Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New call for podcasts

• 25-03-2008 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭

We are posting a call for new podcasts under these topics (or others per your suggestions):
    • Entertainment (Arts / Music / Rec / Sports)
    • Current Affairs (Biz / Edu / Region / Soc)
    • Technology (Tech / Games / Sci)

Previous podcasts are at http://podcasts.boards.ie/

Thanks!

John.
    --

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I'd be up for helping out on a podcast - I'd love to do a weekly review of what's been happening. I think MonkeyFudge said something about doing something......

anyway, if you need me, holla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭betonit

Great stuff:

are ye looking to host the feeds/ links or are ye going to host the mp3.
    I have a sport one (a bit rough, just 3 episodes).
    Whats the submissions process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

betonit wrote: »
    Whats the submissions process?

Would liek to know this too. I'll talk to monkeyfudge later about it but I'd definately be up for doing a few.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I'd be Interested in doing one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

Sure -

Pop it up on YouSendIt.com with a filename like:

boards.ie_Podcasts_-_Entertainment_Review_-_20080416.mp3

Also please attach an associated .txt file describing the MP3 contents (this is used to generate the text on the web page).

You can e-mail details to admin@boards.ie

Thanks!

John.
    --

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭betonit

is there a limit to size of mp3 that can handle or would be feasible?

is there a size limit for boards.ie podcasts?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Myself and Shabadu are looking at the possibility of doing a podcast over Skype (what with her living far away now) I'll let you know how we get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I'd be interested in contributing in some way, perhaps to talk about the football team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I'd be happy to do a tech based one, if there was someone else out there of a similar bent, or help out with recording/editing one or two (sound engineer in a past life!) :)

If you need me, drop me a pm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Anyone else that thought Cloud's announcement was misleading? Here was me thinking it was a podcast about the tv show 'Lost'.

But seriously, I like the podcasts that are there already, and I'd definitely be interested in helping produce more.

Can't think of anything subject wise right now, but if anyone needs a hand recording/ editing etc, I too have sound production experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

if could do a podcast on body modificatioin (under arts) i suppose, if theres interest

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Would be willing to help out with this - possibly something film or game related. Dunno about current recording equipment though - quite limited! And by quite I mean very.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'll talk to someone for a while if that helps :)

Been thinking about doing a Nerd-Blog myself.... have to have a think about that.

DeV.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Id be interested in covering entertainment (movies etc) or anything xbox/playstation related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

DeVore wrote: »
    I'll talk to someone for a while if that helps :)

Been thinking about doing a Nerd-Blog myself.... have to have a think about that.

DeV.

A new internet phenomenon - the DeVcast ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Some of us want more Thaed.

Ok, it looks like all the posters are keen but no-one is sure what to do next right? so I'll step out of my comfort zone and maybe try to get the ball rolling. This isn't because I think I'm billy big-balls, more because I'm keen to do something with this and i think we're all too polite to make the first move. If someone else wants to organise something then just fire away, or if people are organising stuff on pm then grand.

What I'd like to do would be a (fairly) focussed review of a few of the popular fora on boards, more like pub-talk than discussions, chatting about the various issues and posts. Obviously nothing vitriolic, but more a chance to point out some of the interesting stuff going on.

I'd say it would be too difficult to follow with more than five people, so for this one I'd suggest having a max. of five "presenters", and I think it would make sense for us to refer to each other using our boards handles (although i've no problem giving my real name, just helps to put us in context). So if (up to) four people want to help with this, then great, and any more and we can split off.

On the practical side, for the podcast I'd like to do, I'd focus on After Hours, Feedback and personal issues regularly, and pick one or two other fora each time.

Say if we do the podcast on a wednesday, on tuesday we'd check out the most replied / most viewed threads in those fora for the last week, and make a few notes about the subjects and posters etc.

On wednesday, we could mail around ideas around about the topics we want to talk about, and on Wednesday night, spend about 30 minutes making running notes, and 30 minutes recording, aiming at a podcast of about 20 mins. We'd have to meet up somewhere, and I can use my office in Mount St, if that suits, or I'm happy to travel.

My recording stuff is non-existent, but in the absence of anything else we could use my laptop.

So, anyone interested?

count me in, im really just a regular of the body modification forum. which suppose is one of the more obscure forums

Were you talking to me? or just in general (sorry).

Another idea I had was to include a "pimp your forum" feature, where you could highlight the forum you are most interested in..Different people every week..

yeah sorry was directed at you tbh.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I think whatever happens needs a committed core of "presenters" pulling in people as needed. A bit more like a radio program then anything else I guess...

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Having listened to the old podcasts I think it'd be brilliant to get them going again.

