Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joking about a tragedy: Is it ok to do it?

• 20-03-2008 10:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Pighead was googling "Hot American Actresses from the 60's" last evening when he came across (:cool:) Carol Burnett. Turns out she wasn't hot at all and she had absolutely no business sharing the same page with Raquel Welsh, Janet Leigh or Natelie Wood but there was a quote attributed to her that got Pighead out of his frisky mood and into a more reflective chin stroking kind of mood.

It read "Comedy is tragedy plus time" Do you agree with this? Is everything fair game to be subjected to comedy? Is there a recommended time period you should wait after a tragedy before it becomes ok to laugh and joke about or should tragedy and comedy never mix?

Theres been a lot of jokes on boards that have been considered a bit too close to the bone regarding certain tragedies of late. The Maddie situation and 6th not getting the After Hours modding job being two that spring to mind. So is it ok to laugh about this sort of stuff or should we have more respect?

Joking about tragedy: Is it ok? 128 votes

Course it is. Laughter makes everything better
    0%
    No way Jose. Have a bit of respect.
    62%
    sixpack's little hatazezilKarl HungusDas Kittysuper_furryBeruthielbucks73Slutmonkey57bWackerpickarooneySpossKoldRed AlertGummy PandaandrewEglintonDiddy KongUser45701thelordofcheeseJC 2K3 80 votes
    After a certain length of time its ok.
    7%
    ShamokelleHashSlinging6thSusannahmiaunreggdDecuc500mucker23WESTBLOBBY 10 votes
    All of the above.
    29%
    neuro-praxis_Kaiser_KaromaChad ghostalvorbisdjk1000Don1ThE_IVIAcIVIAIVJosephYeatsCountyEyespyHail 2 Da ChimpbikoJPAemeraldstarpm.stanlystanly1PlayGirlateamdeise_boi 38 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

Himself not getting the modding job is hardly a tragedy!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

It's perfectly ok to joke about anything. There should be nothing off-limits to joke about. Everything is funny in the context of a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

He should have seen it coming to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

All of the above.
    I think you have to wait 27 years before you can joke about something really bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

LadyE wrote: »
    Himself not getting the modding job is hardly a tragedy!!!
    Try telling himself that. As Pigheads neighbour once told him "One mans tragedy is another mans treasure" It was something like that anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 circles

Either everything's ok to joke about or nothing is.

Just ask the manatees...

Pighead wrote: »
    Try telling himself that. As Pigheads neighbour once told him "One mans tragedy is another mans treasure" It was something like that anyway.

Was he bumming you at the time?

I think you have to wait 27 years before you can joke about something really bad...
    Good stuff. Pighead has a load of jokes about the Falklands War that hes been dying to share with people. One more year to go then.

Collie D wrote: »
    Was he bumming you at the time?
    Who said Pigheads neighbour was a he?

As Pigheads other neighbour once told him "That Collie D lads a presumptious little fcuker isn't he?"

So the Iran-Iraq war, assassination of Lennon and the biggest tragedy of all - my birth into a non-extremely minted family are all fair game.

How embarrassing, I thought it was 2007 - ah, back to bed for me

Who said Pigheads neighbour was a he?

As Pigheads other neighbour once told him "That Collie D lads a presumptious little fcuker isn't he?"

Wasn't being presumptious. The quote was "one man's treasure" Gotta work with the fact in front of you. Oh and there's plenty of ammunition in my last post for you, fire away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It's perfectly ok to joke about anything. There should be nothing off-limits to joke about. Everything is funny in the context of a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Everything is fair game for jokes, though there is a difference between actual jokes and people just trying to be shocking/controversial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I disagree with the last part of your statement. Not everything is funny. However, nothing should be off limits, as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I heard there are things joked about in the super-sekrit Lolocaust that are so shocking they would give the average pedestrian mind cancer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

nothing is off limits, but there are the socially imposed limits of taste and class:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

All of the above.
    yeah you're not far off there.

nothing is off limits, but there are the socially imposed limits of taste and class:)
    Give Pighead an example of what the lolocausters lol at. Do they make fun of boards stuff (like togsters posts) or is it a more general kind of lolling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Some of you say that everything should be fair game- but would you try to make some Katie French jokes in front of her family?

I used to think that everything should be ok to laugh at too, but started to question that recently. Someone I know well, got a pretty serious health scare, was waiting for test results for two weeks. He used to be first to slag everything, so i made a crack about his illness. It didn't go down well, and I felt like crap. So that made me think. I think it all depends on your audience.

Also some jokes are always distastefull, no matter what, they also reveal ignorance of a person telling them. Negro jokes spring to my head here. I think they are quite pathetic.

Give Pighead an example of what the lolocausters lol at. Do they make fun of boards stuff (like togsters posts) or is it a more general kind of lolling?
    I heard there are more LMAOs and ROFL than lols tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

6th not getting the After Hours modding job

I dont think I'll ever get over it ... oh wait.

