looked like the crowd was going to be sizeable, I would suggest Shelbourne Park as a possibility , somebody would need to go early and grab some seats together though, Saturdays are usually busy.

Nuh uh
    I have a particular aversion to the market bar :( And, it'd just end up as a drinking session...

Shelbourne park, as in, greyhounds?

There's always somewhere like cafe bar deli - i had a christmas do in there and got the wee room upstairs for 20ish people, there wasn't much chance for interaction between tables though. And it's a fairly proper sit down food type place. Is that what we're after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

Nuh uh
    I have a particular aversion to the market bar :(

I'm with you on that - I can't hear a feckin' thing after about three people start talking, worst acoustics on the Planet.

Problem with CafeBarDeli or anywhere else with long tables is that you only get to talk to the people on either side and across.

Can I suggest you add a poll to this to get an idea of numbers? That may influence the venue.

Hugh

humberklog wrote: »
    Captain americas?

Yup the very one. You could probably commandeer the upper level but you might only get to talk to the 4 or 5 people in close proximity to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

Nuh uh
    How about Cafe Moda in Rathmines? they've loads of little tables scattered around, and if you get in early you could maybe colonize the down-stairs bit.

Although i suppose it depends on how many people are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Now you got me thinking.......... hmmm, blackjack hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Galway!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

Nuh uh
    Please can we make it someplace that's easy to park near and easy to get to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Nuh uh
    Dublin airport ;)

Nuh uh
    Phoenix Park? We can have a picnic. :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Nuh uh
    Paulw wrote: »
    Phoenix Park? We can have a picnic. :D

not a bad ideaid weather permits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Nuh uh
    I think Im free around then. Id head along if I find a free couch for that date. :) Long drive for coffee but why not!

not a bad ideaid weather permits
    There's a new (ish)cafe beside the brilliant spanking new playground(handy for those with kids) in the phoenix park. Big table upstairs too(seat about12). It's just past polo grounds.

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Pub.
    Rymus wrote:
    Cork.

I'm not sure you'll find a pub in Cork lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

Nuh uh
    humberklog wrote: »
    Captain americas?

Jaysus ... that place ... last time I was there my parents brought me for my Confirmation dinner treat ... that was in the 1970's!!!

I still like Jo-Burger ... mostly due to the lack of alcohol and piss up potential if I'm honest ... but a tapas place may be a good idea too ... there's a really good one beside the IFSC ... which doubles as a wine bar ... so those who would rather get blotto can be appeased ... but we don't have to endure Irish pub culture ...

elven ... just decide and f**k the rest of us ... this aint no democracy ... or at least under the iron fist of comrade Rymus it wasn't ... these new mods are a bit wimpy ...

Edit: This place - Bar Pinxto

Nuh uh
    And something early enough in the day, please. Maybe 12 or something?

Some of us have a rugby game to attend at 6pm. :D

Nuh uh
    Yeah, although if it was an all day session, we could pop out for the egg chasing & rejoin the party afterwards. :D

Nuh uh
    Ach :( Better get my dictator hat on...

I think Jo Burger is great - and although we're getting mumblings about long tables and only being able to speak to the four or five people directly around you - if you sit at a big round table you only get to speak to the people right next to you, and if you're somewhere with a bunch of wee tables you end up with your back to people, so, i don't think the long tables are a deal breaker.

What i am concerned about is actually getting a large group seated on a saturday lunchtime, but i wonder if we did do it as early as 12, would it still be quite quiet? can you reserve seating in there, does anyone know?

We can always move across the road to toast if we actually have something to talk to each other about, face to face :rolleyes:

Nuh uh
    I think Jo Burger is great ...

I think you should make people aware that it's around €10 for a burger or salad, in there.
    Just so that they don't get a shock.
    Interesting venue it may be, but value for money it aint.

Doesn't bother me, I'm just making a public service announcement. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭YogiBear

I'm not sure if I'm around on the 12th. Hope ye have a nice evening! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

cafe moka, beside Break for the border