Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladbrokes Poker Festival,Kilarney Oct 08 - €250,000 Guaranteed €500 Entry

• 21-03-2008 2:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭

Event - Ladbrokes Poker Festival Kilarney 2008
    Organisers - Destination Kilarney
    Sponsors- Ladbrokes E-Gaming
    Venue - I.N.E.C Kilarney , Gleneagle Hotel
    Operators - Big Slick Events + Cue Club Events

Online Registration Opens Next Months
    Players must Register Online

Thursday 2nd Oct 08 -
    Super Sat - Buy In / Structure T.B.C

Friday 3rd Oct 08-
    Main Event €500 + €50 Freezeout
    3 day event
    1 hour Clock / 15,000 Stack

Saturday 4th Oct 08-
    Side Event €300 Freezeout Reg inc 10%
    2 Day event
    40 Min Clock / 8,000 Stack

Sunday 5th Oct 08
    Side Event €150 + €20 Freezeout
    1 Day Event
    30 Min Clock / 8,000 Stack

Accomadation Details - Gleneagle Hotel
    064-71550

Tournament Details

Neill Kelly - 087 2828744
    Connie O Sullivan - 087 2833343

1. Who is running the event - Ladbrokes
    2. The purpose of the event-commercial
    3. Date and Location of event - As Above
    4. Registration and Start time of event.TBC
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club,
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number- Must be bought online Max 1000
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    8. Cost of entry €500
    9. Cost of registration €50
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund 100%
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.€250,000
    13. Starting Chips-15,000
    15. Blind levels - All included
    16. Blind timeframes-1 hour Clock
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash 10%
    18. Are there going to be dealers - Fully Dealt
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules-Yes
    20. Is there a tournament director- Yes
    21. How are disputes handled -Floor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Nice 1 looking forward allready :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

1. Wow, looks good. I'll be there.

2. Answer the questions in the sticky or this thread goes bye bye. :(

3. Don't make me have to boycott your events for spam banner advertising. 3 banners deleted, dont do that Neil. *wags finger*

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

DeVore wrote: »
    1. Wow, looks good. I'll be there.

2. Answer the questions in the sticky or this thread goes bye bye. :(

3. Don't make me have to boycott your events for spam banner advertising. 3 banners deleted, dont do that Neil. *wags finger*

DeV.

Np Tom doin it now

Can i leave 1 banner as it is the one we will be putting on boards bud . Its all my hard work gone :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Np Tom doin it now

Can i leave 1 banner as it is the one we will be putting on boards bud . Its all my hard work gone :(

offer him free entry neill;)

500 Players needed anyone think we will hit that figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

big ask... why 10k and not 15k like last time. Its still great value, but I love the 15k starting stack, but for 500 quid its amazing value. I think the extra chips last time, attracted more players, I don't know if I would go all the way to Kerry for a 500 game, but if it was 2 or 3 hrs away by car, I would make the effort.

Any online stats? that will help to get the numbers up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Ollieboy wrote: »
    big ask... why 10k and not 15k like last time. Its still great value, but I love the 15k starting stack, but for 500 quid its amazing

dot type thing .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

What's the deal like on the hotel for a twin room?

Or are you better off booking a local B&B?

Looks very tasty Neil I'll get back to you to confirm my interest

Ladbrokes event they called 10k we pushed for 15k but no go

Let us try wrk it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

compromise? 12k? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Ladbrokes event they called 10k we pushed for 15k but no go

Let us try wrk it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

they sponsor brindley?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭poorbarman

try and push for the 15k and make it the best tourney of the year.Lets all email ladbrokes and push this one.
    care@ladbrokes.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭spoofingjam

15k Ftw.....

Let me and connie work this

I would love 20k here but 15k i would agree-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Looks like a great event. Are the max numbers 500 or 1000? If the second amount will this result on two starting days or can you accomodate that many players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Pabloh wrote: »
    Looks like a great event. Are the max numbers 500 or 1000? If the second amount will this result on two starting days or can you accomodate that many players?

1000+ Paul. Stunning venue, can cater for approx 1200 in one room. Only one starting day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Lplate wrote: »
    Only one starting day.

If Kelly is TD one day less of him on the mike would be great. :D

Looks a super tournament, hopefully will make it, any lists yet Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Ollieboy wrote: »
    big ask... why 10k and not 15k like last time. Its still great value, but I love the 15k starting stack, but for 500 quid its amazing value. I think the extra chips last time, attracted more players, I don't know if I would go all the way to Kerry for a 500 game, but if it was 2 or 3 hrs away by car, I would make the effort.

Any online stats? that will help to get the numbers up.