Magic and Illusion...ah I genuinely lolled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭navin.r.johnson

Cracking a joke is essentially making what your conscious of ridiculous. It's really a matter of taste not context. If your social conscience and that of those around you are on the same wavelength then laugh at/make the gag. A good example of this tragi-comedy is the eulogy John Cleese made at Graham Chapmans funeral.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkxCHybM6Ek

I just heard Gerry Ryan describe the ebola virus as Vomito Negro. Should that be off-limits?

maybe we should just ban the Ryanline in general.

Don't mind him 6th. Pighead for one is genuinely delighted that you've finally succeeded in achieving your long standing ambition to be a boards moderator.

Pighead hears the other boardsies giggling and saying stuff like "Magic and Illusion is probably the most pointless forum on boards" or "6th only pretends he likes magic. He's created this illusion so he can gain mod status" Begrudgers the lot of them.

Pigheads sure you'll make a wonderful mod and from now on you will be getting a lot more respect from this keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Yep. Either everything is ok or you are a fucking hypocrite.

And a rapist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

No I don't think everything is fair game for humour. Cracking jokes about the holocaust = being a c*nt.

Dudess wrote: »
    No I don't think everything is fair game for humour. Cracking jokes about the holocaust = being a c*nt.

Technically that could include naming a forum Lolocaust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

All of the above.
    ojewriej wrote: »
    Some of you say that everything should be fair game- but would you try to make some Katie French jokes in front of her family?

Nothing is ever off limits as long as you choose your audience well and you get your timing right! Don’t over analyse it. You’re hardly going to Crack a joke about Katie French in front of her family because then you’re just stupid!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

DubArk wrote: »
    Nothing is ever off limits as long as you choose your audience well and you get your timing right! Don’t over analyse it. You’re hardly going to Crack a joke about Katie French in front of her family because then you’re just stupid!! :)

KF was just an example. What if you want to crack a gay joke? Can you be sure that no one listening is gay?

You are right though, it's all down to knowing your audience.

All of the above.
    ojewriej wrote: »
    KF was just an example. What if you want to crack a gay joke? Can you be sure that no one listening is gay?

You are right though, it's all down to knowing your audience.

I am gay! And i love gay jokes. So good one! :D

DubArk wrote: »
    I am gay!

ASL?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Jokes about the holocaust are not funny:mad:
    My grandfather died in Auschwitz*

*After he fell from a guard tower while shooting jews
    Awaits ban................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Dub6Kevin

How does one gain access to the mythical inner sanctum of the Lolocast?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Something like The Producers, which takes the piss out of nazis, is brilliantly funny.
    But a joke about, say, a child getting thrown into an oven at Auschwitz - it's just not funny. And I'm not getting offended on behalf of a particular community - I literally think it is just not funny.

It's funny as long as it does not directly link to you. Madeline McCann jokes are hilarious, but if it was your daughter it wouldn't be, obviously enough.

Also in the right context, everything can be funny. Even holocaust jokes.
    ASL?

And how much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Raspberry

I still laugh at 9/11 to this very day.

Posted on SA a day after 9/11.

Ha. But footage of people running speeded up is hilarious no matter what happens.

But a joke about, say, a child getting thrown into an oven at Auschwitz - it's just not funny. And I'm not getting offended on behalf of a particular community - I literally think it is just not funny.
    I beg to differ.

excerpt from The Diarrhea Anne Frank

7/20/43: god i had to shit so bad. i've been holding it in for two years. finally let one rip out the attic window, hit some krauts patrolling the street. looks like we're all going to some camp now, oh well.
    ~SomethingAwful.

Raspberry wrote: »
    I still laugh at 9/11 to this very day.

Posted on SA a day after 9/11.
    that's a bit bizarre.

It just seems like Raspberry is trying to get in the Lolocaust forum, but is only stealing their humour from Something Awful.

Raspberry wrote: »
    I beg to differ.

excerpt from The Diarrhea Anne Frank

~SomethingAwful.

Regardless of the subject matter that wasn't funny

It just seems like Raspberry is trying to get in the Lolocaust forum, but is only stealing their humour from Something Awful.
    I'm cross posting because it's relevant to some of the posts in this thread, I don't even know what the Lolocaust forum is.

All of the above.
    ASL?

Mind your own!

I can think of many an offence Joke but this is not the forum to tell them in. One needs to pick their audience.
    It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work that one out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Plan_D

Something like The Producers, which takes the piss out of nazis, is brilliantly funny.

But you are mistaken is thinking your personal opinion is the end of it. :/

I don't think it is the joke that matters but more so your audience.. Telling holocaustic jokes to Jews. Bad. To me = ok

etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I find controversial jokes the funniest. Some are "bad" but they're hilarious, like the Maddie and the Pope one. I've a sick taste in jokes though, apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

maddie and pope joke, do tell!

Depends whos listening and how you say it.

What about rape jokes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Thanks to the Microwave & TimeMachine Forum we'll be able to joke about things before they happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Of course it's ok to do it. People that are afraid to joke about certain things have problems. Everything can funny if you look at it a certain way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

6th wrote: »
    I dont think I'll ever get over it ... oh wait.
    So much anger...

I feel sorry for the Mod forum already.:D