I'd love to get involved if there was a 'Boardsies Abroad' type thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I too would be up for contributing to a boardsies abroad segment, and possibly something to do with the games/films boards too. However, I dont have the time to make it a regular thing, and time-zones may prove problematic.

ok, so lets aim at putting something together around the start of the week after next (around the 7th of April). There's me and wilburt so far, so we can get up to three more people involved. It'd be great to get people who have a broad interest in boards as opposed to just reading one or two fora as well. If anyone is interested, you can pm me or just post here.

Dev, do you think it would be ok to say something about this in AH as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

tbh wrote: »
    ok, so lets aim at putting something together around the start of the week after next (around the 7th of April). There's me and wilburt so far, so we can get up to three more people involved. It'd be great to get people who have a broad interest in boards as opposed to just reading one or two fora as well. If anyone is interested, you can pm me or just post here.

Dev, do you think it would be ok to say something about this in AH as well?

I'd be glad to present, or help out too, I read a fair amount of the fora (just tend not to comment on too many!) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I would LOVE to be involved in this in some way.

I'd help out in any I could.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I'd love to get involved if there was a 'Boardsies Abroad' type thing.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Well since I'm trying to organise a podcast with Shabadu cross ocean, I will make myself responsible for organising "Boardsies Abroad".

Would all those located in other countries use Skype or something similar? My recording equipment is all built into my laptop so that's not a problem.

I'm always busy on Wednesdays so couldn't do the other bit but I could put this stuff together and then email it across to someone else to edit it into a longer piece.

with all these areas covered by people with interests in them, I wonder if we couldnt produce an online newspaper/magazine.... hmmmmmm. Published once a week?

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

with all these areas covered by people with interests in them, I wonder if we couldnt produce an online newspaper/magazine.... hmmmmmm. Published once a week?

DeV.

That'd be great. And we could put it up on issuu to make it look like a real magaziney type thing.

Not sure about weekly, but we could certainly start off monthly and go from there.

ok, so there's me, TinyExplosions, DesF and wilburt. We've room for one more. Lads, could I get you to PM me with your email addresses and we'll start making arrangements?

wheels are in motion!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Im game ball if you need another person.

Faceman, we have five now counting monkeyfudge, and I think any more than that and it becomes too confusing - thanks for the offer tho. I'm setting up a mailing list and I can sub you to it if you like - I'm sure if we can make it a regular thing we'll need you at some stage, plus it might help you get another one up and running. Let me know :)

that goes for anyone btw - if you want me to sub you to the list, just pm me your email address.

finally after five years I can start taking my email gathering masterplan to phase II..

tbh wrote: »
    finally after five years I can start taking my email gathering masterplan to phase II..
    The great boards podcast pyramid scheme of '08 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

myself and son.of.jimi are doing one next weekend (april) according to him.

DeV.

Sounds like a brilliant idea. With all the talent available here in various fields it surely wouldn't be too difficult to get going. Even a bi-weekly or monthly publication to begin with. It could be another string to my journalistic bow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I'd definitely contribute to an online newspaper/magazine. I could contribute articles on movies, games, technology and Japan.

I reckon weekly is a bit of a killer though. As someone said, start it off monthly (or fortnightly?) and if interest in maintained, grow it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Damn, how did I only see this thread now?!

I've PMed you with my email address just now tbh so could you add me to the mailing list as well please? Lots of great ideas in this thread, looking forward to hearing the results...

done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Yay, merci :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

I'd be happy to do one on Martial Arts, like tbh said, what's next?

Monthly sounds good. I love the look of that Issuu site too! Very cool!
    We could sell advertising in it too and split it among the contributors!

DeV.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Would love to help out with a monthly publication. Trying to write as much as I can to give myself some experience. Mostly write in the film / game areas. But keep us posted on any advancements that may occur :)

Monthly sounds good. I love the look of that Issuu site too! Very cool!
    We could sell advertising in it too and split it among the contributors!

DeV.

Ooohh monies?! Me likes! :D

Monthly would be a good start alright.

Any interested in specifically doing a film podcast? I know monkeyfudge probably would or may be doing one already?

faceman wrote: »
    Any interested in specifically doing a film podcast? I know monkeyfudge probably would or may be doing one already?

Yarr! Would be up for it. If we could get a decent group together twould be fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

On the idea of the boardsies abroad - how would people feel about giving a short overview of where they live/life in wherever it is they are, sort of like a travel guide/experience report dealie. Could contact a lot of the regulars who are now abroad and ask if they'd be interested?

Also love the idea of the monthly publication - count me in if ya need extra ppl.

rugbug86 wrote: »
    On the idea of the boardsies abroad - how would people feel about giving a short overview of where they live/life in wherever it is they are, sort of like a travel guide/experience report dealie. Could contact a lot of the regulars who are now abroad and ask if they'd be interested?
    Possibly, if people would be interested.