Hi Ollie,
    We,re still not finalised on the start stack. We as the operators are trying hard to get Ladbrokes to agree to 15k.(I believe 15k and 1 hr clock is the perfect game). But most games in England are run with a 10k stack and thats what Ladbrookes want to do as well. But I'm pretty confident we'll talk them round.

Killarney is 3.5 hours away from CityWest by car, but its only 30 mins away by Aer Arann froim Dublin Airport to Kerry Airport. Also, the train gets there now in 3 hours with only 3 stops. 6 trains a day to Killarney and 5 flights. So get yourself organised!!

Connie

ollyk1 wrote: »
    What's the deal like on the hotel for a twin room?

Or are you better off booking a local B&B?

Looks very tasty Neil I'll get back to you to confirm my interest

Hi Olly,
    The hotel will be doing a special rate for the week-end which will appear here shortly. It will be very competitively priced I'm sure. Also, outside of having over 400 bedrooms available, the hotel also has up to 90 4 star appartments which can house up to 5/6 adults and will be perfect for a bunch of lads attending the festival together.

The Glen Eagle hotel are pretty much expert at organising different events. We've already had 2 meetings with them where they wanted to pick our brains as to what the poker player wants. Hense they're going to be providing a 24 hour food menue, an all-day breakfast available so us poker loungers dont have to be up by 10.30am/ 11am. etc etc

Also, no matter what time our tourneys finish up,(ie 3 or 4 am,) the hotel had agreed to keep the residents bar open for another 2 hours to allow players to chill-out before retiring.

We'll be doing our upmost to make it a player friendly festival, so are our sponsors and indeed, so will the hotel. So hopefully, when its all put together,
    we'll have a super tourney. Heres hoping anyway!

Connie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭eoin-dubh

So Ladbrokes are not guaranteeing the prizepool then ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

This looks really good connie,

I'll definately be making an effort to try and qualify for this. Would be a quality weekend of poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Tinytony wrote: »
    This looks really good connie,

I'll definately be making an effort to try and qualify for this. Would be a quality weekend of poker.

mise too. Theres a nice hotel i found looking over the lakes i'm hoping to stay in. Connie I think this is gonna be a sell out. Can you confirm the rumour started in this sentence that Steve Davis and a couple of other snooker players will be in attendance?

eoin-dubh wrote: »
    So Ladbrokes are not guaranteeing the prizepool then ??

Well Yes Prizepool Guaranmteed Regardless

We just need 500 to break get to that is all So there is no overlay

mise too. Theres a nice hotel i found looking over the lakes i'm hoping to stay in. Connie I think this is gonna be a sell out. Can you confirm the rumour started in this sentence that Steve Davis and a couple of other snooker players will be in attendance?

Connie im sure will have the Snooker players in attendance

Hi Doc,
    Have to wait for the WPBSA to bring out their callender for the 2008/9 season, but once they dont have an event clashing with our week-end, there should be a few lads over for the wek-end.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

u were very unlucky yesterday Connie. I'm making a record to take that weekend off in October and wish you and your team the best with this game.

I will start a new thread when reg opens but we reckon we will do 700+ for this event in Kilarney and hopefully do the 1000 capacity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

if the starting stack was increased to 15k this would be a must play game this year.

pppspecial wrote: »
    if the starting stack was increased to 15k this would be a must play game this year.

Dave,
    I will be doing everything in my power to ensure that the start stack will be 15k. I just dont want to say definately that it will be, but take it from me, I hope to be coming back on here in the next few days to confirm it.

BTW, well played at the IO and unlucky.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Everything sounds great here, count me in.
    Fair play to you lads, you really know how make these festivals work, I have no doubt that this is going to get a huge attendance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

connie147 wrote: »
    The Glen Eagle hotel are pretty much expert at organising different events. We've already had 2 meetings with them where they wanted to pick our brains as to what the poker player wants. Hense they're going to be providing a 24 hour food menue, an all-day breakfast available so us poker loungers dont have to be up by 10.30am/ 11am. etc etc

Also, no matter what time our tourneys finish up,(ie 3 or 4 am,) the hotel had agreed to keep the residents bar open for another 2 hours to allow players to chill-out before retiring.

The Glen Eagle sounds like the business. With the €1500 event a week or two after, ye will have ye're work cut out. I know ye'll do everything ye can to get 15k starting, it would really swing it for a lot of players.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Everything sounds great here, count me in.
    Fair play to you lads, you really know how make these festivals work, I have no doubt that this is going to get a huge attendance.

Thank god u are not angry :D lol Hope to see u down here wat a session it will be

The Glen Eagle sounds like the business. With the €1500 event a week or two after, ye will have ye're work cut out. I know ye'll do everything ye can to get 15k starting, it would really swing it for a lot of players.

Wrong they will have there work cut out :D

Our Job will be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,452 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Thank god u are not angry :D lol Hope to see u down here wat a session it will be
    Hehe, no not angry in this thread at all, I like well run tourneys and you and connie have a hard earned and well deserved reputation for excellence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

this really does read well, must put this one in the diary.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

15k makes this a "must play" event, as per Mr Masters there.

Connie's lilting tones over the microphone rather then that Kelly yoke, kthnx! :p

DeV.

Connie's lilting tones over the microphone rather then that Kelly yoke, kthnx! :p

DeV.

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

all culchies sound alike to me....might go in for this, got some spare bankroll to donate,

will the curtains be open at any stage?

And don't let him update the "players remaining" on the clock. Ever. :p

DeV.

And don't let him update the "players remaining" on the clock. Ever. :p

DeV.

Unbanned :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Connie's lilting tones over the microphone rather then that Kelly yoke, kthnx!

DeV.

Re: Waterford..... the constant unending announcing of chip counts and so forth wrecked my head tbh.

It wasn't so bad/frequent on day 2, but day 1 it was just non-stop, I found it very distracting, can't speak for others.
    It's my only criticism of an otherwise well run event. I know it's to create a buzz/atmosphere, but a better balance would be great.

The-Rigger wrote: »

re: waterword..... the constant unending announcing of chip counts and so forth wrecked my head tbh.

It wasn't so bad/frequent on day 2, but day 1 it was just non-stop, I found it very distracting, can't speak for others.

pt taken

Ill be quiet

Nice to know the chip leader all the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Macau Cork

Sounds Good Best Of Luck Put Me Down For 5 Player's.

Macau Cork wrote: »
    Sounds Good Best Of Luck Put Me Down For 5 Player's.

They will have to be bought online bud

Reg will open next month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Sounds great. Am i right in thinking there wont be a team element at this festival?.
    Nothing mentioned so far regarding team. Is it safe to assume there will be no team thing going on?.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I hope that you are correct in your assumption Rounders. If it is a team thing it must be in very small print.

Hopefully I will be along to play this, but it might be clashing with a trip. Might have to juggle some dates or something.

Sounds great. Am i right in thinking there wont be a team element at this festival?.
    Nothing mentioned so far regarding team. Is it safe to assume there will be no team thing going on?.

There definately will NOT be any team element to this festival. We're hoping for big numbers and all our efforts will be geared towards making it a player friendly festival.

On that point and besides the obvious things, any suggestions (serious ones) that the hotel should take on board that I'm not thinking of?

24 hr food service has been agreed
    Late bar opening hours has been agreed
    Wi-fi service throughout the whole hotel has been agreed.
    Late breakfast availability.
    Chill out room for players only, including bar/couches/pool tables/dart boards etc etc etc.

The hotel facilities include Irelands largest indoor leisure centre, gym, pitch and putt, par 3 golf, squash courts, snooker tables, spa. Just go to their site and check it out.

If theres something you normally find missing at poker festival hotels, nows the time to say it. We want this event to run like clockwork but as in anything thats organised, its the prep work thats important so all suggestions welcome.

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Hey Guys,

You can stick me down for this one. Should be able to run a good few sats in Dublin for it. Hope to get you at least 10 players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

connie147 wrote: »
    There definately will NOT be any team element to this festival. We're hoping for big numbers and all our efforts will be geared towards making it a player friendly festival.

On that point and besides the obvious things, any suggestions (serious ones) that the hotel should take on board that I'm not thinking of?

24 hr food service has been agreed
    Late bar opening hours has been agreed
    Wi-fi service throughout the whole hotel has been agreed.
    Late breakfast availability.
    Chill out room for players only, including bar/couches/pool tables/dart boards etc etc etc.

The hotel facilities include Irelands largest indoor leisure centre, gym, pitch and putt, par 3 golf, squash courts, snooker tables, spa. Just go to their site and check it out.

If theres something you normally find missing at poker festival hotels, nows the time to say it. We want this event to run like clockwork but as in anything thats organised, its the prep work thats important so all suggestions welcome.

Connie

serious suggestions...

chess and playstation. The IO had a couple of 2 table tourneys. If you had a few €50+ 18 player games they;d be good fun for the knocked out squad.* most people will travel to this in groups of 2-3 or something. I remember when i played the waterford team event, i had been knocked out (cos im crap) and had a lot of standing around to do after. If you get knocked out of a tourney I'm not the type that has to jump into cash straight away.

* 18x€5 = €90, that'd pay dealers wages and leave a few sheckles profit. you wont make cash game profit on these games but i can imagine a more positive/banter atmosphere in these, say 3k stacks and 15-20min clock. imagine bomber playing them!!!